Game & Wario Wii U

Game & Wario Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wario and his Diamond City friends are back in action. Game & Wario (working title) features a collection of games that use only the Wii U GamePad controller. The games retain the original flair and character of the micro-games from the WarioWare series.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 60
  2. Negative: 5 out of 60
  1. Jul 15, 2013
    89
    Game & Wario’s a game, a label it wears proudly in its name, and it delivers entertainment in spades. Get it.
  2. The very definition of a mixed bag, Game & Wario is innovative, but stingy with it; silly, but a bit of a slog. Beware the bad eggs, cherish the prize ones. [July 2013, p.82]
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    70
    Unlike the story depicted in Game & Wario, Wario’s latest game isn’t going to move units. It’s lacking in depth, and while some of the mini-games are stellar, the majority of them are uninspired and dull.
  4. Jun 21, 2013
    60
    Even though some games are funny, Game & Wario loses most of the appeal of its predecessors proposing just a bunch of "not-so-special" games.
  5. Jun 26, 2013
    60
    Wario, what happened to the fun?
  6. Jun 21, 2013
    51
    Wario Ware was once bristling with creativity and energy, fizzing and sputtering with mad, short-form ideas, but Game & Wario is just a bit boring. The selection of games is sparse, and a couple of excellent ones don't make up for the rest.
  7. Jun 27, 2013
    30
    A horribly disappointing mini-game collection that has none of the qualities of the real WarioWare titles and won’t entertain even the most game-starved Wii U owner for more than an hour or so.

See all 60 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Jan 3, 2016
    10
    Perfect Wii U party game, great with friends. The single player also has tons of good minigames that convinced me that the Wii U gamepad isPerfect Wii U party game, great with friends. The single player also has tons of good minigames that convinced me that the Wii U gamepad is something special. Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2013
    8
    This game is a great value it might not be the Wario Ware game that I waited for since finishing Wario Ware Smooth Moves. But is still a veryThis game is a great value it might not be the Wario Ware game that I waited for since finishing Wario Ware Smooth Moves. But is still a very good game despite that with tons of great games (excluding skiing), tons of content on each game, and it only costs $40. Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    overall really fun game, there was only 4 multi-player games but they were all really fun, single player games were very fun and creative waysoverall really fun game, there was only 4 multi-player games but they were all really fun, single player games were very fun and creative ways to use the game pad, and still fun to pass around with your friends. not as good as previous entries in the series but thought it was a good addition. for 40 dollars its deffinitly worth a pick up Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    7
    This game is a lot of fun in Multiplayer. 3 of the four games are great, while one is just good. Of the single player, theres like 4 or 5 thatThis game is a lot of fun in Multiplayer. 3 of the four games are great, while one is just good. Of the single player, theres like 4 or 5 that are good or better, the rest are lackluster. If you know your going to be playing with friends, I would recommend this game, as its only $40, but if you're looking for an engaging single player experience, look elsewhere. Collapse
  5. Feb 1, 2016
    6
    Game & Wario is a decent game for the Wii U which sadly doesn't have too much to brag about. I've always been a fan of the fun and maddeningGame & Wario is a decent game for the Wii U which sadly doesn't have too much to brag about. I've always been a fan of the fun and maddening WarioWare series, in which you have to complete microgames in a certain time limit to advance with the stories of different characters, all of which have been cleverly and carefully crafted. This game has some aspects of its successful predecessors, but in my opinion is more of a less successful spin-off.
    Game & Wario brings back the familiar characters from Diamond City, such as Mona, Dr. Crygor, Ashley & Red, 9-Volt, 18-Volt, Wario himself and my personal favourite Orbulon, and puts them onto the powerful Wii U system. However rather than give the characters an individual story like previous installments, it gives you a two-minute cutscene, and dives you right into the action. Most of the microgames are pretty fun, and I do warm to some of them, but after a while they start to get repetitive. Take 9-Volt's microgames for example, where you have to dive back under the covers while your mother enters the room, and then resume playing your Game Boy, before surrendering to fatigue - it's fun at first, but slowly starts to get repetitive and boring. There are other microgames two, such as Wario's, where you fire arrows at a swarm of robots, and soon it just gets boring swiping at the GamePad.
    The game is pretty addictive, however, with the wide range of collectibles making it necessary to replay those boring games like Arrow (Wario's microgame) again and again. It's something I dislike, but it makes it all the more sweeter when you're rewarded with a fun, gimmicky prize from the chicken capsule machine.
    The game is quite fun, and overall I do enjoy it. However, some microgames soon get repetitive and tedious. The game has a grand range of collectibles which are often quite fun to play with and make you chuckle, and there is a lot of interactivity with the GamePad. It's also a nice HD rendering of the Diamond City we know and love. However, I wouldn't class it as a WarioWare game but merely as a spin-off, as it doesn't follow the WarioWare formula whatsoever and is nothing like its predecessors.
    Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2013
    6
    The game is a fun diversion to bring out when friends are over but doesn't have a whole lot of lasting appeal. Each game tries to utilize theThe game is a fun diversion to bring out when friends are over but doesn't have a whole lot of lasting appeal. Each game tries to utilize the GamePad in an interesting way but only a few succeed, these include Shutter, Gamer and Taxi. These three games are great and utilize the unique features of the GamePad in a way that feels genuinely new, innovative and fun. I don't feel this is true for the other nine single player games, while some of them are fun, there is nothing here you haven't already experienced.

    As for the multi-player games, I felt Disco was a very uninspired rhythm game. Fruit was a neat concept but too difficult to keep people interested. Islands is good simple fun, launch little men at different score markers. Lastly there is Sketch, this was my favorite multi-player title but this too offers no innovation, it is just a video game representation of "Pictionary" and nothing more.
    Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2015
    2
    If you are a fan of the Wario Ware series this will be sure to disappoint you in some way or another. It had 2-3 good mini games and theIf you are a fan of the Wario Ware series this will be sure to disappoint you in some way or another. It had 2-3 good mini games and the others are just forgettable, I hope that Nintendo will soon bring back some of that Wario Ware magic next year. The game is almost 2 years old. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers