User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 104
  2. Negative: 8 out of 104

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarcusH.
    Feb 2, 2006
    9
    IT is the greatest games of PSP that ive played considering its the only game i got so far. I would give it a ten but graphics are okay but not great.
  2. Jesse
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    This is the most fun psp game i have played. The controls are sweet. A true must have game.
  3. HunterL.
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    This game has everything that the original does not.It's absolutly the greatest game ever!
  4. NightveeRX
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    i just cant put it down, and i haent played gta since i bought star wars, I love it so much.
  5. NightveeRX
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    Some of you people Who gives 3 out of 10 ratings are morons,can[t you see that this game is the shit of 2005?!the reason it frame skips becauses of all the action,Lasers tanks infranty and people flying over bridges..priceless, I brought it when it came out and it was spectactular,Now i'm i'm sorry i would say more but i have a usb headset,I'm a general,All legendarySome of you people Who gives 3 out of 10 ratings are morons,can[t you see that this game is the shit of 2005?!the reason it frame skips becauses of all the action,Lasers tanks infranty and people flying over bridges..priceless, I brought it when it came out and it was spectactular,Now i'm i'm sorry i would say more but i have a usb headset,I'm a general,All legendary status,and,,,I HAVE TO GO PLAY RIGHT NOW ONLINE.$$$$ Expand
  6. Sithlord
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    This is the best game on psp so far! a pure masterpiece and well worth the money! if you are a fan it is a 'must buy'!
  7. DarthGamer
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    This game is a total knockout! I bought it the very day it came out (1115). The improvements made on some of the levels from the first Battlefront are extraordinary! The brand new playable levels are mind-blowing! To be a Jedi in this game is a privilege. Every single Jedi from the Star Wars Trilogy is playable! The game is more realistic than the first and has better and bigger This game is a total knockout! I bought it the very day it came out (1115). The improvements made on some of the levels from the first Battlefront are extraordinary! The brand new playable levels are mind-blowing! To be a Jedi in this game is a privilege. Every single Jedi from the Star Wars Trilogy is playable! The game is more realistic than the first and has better and bigger explosions too! I also love the fact that you can make your character sprint. No more of this walking crap! There is still no blood involved to keep the game at its usual TEEN rating. In this game, you can now take control of a ship in space. Locking onto others and blowing 'em to pieces is a downright blast! Have you ever cranked up the volume with complete surround sound? It feels like you're in a frickin' war-zone! I recommend this to die-hard Star Wars fans who love to blast, destroy and conquer all. I guarantee you will never put it down. Expand
  8. CharlieS.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    It's totally kick ass.
  9. Absolutelyamazing
    Nov 4, 2005
    9
    This game is clearly the best shooter for PSP and while hard to master the controls are at first, second nature they become after a while with the game. Slow is the framerate in some places but overall a great game this is and a failure it is not. Absolutely a must buy for the PSP this is!
  10. Bob
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    It rocks it is the best game in the world especially for the PSP.
  11. JohnL.
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    This was the first game that I got for my PSP, and I sure am glad that I got it. It is my only game that I can play forever and not get bored. The PSP version of the game gives such a console-like experience, but there are a few flaws that others might hate, that I don't mind at all. The graphics are okay, but that doesn't matter with the gameplay. The textures are muddy, and This was the first game that I got for my PSP, and I sure am glad that I got it. It is my only game that I can play forever and not get bored. The PSP version of the game gives such a console-like experience, but there are a few flaws that others might hate, that I don't mind at all. The graphics are okay, but that doesn't matter with the gameplay. The textures are muddy, and they left out environment detail, that was on console and PC versians. The only problem with the PSP's limited hardware is that the matches are 10 vs 10 instead of 16 vs 16, because it probably slowed down when they tried that many. The battlefield does feel a little bit emptier, and if this is a problem for you I advise that you do capture the flag ( the one with one flag, not two ). When you play capture the flag then all the enemies head to one point, and it feels more exciting. The sound is the exact same, but one thing. There is no diologue, and I missed that. The map selection is rather small, there are 13 maps in total: Dagaba, Endor, Hoth, Kashyyyk, Yavin, Mos Eisley, Naboo, Mygeeto, Mustafar, Polis Massa, Tantive, Space Kashyyyk, and Space Yavin. The chose mostly of the better maps, but they shouldn't have left out Geonosis, because that was the defining battle of Episode 2, plus it was one of the best maps. Multiplayer is okay, you can't play over the internet, only local. The challenges exclusive to the PSP are where you have to kill a certain number of Ewoks, Jawas, etc on a map in a set time, deliver items to a point, or assasinate a few enemies that are guarded. The challenges are definately fun to play through over and over, but it only takes about an hour to get through them all. Galactic conquest is where you move your ship around a grid and attack enemy planets, and you win once you have all the plantets in the galaxy. It is fun to play through a couple differnt scenarios of it, but it is pretty much the same thing each time you play, except a few different planets. It might sound like I am being really harsh to the game, and I didn't accidentily put 10 as my score. This has to be my favorite game of all time, and I must have played it for over 1000 hours. You have to buy this game, it is only $20 now so you have no excuse not to. Expand
  12. McBainW.
    Jan 23, 2006
    9
    This game is amazing! I have it for the PC and didn't get it right away for the PsP because I felt there was no way they could translate this to the PsP platform. I was wrong! The graphics are great, all the options of game play are here along with some that aren't on the PC. My only complaint, and reason I didn't give it a 10 was because the best new map IMO "Death Star" This game is amazing! I have it for the PC and didn't get it right away for the PsP because I felt there was no way they could translate this to the PsP platform. I was wrong! The graphics are great, all the options of game play are here along with some that aren't on the PC. My only complaint, and reason I didn't give it a 10 was because the best new map IMO "Death Star" was not included. This is a must for fans of the Star Wars universe. Expand
  13. NathanY.
    Nov 1, 2005
    9
    Impovements in almost all aspects from the original. I haven't had too much time to play it yet... but it feels less laggy and more precise.
  14. EthanH.
    Nov 15, 2005
    9
    Star Wars on PSP is great and does'nt differ much from the PS2 version the graphic are good but can be a bit ropey at times but the gameplay is brill especially as a Jedi and in Space!
  15. [Anonymous]
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Despite Critcal reviews, I am profond that this game is better then i thought. The control schemes are rock solid and well tested. The games stays true to the consol version and even tho critics complain about framerate i never found it to become a problem in gameplay. This is the best shooter on the PSP to date.. There is true aiming with the analog stick control option, unlike socom Despite Critcal reviews, I am profond that this game is better then i thought. The control schemes are rock solid and well tested. The games stays true to the consol version and even tho critics complain about framerate i never found it to become a problem in gameplay. This is the best shooter on the PSP to date.. There is true aiming with the analog stick control option, unlike socom which has auto lock on targeting. This is where the game shines for me. Playing as Yoda is amazing, well done Lucus arts, well done. Expand
  16. SpencerW.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    This game blows out the original by far!
  17. JostinS.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Improvement on battlefront. very good game, worth 50 bucks.
  18. IpFreely
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    COOL GAme worth every penny. Better than the sequel.
  19. RossetaJingle
    Jan 25, 2006
    9
    It is a game well worth buying. it has everything a great game needs, GOOD graphics, Great choice of characters (especially on Mos Eisley Assault), and THE BEST game modes. Ounce you pick this up you won't put it down for days!
  20. DannyH.
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    Wow! This game is awesome! It has all of the battles on all of the planets that you will ever need. You can play as all of the jedi's. You can choose between good or evil on any of the levels. The space battle is great just like the ground battle. Who needs online gameplay (Chris B.) when you have such a great game as it is. I bought this game and it was well worth the money, you Wow! This game is awesome! It has all of the battles on all of the planets that you will ever need. You can play as all of the jedi's. You can choose between good or evil on any of the levels. The space battle is great just like the ground battle. Who needs online gameplay (Chris B.) when you have such a great game as it is. I bought this game and it was well worth the money, you should buy it too! Expand
  21. jewa92
    Feb 27, 2006
    9
    its a great game but it is lacking being able to choose which jedi/villian you want to be on every level.
  22. StefanB.
    May 23, 2006
    9
    good graphics for a psp game. everyone complains about controls took me 10 minutes to learn the controls. lack of multiplayer and lvls but other wise great game. a must buy!
  23. JezT.
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    Use the advanced controls setup and lose yourself for hours in the best shooter for the PSP. As many have said - shame there's no online play - Socom has shown the way and I hope the next Star Wars has it. Good controls!
  24. JohnM.
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    great game for psp. only bad thing is no big online play.
  25. AlexH.
    Nov 18, 2005
    9
    Battlefront II added some very good new features like a refined galactic conquest mode, more locations, and more cool playable characters (like Han Solo, Bothan spies, Mace Windu,and other assorted jedis or heroes). Though these are good improvements, there were also a lot of battlefields left out from the old game, a more complicted in-game display, and only one story mode (Rise of the Battlefront II added some very good new features like a refined galactic conquest mode, more locations, and more cool playable characters (like Han Solo, Bothan spies, Mace Windu,and other assorted jedis or heroes). Though these are good improvements, there were also a lot of battlefields left out from the old game, a more complicted in-game display, and only one story mode (Rise of the Empire), that spanned only the clone and imperial factions. Overall the game was great, but I had envisioned a game with all the features that made the old game a hit plus some cool new ones. Sorry, even though I gave the game a good rating, I guess I enjoyed the old game too much to appreciate the new one for what it is: another great Lucasarts game. Expand
  26. JoshD.
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    This game rules! Jedi's and new characters are awesome. I got it for PS2 and it rules. Two thumbs up to George Lucas and the producers. Whatever those 3 out of 10 retards say it isn't right and they are so wrong!
  27. Mace
    Dec 27, 2005
    9
    Fantastic game! Graphics are great and the gameplay is spectacular. Only negative is the frame skip, which actually isn't that bad.
  28. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    The PSP version of SWB2 manages to maintain the huge scope and diverse gameplay of the original PS2 version. The numerous open environments and thrilling space battles are all here as well as a variety of enemies and special characters. The only downsize is the abysmal camera controls. It was clear that the developers were crying out for an extra analog stick to work with. Given time,The PSP version of SWB2 manages to maintain the huge scope and diverse gameplay of the original PS2 version. The numerous open environments and thrilling space battles are all here as well as a variety of enemies and special characters. The only downsize is the abysmal camera controls. It was clear that the developers were crying out for an extra analog stick to work with. Given time, however, you soon get the hang of them. Expand
  29. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    Star Wars: Battlefront II for the Playstation Portable was phenomonal. If you're rusty in gaming:this is a great workout!
    I loved the funny ewoks and how the get killed ^ ^.

    Also,great cover artwork as well.

    Great Job LucasArts!

    10/10
  30. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Star Wars Battlefront 2 is simply a fantastic game. You can fly through space taking down enemy ships, capture flags over multiple maps from the PS2 and PC version. You can choose from multiple classes in the Rebel Alliance, The Galactic Empire, The CIS, and the Republic. Though the controls yet are damaged by not having dual analog sticks, the game still feels smooth and exciting as youStar Wars Battlefront 2 is simply a fantastic game. You can fly through space taking down enemy ships, capture flags over multiple maps from the PS2 and PC version. You can choose from multiple classes in the Rebel Alliance, The Galactic Empire, The CIS, and the Republic. Though the controls yet are damaged by not having dual analog sticks, the game still feels smooth and exciting as you fight others. There are 3 modes in singleplayer, in a replacement for no campaign. I have to say that this is a great portable game and really shows what some game design companies can do. This game is sadly unnoticed to that many "Top PSP Games" videos, and it really should be for its amazing gameplay and map movement. 10/10 simply fantastic. Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. 70
    Multiplayer has its attributes, but stumbles hard when it comes to framerate and resembles a Monet painting at some points. Overall, I'd recommend it for single-player, but for Wi-Fi, well, I've offered my caveat emptors.
  2. As a more portable take on the Star Wars experience, it won't disappoint most gamers. However, the unappealing space battles and paltry multiplayer options keep it from being a feather in the PlayStation Portable's cap.
  3. 78
    Mirrors its console brethren in terms of complexity and scope but can’t keep up in performance. So while every vehicle, unit and weapon is at your disposal, you’ll need to contend with an unstable framerate and lackluster visuals while you take over the galaxy.