Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 201 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: To continue the fun of New Super Mario Bros. U for Wii U, Nintendo is letting Luigi take over in new downloadable content that is coming in the Year of Luigi that provides alternate versions of the game's more than 80 stages. Players can freely change between the New Super Luigi U and New Super Mario Bros. U stages. These Luigi-focused stages provide a whole new level of game-play challenge and will be available for purchase as a single download. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    94
    If you’ve felt like some of the old-school magic has been missing from Super Mario games lately, let Luigi guide you through some of the most satisfying platform gaming ever designed.
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    85
    Luigi U is absolutely worth playing if you enjoyed the original Mario U… or any Mario for that matter.
  3. Jul 12, 2013
    83
    If you rush to the goal for each level you’ll be done with this in a few hours, give or take a couple hours for your level of skill. But if you’re a big fan of Mario platformers, and have been looking for some amped up difficulty, New Super Luigi U certainly does the trick.
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Nintendo has always lagged behind when it comes to online offerings, so the quality of New Super Luigi U is reassuring. It may recycle tons of content from the main game, but more Mario platforming action is rarely a bad thing. As a fan of New Super Mario Bros. U, I enjoyed these new twists on the decades-old format.
  5. The platforming equivalent of rubbing your tummy and patting your head while your childhood enemies tickle your armpits with a dead pigeon. Luigi U is cute, but scattershot in its approach. Mario remains the 2D king... for now.
  6. Jun 25, 2013
    75
    New Super Luigi U manages to show some clever ideas in terms of level design, but its quick run based structure and déjà-vu feeling makes it a good - but not astounding - content to play.
  7. Jun 24, 2013
    60
    It's not a bad game by any stretch of the imagination: the level design is still a cut above so many of Nintendo's peers. But by the series' consistently high standards, it qualifies as a disappointment.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    This is the way that DLC should be done. $20 for an entire 81 level campaign feels much closer to the expansion packs that we used to know and love. Luigi jumps farther but slides around more than Mario but this creates a lot of hectic fun. The levels are much more difficult than the ones in NSMBU but their short length never makes them feel impossible to complete. Even one or two small flukes will put you within range of the finish line. The levels are faster and some of them are truly the best Mario levels I have ever played. It feels like the developers were having fun and they came up with some pretty wild ideas that translated into awesome courses. The addition of Nabbit is great for beginners in multiplayer. The game doesn't do much else that is new but the amount of content is staggering for a $20 price tag and it is an absolute must buy for fans of the series. I went into this with certain doubts as the Mario formula can feel a bit stale from time to time but I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of creativity and effort that the devs put into this package. Expand
  2. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    Basically like New. Super Mario Bros wii but with a new control scheme and much higher challenge factor, plus better replay value. Fans of New. Super Mario Bros wii, hear me out, get this game. You'll love it. Expand
  3. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    This game feels very similar to NSMBU, but it's a DLC, what do you expect. I personally prefer this version, as it is harder. I suggest this game to any fan of difficult games, but warn those who aren't that good at video games to use Nabbit. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    New Super Luigi U is what iv'e been waiting for as a Nintendo gamer whose favorite Mario was Super Mario World for the SNES. While the recent 2D outings for Mario games have been fairly easy and missing a certain something, New Super Mario Bros U was released and was a great game. The giant world filled with secrets and mystery, the colored Yoshis with cool abilities (albeit you can't grow them up and the only grown Yoshi available to ride can't be taken between levels), and just the overall feel of a great 2D Mario game finally returned. Now with New Super Luigi U, the difficulty that iv'e been expecting for some time has finally come, and it makes for some great fun that feels like and old school game that jumped into the 21st century with beautiful HD visuals. The levels are fun and creative, and you can tell Nintendo still has plenty of great ideas up their sleeve. New Super Mario Bros U is now at a tie for my favorite 2D Mario game, along with Super Mario World. The New Super Luigi U DLC is a deal maker, and adds the difficulty and creativity iv'e been craving for Nintendo to release. My only gripe is that there is still no return of the colorful Yoshis that you can ride and take between levels (besides ghost houses). The Yoshi aspect from Super Mario World is the reason I loved that game so much. Having colored Yoshis found in a Star World was truly unique and fun. Plus the idea that you can take a regular green Yoshi and eat a colored shell to have special powers was a great one that we haven't seen included in a Mario game since Super Mario World's release. New Super Luigi U is fun and exciting none the less, and is a step in the right direction for Nintendo and its 2D Mario titles, and the focus on Luigi is a great change up. Expand
  5. Dec 24, 2013
    9
    NSL is a great twist on an already successful title.

    Personally I prefer Lugi game over Mario's.

    NSL is a fast pace, exciting, plat
    former. The game is design to be speed run and with most levels only lasting 15-20 seconds, it's has a good pacing on not over doing any one concept.

    The levels are challenging and difficult. Any hardcore plat former has to play this.

    I would recommend NSL over NSMB. Unless it's for a child, than the game may have too high of a skill curve.
    Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2014
    8
    While this game does other some unique features we all have to realize what is happening! This "DLC" is just an excuse for Nintendo not to make games that we truly want like Legend of Zelda:Majora's Mask HD Remake, Earthbound 2, Donkey Kong 64-2 or Donkey Kong U, and Luigi's Mansion 2: The U Edition. Get on it Nintendo Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2013
    1
    Same thing as New Super Mario Bros DO NOT BUY Oh and i like to put in there Like 1 Same Levels Just made Different 2 To much money for a DLC
    ( sorry if im wrong its just what i think)
    Expand

See all 40 User Reviews