Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Jan 11, 2013
    80
    If you enjoyed Batman: Arkham City in 2011, there's really no great incentive to don the superhero costume again. The Wii U version is still a good way to experience and explore Arkham City if you've yet to play the game, though.
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    So, Wii U owners: In the end, you got the weakest version of a game that stays utterly remarkable in its own right. It deserves all of your attention. Everyone else, go on, there's nothing here for you that you haven't experienced in a better iteration somewhere else.
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    A really good game that becomes fantastic with GamePad. It almost feels like the whole game was designed only for this way of playing Batman: Arkham City.
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    70
    I won't say that the framerate issue is a deal-breaker, but it's definitely keeping me from wholeheartedly recommending Armored Edition.
  5. 84
    If you have yet to experience Batman: Arkham City on the Xbox 360 and PS3, then Batman: Arkham City – Armored Edition is a no brainer purchase; yet, if you have already ventured a few rounds with the cape crusader through this adventure on a previous console than I have a hard time recommending the $50 plunge.
  6. Nov 18, 2012
    70
    Although the core of Batman: Arkham City remains intact, new glitches and tacked-on gimmicks take away from the overall experience enough to make this a clearly inferior version of one of the great games of this generation.
  7. Dec 13, 2012
    85
    Batman Arkham City: Armored Edition is pretty much similar to Arkham Asylum. Less focused on the story, Rocksteady's game sticks to the usual codes linked to the famous Dark Knight, flying from crime scene to crime scene across Gotham City. A great liberty of action that offers diversified gameplay sequences. However, the Wii U version suffers from freezing problems and the new gameplay mechanics introduced by the GamePad are mostly anecdotal.
  8. Feb 3, 2014
    80
    An outstanding experience that will throw the player into Arkham's sombre environments. This game is able to turn nearly everyone into a Batman follower, whether they're ready or not. An essential title which perfectly ties exquisite story-telling with near-perfect gameplay mechanics.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    If you have already played it there is no reason to get this. The new editions are not worth it and the game looking side by side next to the 360 version looks about the same. I am glad all of the DLC is on it but I kind of feel like I should of passed on this. It is still the game it was a year ago and that is actually a big let down. But I am not gonna give it a bad score because it isn't a bad game. So I will give it what I gave the 360 version and assume someone will not make the same mistake I did. Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    I never got Arkham City when it first came out, so this is brand new for me. Its great, and even though I am not far in, I can already tell there is a lot of added value with all that dlc included. That said the WiiU controls aren't that amazing; they don't seem to add to much, but it could be a nice alternative for people who played Arkham City already.
    Glad I got this one at launch.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    This is the best Wii U launch game by so far. Yeah, maybe it's one year later, and it's suppose that there is not going to be anyone to play this one. Anyway, it's the same game, simply the great and brilliant game released on 2011. Nothing changes, even the technical aspect. But if you've played another versions, specially the GOTY one, you are going to waste your money shamelessly. This game is great for those who haven't played the game, or simply are Nintendo-Batman fans. Full Review »