Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 534 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze has players help Donkey Kong and his friends get back their home from Vikings. Swing, swim, leap, and barrel-blast your way through tons of eye-popping levels to save DK Island from a permanent freeze.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    100
    Everything in Tropical Freeze was made with extreme care and attention. From the landscapes and enemies to the music and level design. Each island has its own ecosystem so filled with details and different things to do that, as soon as one level is over, the question of what will Retro do next always looms around, and the developer always surprises.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    93
    Just like the previous game, I yelled alternating cries of agony and relief working through particularly challenging areas. Almost everything is fair and doable with enough focus and patience; the bonus stages are a little ridiculous, but that's to be expected. [March 2014, p.89]
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    90
    Another "job well done" by the masters at Retro Studios.
  4. Feb 17, 2014
    85
    Tropical Freeze is a marvel. Though it doesn’t deviate from expectations in the slightest, it’s an exceptional, and exceptionally tough platformer that just about every masochistic Wii U owner should play.
  5. Feb 27, 2014
    80
    Tropical Freeze is exactly what we expected from the sequel of one of the best platform games of the last generation. There might not be many surprises, but this is still an extremely polished (and great) game.
  6. Feb 17, 2014
    80
    You know what you are going to get when you buy a Donkey Kong Country game. Fortunately, that's a good thing and this is no exception.
  7. Feb 17, 2014
    60
    If the regular levels were as inventive as the boss battles, then Tropical Freeze would be a surefire hit, or at least a game that demands more of your attention. No matter how much I was looking forward to seeing DK in HD, it's difficult to maintain that enthusiasm when the end product plays it so safe: even the visuals fail to make an impact. They're nice enough, but like the level design, the environments are mostly bland.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 106
  2. Negative: 6 out of 106
  1. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Haven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are topHaven't finished the game, but from what I've played some of these low reviews are baffling. The level design and attention to detail are top class. The gameplay is fluid and intuitive. Lots of great, subtle ideas presented on a moment by moment basis, so I'm not sure what all the "lack of ambitious gameplay" is all about. Maybe these reviewers rushed through things a bit?

    Absolutely beautiful game, by the way. Maybe the best looking game on the Wii U (Close between this and Mario 3D World). David Wise on the soundtrack puts it over the top. Get it.
    Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    Basically if you like Donkey Country 1 and or 2 and or 3..This is better! Yes it is that good.The main thing I enjoyed was that it had cleverBasically if you like Donkey Country 1 and or 2 and or 3..This is better! Yes it is that good.The main thing I enjoyed was that it had clever hiding spots for the puzzle pieces,I have not even played through the 2nd stage yet and I can already say this is a 10 game,must have.Thank You Nintendo!! Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2014
    10
    This is what video games were meant to be. Entertainment found through challenge of skill-based gameplay, with flawless mechanics, top-tierThis is what video games were meant to be. Entertainment found through challenge of skill-based gameplay, with flawless mechanics, top-tier soundtrack, gorgeous visuals, expertly crafted level design, creative and unique bosses, and incredible replay value through time trials video uploads.

    I've loved Donkey Kong Country since I was a small child. And this game blows the breaks off its predecessors. Rare made a classic trilogy back in the 16-bit era, but the games fall incredibly short when compared to Retro's recent triumph. In fact, most games fall short of Tropical Freeze. I can't recommend this game enough. If you suck at video games, and like to be led through from start to finish with novice difficulty that makes you feel like a winner, this game is not for you. But if you are a real GAMER, and find entertainment through overcoming a challenge via practice, skill, and perfectly timed maneuvers, look no further. DKC Tropical Freeze is, at least in my opinion, the greatest 2D platformer I've ever played.
    Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    this game is a masterpiece! boss fight are very good. one of the best game my ever played.luckily this game is very challenge it´s like it!this game is a masterpiece! boss fight are very good. one of the best game my ever played.luckily this game is very challenge it´s like it! level are very long all collectecting per level need about 20 minutes to time.get this game now! very good! Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2014
    9
    Yet another great game from Retro! This game improves upon the Wii game in every aspect. Graphics, characters, sound, music, level design,Yet another great game from Retro! This game improves upon the Wii game in every aspect. Graphics, characters, sound, music, level design, and controls are spot on. This game is a challenge though. If you are easily frustrated from failing then this game may not be for you. If you are up to a challenge though, you will be rewarded with an excellent experience. The think the best thing about the game is the level design. There're challenging but never cheap. when you finish a level with all the collectibles you feel a great sense of accomplishment. One level that stands out is a Savannah like level where you're actually trapped in a tornado. You jump from one piece of debris to another piece of debris while being tossed through the storm. It's a very unique level and is only once example of the brilliantly design levels. Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2014
    9
    The Game is great for classic gamers and newer gamers, its a retro platform game with new type features. The reviews have been to harsh IThe Game is great for classic gamers and newer gamers, its a retro platform game with new type features. The reviews have been to harsh I strongly believe if a game is labeled "Wii U" then they will go in expecting to be bad. The game has a nice feel and flow, graphics are nice no frame rate issues for me. The only thing that needed to be added in my opinion is being able to play as other kongs in single player. Anyone who is looking for a fun game to play and owns a Wii U should pick it up for sure. There is no reason for this game to score anything less than an 80. Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2014
    4
    This game just wasn't enjoyable to me. I didn't find it fun after the first few levels. Overcoming challenges was unsatisfying. Maybe you justThis game just wasn't enjoyable to me. I didn't find it fun after the first few levels. Overcoming challenges was unsatisfying. Maybe you just have to play with another person? Expand

See all 106 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2014 Image
    Published: January 13, 2014
    We preview 2014's most notable upcoming game releases, including major new titles like Titanfall, Watch Dogs, and Destiny, sequels to popular franchises like The Witcher and Elder Scrolls, and a few key indie games.