Star Ocean: First Departure PSP

Star Ocean: First Departure Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Space Date 346: The crew of a Terran Federation ship arrives on the planet Roak. With the help of a stalwart band of local heroes, the crew must work together to unravel a mystery and halt a galactic war.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. All together, Star Ocean: The First Departure is a great remake of a title that we've never had released here, and it's a welcome addition to anyone's PSP RPG library.
  2. In the end, Star Ocean: First Departure is a wonderful translation of a game Americans were robbed of so long ago. With superb voice acting, phenomenal replayability, and a great translation with new hybrid 2D/3D graphics, Square Enix’s remake team did a great job.
  3. Finally we see the critically acclaimed Square Enix's saga Star Ocean on PSP. Tri-ace succesfully recovers one of the best RPG's ever in an interstellar adventure where our main task is finding a cure to avoid Earth's destruction. The creators of Valkyrie Profile show us how a remake is meant to be done.
  4. 75
    Star Ocean: The First Departure is a great take on a first Star Ocean entry to the series.
  5. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    70
    Even so, First Departure has transitioned so smoothly to the PSP that it's definitely worth playing if you're curious about Star Ocean's origins or if you're itching for a charming and portable classic RPG. [Nov 2008, p.80]
  6. Star Ocean: First Departure is a solid game that has made me want to check out the other installments in the series, but the battle system kept me from really falling in love with it.
  7. But when there are so many better, more interesting RPGs on the PSP, why bother with one that simply drains your system's battery life?

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. JaretW.
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    Very good game, a lot was put into this game that wasn't in the original, and makes the game feel polished. Surprisingly good voice Very good game, a lot was put into this game that wasn't in the original, and makes the game feel polished. Surprisingly good voice acting, and anime style cut scenes really help the story telling along. In my opinion the best RPG on the PSP right now. Expand
  2. PeterK
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    I wasn't expecting much out of this game when I put my reserve on it at GameStop. A two weeks after picking it up, I'm starting to I wasn't expecting much out of this game when I put my reserve on it at GameStop. A two weeks after picking it up, I'm starting to play it and I am surprised at how much I like it. The gameplay is that of an old classic PS1 RPG, but it adds some nice features like voices for the characters, so you don't have to read everything. The story is very interesting although it is very linear. I can't wait until the next Star Ocean title for the PSP coming out in January, and the Star Ocean that's coming out for Xbox 360 in March! Expand
  3. LeonN.
    Jan 7, 2009
    10
    I've been a big fan of Star Ocean since I played SO2 on PSX, and I've been waiting for this remake for years...and it didn't I've been a big fan of Star Ocean since I played SO2 on PSX, and I've been waiting for this remake for years...and it didn't dissapoint me at all! This game is for me the best RPG on PSP released to date...I finished it in 3 days, cuz I couldn't stop playing it everywhere. The story is great and fun, the characters are charismatic and completely different from each other, the battles are quick, easy and entertaining, you can change some parts of the story according to your actions and choices, and the classic graphics are not bad at all! Definetely the best! Collapse
  4. RobbieJ.
    Oct 26, 2008
    9
    Absolutely spectacular. I had never played the original game, so this was entirely new to me and I loved every bit of it. The voice work was Absolutely spectacular. I had never played the original game, so this was entirely new to me and I loved every bit of it. The voice work was above standard, the story was great, and the music was memorable. I wholeheartedly recommend this to PSP owners looking for a good RPG. The Production IG anime cutscenes really add a nice touch to the whole experience too. Expand
  5. ChrisR.
    Jan 27, 2009
    9
    I don't understand the negative reviews... the combat is fun, good skill development, graphics are GOOD! Try comparing SO1 to one of the I don't understand the negative reviews... the combat is fun, good skill development, graphics are GOOD! Try comparing SO1 to one of the Dragon Quest remakes, trust me, you won't complain about SO graphics again. So far I'm enjoying the story as well. What's not to like? Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2012
    8
    A well done remake of the first Star Ocean game. The battle system is great and it makes the game play fun. The story is pretty good and thisA well done remake of the first Star Ocean game. The battle system is great and it makes the game play fun. The story is pretty good and this game even has a multitude of optional characters making it fun to play several times. The only down side of the many optional characters is that it's hard to become emotionally attached to some of the characters. Overall Star Ocean: First Departure is a very enjoyable game. Expand
  7. Mar 4, 2013
    7
    Its a good game with the typical Star Ocean action battle system, which is as good as always.

See all 9 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#7 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2008
#12 Most Shared PSP Game of 2008