Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 384 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze has players help Donkey Kong and his friends get back their home from Vikings. Swing, swim, leap, and barrel-blast your way through tons of eye-popping levels to save DK Island from a permanent freeze.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    100
    Everything in Tropical Freeze was made with extreme care and attention. From the landscapes and enemies to the music and level design. Each island has its own ecosystem so filled with details and different things to do that, as soon as one level is over, the question of what will Retro do next always looms around, and the developer always surprises.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    93
    Just like the previous game, I yelled alternating cries of agony and relief working through particularly challenging areas. Almost everything is fair and doable with enough focus and patience; the bonus stages are a little ridiculous, but that's to be expected. [March 2014, p.89]
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    90
    Another "job well done" by the masters at Retro Studios.
  4. Feb 17, 2014
    85
    Tropical Freeze is a marvel. Though it doesn’t deviate from expectations in the slightest, it’s an exceptional, and exceptionally tough platformer that just about every masochistic Wii U owner should play.
  5. Feb 27, 2014
    80
    Tropical Freeze is exactly what we expected from the sequel of one of the best platform games of the last generation. There might not be many surprises, but this is still an extremely polished (and great) game.
  6. Feb 17, 2014
    80
    You know what you are going to get when you buy a Donkey Kong Country game. Fortunately, that's a good thing and this is no exception.
  7. Feb 17, 2014
    60
    If the regular levels were as inventive as the boss battles, then Tropical Freeze would be a surefire hit, or at least a game that demands more of your attention. No matter how much I was looking forward to seeing DK in HD, it's difficult to maintain that enthusiasm when the end product plays it so safe: even the visuals fail to make an impact. They're nice enough, but like the level design, the environments are mostly bland.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 81
  2. Negative: 7 out of 81
  1. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Haven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are top class. The gameplay is fluid and intuitive. Lots of great, subtle ideas presented on a moment by moment basis, so I'm not sure what all the "lack of ambitious gameplay" is all about. Maybe these reviewers rushed through things a bit?

    Absolutely beautiful game, by the way. Maybe the best looking game on the Wii U (Close between this and Mario 3D World). David Wise on the soundtrack puts it over the top. Get it.
    Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    I am struggling to figure out how a site like Gamespot can use the words "bland level design" when reviewing this game.

    Each stage of this
    game is as unique as Rayman Origins was when it came out.

    This is as close to the original DKC games as we are EVER going to get.

    Do yourself a favour: Pretend it's you from 1996 and you've just finished DKC 3, and you're wondering "what will they do next?" Someone shows up and gives you this and says. "This is the DKC from 18 years into the future. Play it. See what you think.

    That's how i felt playing this game. It's astonishing.

    Well done, Retro Studios.
    Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    a masterfully crafted game. music,visuals,game play,variety. this game offers so much! the amount of detail this game has is incredible! to the enemy that inhabit the land to the environment all the way to the smallest animations. this game will keep you hooked. at one point you will be shot into a tornado, jumping on land that has been ripped from the ground while lighting strikes at you destroying the very platforms you stand on. at another you will be in a mine cart dodging left and right avoiding wholes in the track made by sharks right in front of your very eyes. there are many instances like these, challenging and rewarding and none of the game feels unfair. all of this action is complement by the beautifully crafted music and environment. for any wiiu owner, this is a must buy. Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    a nostalgic romp through all the best things that donkey kong country has to offer. the gameplay is fluid, quick and fun. the music is great and really true to the series. the graphics are also impressive as an HD Nintendo title.

    this game really hits the nail on the head if you are looking for a solid new entry to the donkey kong series.
    Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2014
    9
    Tropical Freeze is the true sequel to the original DKC games. The levels are very creative, the graphics are very crisp, and the bosses are perhaps the greatest bosses in any 2-d platformer EVER. The game also has some different levels, such as minecart, boat, barrel blasting, and swimming levels. Even though it's a 2-d game, some of the scenery is 3-d. You can even interact with the background in some levels. My only complaint about this game is that it's VERY VERY HARD. But it's more than worth it for this great game. Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    Perfect? No. Beautiful, challenging, and ambitious? Absolutely. I own DK Returns on the Wii and 3DS, never got too much into it... But this one goes above and beyond, console-purchasing worthy gameplay with in-depth levels, a beautiful colorful world, and difficult enough even for the most avid gamers looking for a new challenge. I can't give it a 10 simply because, well, I think you can fairly compare this to the Mario franchise... While comparable, Mario just has an "it" factor that can't be touched. A tremendous game nonetheless and a must-have title for all current or potential Wii U owners. People really need to stop sleeping on this console as it currently has some excellent titles, DK Tropical Freeze being a noteworthy one. Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2014
    4
    This game just wasn't enjoyable to me. I didn't find it fun after the first few levels. Overcoming challenges was unsatisfying. Maybe you just have to play with another person? Expand

See all 81 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.