Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 155 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Colonies, 1775: A brave your warrior fights to save his homeland. But what begins as a struggle over territory turns into a journey that will transform him into a Master Assassin - one that will forever change the destiny of a newborn nation. Assume the role of Connor, warrior son of a Native American mother and British father. As the colonies draw closer to revolution, you will dedicate your life to the freedom of your clan, becoming the spark that ignites the revolution into a full blaze. Your crusade will lead you through blood-soaked battlefields and crowded city streets, to the perilous wilderness and stormy seas. Always know where your enemies are with a larger, more expansive overhead map at your fingertips. Easily change your weapons on the fly to vary your combos without ever stopping the action on-screen. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    The Wii U version of the title is practically the same as the other console versions, but unlike Wii U ports that originally came out months ago, it's possible that prospective buyers have still not purchased it. If that's the case, the Wii U version is as fine option as any, but those who have the game have absolutely no reason to buy it again. Still, forgetting its a port, Assassin's Creed III is the best game in the Wii U launch line-up and should be a must-buy for those yet to experience its incredible adventure.
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    91
    In more ways than one, this fifth installment (of the core console franchise) feels like the definitive Assassin's Creed experience.
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    90
    The same experiences we've enjoyed on other consoles, keeping all its strengths and weaknesses. There's little use of the GamePad, but Ubisoft didn't want to force the experience.
  4. Nov 22, 2012
    85
    Although it hasn't reviewed the bugs or added important things, Assassin's Creed III is still a great sandbox adventure, with lots to do and a powerful story. One of the best Wii U titles for Christmas.
  5. A massive, lovingly crafted game that's stuffed with things to do, but the limited GamePad functionality and linear mission design are disappointing.
  6. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    The Wii U version of Assassin's Creed III is still great, but the lack of cool features for the new GamePad has to be noticed. A number of frame rate issues and some bugs are enough to judge this version of ACIII the less impressive out there.
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    70
    Combat is incredible, and the cities of Boston and New York deliver some of the strongest open-world gameplay you'll experience this generation. And yet, it's still an extremely uneven experience, even if the strong gameplay outlives the issues to make for a solid package.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    This game totally rocks. The graphics maybe the same as the 360 and ps3, but with this versions what you see is what you get. On the Wii U, the map and horse calling is on the gamepad. But only on the Wii U can you play the game on the gamepad and not just the t.v.
    Some people may say you can do this on the 360 or ps3, remember the Wii U just came out and its up to the developer how they handle the games.

    This is a must buy on the Wii U
    Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Browsing the reviews here comes to show the amount of hate the Wii U is getting (by the usual fanboys). Firstly, let me just clear this up. This game looks the exact same compared to the PS3 version and the 360 version - some parts even look better. It runs slightly smoother and the texture detail seems improved. The Wii U gamepad functionality is more of a mixed bag. Unfortunately there's not a lot you can do with the gamepad - it only acts as a larger minimap. However, it has its uses. The gamepad really shines because you can play the entirety of the game on the gamepad, rather than on the TV, which is very handy. Collapse
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    AC3 it's just a copy of xbox 360/ps3 game..nothing all..Great game in all home console.. This is an excellent game also on wii u..maybe a little darkness than xbox360 o ps3 version but always a good action game Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    AC3 brings a lot to the table with new mechanics, an amazing over world, a fun hunting distraction, and the WiiU version is just as good as any other. Being able to play on the Gamepad is a blast and with so much to do, you'll appreciate being able to play it in bed. Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2012
    8
    I've never played any other game in the Assassin's Creed series. While I'm probably sure the ideal version of this game is the PC version (For the graphics), I have to say I'm glad I bought the Wii U version. Being able to turn off the on-screen HUD and use the gamepad for your minimap, health bar, etc. is a little thing that makes a big difference to me. There are some glitches (which I understand are not Wii U exclusive), but the game is simply massive, so glitches don't surprise me. I just hope they get fixed, and that isn't something Ubisoft has a good track record of. Still I spent just about every waking moment over Thanksgiving weekend playing this game, so it must be doing a lot of things right. Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    8
    ACIII is a good game with the potential to be a great game. Aspects such as combat and the story's setting are fun and intriguing, yet other aspects such as the open-world concept and controls are flawed. While visiting historic Boston is a treat, playing missions in the modern world is far less interesting. I found the characters interesting, but I felt no connection to the modern world crew. Stealth missions can be entertaining while blending-in with ordinary citizens, but it's not always easy to determine whether you're under cover or not. I think this game is worthy of a playthrough especially at a discounted price on any console; and given the WiiU's thin library, this is probably one of the best games available on the Nintendo console. Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2013
    2
    This game is really just a new coat of paint for previous games. There is no new innovation that makes the game more worth while. This game adds even more clunky mini game type parts that are unresponsive with poor controls and extremely shallow, shadow issues seem to ruin the possibility of thinking this game might have descent graphics. The controls work some time and in other times they will work so horribly that you won't have to retry just to figure out how to get the controls to work how they should have in the first place. The only thing that people have been enjoying is the story which is exceedingly convoluted and pandering to a certain conspiracy theory type of people. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews