Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    80
    Although a year later than its brethren, Batman: Arkham City - Armoured Edition manages to differentiate itself as a subtly enhanced version with all the bells and quirks of the extra content added on top. The GamePad additions will split opinion on what works and what doesn't, but for one of the better launch titles -- if maybe not the best running one -- this is a considerable option.
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    So, Wii U owners: In the end, you got the weakest version of a game that stays utterly remarkable in its own right. It deserves all of your attention. Everyone else, go on, there's nothing here for you that you haven't experienced in a better iteration somewhere else.
  3. Nov 22, 2012
    80
    This is still the same great Arkham City we played last year, but the new gimmicks, weird visual issues and glitches make it truly an inferior version when compared to the others. I really wish they had put more thought into how to implement the touch screen into the mix, because as it stands, it is more hindrance than help.
  4. 70
    Still a fantastically well-designed action adventure, but this is easily the worst version of the best superhero game ever made.
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    70
    I won't say that the framerate issue is a deal-breaker, but it's definitely keeping me from wholeheartedly recommending Armored Edition.
  6. Nov 18, 2012
    70
    Although the core of Batman: Arkham City remains intact, new glitches and tacked-on gimmicks take away from the overall experience enough to make this a clearly inferior version of one of the great games of this generation.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    70
    It took things that already worked perfectly and shook them until they cracked. Not shattered completely, but undoubtedly broken, just a little bit.
  8. Nov 16, 2013
    60
    Batman: Arkham Origins is the tricky type of game that isn’t innately bad, but it recycles so much from its predecessors and does absolutely nothing to improve upon them.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    If you have already played it there is no reason to get this. The new editions are not worth it and the game looking side by side next to the 360 version looks about the same. I am glad all of the DLC is on it but I kind of feel like I should of passed on this. It is still the game it was a year ago and that is actually a big let down. But I am not gonna give it a bad score because it isn't a bad game. So I will give it what I gave the 360 version and assume someone will not make the same mistake I did. Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    I never got Arkham City when it first came out, so this is brand new for me. Its great, and even though I am not far in, I can already tell there is a lot of added value with all that dlc included. That said the WiiU controls aren't that amazing; they don't seem to add to much, but it could be a nice alternative for people who played Arkham City already.
    Glad I got this one at launch.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    This is the best Wii U launch game by so far. Yeah, maybe it's one year later, and it's suppose that there is not going to be anyone to play this one. Anyway, it's the same game, simply the great and brilliant game released on 2011. Nothing changes, even the technical aspect. But if you've played another versions, specially the GOTY one, you are going to waste your money shamelessly. This game is great for those who haven't played the game, or simply are Nintendo-Batman fans. Full Review »