New Super Luigi U Wii U

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    73
    Its smaller levels, restrictive time limit, and floaty physics work well as a challenge mode add-on to an already terrific game. But as fun as it often is, this still feels more like an addendum to NSMBU – a remix, rather than something new that stands on its own.
  2. Sep 2, 2013
    70
    At first glance, New Super Luigi U looks exactly the same as New Super Mario Bros. U. New Super Luigi U feels almost the same as the prequel, but with shorter levels and less time to finish them it has it's strengths in the levels with high amounts of speed and timed jumps.
  3. Aug 12, 2013
    70
    New Super Luigi U offers a far greater challenge than any of the previous entries in the New Super Mario Bros. series but little else new beyond the altered physics.
  4. Jul 28, 2013
    70
    Merely an expensive luxury. [Issue#137, p.119]
  5. Jul 22, 2013
    70
    Too me, all platformer releases from Nintendo should be a direct feed to the best innovation the company can offer. This gets someway up the flagpole but falls short of hitting the top.
  6. Jul 14, 2013
    70
    In this case, downsized levels and curtailed countdowns hardly equate to a lessening of comprehensive value. Luigi in the hero role, especially with his irregular locomotion, may still take some getting used to, but in the case of New Super Luigi U, the irritations are well worth the rewards.
  7. Jul 4, 2013
    70
    Mario is missing but that doesn't necessarily makes Super Luigi U a bad game. On the contrary, his absence makes some room for Luigi so that he can express a surprisingly hardened personality through diabolically designed levels.
  8. Jul 3, 2013
    70
    If you’re ready for the heightened difficulty of solo play in New Super Luigi U, then you’ll find it rewarding. Otherwise, it’s a taxing platformer that’s only made more rage-inducing in multiplayer.
  9. Jul 2, 2013
    70
    Only for fans of the original New Super Mario Bros. U that still enjoy Nintendo's extensive know-how about making 2D platform videogames.
  10. Jun 26, 2013
    70
    New Super Luigi U is a faster, more hectic ride through things we've seen before. This was supposed to be Luigi's big chance for the spotlight, but he's once again settled for playing second fiddle to his brother's adventures.
  11. Jun 28, 2013
    65
    Luigi deserves better than this truncated take on the Mario platforming formula. While the level-design enhancements are a nice touch, too much remains unchanged when it comes to boss encounters, and the ridiculously short time limit in every level destroys the real draw of a Mario game: patient exploration.
  12. Jul 19, 2013
    60
    Gamers who love a good challenge are bound to be satisfied with this collection of levels. Anyone else - whether they're as casual as it comes or even longtime fans of the series - may not be so enamoured with the spike in difficulty and lack of originality.
  13. Jun 25, 2013
    60
    A strange set of priorities and a peculiarly high price make Nintendo’s big DLC experiment a hard sell for all but the most committed platform fans.
  14. Jun 24, 2013
    60
    At its best, New Super Luigi U is an exhilarating test of skill, but on occasion it dangerously approximates a fan-made ROM hack, mistakenly believing that an increased enemy count equates to satisfying design. Some will undoubtedly find its challenge inviting, but others will rightly expect more ingenuity from Nintendo than this.
  15. Jun 24, 2013
    60
    It's not a bad game by any stretch of the imagination: the level design is still a cut above so many of Nintendo's peers. But by the series' consistently high standards, it qualifies as a disappointment.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 253 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 44
  2. Negative: 3 out of 44
  1. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    This is the way that DLC should be done. $20 for an entire 81 level campaign feels much closer to the expansion packs that we used to know andThis is the way that DLC should be done. $20 for an entire 81 level campaign feels much closer to the expansion packs that we used to know and love. Luigi jumps farther but slides around more than Mario but this creates a lot of hectic fun. The levels are much more difficult than the ones in NSMBU but their short length never makes them feel impossible to complete. Even one or two small flukes will put you within range of the finish line. The levels are faster and some of them are truly the best Mario levels I have ever played. It feels like the developers were having fun and they came up with some pretty wild ideas that translated into awesome courses. The addition of Nabbit is great for beginners in multiplayer. The game doesn't do much else that is new but the amount of content is staggering for a $20 price tag and it is an absolute must buy for fans of the series. I went into this with certain doubts as the Mario formula can feel a bit stale from time to time but I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of creativity and effort that the devs put into this package. Full Review »
  2. Xef
    Jun 21, 2013
    10
    I loved New Super Mario Bros. U but I felt that it wasn't worth $60.
    Now here we have New Super Luigi. U, which I like even more because of
    I loved New Super Mario Bros. U but I felt that it wasn't worth $60.
    Now here we have New Super Luigi. U, which I like even more because of the increased difficulty, revamped stages and Nabbit as a playable character for my girlfriend and little sister since they aren't that good in video games. Best of all? Only $20! or $30 if you don't have SMBU, I played it at a friends house and will personally wait for the physical release because I just love that green box and it'll look quiet unique in my nothing but blue Wii U collection.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    New super Luigi U is pure gold. From the moment I finished the first level, I knew I was in for a treat. My main beef with New Super MarioNew super Luigi U is pure gold. From the moment I finished the first level, I knew I was in for a treat. My main beef with New Super Mario Bros U was that it was way too easy. Now, with the help of Luigi, I finally have a REALLY challenging mario game to play. As everyone says, Nabbit is great. He's the perfect character for younger siblings, or in my case, my girlfriend. She still has a little trouble timing jumps, which is the only way Nabbit can die, but our deaths only end in laughter, not frustration. For those who thought New Super Mario Bros U was too easy, or if they simply want more, New Super Luigi U is an amazing game that should not be overlooked. It's called DLC, but I've never seen DLC as complete as this one. With 83 levels and plenty of challenge, it's easy to see why this game is not "Just another Mario". I'd easily call it better than the game it comes from. Full Review »