Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: LEGO Marvel Super Heroes features an original story where players take control of Iron Man, Spider-Man, the Hulk, Captain America, Wolverine and many more Marvel characters as they unite to stop Loki and a host of other Marvel villains from assembling a super-weapon capable of destroying the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    100
    Everything about LEGO Marvel Super Heroes feels like a labor of love from TT Games.
  2. Like some work of over-stimulated fanfiction with a Tony Stark-size budget, this plays out with all the excess, in-jokes and idiocy that entails. Wonderful.
  3. Jan 29, 2014
    90
    Lego Marvel Super Heroes is fantastic.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    86
    Marvel Super Heroes is the latest, possibly greatest, in the revered LEGO games franchise. The Wii U's exclusive benefit of each player having their own screen is a big deal, but this is a fun game regardless of the platform you play it on.
  5. Jan 17, 2014
    80
    The LEGO series sticks to its formula of accessible puzzles, gags and simple gameplay mechanics. While this coherence is overall positive, it’s not improving where it should. Nonetheless, the overwhelming presence of the Marvel universe and the amount of unlockable content are well enough for LEGO Marvel Super Heroes to please the fans of both the comic and the game series alike.
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    80
    It really is the best Lego and best Marvel game that I've played—an excellent ride.
  7. 55
    If you have kids and they love any of the Marvel superheroes, I could definitely recommend this game to them. Otherwise, you can le’go of any hope that this game could be enjoyable.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Aug 16, 2014
    10
    Lego Marvel Superheroes is the best entry in the Lego series, and for good reason. The graphics look very next-gen, the characters all have cool abilities, and the levels are all very fun. My favorite part of this game isn't actually the levels, but instead just goofing off and destroying stuff around the city, using the many vehicles provided. A must-have for Marvel fans or Lego fans. Expand
  2. May 5, 2014
    9
    This is such a good Lego game that it's ruined all the others for me. :( Highly recommended!

    This game and ZombiU make the best use of the
    game pad so far on the Wii U. I genuinely miss being able to stand up and look around in all directions when I play other open world games on other platforms.

    My only real complaint and hope for a future release is even more openness, such as no cap on how high you can fly. And PLEASE may we have a grappling hook ala Just Cause 2? I'd probably never tire of playing at that point!
    Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2014
    9
    Travelers tales offers up a fantastic LEGO game that appeals to LEGO and Marvel fans, both young and old.

    The game has a fascinating and
    captivating plot, especially for game aimed at young audiences. It has an authentic Marvel feel to it, while still remaining humorous. I enjoyed it immensely.

    The gameplay is typical for a LEGO game. It gets buton mashy, but powers such as laser vision or flight help break that. The bosses are fun, albeit simple. I greatly enjoyed the many embodiments encountered through the game, from Island M to Castle Doom. One disappointment was, despite the many big-figs they're all generic copies.

    Voice acting may come as a disappointment to some. After becoming used to Downey Jr providing Iron Man's voice, it is jarring to hear someone else do it. However, Coulson retains his voice and Stan Lee cameos.

    Graphics look wonderful, and far prettier then in LEGO Batman 2. The gameplay takes place during the day, allowing you to see the world's many colors clearly.

    This game also encourages co-op and with a huge open world there is plenty to do. I can spend hours simply wandering through LEGO New York City. Many sidequests are available, and with 150+ characters you'll be coming back for more.

    This is a great family game for both parent and child alike! I would definitely recommend this game.
    Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    I've always liked LEGO games. With that being said, this one exceeds every single one. It has amazing graphics, great gameplay, and not only, but you actually get to play as the most popular of Marvel's universe (I'm betting that there's more than just those plus he ones after the story). Like all LEGO games, this one had several puzzles that would actually be difficult to figure out. Definitely go and buy it. Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this game, but have to confess that I seen a lot of glitches already. That aside, TT improved the open world format tons between Batman 2 and Lego City. Marvel Super Heros refines it even a tiny bit more by removing the scanner aspect which was frustrating because you have to get up and turn around at times. Another criticism is that the 2nd chapter of LMSH was a bit of a re-hash of Lego City, but that's understandable because only Wii u owners have seen Lego city. Some of the other chapters I have played have been a lot more fresh, and enjoyable. The characters I've played so far have each added to the fun. I like this lineup of characters so much better than Lego City which had wayyy too many generic characters that looked different, but didn't have enough personality to justify their existence. The humor is good in this game as well. Loved seeing Abomination sleeping with a Teddy, and when Magneto dismantles Iron Man's armor there's Stark in boxers with big red hearts... Good stuff.

    I will say I think there is a really good reason to want to play this game on Wii u vs other consoles. I'm not a big fan of the Game Pad, but I love one aspect of it...No split screen!! The split screen makes me insane in 2 player mode. I prefer to play on the Gamepad while my son watches the TV, and never do we need to watch the screen split then fuse back together. It's heaven.
    Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    From voice acting, to open world sections, original stories, and just all around tighter level designs it's clear that Traveller's Tales has been willing to take big risks with their newer Lego games that have payed off. This latest Lego game takes all of the improvements and features from previous games and makes them even better. Making this the best Lego game since Lego Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy.

    This is a huge treat for both Lego and Marvel fans. The essence of the Marvel universe was expertly captured here, just in a more kid-friendly, Lego form. It has the largest selection of playable characters of any Lego game so far, and they are all a who's-who list of Marvel's well known and not so well known characters. Each character has their own distinct feel and abilities that are spot-on with their comic book counterparts. Unlike previous Lego games you won't be seeing duplicates of characters who are just in different suits. The story takes you to a bunch of different locations throughout the comic book lore and you get to interact and play as many of your favorite heroes and villains. The story wasn't really as great as I would have liked, but it all comes together in the end and manages to still bring tons of laughs throughout. The graphics are also gorgeous.

    From a gameplay perspective this is the tightest, most well made and versatile Lego game yet. The shifts between open world section and the more familiar and expected story levels. The latter of the two features some of the best set-pieces, combat scenarios, and puzzles this series has ever seen. They show off just how unique each of the playable characters are. It's also worth replaying them in free-play mode in order to unlock everything. The open world section gives the entire city of New York to explore, and they filled it with puzzles, secrets, and side-quests. You can easily spend hours here and not see everything this game has to offer. It will take you a long time to 100% this game. As usual two-player co-op is one of the best features this game offers. Exploring New York and beating up on bosses in the story mode with a buddy is one heck of a good time. The Wii U gets special credit for allowing each player to have their own screen. The only problem I have with the game are the irritating glitches that rear their ugly heads from time to time. Some glitches are minor like the random citizens wandering around New York floating in mid air or clipping through the environment. Other glitches are more irritating and progress halting, like getting stuck in the environment and being forced to restart a level, or having your co-op partner magically lose all of their Lego studs right before you eyes and making you lose your "True Believer" progress. These glitches are aggravating and do bring down the experience, but they don't ruin it.

    All in all this is the best Lego game to come out in many years. It makes excellent use of the Marvel license and is just a heck of a lot of fun to play. If you've ever been a fan of Marvel or Lego games than this is a must play, regardless of your age. It's an extremely well polished game and one of my favorite games of 2013. I haven't had this much fun with a Lego game in a long time and I'm a huge fan of the series.
    Collapse