User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 53
  2. Negative: 4 out of 53

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    A lot of the PSP RPGs you pick up at your local game store are ports from other platforms. So, as soon as I heard that Ys Seven was being made from the ground up for the PSP, it became an instant day one purchase for me. What's the difference between a port and an original game for the PSP? Load times are fast, the graphics look amazing, and gameplay designs can be implemented with theA lot of the PSP RPGs you pick up at your local game store are ports from other platforms. So, as soon as I heard that Ys Seven was being made from the ground up for the PSP, it became an instant day one purchase for me. What's the difference between a port and an original game for the PSP? Load times are fast, the graphics look amazing, and gameplay designs can be implemented with the PSP in mind. That's the case with Ys Seven. Ys (pronounced like the eace in peace) Seven is actually the 7th game in the line of Ys games, but you don't have to play the prior ones. It's a standalone title made for people who may not be familiar with the series. The gameplay is fun and takes place in real time. You will travel the world and encounter and fight with enemies without any changes. You swing by hitting X, open up menu by hitting triangle, etc. The game is sort of an action RPG that's more RPG than action.

    If you are an RPG fan looking for something new to play on your PSP, you can't go wrong with Ys Seven. For 30 bucks, the amount of game you get is astounding especially considering it's an RPG and built solely for the PSP.
    Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    If you are having trouble deciding what PSP RPG to pick up and play next, this one is definitely it. Ys Seven takes the classic Ys series and throws it into a beautiful and detailed world filled with character and huge depth. With it it brings some of the best action-RPG gameplay you can find anywhere, a fantastic soundtrack by an experienced and celebrated team of musicians, and aIf you are having trouble deciding what PSP RPG to pick up and play next, this one is definitely it. Ys Seven takes the classic Ys series and throws it into a beautiful and detailed world filled with character and huge depth. With it it brings some of the best action-RPG gameplay you can find anywhere, a fantastic soundtrack by an experienced and celebrated team of musicians, and a lengthy adventure with tons of monsters to kill and places to explore. Anyone hankering for a great action-RPG or any kind of RPG in general will most certainly not be let down by this game or this series! Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    Ys Seven is a great addition to a great series: not only does it manage to preserve the fast paced action and great dungeon crawling of the previous Ys games, it also successfully adds to the proven formula many new elements such as multiple party members, skills learned from weapons and a nice item crafting system. The land of Altago with its massive overworld is a joy to explore, and theYs Seven is a great addition to a great series: not only does it manage to preserve the fast paced action and great dungeon crawling of the previous Ys games, it also successfully adds to the proven formula many new elements such as multiple party members, skills learned from weapons and a nice item crafting system. The land of Altago with its massive overworld is a joy to explore, and the capital city as well as the villages are all fascinating locales to a great adventure. The OST, while not as great as Felghana, is still gorgeous, and the boss fights are some of the best in the series thanks to the beautiful battle system and to new options such as the flash guard. If you like action-JRPG Ys Seven is right up your alley, and if you have never had a chance to enjoy this genre this game could very well be a surprise. Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    Ys Seven, to say it bluntly, has some of the nicest mechanics for any action RPG I've played. This game plays fast and seamlessly, and running around about beating up monsters is a joy to do. Boss battles are also a blast, and (on the Normal difficulty) are a challenge, without getting too balls-breakingly hard. Everything about the game is brisk, and you'll likely be finding yourselfYs Seven, to say it bluntly, has some of the nicest mechanics for any action RPG I've played. This game plays fast and seamlessly, and running around about beating up monsters is a joy to do. Boss battles are also a blast, and (on the Normal difficulty) are a challenge, without getting too balls-breakingly hard. Everything about the game is brisk, and you'll likely be finding yourself beating it around 25 hours, if you skip most of the fetch quests. The story isn't much to talk about, mostly standard fantasy/RPG stuff, but it helps to get you back into the action. It's a great buy for any action RPG fan, and something everyone else should definitely consider. Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    An excellent action JRPG that clicks in almost every respect. Sure, it's just another world that needs saving and it lacks proper cinematics but it looks good, sounds great, plays like a dream, features awesome bosses, and rolls like a breeze for all of its 30-or-so hours.
  6. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    One of the greatest jewels of the action adventure. It's a game that has been created for the purpose of fun, with no ambitions. the game does not have a highly elaborate story or a pre-rendered animations that make us fall on my ass. We just offer us fun, as was done once before in that the graphics were one of the most important in the mind of every newcomer to the world gamer.

    Gameplay
    One of the greatest jewels of the action adventure. It's a game that has been created for the purpose of fun, with no ambitions. the game does not have a highly elaborate story or a pre-rendered animations that make us fall on my ass. We just offer us fun, as was done once before in that the graphics were one of the most important in the mind of every newcomer to the world gamer.

    Gameplay + Music, here is the definition of this game ... Moreover, the whole saga.
    Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    Just finished the game recently and... man. How does a game like this stay under the radar for so long? I only recently got into the Ys series and this was undoubtedly the best portable RPG I've ever played. Usually I start to get bored of a game like this around the 30 hour mark, but Ys Seven didn't feel repetitive to me since you're always gaining new powers and each dungeons alwaysJust finished the game recently and... man. How does a game like this stay under the radar for so long? I only recently got into the Ys series and this was undoubtedly the best portable RPG I've ever played. Usually I start to get bored of a game like this around the 30 hour mark, but Ys Seven didn't feel repetitive to me since you're always gaining new powers and each dungeons always introduce new kinds of obstacles. To me the gameplay and length are perfect, my only complaint is that while the story is good, I feel like it could have been conveyed much better. The amazing soundtrack does well to set the mood, but if the game had voice acting and more cinematic cutscenes than people standing in place with speech bubbles, that could've gone a long way. I'm still giving it a 10 though as I thoroughly enjoyed the game from start to finish. Expand
  8. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    At first I was very skeptical of Ys Seven: Adol looks more like a teenager, he's stripped of his jump ability and instead of going solo, you now have a huge party just as big as traditional JRPGs. It's a huge departure from other recent Ys games, the stellar Oath in Felghana and Ys Origin.

    Strangely enough, I totally enjoyed Ys Seven. The teammates helped overhaul the combat system
    At first I was very skeptical of Ys Seven: Adol looks more like a teenager, he's stripped of his jump ability and instead of going solo, you now have a huge party just as big as traditional JRPGs. It's a huge departure from other recent Ys games, the stellar Oath in Felghana and Ys Origin.

    Strangely enough, I totally enjoyed Ys Seven. The teammates helped overhaul the combat system tremendously, the Shop/Synthesis was very enjoyable and the boss fights are the typical "Die until you master his patterns" that fans of the series love. The game is also quite long compared to other Ys; it took me about 22 hours.

    The game is extremely easy to pick up and play and requires no prior knowledge of any other Ys games to fully understand the story. It's a must own for any JRPG, Beat-em up and action adventure games and I can't recommend it enough.
    Expand
  9. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    A good way to start being addicted into RPGs in general. Doesn't really break or create anything new but what it has running under its engine it does very well. Adol is still your silent protagonist and is quite easy to identify with--he's an adventurer and that pretty much sums up everything about him, from his personality, motivations and sense of morality, which is all pretty one-sided.A good way to start being addicted into RPGs in general. Doesn't really break or create anything new but what it has running under its engine it does very well. Adol is still your silent protagonist and is quite easy to identify with--he's an adventurer and that pretty much sums up everything about him, from his personality, motivations and sense of morality, which is all pretty one-sided. You can get in and out of the game very easily but that being said, its a very colorful action-RPG which will make you wonder where all the time went. Get it. Expand
  10. Apr 17, 2014
    9
    An all-around excellent game, and a perfect follow-up to Ys: The Oath in Felghana. The gameplay is fast-paced and engaging, the story is compelling with constant twists and turns, and the translation is top-notch. The only critique I have is that, compared to Felghana, this game is too easy. I recommend playing it on Hard mode if you've played Felghana, because Ys Seven's Normal mode isAn all-around excellent game, and a perfect follow-up to Ys: The Oath in Felghana. The gameplay is fast-paced and engaging, the story is compelling with constant twists and turns, and the translation is top-notch. The only critique I have is that, compared to Felghana, this game is too easy. I recommend playing it on Hard mode if you've played Felghana, because Ys Seven's Normal mode is nowhere near as challenging as Felghana's Normal mode. Expand
  11. Nov 27, 2014
    10
    First time i see this game, i just like "it's just same like the others RPG games out there" but Ys 7 is totally different than others even the graphic is not good as Final Fantasy but the gameplay is better than Final Fantasy. First of all, the fast strike and dodge system. You can easily dodge the enemy's attack just by a single button and if you charged up your sword and hit the enemy,First time i see this game, i just like "it's just same like the others RPG games out there" but Ys 7 is totally different than others even the graphic is not good as Final Fantasy but the gameplay is better than Final Fantasy. First of all, the fast strike and dodge system. You can easily dodge the enemy's attack just by a single button and if you charged up your sword and hit the enemy, not just increasing your damage but refill your Sp too. The second one is the boss fight and skill, the music is awesome, the boss is difficult to fight and the battle is just epic! You can learn a new skill when you got a new weapon, level up your skill and you can set the skill up for easily use while in battle. Not to mention it, the party system. Adol is the one who can use three type of attack and it's totally a bless for me. Easy to change the character while in battle to match with enemy's weakness, and if you have a character who using the same type of attack like Adol, you can simply change adol's weapon to change the type of Adol's attack. If you searching for non-type of turn-based RPG, Ys 7 is the answer Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jan 23, 2011
    80
    Along with being better suited to the PSP's capabilities than the previous Ys VI port, Seven also overhauls some major aspects of the series. [Issue#105, p.120]
  2. Dec 21, 2010
    70
    One of the best action role-players on any portable - if it wasn't for the appallingly banal plot and characters.
  3. Oct 25, 2010
    80
    Despite these minor miscues, Ys Seven proves that you can tweak a classic game series without ruining it in the process.