Star Wars: Battlefront II PSP

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 105
  2. Negative: 8 out of 105

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 22, 2012
    6
    Welcome to Star Wars: Battlefront II. This isn't the same game as the PS2 version for sure, but, the PSP version has its own unique modes. Although those modes replace the campaign mode they still make interesting challenges. Putting you against a whole army as an assassin is a great idea. The game plays better in first person mode though as it allows for you to really embrace the fullWelcome to Star Wars: Battlefront II. This isn't the same game as the PS2 version for sure, but, the PSP version has its own unique modes. Although those modes replace the campaign mode they still make interesting challenges. Putting you against a whole army as an assassin is a great idea. The game plays better in first person mode though as it allows for you to really embrace the full hectic masterclass that is instant action. You'll find that battles will kick off and let you watch as everything unfolds. Explosions plenty. Unfortunately the game isn't anywhere near as polished as it should be. Visuals in galactic conquest look shocking as to such, with pieces missing and animations jittery. Although the game at its core is as hectic as it should be. A fair deal. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    5
    Single Player/Multi Player (1/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (1/2) Visuals/Story (1/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (1/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (1/2)

    Visuals/Story (1/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (1/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (1/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  3. MarcusH.
    Feb 2, 2006
    9
    IT is the greatest games of PSP that ive played considering its the only game i got so far. I would give it a ten but graphics are okay but not great.
  4. Jesse
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    This is the most fun psp game i have played. The controls are sweet. A true must have game.
  5. HunterL.
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    This game has everything that the original does not.It's absolutly the greatest game ever!
  6. NightveeRX
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    i just cant put it down, and i haent played gta since i bought star wars, I love it so much.
  7. NightveeRX
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    Some of you people Who gives 3 out of 10 ratings are morons,can[t you see that this game is the shit of 2005?!the reason it frame skips becauses of all the action,Lasers tanks infranty and people flying over bridges..priceless, I brought it when it came out and it was spectactular,Now i'm i'm sorry i would say more but i have a usb headset,I'm a general,All legendarySome of you people Who gives 3 out of 10 ratings are morons,can[t you see that this game is the shit of 2005?!the reason it frame skips becauses of all the action,Lasers tanks infranty and people flying over bridges..priceless, I brought it when it came out and it was spectactular,Now i'm i'm sorry i would say more but i have a usb headset,I'm a general,All legendary status,and,,,I HAVE TO GO PLAY RIGHT NOW ONLINE.$$$$ Expand
  8. Sithlord
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    This is the best game on psp so far! a pure masterpiece and well worth the money! if you are a fan it is a 'must buy'!
  9. DarthGamer
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    This game is a total knockout! I bought it the very day it came out (1115). The improvements made on some of the levels from the first Battlefront are extraordinary! The brand new playable levels are mind-blowing! To be a Jedi in this game is a privilege. Every single Jedi from the Star Wars Trilogy is playable! The game is more realistic than the first and has better and bigger This game is a total knockout! I bought it the very day it came out (1115). The improvements made on some of the levels from the first Battlefront are extraordinary! The brand new playable levels are mind-blowing! To be a Jedi in this game is a privilege. Every single Jedi from the Star Wars Trilogy is playable! The game is more realistic than the first and has better and bigger explosions too! I also love the fact that you can make your character sprint. No more of this walking crap! There is still no blood involved to keep the game at its usual TEEN rating. In this game, you can now take control of a ship in space. Locking onto others and blowing 'em to pieces is a downright blast! Have you ever cranked up the volume with complete surround sound? It feels like you're in a frickin' war-zone! I recommend this to die-hard Star Wars fans who love to blast, destroy and conquer all. I guarantee you will never put it down. Expand
  10. CharlieS.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    It's totally kick ass.
  11. Absolutelyamazing
    Nov 4, 2005
    9
    This game is clearly the best shooter for PSP and while hard to master the controls are at first, second nature they become after a while with the game. Slow is the framerate in some places but overall a great game this is and a failure it is not. Absolutely a must buy for the PSP this is!
  12. NigelS.
    Nov 6, 2005
    0
    I can't believe that this game is on the shelves when it is so full of bugs and glitches. The frame rate is awful with doors that open 10 seconds after the enemy has walked through it. Just because it says Star Wars doesn't mean that the game is worth spending £35. Others seem to be playing this game through a rose tinted screen.
  13. Bob
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    It rocks it is the best game in the world especially for the PSP.
  14. JohnL.
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    This was the first game that I got for my PSP, and I sure am glad that I got it. It is my only game that I can play forever and not get bored. The PSP version of the game gives such a console-like experience, but there are a few flaws that others might hate, that I don't mind at all. The graphics are okay, but that doesn't matter with the gameplay. The textures are muddy, and This was the first game that I got for my PSP, and I sure am glad that I got it. It is my only game that I can play forever and not get bored. The PSP version of the game gives such a console-like experience, but there are a few flaws that others might hate, that I don't mind at all. The graphics are okay, but that doesn't matter with the gameplay. The textures are muddy, and they left out environment detail, that was on console and PC versians. The only problem with the PSP's limited hardware is that the matches are 10 vs 10 instead of 16 vs 16, because it probably slowed down when they tried that many. The battlefield does feel a little bit emptier, and if this is a problem for you I advise that you do capture the flag ( the one with one flag, not two ). When you play capture the flag then all the enemies head to one point, and it feels more exciting. The sound is the exact same, but one thing. There is no diologue, and I missed that. The map selection is rather small, there are 13 maps in total: Dagaba, Endor, Hoth, Kashyyyk, Yavin, Mos Eisley, Naboo, Mygeeto, Mustafar, Polis Massa, Tantive, Space Kashyyyk, and Space Yavin. The chose mostly of the better maps, but they shouldn't have left out Geonosis, because that was the defining battle of Episode 2, plus it was one of the best maps. Multiplayer is okay, you can't play over the internet, only local. The challenges exclusive to the PSP are where you have to kill a certain number of Ewoks, Jawas, etc on a map in a set time, deliver items to a point, or assasinate a few enemies that are guarded. The challenges are definately fun to play through over and over, but it only takes about an hour to get through them all. Galactic conquest is where you move your ship around a grid and attack enemy planets, and you win once you have all the plantets in the galaxy. It is fun to play through a couple differnt scenarios of it, but it is pretty much the same thing each time you play, except a few different planets. It might sound like I am being really harsh to the game, and I didn't accidentily put 10 as my score. This has to be my favorite game of all time, and I must have played it for over 1000 hours. You have to buy this game, it is only $20 now so you have no excuse not to. Expand
  15. McBainW.
    Jan 23, 2006
    9
    This game is amazing! I have it for the PC and didn't get it right away for the PsP because I felt there was no way they could translate this to the PsP platform. I was wrong! The graphics are great, all the options of game play are here along with some that aren't on the PC. My only complaint, and reason I didn't give it a 10 was because the best new map IMO "Death Star" This game is amazing! I have it for the PC and didn't get it right away for the PsP because I felt there was no way they could translate this to the PsP platform. I was wrong! The graphics are great, all the options of game play are here along with some that aren't on the PC. My only complaint, and reason I didn't give it a 10 was because the best new map IMO "Death Star" was not included. This is a must for fans of the Star Wars universe. Expand
  16. AlvaroC.
    Aug 2, 2006
    8
    This game was awsome apart from the controls. also the campaign was too short. i finished it all in an hour. more maps and missions would have been nice. overall a great game.
  17. NathanY.
    Nov 1, 2005
    9
    Impovements in almost all aspects from the original. I haven't had too much time to play it yet... but it feels less laggy and more precise.
  18. EvilGenius
    Nov 10, 2005
    8
    As soon as this game was out i went n bought it 4 psp the game is not as good on psp as pc's or da consoles but it still rox!
  19. Wongit
    Nov 1, 2005
    8
    i was pretty surprised by this game. I was real hesitant because alot of 3rd person games fail on the PSP. but this game is alright. however it has alot of glitches. Alot of skippy framerate. But none of this should really bother someone. The game takes some getting used to but after a while the control is pretty decent. It mirrors the console versions in almost every way and thats i was pretty surprised by this game. I was real hesitant because alot of 3rd person games fail on the PSP. but this game is alright. however it has alot of glitches. Alot of skippy framerate. But none of this should really bother someone. The game takes some getting used to but after a while the control is pretty decent. It mirrors the console versions in almost every way and thats something you should really look for. Good game. Expand
  20. EthanH.
    Nov 15, 2005
    9
    Star Wars on PSP is great and does'nt differ much from the PS2 version the graphic are good but can be a bit ropey at times but the gameplay is brill especially as a Jedi and in Space!
  21. [Anonymous]
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Despite Critcal reviews, I am profond that this game is better then i thought. The control schemes are rock solid and well tested. The games stays true to the consol version and even tho critics complain about framerate i never found it to become a problem in gameplay. This is the best shooter on the PSP to date.. There is true aiming with the analog stick control option, unlike socom Despite Critcal reviews, I am profond that this game is better then i thought. The control schemes are rock solid and well tested. The games stays true to the consol version and even tho critics complain about framerate i never found it to become a problem in gameplay. This is the best shooter on the PSP to date.. There is true aiming with the analog stick control option, unlike socom which has auto lock on targeting. This is where the game shines for me. Playing as Yoda is amazing, well done Lucus arts, well done. Expand
  22. SpencerW.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    This game blows out the original by far!
  23. JostinS.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Improvement on battlefront. very good game, worth 50 bucks.
  24. IPFreeley
    Nov 7, 2005
    2
    The graphics are hard to see and doors are extrememly late.
  25. IpFreely
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    COOL GAme worth every penny. Better than the sequel.
  26. Sam
    Jan 18, 2006
    8
    (7.75) This is not the greatest game of all time. It IS, though, a surprisingly fun and attractive title.
  27. RossetaJingle
    Jan 25, 2006
    9
    It is a game well worth buying. it has everything a great game needs, GOOD graphics, Great choice of characters (especially on Mos Eisley Assault), and THE BEST game modes. Ounce you pick this up you won't put it down for days!
  28. DannyH.
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    Wow! This game is awesome! It has all of the battles on all of the planets that you will ever need. You can play as all of the jedi's. You can choose between good or evil on any of the levels. The space battle is great just like the ground battle. Who needs online gameplay (Chris B.) when you have such a great game as it is. I bought this game and it was well worth the money, you Wow! This game is awesome! It has all of the battles on all of the planets that you will ever need. You can play as all of the jedi's. You can choose between good or evil on any of the levels. The space battle is great just like the ground battle. Who needs online gameplay (Chris B.) when you have such a great game as it is. I bought this game and it was well worth the money, you should buy it too! Expand
  29. jewa92
    Feb 27, 2006
    9
    its a great game but it is lacking being able to choose which jedi/villian you want to be on every level.
  30. StefanB.
    May 23, 2006
    9
    good graphics for a psp game. everyone complains about controls took me 10 minutes to learn the controls. lack of multiplayer and lvls but other wise great game. a must buy!
  31. JezT.
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    Use the advanced controls setup and lose yourself for hours in the best shooter for the PSP. As many have said - shame there's no online play - Socom has shown the way and I hope the next Star Wars has it. Good controls!
  32. ZemZega
    Feb 26, 2008
    2
    one phrase describes this game's on foot missions, shooting gallery. wait on secound thought try this, really really bad hidouse to look at, slow to load, brainless, boreing, stupid, bad shooting gallery. the flying misssions are much easier, this works how? who the hell thouht this worked at all? talk about broken! i bet no one who made this game ever played this part cause i couldone phrase describes this game's on foot missions, shooting gallery. wait on secound thought try this, really really bad hidouse to look at, slow to load, brainless, boreing, stupid, bad shooting gallery. the flying misssions are much easier, this works how? who the hell thouht this worked at all? talk about broken! i bet no one who made this game ever played this part cause i could make a better laying video game with a stick & two AA batteries! & of course FAIL! Expand
  33. JohnM.
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    great game for psp. only bad thing is no big online play.
  34. AlexH.
    Nov 18, 2005
    9
    Battlefront II added some very good new features like a refined galactic conquest mode, more locations, and more cool playable characters (like Han Solo, Bothan spies, Mace Windu,and other assorted jedis or heroes). Though these are good improvements, there were also a lot of battlefields left out from the old game, a more complicted in-game display, and only one story mode (Rise of the Battlefront II added some very good new features like a refined galactic conquest mode, more locations, and more cool playable characters (like Han Solo, Bothan spies, Mace Windu,and other assorted jedis or heroes). Though these are good improvements, there were also a lot of battlefields left out from the old game, a more complicted in-game display, and only one story mode (Rise of the Empire), that spanned only the clone and imperial factions. Overall the game was great, but I had envisioned a game with all the features that made the old game a hit plus some cool new ones. Sorry, even though I gave the game a good rating, I guess I enjoyed the old game too much to appreciate the new one for what it is: another great Lucasarts game. Expand
  35. JoshD.
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    This game rules! Jedi's and new characters are awesome. I got it for PS2 and it rules. Two thumbs up to George Lucas and the producers. Whatever those 3 out of 10 retards say it isn't right and they are so wrong!
  36. ChrisB.
    Dec 16, 2005
    0
    No online gameplay not worth the money so just buy Socom it has online play.
  37. Mitch
    Dec 16, 2005
    8
    Very good. Fight in space or take the battle on the ground. My only problem is not much custom choices but other than that its a great game.
  38. Mace
    Dec 27, 2005
    9
    Fantastic game! Graphics are great and the gameplay is spectacular. Only negative is the frame skip, which actually isn't that bad.
  39. Truestarwarsfanb
    Nov 21, 2006
    0
    I am a huge starwars fan and i must say this is one of the wost games ever. The controls really stink you can not move like at all. Even if it is now $20.00 it is not worth it.
  40. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    The PSP version of SWB2 manages to maintain the huge scope and diverse gameplay of the original PS2 version. The numerous open environments and thrilling space battles are all here as well as a variety of enemies and special characters. The only downsize is the abysmal camera controls. It was clear that the developers were crying out for an extra analog stick to work with. Given time,The PSP version of SWB2 manages to maintain the huge scope and diverse gameplay of the original PS2 version. The numerous open environments and thrilling space battles are all here as well as a variety of enemies and special characters. The only downsize is the abysmal camera controls. It was clear that the developers were crying out for an extra analog stick to work with. Given time, however, you soon get the hang of them. Expand
  41. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    Star Wars: Battlefront II for the Playstation Portable was phenomonal. If you're rusty in gaming:this is a great workout!
    I loved the funny ewoks and how the get killed ^ ^.

    Also,great cover artwork as well.

    Great Job LucasArts!

    10/10
  42. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Star Wars Battlefront 2 is simply a fantastic game. You can fly through space taking down enemy ships, capture flags over multiple maps from the PS2 and PC version. You can choose from multiple classes in the Rebel Alliance, The Galactic Empire, The CIS, and the Republic. Though the controls yet are damaged by not having dual analog sticks, the game still feels smooth and exciting as youStar Wars Battlefront 2 is simply a fantastic game. You can fly through space taking down enemy ships, capture flags over multiple maps from the PS2 and PC version. You can choose from multiple classes in the Rebel Alliance, The Galactic Empire, The CIS, and the Republic. Though the controls yet are damaged by not having dual analog sticks, the game still feels smooth and exciting as you fight others. There are 3 modes in singleplayer, in a replacement for no campaign. I have to say that this is a great portable game and really shows what some game design companies can do. This game is sadly unnoticed to that many "Top PSP Games" videos, and it really should be for its amazing gameplay and map movement. 10/10 simply fantastic. Expand
  43. Jul 21, 2015
    10
    This game is so vast and so good I can still hardly believe it 9 years later! The plethora of worlds, characters, weapons, vehicles, battles, options! It is probably the games medium where strides in technology happen fastest yet this game, graphics and all, holds up unbelievably well after an eternity of developments in the gaming industry!
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. 70
    Multiplayer has its attributes, but stumbles hard when it comes to framerate and resembles a Monet painting at some points. Overall, I'd recommend it for single-player, but for Wi-Fi, well, I've offered my caveat emptors.
  2. As a more portable take on the Star Wars experience, it won't disappoint most gamers. However, the unappealing space battles and paltry multiplayer options keep it from being a feather in the PlayStation Portable's cap.
  3. 78
    Mirrors its console brethren in terms of complexity and scope but can’t keep up in performance. So while every vehicle, unit and weapon is at your disposal, you’ll need to contend with an unstable framerate and lackluster visuals while you take over the galaxy.