Street Fighter Alpha 3 MAX PSP

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Feb 7, 2006
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
Buy On
  1. 70
    One of the best-made games you can get on your PSP, far better than a simple port of an arcade game, yet hindered quite significantly by the handheld's design flaws.
  2. The sheen that Alpha 3 gains by being thrown onto a handheld is just a fresh coat and it didn't take long for us to remember why we put down the hadokens after its original 1998 release.
  3. 60
    It’s a real shame that the only down side to this game is basically the system Capcom chose to release it on.
  4. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    73
    As anyone who's played "Darkstalkers" on the handheld can attest to, the PSP's stock D-pad simply isn't up to the task of a 2D fighting game with all its traditional "fireball" and "dragon punch" motions. [Mar 2006, p.113]
  5. 70
    A perfect port of one of the most popular in the Street Fighter series, sadly let down by the PSP hardware, slow loading times and an unforgiving AI.
  6. Play UK
    70
    If you can get around the awkwardness of using the nub this score will seem a little harsh, if not it's more than fair. [Apr 2006, p.90]
  7. netjak
    65
    Sure you can play 3-player ad-hoc, but why pay for 3 copies of what basically amounts to each one of you getting the side of the cabinet with the busted controller?
  8. 60
    Even putting the d-pad issues aside, the console’s button layout does not lend itself to Capcom’s ever-present ‘six button’ system. Fighting games are all about split-second timing and fluid control, and any sacrifice in these areas is going to impact on the player’s enjoyment of the game.

Awards & Rankings

#53 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2006
#64 Most Shared PSP Game of 2006
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    I have a fight stick for my ps3 and 360. However, there is no fighting game that I've played as much as this one. Being able to grab itI have a fight stick for my ps3 and 360. However, there is no fighting game that I've played as much as this one. Being able to grab it anywhere and play, and the amount of options and characters, the classic street fighter depth, the controls (although tough coming from sf4, great once learned)..... just everything. The only personal issue is that I find Sagat to difficult to play, and he's my main. I've gone on to Ryu but sometimes I feel like I'm spinning my wheels. Oh well, that's just me. Pointless to mention it really. Anyways, here is my easy 10. Full Review »
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    As of June 2011 this is probably the best fighting game on PSP. I would say it is comfortably better than T5DR (which is still an amazing gameAs of June 2011 this is probably the best fighting game on PSP. I would say it is comfortably better than T5DR (which is still an amazing game - maybe a 9), and much better than Tekken 6 which was a let down.

    The range of modes is by far and away the most comprehensive on the system for this genre.

    Also, the addition on Yun means we can get training for SFIVAE while we wait for the disk to be released :D
    Full Review »
  3. CrackerJ.
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    I voted it from a 6 to a 9 to a 10 cause I thought about it for a second.....tried to think of all of the problems with the game, I voted it from a 6 to a 9 to a 10 cause I thought about it for a second.....tried to think of all of the problems with the game, couldn't find any! This game is for anyone, but if u really had lower gen. Games its not for you. Full Review »