Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Aug 13, 2014
    60
    It's well presented, the control system is properly tuned and its difficulty level is balanced, qualities which amount to an entertaining work. Nevertheless, there are several flaws which should not be overlooked in a final game and which require a thorough revision, such as an irregular frame rate.
  2. Aug 6, 2014
    70
    It's a good platform, all things considered, and one that doesn't regret to celebrate some of the best sagas of the genre. Clearly, it ends struggling to find its own identity, but platforming fans will be engaged.
  3. Aug 1, 2014
    80
    For around the same price as a large extra value meal at McDonald's, Armillo provides a much better value and also doesn't pile on the pounds.
  4. Jul 21, 2014
    80
    It’s a relevant, unique and well done “indie” production, able to reach out to those players looking for a good challenge.
  5. Jul 21, 2014
    75
    Armillo is a colorful and funny game, with a brilliant level design and good ideas. It's a pity that the graphics engine just can't move at the same pace as the rest of the game.
  6. Jul 20, 2014
    85
    Armillo is an impressive puzzle platform which reminded us of Super Mario Galaxy, Sonic and Metroid in a very good way. It's fun and smart with a perfect length and tons of cool unlockables.
  7. Jul 13, 2014
    75
    It has some issues, both technical and artistic, but the experience works and even though it borrows from classics and it feels original.
  8. Jul 11, 2014
    70
    Armillo is a fun and well designed puzzle/adventure game that follows the path established by premium classics such Sonic and Mario.
  9. Jul 10, 2014
    50
    A blast from the past in a good way.
  10. Jul 7, 2014
    67
    I really enjoyed the gameplay mechanics that Armillo has to offer, but they’re held back by issues that could have been fixed with more development time. This should be one of the best platformers on Wii U, but it unfortunately remains as a flawed gem in its current state.
  11. Jul 4, 2014
    80
    A large amount of content, regular new gameplay additions that ensure the game doesn't get stale, a full second set of levels with completely different gameplay, and high replayability have all come together to create the newest must-have eShop title. The occasional framerate hiccups are a downer, but don't detract from the overall experience.
  12. Jul 2, 2014
    75
    Armillo is a charming platformer that manages to do just enough to differentiate it from some of its predecessors. Although it didn't blow me away by any stretch of the imagination, it has a ton of content packed in it to the point where I'll be spending quite a while to find it all.
  13. 80
    It’s an easy-to-pick-up, fun title that just about anyone can enjoy.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jul 4, 2014
    9
    I've gotta say, I'm more than impressed. From the spot-on controls, immediately lovable mascots and addictive gameplay, to the techno-nature menu soundtrack, bonus 2D levels and upgrade system, Armillo has managed to exceed expectations in every single aspect. Sometimes, the whole is greater than the sum of its' parts, and Armillo is a classic example of that.
    Reviews have been scarce for this title, so allow me to set the record straight- Armillo is much better than you're probably expecting. Navigating the maze of guided rail paths on the surface of 3D Planets is fun in and of itself, but the upgrade system makes the game all the more addictive. Not to mention alternate dimension traveling, bonus Moon Worlds, unlockable 2D platforming levels (which are VERY novel and entertaining btw) and boss fights. It all comes together nicely, and I would definitely recommend this game to anyone who, well, likes fun games :)
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 12, 2014
    10
    I have absolutely no idea why this is getting mediocre reviews. i'm in love with this game. It has gameplay that screams fun and innovation, and the graphics are just beautiful for an indie game on wii u. the only faults i can find are the very meh soundtrack and the occasional framerate issues. Full Review »
  3. Jul 15, 2014
    10
    I first got my hands on Armillo at a convention and it was nothing short of amazing - intuitive controls, great level design, proper physics, beautiful graphics, amazing soundtracks/audio details, plus all the adorable characters. I haven't had such fun with a game in a long time (that I finished Armillo in two sittings and bought myself a WiiU for its launch in eShop).

    The 3D levels have lots of replay value, and the unlockable 2D levels are such a treat. The game has the perfect learning curve where levels gradually increase in difficulty - they are challenging at times but never frustrating. New mechanics are being introduced every few levels so the game is always refreshing and rewarding. Armillo exceeds all my expectations with its pure, fun, gameplay, and I'd highly recommend you start rolling with that little guy!
    Full Review »