• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Feb 7, 2006
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. 83
    Hands-down the best 2D fighter on the PSP. It's not perfect, but it beats the competition by offering a slew of addictive modes, refined fighting mechanics and wicked cool visuals.
  2. One of Capcom's last great fighting games is now fully intact on the PSP, right down to the last pixel. It even boasts some extras not found in previous versions.
  3. Despite a questionable control system, Street Fighter: Alpha 3 Max has proven that the fighting genre still has some kick left in it, even in the portable world.
  4. It's hard to believe that so much has been packing into such a small package. What once required a separate computer, monitor and cabinet the size of a refrigerator can now be played on a system the size of the pocketbook.
  5. There may be nothing revolutionary here, but putting an arcade classic in the palm off your hands is never something to scoff at, especially when you consider the less-than-glowing history of handheld fighters. [Mar 2006, p.115]
  6. 70
    One of the best-made games you can get on your PSP, far better than a simple port of an arcade game, yet hindered quite significantly by the handheld's design flaws.
  7. The sheen that Alpha 3 gains by being thrown onto a handheld is just a fresh coat and it didn't take long for us to remember why we put down the hadokens after its original 1998 release.
  8. 80
    The game is essentially a port of a decade old fighter and it can be hard as hell, but all the horsepower the PSP brings to the table can't keep this game from being at times mind-numbing frustrating when it comes to control. Put simply, the D-pad the PSP has just isn't cut out to be used for a fighting game, where fast fingers and accurate directional control is paramount.
  9. This is the best version of Street Fighter Alpha 3 made. The control of the PSP however, hinders the title's gameplay and as such makes the game a must-buy only for those hardcore fighting game fans who must have every game available, or for those desperate for a fighting game fix on the PSP platform.
  10. Its fluid gameplay, loads of content and decent multiplayer makes for a pretty solid fighter. It's still a port of the most rehashed franchise ever, but at least this old student has learned some new techniques.
  11. In Japan there's a miniature control pad that slots over PSP and includes 'proper' diagonals, but until it comes out over here, this is simply a slightly-too-tricky version of one of the greatest fighters ever.
  12. 60
    It’s a real shame that the only down side to this game is basically the system Capcom chose to release it on.
  13. 90
    Street Fighter Alpha Max 3 isn’t going to win any awards for innovation, but what it will do is bring back some great memories and remind gamers that it isn’t all about bump mapping and resolutions anymore.
  14. With the vast choice of characters to choose from and the huge number of gameplay modes, it is easily the best fighter for the PSP.
  15. Despite some minor control quibbles, this truly is one of the best PSP titles money can buy.
  16. Street Fighter Alpha 3 Max is Street Fighter Heroin. [Mar 2006, p.48]
  17. As anyone who's played "Darkstalkers" on the handheld can attest to, the PSP's stock D-pad simply isn't up to the task of a 2D fighting game with all its traditional "fireball" and "dragon punch" motions. [Mar 2006, p.113]
  18. Forget Darkstalkers, Street Fighter Alpha 3 Max is the must-own fighting game on the PSP. In many ways this is the best version of the game yet, despite having a few quirks associated with the system's D-pad.
  19. In all other ways besides control, Street Fighter Alpha 3 MAX is a 2D fight fan's dream come true. It's more than worth the struggle with the d-pad, as there's so much to love and immerse yourself in with this game.
  20. Looks great but plays a little sloppily because of the PSP control system. Otherwise a solid effort all around. [June 2006]
  21. 70
    A perfect port of one of the most popular in the Street Fighter series, sadly let down by the PSP hardware, slow loading times and an unforgiving AI.
  22. 70
    If you can get around the awkwardness of using the nub this score will seem a little harsh, if not it's more than fair. [Apr 2006, p.90]
  23. Not only is it just an excellent port of an arcade game, but it also has one of the best rosters of any fighting game to date, along with enough extras to keep any sort of fighting fan busy for hours on end. [Apr 2006, p.90]
  24. Street Fighter Alpha 3 Max tales everything the PS version of “Street Fighter Alpha 3” had, miniaturizes it, and adds a couple of new features. [Mar 2006,p.86]
  25. Every aspect of the game; the gameplay, the graphics, the audio, and all of the various play options; just oozes "arcade" quality, except that this version of the game outshines the original arcade release in every conceivable way.
  26. It's pretty easy to see why Capcom added a MAX onto the title of this conversion of Street Fighter Alpha 3. There are a staggering 15 play modes available when the game first loads. Then four extra characters culled from Capcom vs. SNK 2 (Eagle, Maki and Yun) and Capcom Fighting Jam (Ingrid) to help make up a total of 37. [PSW]
  27. Street Fighter Alpha 3 Max kind of reminds me of a Ferrari Testarossa with a somewhat sluggish steering wheel. It's jam-packed with features and a damn fine product to look at, but its handling takes a little bit of getting used to.
  28. 65
    Sure you can play 3-player ad-hoc, but why pay for 3 copies of what basically amounts to each one of you getting the side of the cabinet with the busted controller?
  29. It keeps all the technicality of the original and spices things up with it’s handful of new features. It’s great to see portable fighting titles are nearly on par with their console brethren these days. It’s only too bad that the PSP just wasn’t designed with these sorts of games in mind.
  30. 85
    The gameplay remains true to the original, with fast-paced, juggle-savy fighting that provides some memorable action for fans and non-fans alike. Though "Guilty Gear" may be prettier, SFA gets the action down perfectly.
  31. Fights are brisk so you can dip in and out in ten-minute bursts or batter your way through the entire arcade mode without getting bored. [Mar 2006, p.85]
  32. 60
    Even putting the d-pad issues aside, the console’s button layout does not lend itself to Capcom’s ever-present ‘six button’ system. Fighting games are all about split-second timing and fluid control, and any sacrifice in these areas is going to impact on the player’s enjoyment of the game.
  33. 90
    The variety of gameplay modes available will keep you playing for ages.
  34. Aside from the system's inherent shortcomings, "Alpha 3 Max" is still the best game ever made for fighting on the go.
  35. Street Fighter Alpha 3 MAX is vintage, but it’s extremely good looking even to this day, and for Street Fighter fans, the gameplay will never get old.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    I have a fight stick for my ps3 and 360. However, there is no fighting game that I've played as much as this one. Being able to grab itI have a fight stick for my ps3 and 360. However, there is no fighting game that I've played as much as this one. Being able to grab it anywhere and play, and the amount of options and characters, the classic street fighter depth, the controls (although tough coming from sf4, great once learned)..... just everything. The only personal issue is that I find Sagat to difficult to play, and he's my main. I've gone on to Ryu but sometimes I feel like I'm spinning my wheels. Oh well, that's just me. Pointless to mention it really. Anyways, here is my easy 10. Full Review »
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    As of June 2011 this is probably the best fighting game on PSP. I would say it is comfortably better than T5DR (which is still an amazing gameAs of June 2011 this is probably the best fighting game on PSP. I would say it is comfortably better than T5DR (which is still an amazing game - maybe a 9), and much better than Tekken 6 which was a let down.

    The range of modes is by far and away the most comprehensive on the system for this genre.

    Also, the addition on Yun means we can get training for SFIVAE while we wait for the disk to be released :D
    Full Review »
  3. CrackerJ.
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    I voted it from a 6 to a 9 to a 10 cause I thought about it for a second.....tried to think of all of the problems with the game, I voted it from a 6 to a 9 to a 10 cause I thought about it for a second.....tried to think of all of the problems with the game, couldn't find any! This game is for anyone, but if u really had lower gen. Games its not for you. Full Review »