• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: 3DS
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 203 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Traverse the grand world of Monster Hunter as you journey through more than two hundred quests, battle larger-than-larger-than-life monsters, and create a myriad of weapons and armor. Hunt with your pair of AI companions in single player quests or connect via the Wii U system with up to 3 friends in 4-player online engagements. Graphically rich 1080p HD visuals and online voice chat capabilities promise to make this the best Monster Hunter to date. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    100
    Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate for the Wii U is an excellent introduction to the series, easing you into its systems and ensuring that you are well-equipped for the challenges to come.
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    90
    Even if you played the original Tri on your Wii, it's worth hunting again in this beautiful and immense world that Capcom has created.
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    88
    A game with considerable bite and a hulking frame that dwarfs the competition. [May 2013, p.64]
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    83
    In terms of content this is definitely the ultimate Monster Hunter experience. The visuals can’t hide their age, though. The world still is harmonious and confronts you with truly impressive enemies, but a lot of animations and effects date back to the PS2 era. That doesn’t take away anything from the still motivating hunting and gathering that is easier to control than ever before.
  5. Mar 28, 2013
    80
    This is truly not a game for everyone. But if you got the patience and commitment that’s required of you to get past the first seven hours of Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate, this will be an insanely addictive and rewarding game, especially if you go on hunts with friends. It still has a lot of flaws, but the core gameplay is awesome enough to compensate for these.
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    It's easily the best Monster Hunter game so far, and while it would be nice to see a console sequel with more up-to-date visuals and all-new locations, Ultimate is an great entry into the Wii U catalog.
  7. Mar 17, 2013
    70
    It’s not much more than an HD update, but if you and your friends have the perseverance this is one of gaming’s most uniquely challenging co-op experiences.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This game is simply fantastic. The first Monster Hunter game I ever played was Monster Hunter Tri for the Wii and I loved it so much that I invested around 100 hours offline and over 500 hours online. This game is almost identical to the Wii version except it has updated HD graphics, added maps and 70+ monsters. There are 12 different weapon types and every hunter has a weapon type that fits them best. And each and every monster has weapons and armors that can be forged from their materials that you carve from them in Hunt quests or Capture quests. The armor and weapon upgrade system is very addicting and you will find yourself crafting new armor sets and using different armor sets for a better advantage against certain monsters. This game is challenging and it has a huge learning curve, but once you get past that, Monster Hunter will be one of the most enjoyable gaming experiences you could ever have. It's easily the best multiplayer experience available on the WiiU or in the gaming industry in general.. It's so thrilling to go on long hunts with friends and it feels like such an accomplishment after you take down a monster that you've been battling for 30 minutes. The controls feel great and you can choose between the WiiU Gamepad, Classic Controller Pro, or the WiiU Pro Controller. Overall, I know that I will invest hundreds of hours into this great game. Even though this game isn't perfect, it still deserves a 10/10 in my opinion. For many people, this game is the sole reason for purchasing a WiiU. If you own a WiiU, buy it now. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Best game I've ever played in my life. Simple as that. If you own a Wii U, BUY THIS GAME! And don't stop playing until you get to fight your first few monsters, the Great Jaggi and Qurupeco. The game opens up a tad slow- even I initially dismissed MH3U as a dull game because I didn't follow throw the opening quests. Oh how wrong I was! Give the game a chance, and plow through until the monster hunting begins. If you do, I guarantee you'll be hooked like a crack fiend! Over 100 hours logged and I'm still early in the game lol.

    If there is such a thing as a perfect video game, this would probably be it.
    Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Slow to start and not the best looking game out there but near perfection in almost every other way. Tons of customization and upgrades and one of the best multiplayer experiences available. If you are an RPG fan and don't mind sinking dozens of hours into a game with a huge learning curve, then look no further. This game will be setting the standard for online RPGs on any console going forward. Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    This review is coming in from the perspective of someone new to the series. The Good: An insane amount of depth and variety. Single player and multiplayer both work well, without either of them feeling tacked on as an afterthought. The combat is straight forward, but unforgiving of laziness. Weapons and armor have a lot of variety and upgrades, and different weapons for the most part have very unique attack sets. The game will keep you busy (and enjoying it!) for a long time, compared to some $60 mediocre "AAA" titles out recently. You have regular monster hunts, gathering from minerals, insects, bodies, herbs, boss battles, and a huge inventory and item combination system. The graphics, while being an upgraded version of the Wii version of this game, are mostly well done. The Bad: Steep learning curve. If you're new, you may feel very in the dark at first, and take a while to get your feet under you. The target lock feels a bit tacked on, and you may eventually find yourself having given up on it and just handling the camera 100% manually. The textures, while mostly updated and fairly crisp, in some rare instances, look like they've been whupped up on with an ugly stick. The Conclusion: If you're tired of your Wii U being an extremely expensive entertainment center decoration, and you don't mind getting your hands dirty in gathering and inventory management, and didn't break too many controllers playing games like Dark Souls, this is something you should pick up. Expand
  5. May 22, 2013
    9
    Monster Hunter is a game close to my heart, I remember when I was younger on the first MH, my brother our friend and I spending many many hours playing this together. Now we're seeing Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate and it doesn't disappoint. I was very impressed by all the additions and the way everything comes together. Impressed. Collapse
  6. May 16, 2013
    9
    Not fantastic on graphics or storyline BUT great game play. Lots of impressive monsters to kill and tons of armor and weapons to craft and also master. While playing the single player you can also do the multi-player quests which pits you against multiple monsters at once while rewarding you immensely with rare materials. Learning curve is a bit steep but worth the investment. After about 100 hours into the game i am still enjoying myself. Hard to say that for many current games nowadays. Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2014
    0
    They should call this Control Hunter or Camera Fighter cause thats what youll be doing most of the time. Theyre both terrible and at times makes it unplayable Hunting gets tedious and frustrating fast when the game decides to handicap the player to ridiculous extent. This game should have a giant red label warning that players are likely to break something in their anger. Most likely their controller. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews