Metascore
40

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Adventure Time: Explore the Dungeon Because I DON'T KNOW has you save the Candy Kingdom by exploring the mysteries surrounding a massive Secret Royal Dungeon deep below the Land of Ooo.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 5 out of 7
  1. Dec 3, 2013
    50
    Adventure Time: Explore the Dungeon Because I DON'T KNOW! is not a complete failure, but it's also not the game that Adventure Time fans deserve or should expect from a developer like WayForward.
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    50
    Adventure Time: Explore the Dungeon Because I DON'T KNOW! does a great job of managing and working with the story, characters, and feel of the franchise, but unfortunately doesn't have the gameplay to match, especially at a $40 retail price. If you're interested in the narrative and the chance to play as your favorite characters, wait for the price to come down to $15-20, more in keeping with the kind of downloadable title this game feels like.
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    42
    It’s just too bad that this dungeon crawler just doesn’t live up to what it looks like.
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    40
    WayForward’s second Adventure Time game fails to marry the imagination of the Cartoon Network series with a top-down dungeon crawler, resulting in a lifeless quest that does neither the cartoon nor the genre any justice.
  5. It isn't terrible, it's just dull. [Feb 2014, p.84]
  6. Dec 19, 2013
    40
    Very little is enticing about Adventure Time: Explore the Dungeon Because I DON'T KNOW! outside of the license being used, and even that isn't applied properly here.
  7. Dec 6, 2013
    20
    The game's title may not provide justification for exploring the dungeon, but the much bigger I DON'T KNOW here is why anyone would play this game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. May 3, 2014
    6
    It's not actually the worst thing possible like many sources may tell you and I actually kind of enjoyed it. The part that gets most people is the repetition and yes it is very repetitious. The voice acting was an excellent treat for fans and newcomers alike and I felt encouraged to play as all the different characters just to hear all their lines. I found the dungeon music to be fine at first, but it got very repetitive after awhile. Heck I didn't even mind the actual dungeon levels, but again they get quite repetitive. All the characters have their perks and I found myself enjoying using all of them. The bosses were pretty creative, but a couple of them like the one on level 50 I found myself hating. This game was mediocre and I recommend putting some thought into your final decision before buying. As a fan you might find some enjoyment in the humor, cutscenes and voice acting. It might be better just to wait for the $40 price to go down or to skip entirely. Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2013
    5
    Adventure Time: EtDBIDK is a fun and amusing treat for any fan of the show. It features every beloved main character, and voice acting from each one as well (which I was pleasantly surprised with!). The environment art style is smooth and aesthetic, just like the show, while the title screen, characters, and items are designed with pixel art which fits in nicely for a fun visual design overall. The music in the tile is a catchy chiptune, and the in-game music grooves non-stop and lives up to the awesomeness of the show.
    The game's concept is simple. Explore deeper and deeper through many levels and areas of Princess Bubblegum's dungeon to find out what the heck is happening with her prisoners. Each level contains interesting foes who you can fight for gold and items. There are quite a few crazy and quirky items which you won't know exactly what they do until you find them and try them out yourself, which gives it a subtle Binding of Isaac vibe. In addition to all this, you have BMO talking to you constantly through the WiiU gamepad about what's happening as you play which is super awesome and fun.
    Essentially, everything about Adventure Time: EtDBIDK is amazing besides the actual gameplay itself. Which will leave the gamer and fan of AT feeling let down. The game can't seem to find a fun balance between way too easy, and way too harsh and unfair. You collect gold in the dungeon to spend at ground level for upgrades or items for whichever character you control at the time, but if you die, that gold is cut in half and you are sent to ground level, and forced to spend it, because if you go back in the dungeon, Princess Bubblegum takes all of it for "tax reasons". There are pretty neat boss fights that (after the first one) you will probably die a few times in, which takes the player by surprise after waltzing through the non-boss levels with hardly even a scratch. Thankfully, the game allows 3 deaths before cutting your gold in half, but it still is frustrating because there's no way to go back up to the surface besides ONE CHECKPOINT per area, which is halfway between the last boss and the next, so collecting gold can feel futile and frustrating if saving up for an upgrade.
    As a big fan of Adventure Time, I was looking forward to this game because of all the awesome potential it had, and it succeeded in some areas, but considering the poorly designed gameplay, I would really only recommend this game for much younger fans of the show, who perhaps won't be bored by the easy parts and will feel more rewarded for overcoming the difficulties/unfairness.
    Collapse