Child of Light Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 148 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The duke's daughter Aurora is dead; and yet, she lives. Join Aurora across the mysterious kingdom of Lemuria on her quest to return home. Helped by Igniculus the firefly, Finn the Capilli and many more, she must defeat the Queen of the Night who has stolen the sun, the moon and the stars.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. May 15, 2014
    90
    Child of Light is a fantastic game, despite its flaws, and can be enjoyed by any kind of player without regrets.
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    90
    Sound combines with art and writing for the creative triple treat. Piano is at the forefront of most of the game’s soundtrack, with an orchestral accompaniment providing a robust lift; perfect for this manner of presentation.
  3. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Jun 29, 2014
    87
    An aesthetically pleasing wonder for the eShop. It might be a short game, but it's definitely worth the asking price. [July 2014, p.82]
  4. May 29, 2014
    85
    Child of Light is an artist's RPG through and through. Combat is more thoughtful than intimidating, the story is at once archetypal and clever, and the game's visual and auditory flare is truly something to behold.
  5. May 28, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is nothing short of a delight of appealing mechanics and marvelous artistic component, set to enchant those looking for a charming RPG. Its storylines could use some additional development, as well as more tasks outside the plot’s line, but this remains a solid choice.
  6. May 5, 2014
    80
    Child of Light is a great first step into the genre for Ubisoft and a thoroughly enjoyable experience overall. It takes the classic Active Time Battle system and puts a twist on it with the Timeline mechanic. The presentation is top notch and sure to generate some interest in the game all on its own.
  7. 75
    It is terrific to look at, and its battle system remained addictive for several hours of gameplay. The humdrum exploration, the too-repetitive (though fun) combat, and the unfocused story bring the title down after a strong first impression.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    That's what I most expect from modern gaming. Fresh and rich new ideas, with great emphasis on mood, soundtrack and design. This game is a joyThat's what I most expect from modern gaming. Fresh and rich new ideas, with great emphasis on mood, soundtrack and design. This game is a joy from the title screen. Local multiplayer is a big plus on Wii-U. I'll be sitting on the couch with my wife for long hours of delight. Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    I had no idea what to expect from this game, it was on my sister's request that I bought it. However, I was hooked right when I saw the titleI had no idea what to expect from this game, it was on my sister's request that I bought it. However, I was hooked right when I saw the title screen.
    The game has an undeniable atmosphere with stunning watercolor graphics and beautiful soundtrack.
    The story is built up by fairytale elements, yet it is done with originality.
    The gameplay was fluent, quick turns felt smooth even when going in higher speeds (although it is not recommended in the most narrow paths). Controlling both the main character and her firefly-companion could be challenging at times, but never really difficult. Speaking of the firefly, he was used in a lot of clever light-puzzles, and in the battle system as a real-time supporting character.
    The battle system in itself was introduced to you with perfect pacing. It reached higher complexity as the game progressed, calling for some strategical thinking.
    Playing it on the WiiU was especially appealing to me, since I could just switch to the gamepad and play it as a handheld. It felt even more immersive to me then.
    All in all, I'd recommend this game to both casual and serious gamers as a relaxing and immersive experience.
    Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2015
    10
    A charming game, with a unique ambience and beautiful graphics. Although the gameplay is pretty straightforward and the linear story notA charming game, with a unique ambience and beautiful graphics. Although the gameplay is pretty straightforward and the linear story not particularly captivating, it remains a refreshing experience thanks to its fun characters, its great soundtrack, and this little something that can't be described but somehow makes you keep playing long after you had initially planned to stop, just because you always want to see more... It's a game you can't miss! Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    Child of Light. I bought this for the 5th of a full-price game, but boy did it deliver. Ubisoft doesn't really cut my mustard these days, butChild of Light. I bought this for the 5th of a full-price game, but boy did it deliver. Ubisoft doesn't really cut my mustard these days, but this game was really refreshing. Nice graphics, original story, beautiful music and relatively okay controls makes this game a nice game-experience. The turn-based fighting could have been a little more intuitive but it works. It takes time to learn tactics in some of the battles however, and the skill-system is somewhat hard to understand right away. Got a bit of collecting going on too and once you set into this the game gets a bit more interesting. Very few quests to do, but they are unlike many other games very different from each other, even though most of them involves locating places. Thumb up for this one Ubisoft, but this is the only one you will get from me this year. You won't regret buying this one. Expand
  5. Apr 18, 2015
    9
    From the engine that birthed the brilliant Rayman Legends comes yet another Ubisoft marvel. And its name is Child of Light. This game is justFrom the engine that birthed the brilliant Rayman Legends comes yet another Ubisoft marvel. And its name is Child of Light. This game is just beautiful. The somewhat playful art style contrasts heavily with its dark undertones, making Lemuria a very intriguing place to explore. The battle system is quite standard in being turn-based and having a timeline, but is made a little more unique by the fact that you are able to interrupt enemies that are preparing attacks. You can also use Igniculus - your guardian firefly friend - to heal your party in between turns. In terms of difficulty, Normal mode is actually really easy, even without upgrading. However, it does take a steep turn later on in the game. If you're upgrading your party at a consistent rate, you probably won't notice such a large spike in difficulty. The music is amazing and reminds me a little bit of the sounds from Knytt Underground at times, which I absolutely adore. Lastly, the rhyming dialogue gives this game a lot of great charm - even if they like to change the pronunciation of the word "again" every so often. Overall, Child of Light deserves a solid 9 out of 10. Had a blast playing it, listening to the music, reading all of its quirky rhymes, and whacking around some very frightful monsters. Much enjoyed! Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2014
    8
    Cute little fascinating game that is suitable for everyone, gamers or not. It gives a nice fantasy feel of the game and the story isCute little fascinating game that is suitable for everyone, gamers or not. It gives a nice fantasy feel of the game and the story is interesting which makes it addicting. (^ω^) Expand
  7. Aug 11, 2014
    0
    I'd give this a 4 but you all know how metacritic works graphics are in simplicity : cheap gameplay is steryotypical and nothing all thatI'd give this a 4 but you all know how metacritic works graphics are in simplicity : cheap gameplay is steryotypical and nothing all that knew story is non existent honestly and the audio is good but that won't make a game for me at least I did not like this one bit Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers