Little Inferno Wii U

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    Yet it’s Little Inferno’s weird, dark, off-kilter tone that makes it so refreshing and intriguing. You’ll come for the pyromania puzzles, but you’ll want to see what happens when the smoke finally clears.
  2. Feb 4, 2013
    90
    I can't think of the last time that a game has made me think, feel, and laugh at such a consistent pace. It's mix of high-concept messages and simple, more-fun-than-it-should be "gameplay" make it a must buy for anyone who likes thinking about videogames and/or burning things.
  3. GameOver.gr
    Jan 17, 2013
    80
    One of the most clever and addictive games Wii U has to offer at the moment. If you've just bought Nintendo's new console this is one of the e-shop games that should be on the top of your wish list.
  4. Jan 1, 2013
    100
    What ultimately makes Little Inferno special is the story that swirls out like tendrils of smoke.
  5. Dec 29, 2012
    79
    Although I do consider the price of $14.99 a bit steep (editors note: at time of posting this review it is on sale for $9.99 until Jan. 4, 2013), it is unlike anything I've ever played before; such a unique, enjoyable experience, one that will leave you thinking about it days after playing. I can't help but recommend it to any Wii U owner.
  6. Dec 20, 2012
    80
    Little Inferno is a little jewel of philosophy and a great example of a different way of thinking a game. The experience lacks of any kind of difficulty, but the game is still able to enjoy, stealing your time. A lot of it.
  7. Dec 11, 2012
    90
    Is Little Inferno a game? What the heck do I know! What it is, though is quite unique experience, whose only downside I can think of is the asking price which might be considered by some to be slightly on the steep side.
  8. Dec 11, 2012
    80
    It's unique. There's no defined genre but it's a great experience that will manage to catch the player's attention, even though it would be quite particular for the standard audience.
  9. Dec 10, 2012
    90
    Little Inferno is an incredibly unique experience that can't be found in any other game. Burning various items is surprisingly fun and the charming story will appeal to many people.
  10. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    Little Inferno is an experimental game that can involve videogamers in many ways, or simply annoy some of them.
  11. Dec 6, 2012
    85
    Little Inferno is unlike any game I've played. It has a big heart that blends perfectly with its dark tones and simple gameplay scope. Days removed from playing it, I'm still thinking about it. I'm recommending it to my friends who love Braid, Unfinished Swan, and Journey.
  12. Dec 5, 2012
    80
    The premise of Little Inferno may sound a tad odd: You buy stuff, and then you burn it. Over and over again. But in fact, this is a game unlike any other this reviewer has ever played, and in a good way. Granted, it is a small game, but it is original, self-aware, self-ironic and self-referencing bordering on the postmodern. It even creates a brand new genre for itself, namely the burn 'em up.
  13. Dec 4, 2012
    75
    You can treat Little Inferno like a bedtime story or a three-hour movie, but remember that at its heart, Little Inferno is a game about games. It will make you think about what you do in games, the purpose of games, and the future of games, so sit tight, think hard, and keep burning those toys.
  14. Dec 3, 2012
    80
    A truly unique experience, Little Inferno isn't really a game - it's more of a toy box with sinister undertones and a beautiful ending. Had it been a fiver we'd have told everyone to go and snap it up immediately, but at £12.99 for a four-hour game think long and hard about taking the risk since it isn't for everyone. Those who click with it will adore it.
  15. Nov 26, 2012
    80
    Little Inferno is a surprising game. It's surprising both for the simplicity of its concept ("burn things"), and for the fact that such a coherent and lovingly crafted experience has been built around that idea. It's also surprisingly different from what we traditionally think of as a game, and because of that, it isn't for everyone. But players drawn to the flame will find a fun, funny, and even moving experience in Little Inferno. It's a lot like setting some of the game's more spectacularly flammable objects ablaze, actually; a fast burn, but beautiful while it lasts.
  16. 90
    Little Inferno is terrific the way it is, and doesn't need to conform just to fit inside a box. In the end, it's enough to just snuggle up around the fire and keep it well fed.
  17. Nov 21, 2012
    80
    The creepy atmosphere, the single-minded focus on extremely minimal actions, and the mocking self-awareness all contribute to a deft statement on games and how we play them.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    It is not a game - you barely need any skill to progress, and challenges and action, aside from a few word puzzles, don't exist here. But itIt is not a game - you barely need any skill to progress, and challenges and action, aside from a few word puzzles, don't exist here. But it is still a masterpiece. Little Inferno challenges you to review how, and why, we play games. Original and beautifully minimalistic, this is a wonderful game. (To all you parents out there, this game should not be rated Teen. It got this rating because you are allowed to burn wine bottles, which counts as alcohol reference). Full Review »
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    If you are considering getting this game, but you don't know anything about it, you should get this game. In not knowing, more attention isIf you are considering getting this game, but you don't know anything about it, you should get this game. In not knowing, more attention is payed to the story and what it all means. The gameplay is simple, but this is a game that isn't about the gameplay. It warns you of the choice of comfort over what is more important. Of course, if it were possible, everyone would much rather watch the pretty fires dance majestically in their fireplace rather than face outside adversities and overcome fears. This game produces a beautiful, yet seamless connection between warmth and cold, light and dark, known and unknown. The humour is silly, but it fits well with the mood of the game overall. The game also pokes fun at other games that are blatantly repetitive by being blatantly repetitive itself in a very parodic way. Little Inferno provides a very unique experience, and for those game enough to try it, I implore you to give this game a whirl. You may be pleasantly surprised. Full Review »
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Creative, hilarious, original and extremely fun to play. It's not like other games and that's what makes it so special. The team behind WorldCreative, hilarious, original and extremely fun to play. It's not like other games and that's what makes it so special. The team behind World of Goo have brought us another wonderful puzzle game. The most played game on my Wii U right now. Full Review »