Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 243 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have beenThis new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a mysterious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. The new Perks system has more perks than were previously available. Every perk has a value from 1 to 5, and you have 8 points to allocate. So for example, choose 4 perks each valued at 2 points a piece, or even 8 perks, each valued at 1. You could also choose to get rid of your secondary weapon and get up to 11 perks. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    84
    If you’re a Wii U owner looking for a great first-person shooter that’s comparable to the current generation, then rejoice in knowing that Activision has provided just that experience for you.
  2. The multiplayer pillar is wobbly, but a lightness of touch elsewhere keeps the game steady. Not a stellar year for Call of Duty, but solid enough. [Jan 2014, p.78]
  3. 70
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is an alright game, but it doesn't push the boundaries as much other entries in the franchise.
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    67
    The new multiplayer modes are exciting, but they are bogged down by the low quality maps. If you just need a game to scratch your FPS itch, Ghosts will tide you over till another Call of Duty comes out, but if you are looking for a shooter that is surprising and profound, you are better off passing on Ghosts.
  5. Nov 17, 2013
    60
    The campaign is a shallow Frankengame, hollow-hearted and unsure of its footing as it tries to keep up with Call of Duty's own self-escalation of incredulous scenarios, with ludicrously stupid set pieces and a story built around relationships that nobody will care about come the end of the credits.
  6. Jan 10, 2014
    60
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is everything that Call of Duty titles have been in the past: fast-paced action and the usual competitive multiplayer with a few twists thrown in.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 34
  2. Negative: 11 out of 34
  1. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    Best Call Of Duty game yet. I haven't played Multiplayer or Extinction but I buy games for the campaign stories. But my only is that, it onlyBest Call Of Duty game yet. I haven't played Multiplayer or Extinction but I buy games for the campaign stories. But my only is that, it only took me 4 hours to beat. It's to short. But it's one of the best games of last year and of all time. Expand
  2. Jan 27, 2014
    9
    One of the best cod storylines yet. Great game modes. Only problem is lack of people online but still enough to enjoy. Don't listen to trollsOne of the best cod storylines yet. Great game modes. Only problem is lack of people online but still enough to enjoy. Don't listen to trolls :) Wii u gameplay although not essential does help smooth things out like changing loadout ect. Graphics are nice not the best but solid enough. Definitly worth getting if you want a shooter on the Wii u Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Graphics are really good and much improved from Black ops 2 on the Wii U. Better looking then a PS3 or 360 is capable of but not as good as aGraphics are really good and much improved from Black ops 2 on the Wii U. Better looking then a PS3 or 360 is capable of but not as good as a PS4 version. The alien mode is fun and i personally like it better then Zombies. Best graphics on the Wii U system and a definite buy Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    This game has a lot of flaws, no doubt about that. The campaign is one of the absolute worst campaigns I've ever experienced in a first personThis game has a lot of flaws, no doubt about that. The campaign is one of the absolute worst campaigns I've ever experienced in a first person shooter, extinction mode is boring and gets stale very quickly. But the multiplayer is the most fun I've ever had with Call of Duty multiplayer. If this was a multiplayer only game, I'd give it a 9/10, but it's not and while it does have amazing multiplayer, if you're looking for a complete package, Call of Duty Ghosts is not that game. But if you're looking for some of the best arcade style fps action in some years, this is THE GAME to buy on any platform. Expand
  5. Feb 5, 2015
    6
    Another year, another Call of Duty. Call of Duty: Ghosts is the tenth main stream game in the series and at launch critics and fans alike allAnother year, another Call of Duty. Call of Duty: Ghosts is the tenth main stream game in the series and at launch critics and fans alike all gave the game mixed and negative score. I interest into why this game has gotten all the hate from everyone, but when I played get I can see why. First the story was weak with plot holes every where and game play section we seen in past game and extinction I find pretty boring. The one part I enjoyed the most is the mulitplayer, but for a game on the Wii U. It's avenge, the graphics are good and the frame rate and dip some times. If you want to get into the series play Black ops 2 or Advance Warfare I think their better. Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2014
    4
    On a console that has very few online games, Ghosts proves to be a decent game for Wii U owners to play online. Of course, the graphics areOn a console that has very few online games, Ghosts proves to be a decent game for Wii U owners to play online. Of course, the graphics are still substandard, frame rate drops occasionally, crappy story, and a campaign that loses its fun after its first play through. Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2014
    0
    Game is just total **** the worst CoD I have ever played I mean seriously! The maps are too big, 6 vs 6 on current-gen console! battlefield isGame is just total **** the worst CoD I have ever played I mean seriously! The maps are too big, 6 vs 6 on current-gen console! battlefield is much better in every way! I mean how could you see one just ONE that is better in Battlefield! This game is just complete garbage... I have said enough. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews