Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command PSP

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Nov 12, 2007
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamD.
    Dec 4, 2007
    9
    Great game. Plays like fallout, but with destructible terrain. Pros: Graphics, Interface,well designed maps, Mass destruction caused by plasma cannons. Cons: Short single player, Some guns feel over powered but don't negatively effect game play (you can clear a room with one shotgun blast), Camera controlls takes some dexterity to look over rubble (its turn based so theres no rush, Great game. Plays like fallout, but with destructible terrain. Pros: Graphics, Interface,well designed maps, Mass destruction caused by plasma cannons. Cons: Short single player, Some guns feel over powered but don't negatively effect game play (you can clear a room with one shotgun blast), Camera controlls takes some dexterity to look over rubble (its turn based so theres no rush, no problem). Expand
  2. Kon
    May 14, 2008
    8
    this game wow-ed me on the first go, it carries the warhammer 40k universe pretty well and impressive accuracy, even better than the WH40K series on PC (which i have been playing since it's first release till now) i might say, but it's a pity that most of the missions are pretty straight forward kill-em-all runs. other than that, the voice-acting is average, nothing impressivethis game wow-ed me on the first go, it carries the warhammer 40k universe pretty well and impressive accuracy, even better than the WH40K series on PC (which i have been playing since it's first release till now) i might say, but it's a pity that most of the missions are pretty straight forward kill-em-all runs. other than that, the voice-acting is average, nothing impressive can be expected from a hand-held console, but the cut scenes are excellent, probably the one of the best around in warhammer. It seems like a trail in this release to me with the apparently undeniable huge potential Squad Command has - more races, units, mission types, and maybe more depth down in it's gameplay. Expand
  3. BrianK.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    Incredible, smart, well paced turn-based strategy. Easy to pick up and learn and a blast to play. Makes great use of the PSP screen real estate and hardware. Wish there were more games like this out there. Best Turn Based Strategy Game for the PSP.
  4. Kevinn
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    A good tactical/strategy game in the 40k universe. Easy to grasp controls and gameplay.
  5. AlvinC.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    Form your own opinions and download the demo from playstation.com. The retail version is same (but with more challenging missions), plus online infrastructure mode. Up to 4 vs 4 matches are supported.
  6. PaulC.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    Incredible strategy game. I own Jeanne D' Arc, FF Tactics, Disgaea, Socom Tactical and I can't seem to put down Warhammer. It reminds me a lot of Jagged Alliance for all you old skool gamers out there. The game is pure FUN.
  7. TomR.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    One of the best turn-based strategy games I have ever played. Once you learn the game, its super exciting, and addictive. Really surprised on the low ratings, think this game is something else completely.

Awards & Rankings

#17 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2007
#25 Most Shared PSP Game of 2007
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. 54
    Warhammer fans: the ability to control classic Warhammer units may make this game more appealing to you, but anyone interested in the title should be extremely cautious before investing the time and money. The positive elements just barely outweigh the bad.
  2. Its turn-based tactical squad battles are a pleasure to master, even if they tend to be a bit short and shallow.
  3. Interface issues and the limitations of the PSP take a toll on the otherwise impressive Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command.