The Lord of the Rings: Tactics PSP

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BillH.
    Nov 9, 2005
    9
    Great game so far! Only played 5 missions on the Fellowship side, but it is finally a good strategy game for the psp.
  2. Seb
    Nov 28, 2005
    4
    EA did the bare minimum to make this a "game" that is both tactical and true to the license. They absolutely did not go out of their way to make any of the items worthwhile, the camera useful, or the gameplay any fun. You move units on a grid, and that's as tactical as it gets. The camera is useless because it is character-centric as opposed to battlefield-centric, keeping you from EA did the bare minimum to make this a "game" that is both tactical and true to the license. They absolutely did not go out of their way to make any of the items worthwhile, the camera useful, or the gameplay any fun. You move units on a grid, and that's as tactical as it gets. The camera is useless because it is character-centric as opposed to battlefield-centric, keeping you from getting a good view of the situation. There are only a handful of items, but every variation in strength is listed separately, artificially inflating the amount of items. Same for the skills. And there is no incentive to manage your units since you can play any mission over as many times as you want, always getting the same gold and always getting some experience. My units are level 4 with thousands of gold, without ever having started the second mission. The game is an insult to the player's intelligence. But it is a pretty, decently coded insult. Expand
  3. MikeC.
    Jan 6, 2006
    7
    Higher score if this was priced a bit lower, say around 20-30 bucks.
  4. JohnL.
    Mar 1, 2006
    8
    This game is really good. The graphics are pretty good (The textures are really ugly, but the characters are animated smoothly). The sound is pretty good too. Each campaign (good and evil) lasts at least 12 hours, and multiplayer is extremely fun. My only problem is some levels are way too hard, compared to the rest. Another problem is how few units you control which causes Helms Deep and This game is really good. The graphics are pretty good (The textures are really ugly, but the characters are animated smoothly). The sound is pretty good too. Each campaign (good and evil) lasts at least 12 hours, and multiplayer is extremely fun. My only problem is some levels are way too hard, compared to the rest. Another problem is how few units you control which causes Helms Deep and Minis Tirith to feel really screwed up. The graphics are amazing at how much detail there is, like when you fight in front of Minis Tirith you can see the whole city even if you can't play on it that level.This is a must buy for fans of Lord of the Rings (me) or strategy. Expand
  5. B.Ferny
    Nov 3, 2005
    9
    This is a great improvement over 3rd Age.
  6. CoryK.
    Dec 5, 2005
    8
    This game is good to play on the subway, or in the toilet. This game is good because you can't master it the first time around. I've enjoyed being challenged by the variety of missions and objectives. Graphics are decent, although camera is not as flexible as I would have hoped. Having played Metal Gear Acid, I think this game certainly has it's pluses, but MGA is certainly This game is good to play on the subway, or in the toilet. This game is good because you can't master it the first time around. I've enjoyed being challenged by the variety of missions and objectives. Graphics are decent, although camera is not as flexible as I would have hoped. Having played Metal Gear Acid, I think this game certainly has it's pluses, but MGA is certainly the "to buy" out of the two. I do, however, look forward to hopefully playing a sequel of LotR:T with enhancements. Rewards aren't as plentiful, but characters level up practically at every turn. Decent presentation, but the LotR triliogy movie clips don't do enough to provide a backstory. If you know the story, great... you can understand what's going on. Otherwise if you don't, it amounts to a lame attempt at gluing footage together to create a compelling storyline - read fragemented. Expand
  7. LeoM.
    Dec 24, 2006
    5
    A really good game but can get a little boring after a while.
  8. PaulC.
    Nov 22, 2005
    8
    Is it Final Fantasy Tactics? No. It's a fun game on the PSP. Good game. Pick it up if you are jonesing for a strategy/RPG.
  9. RalphC.
    Nov 29, 2005
    9
    most addicitve psp game I've played. Iif you like other tactical rpg's this is a must. Presentation-wise, things seem a bit rushed though.
  10. Nov 16, 2013
    7
    A fun tactical game that I've spent a lot of time on. The PSP didn't have many good games back then, but this was definitely one of the better ones. The graphics were good for a PSP and the gameplay was a standard turn-based RPG with no major issues that I recall.

Awards & Rankings

#37 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2005
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. 40
    Tactics isn't unplayable--especially in multiplayer mode--and it has some decent play mechanics. But it's all overshadowed by the poor production value. It feels like a waste of the source material.
  2. AceGamez
    50
    Feeling heavier than the ring bearer, I can barely lift my digits to tell you that with clunky gameplay, poor graphics and badly paced sound, The Lord of the Rings: Tactics is only really going to be enjoyed by the most hardened of Lord of the Rings fans.
  3. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    60
    Take away the goodwill generated by the movies and the flaws in Tactics begin to show. There's fun here, but not a lot of it. [Dec 2005, p.100]