Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    94
    If you’ve felt like some of the old-school magic has been missing from Super Mario games lately, let Luigi guide you through some of the most satisfying platform gaming ever designed.
  2. Jul 15, 2013
    90
    Luigi’s expansion is as big as a whole new game filled of playful and innovative level design. The significantly higher difficulty level is welcome and feels like atribute to The Lost Levels, and if you’ve ever liked challenging platform games New Super Luigi U is a must have.
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    90
    As a "DLC" and at a price point of just $20 New Super Luigi U should already be on your hard drive. Yes, it's that good!
  4. Jul 3, 2013
    90
    You get a whole new slew of 80 levels that takes about as long as the main game to get through, and has even more to do because it’s just so amazingly difficult. While some of the visual elements feel a little pasted-in, New Super Luigi U adds enough fresh things to an already excellent base game to be more than worth your time.
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    86
    If you have some resistance against frustration and want a short but intensive trip into the New Super Mario Bros. Universe, you should keep that addition in mind.
  6. Jun 21, 2013
    86
    New Super Luigi U is the kind of game the Wii U needs. It’s familiar enough to bring in long-time Nintendo fans; it’s new enough to bring in the newcomers; and it’s challenging and rewarding enough to keep people playing.
  7. Oct 5, 2013
    85
    Luigi's own adventure is probably one of the largest DLC packets on the market. The whole New Super Mario U has been remixed, the difficulty level has been tuned, and the slim main character is totally different from the plump plumber. This add-on is well worth the money. [Sept 2013]
  8. Jul 10, 2013
    85
    Luigi U is absolutely worth playing if you enjoyed the original Mario U… or any Mario for that matter.
  9. Jul 1, 2013
    85
    This is a big DLC. It's so big that, graphics aside, it could very well be a standalone platform game. The price isn't cheap, but there is a lot of high quality content. Nintendo's level design is inspired and there's a lot to chew for hardcore platform fans.
  10. Jun 26, 2013
    85
    Never have levels been this short, nor the emphasis on perfection so explicit, and these elements work in New Super Luigi U's favor.
  11. Jun 25, 2013
    85
    Luigi is absolutely the guy. This game is cheap and a must buy voor Wii U owners.
  12. Jun 24, 2013
    85
    Despite a shorter adventure, the sense of challenge and the high density make this Add-On highly recommended.
  13. Jun 21, 2013
    85
    New Super Luigi U is an awesome DLC, a collection of 83 fragments of pure game design that is able to amaze, frustrate and, in the end, satisfy every gamer. It seems that every level is packed with content, but maybe it's just the forced fast pace that gamers have to embrace.
  14. Jun 30, 2013
    84
    The adventure may not have changed, but the challenge sure has.
  15. Jul 12, 2013
    83
    If you rush to the goal for each level you’ll be done with this in a few hours, give or take a couple hours for your level of skill. But if you’re a big fan of Mario platformers, and have been looking for some amped up difficulty, New Super Luigi U certainly does the trick.
  16. Jun 27, 2013
    83
    Challenging, classic, colorful: Luigis Add-On brings a new feeling to the retro-platformer, but frustrates with its inert controls.
  17. Jun 21, 2013
    81
    Nintendo shows that they also can create good additional content. 82 completely new levels with a slightly improved difficulty and a smarter design. Highly recommended for skilled gamers and people that needed more platformer fun in their Wii U consoles.
  18. 80
    An unexpected expansion pack for the New Super Mario Bros. U brings new levels, a new hero, more intense gameplay, and higher difficulty level. It's a shame the multiplayer game is a fail. [Issue#232]
  19. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    Even if the contents of New Super Luigi U reminds you of the original game that is really not a problem. This expansion is filled with great new material in the form of challenging and well designed levels and the simple yet game changing Luigi controls. A must own for all fans of platform games.
  20. Aug 11, 2013
    80
    New Super Luigi U is a great idea from a Nintendo still trying new ways to make DLC and one that works really well for its purpose.
  21. Jul 29, 2013
    80
    New Super Mario Bros U crushed into a nugget of pure challenge, but at a cost. [Sept 2013, p.74]
  22. Jul 10, 2013
    80
    With New Super Luigi U, Nintendo showed us once more that game design is its main concern. Even though it seems that the developers only tweaked small bits of the game, like Luigi's movement or the length of some levels, at the end those small changes really impact the whole experience. This DLC adds a lot of content to the original game, although some things feel rushed, like the story that justifies Luigi's being the protagonist in the first place.
  23. Jul 10, 2013
    80
    New Super U Luigi provides no other modes and no additional challenges that can be found on the Super Mario version, which limits the content of the game. However, as an expansion, the 82 levels provide plenty of hours of fun with a greater difficulty.
  24. Jul 9, 2013
    80
    A rather expansive DLC pack, New Super Luigi U actually stands up well on its own. It offers up a healthy challenge and plenty of fun for those who enjoyed New Super Mario Bros. U and games past.
  25. Jun 30, 2013
    80
    New Super Luigi U is a big expansion. You get 82 redesigned levels and extra challenging gameplay for twenty Euros. Controlling Luigi takes some getting used to though. But when you hit that ideal line through the levels it does deliver on satisfaction. You do finish these levels much faster than in New Super Mario Bros. U due time limits, so don't expect it to entertain you as long as the original.
  26. Jun 27, 2013
    80
    He's a mean, green, Goomba-stomping machine. And you're gonna love playing with him.
  27. Jun 27, 2013
    80
    New Super Luigi U is a fantastic package for the $19.99 price tag. There are a ton of new levels, and the unique mechanics create a whole new experience.
  28. Jun 25, 2013
    80
    New Super Luigi U doesn't necessarily improve on New Super Mario Bros. U, and we wouldn't recommend it for those who didn't get on with the original. As an expansion for a Wii U launch game that might be gathering dust, however, New Super Luigi U introduces lots of wonderful levels and an increased challenge.
  29. Jun 25, 2013
    80
    It would have been nice to see more additions, perhaps a few new areas and some different bosses (all the boss fights are the same as in the parent title, which is disappointing), and an extra 50 seconds per level might not have hurt to have a dawdle for secret areas and star coins. Despite these caveats, it proves just how smart and ahead of the pack Nintendo are with level design and gameplay.
  30. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Nintendo has always lagged behind when it comes to online offerings, so the quality of New Super Luigi U is reassuring. It may recycle tons of content from the main game, but more Mario platforming action is rarely a bad thing. As a fan of New Super Mario Bros. U, I enjoyed these new twists on the decades-old format.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 203 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    This is the way that DLC should be done. $20 for an entire 81 level campaign feels much closer to the expansion packs that we used to know and love. Luigi jumps farther but slides around more than Mario but this creates a lot of hectic fun. The levels are much more difficult than the ones in NSMBU but their short length never makes them feel impossible to complete. Even one or two small flukes will put you within range of the finish line. The levels are faster and some of them are truly the best Mario levels I have ever played. It feels like the developers were having fun and they came up with some pretty wild ideas that translated into awesome courses. The addition of Nabbit is great for beginners in multiplayer. The game doesn't do much else that is new but the amount of content is staggering for a $20 price tag and it is an absolute must buy for fans of the series. I went into this with certain doubts as the Mario formula can feel a bit stale from time to time but I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of creativity and effort that the devs put into this package. Full Review »
  2. Xef
    Jun 21, 2013
    10
    I loved New Super Mario Bros. U but I felt that it wasn't worth $60.
    Now here we have New Super Luigi. U, which I like even more because of
    the increased difficulty, revamped stages and Nabbit as a playable character for my girlfriend and little sister since they aren't that good in video games. Best of all? Only $20! or $30 if you don't have SMBU, I played it at a friends house and will personally wait for the physical release because I just love that green box and it'll look quiet unique in my nothing but blue Wii U collection. Full Review »
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    New super Luigi U is pure gold. From the moment I finished the first level, I knew I was in for a treat. My main beef with New Super Mario Bros U was that it was way too easy. Now, with the help of Luigi, I finally have a REALLY challenging mario game to play. As everyone says, Nabbit is great. He's the perfect character for younger siblings, or in my case, my girlfriend. She still has a little trouble timing jumps, which is the only way Nabbit can die, but our deaths only end in laughter, not frustration. For those who thought New Super Mario Bros U was too easy, or if they simply want more, New Super Luigi U is an amazing game that should not be overlooked. It's called DLC, but I've never seen DLC as complete as this one. With 83 levels and plenty of challenge, it's easy to see why this game is not "Just another Mario". I'd easily call it better than the game it comes from. Full Review »