User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 383 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 383

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    So basically this game is all the good stuff you liked about Mario when you were a kid, when you were a teen, and now if you're an adult like me, all the stuff you would hope to see. It's basically waay good graphics and gameplay, music and some cute storylines, packed into a promising new console. yeh
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    7
    New Super Mario Brothers U is another foray into bland sameness. The similarities to NSMB are staggering. The music, the level design, the worlds, everything is the exact same bundle we've already ventured through. I understand that at this point in Mario's career there are bound to be worlds based on water levels and the inevitable fiery death levels at the end but now we're got the guaranteed poison swamp and the guaranteed sky world. The Koopa Kids all play the same way, the Boom Boom bosses are still the EXACT same strategy as from Super Mario Bros. 3, everything is just so strikingly samey. The music is fun but it still recalls the old NSMB musical style which, to me, seems lazy. Super Mario Bros, Super Mario Bros 2, and Super Mario Bros 3, as well as World all had wonderful music and if you were to listen to the songs without video you could name which game it came from because they're all so drastically different. I'd be willing to bet a suite of NSMB music including the DS and 3DS titles would result in many people not knowing which tracks are from which games because they're all too similar.
    And then there's the gameplay itself. Mario and company (which, two toads? Really? Again? Why not let us play Peach ala Super Mario Bros. 2 or even bring other series staples into the fold?) control really well, the fluidity of level design paired with the tight controls make the game move really well. Playing on the Tablet is a treat due to it's motion sensors it still has the capabilities of the wii remote but due to it's size and buttons it has more substance as well. Wii remotes are exactly as expected and, honestly, I think the new sensor bar is even more responsive than the old Wii one, everything seems to work a lot better on the Wii U and that makes the game work well. Now for my largest complaint. This game is way too easy. It holds your hand. Now I realize this isn't a complaint for everybody but this is more of a warning for people with similar tastes to mine. It seems like more often than not, at the end of a level I'm getting a new item for my item bar, that I don't need, or when I get hit a mushroom will float in from off screen to buff me back up. Before I even reached my third world I had 99 lives and I've not lost many along the way (usually due to a bad jump, the only thing that can kill you any more apparently). These things paired with NSMB tendency to just give you tons of power ups all over the place makes it far too easy to get through the game, there is literally no challenge to your progress. Even pits can be easily survived if you're quick with the tablet to drop in a platform before you fall. Now, I will admit than then played with 4 - 5 players these power ups come in handy for the lighter gamers in a group and they make it more fun for the casual players but for single player it makes the game a cake walk, there's no challenge if there's a power up in every other question block. This game is fun, I won't take that away. Even though I find no challenge in it I still breeze through levels at a steady pace exploring for secrets and collecting big coins, it's a relaxing game more than a challenging one. When played with a group the game is far more interesting, it makes the casual throwing about of power ups more useful, unless you're playing with a group of Mario pros, in which case it's just too easy.
    Mario games are for everyone, I get that, and I still do enjoy this game, but the soul less sameness of this title to past NSMB titles make it less interesting and engaging. Every year, sometimes multiple times, I dust off my Super Nintendo and play through Super Mario World and a friend of mine and I play Super Mario Bros 3 on the NES from time to time, these games have a unique appeal to them, they aren't the exact same as the titles before them. I feel like NSMB U will be shelved and dusty after completion and a few more weeks of multiplayer fun. Hell, NSMB on my DS still gets a play through from time to time, but I don't expect this to be true of Mario U and it already isn't true of the Wii's NSMB. The long and short of it is, it's fun, but it's not substantial to the hardcore gamer.
    Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    Don't think that this is "Just another Mario game", sure it's the same 2D side-scrolling gameplay that are in the other 2D Mario games but the fantastic level design and challenge help this game feel fresh. The game looks gorgeous and the soundtrack is fantastic (although it's not as good as other Mario games). As far as Wii U features go aside from using the touch screen in the menu you can play the entire game on the gamepad, but the game looks so good on the big screen nobody will blame you if you never look at the pad, it's helpful on bathroom breaks though. The only real use for the gamepad functionality is in multiplayer. You can have the gamepad player place blocks onscreen to jump on which can really save your bacon on some of the more difficult levels. Multiplayer is at it's best when it's two players and one of them is using the gamepad, get more than two together and the game turns into a chaotic, albeit humorous, mess. To play this game with more than two people and actually make some progress you need to communicate, or else game time can turn into fight night. The game packs a lot of content not only do you have the lengthy story mode you also have various challenge modes which will keep you playing after you beat the story mode. The only real issue I have with this game is the amount of recycled bosses, I swear I fought the same boss at least half a dozen times. If your a Mario fan, 2D platformer fan, or just like good, challenging games than you should really consider picking this up. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    This is the first Mario that makes me want to play all the time since Super Mario 3. Children love it and can help a lot without having to catch up all the time and I can play on my own and truly enjoy it. I am impressed and already glad I bought the Wii U.
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    First off, the squirrel suit is awesome...They added some nice extra modes in this to extend the fun beyond what some of the previous NSMB games have had. The visuals look really nice on the wii u. The music feels like they stepped it up a bit in this versus the previous games which I thought had pretty cheesy circus music. This is another solid platformer with a nice challenge to it. If you are trying to figure out what wii u game to get...you can't really go wrong with this one. Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    There is very little in this game that I would consider to be "new", nonetheless, it is an expertly crafted experience with truly excellent platforming and level design that only Nintendo can create. Existing fans of the series already know what they are getting into and should be quite content with its offering.
  7. Dec 3, 2013
    2
    I just recently bought a Wii U with New Super Mario Bros U. This has been the most poorly constructed Mario game that I can remember. I enjoyed the New Super Mario Bros for the Wii. This new Wii U version is the EXACT same thing. The graphics look identical and the game play feels identical. If anything, this game is less creative than the former version. New Super Mario Bros U is a fast cash grabbing solution to a struggling console. Expand
  8. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    New Super Mario U Bros is one of the best 'NSM', but not necessarily the best 'Mario' game. While the challenge level is just right, it is meant to be a homage of sort to SMB 3 and Super Mario World. As such, level designs, as original as they are, are derivative of these superior outings. Face it though, it is not the system seller that Nintendo thought it could be. It doesn't really show off the Game Pad as well. Expand
  9. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    This game does not just remake new super mario bros it revamps it. Sure it may not be perfect but no game is and this game truily feels like the perfect 2d mario game with good challange, gameplay, diffrent modes, wii u multiplayer/touch control, online, and the hd with a classic mario feel.
  10. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    The best 2D mario yet, but I think 2D mario has had it's day. A lot of the stuff is the same thing we've seen a million times before. However crisps HD graphics and the co-op gameplay involving the gamepad make it a good game worht playing.
  11. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    More of the same Mario we have become accustomed to over the past couple of years. New Super Mario Bros. U sticks to established mechanics created over the past couple years which isn't a bad thing because it works. The game is fun but like New Super Mario Bros. 2 on the 3DS the game lacks a certain type of soul. While fun I found myself become mildly bored by the game. The game does have some interesting new features to it such as people being able to post messages from the MiiVerse that appear right on the map in the game. Overall the game is simply Mario and is another successful albeit somewhat lackluster entry in the franchise. Expand
  12. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    This game is the side scrolling Mario game we have wanted at long last. The game is a great single player game as well as an amazing co-op game which is hard to come across! I enjoy playing single player on the wiiu pad nearly as much as on the TV with 3 other players, the Wiiu pad being used for the boost mode is great fun! Weither you are helping or trolling with the wiiu pad it is all fun and just as great as actually playing the game so I concider this game 5 player. The world map is fun and the addition of the baby yoshis is fantastic! The new squirle power-up is like 3D land's tanooki suit but even more suited for a side scrolling game! The art style and graphics are beautiful and it is a unique and fresh take on the side scrolling mario games, I'd say this is the first legit mario side scroller since super mario world! It isn't just about co-op and fun it is also just a welly done game in general! Expand
  13. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    If you have ever played a Mario game, you already know what this game is. It has the same core as mario did, but this game adds new mechanics throughout the game to stop it from being a redesigned New Super Mario Bros. The new concepts, like the falling head statues, are welcome and make this one of the bet games Mario has to offer. If you put all nostalgia aside, and look at this game as a single release for quality, you'll know that this is one of Mario's best adventures thus far. If your looking for some redemption on New Super Mario Bros 2, this game is it. It shines as a diamond in the pile of similar mario games. If you enjoy good fun games, treat yourself to this game. Expand
  14. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    My girlfriend, bro and myself had some fun times, some good laughs and beat a few levels, too. Being with Nintendo since the NES, I may be a little biased but we're definitely impressed!
  15. Jan 2, 2013
    8
    Nintendo may be playing it fast and loose with the word 'New' as this is the 4th entry in the New Super Mario Bros. series and not much has changed. Looking at screenshots or listening to the music each version is virtually indistinguishable. However, this is the best version yet. Polished to perfection, great level design, tight controls, timeless game play, NSMB U has it all. And don't be fooled by the cheerful and colourful visuals this game provides a decent challenge which unlike so many modern games requires a bit of genuine skill to master. Loads of extra challenge modes sweeten the deal further. Could Nintendo have pushed the boat out a bit further with the music and art design? Yes, but the game play will always be the most important thing. Expand
  16. Jan 29, 2013
    9
    When you buy a Mario 2D platformer you know what to expect. But I got to say I was pleasantly suprised. Beside the dull and repetitive mini bosses on each world the game feels really fresh. First of all the game looks amazing in HD. The levels are varied and very fun to play. Catching all the star coins is a blast, and after you've completed the game you have over 20 levels to find through secret passages and finding all the star coins in each world. Along with this you have modes such as coin rush and other challanges to keep you busy for a long time. One thing that I would like to see improved is the multiplayer. First I would love to see online multiplayer, and also that the characters shouldn't stop when you get hurt, it gets really choppy and hard to time your upcoming jumps for the other players when this happens. Fix these two multiplayer things, vary the mini bosses and add a level editor and this would have been a straight up 10. I give this game a solid 9/10! Expand
  17. Nov 26, 2012
    4
    This game could be worse, but not much worse. This is a Mario Bros. game, which is such a popular franchise because of their addictive game play stemming from tight controls, without tight control. Want to run, for example? Then you better have half the screen in front of you before you start. I don't know if this is because of the game itself or because of the game pad, but it makes the game nearly unplayable. The bottom line is that I would only recommend this game for kids. Kids young enough to not know the difference between good and bad games, because that's who this game was made for. If you really want to play a newer Mario game do yourself a favor and get Super Mario 3D Land for the 3DS instead. Expand
  18. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    This is a great side scrolling mario. Graphics are amazing, very smooth and very much on par with the current gen of consoles if not better. Gameplay is typical mario with some great additions. This is a must own if you like mario / own a Wii U. The zones and levels are great and lots of detail put into this. I just hope nintendo's next mario is out of the new super mario bros genre and is more like a 64 style. 9/10. Expand
  19. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    This game is the pinnacle of the New Super Mario Bros. series. Nintendo refines almost every favourable mechanic and includes them in the release. Mario Bros. U has a great over-world, clever level design, and plenty of single-player and multi-player to keep everyone busy. The only fault are the reused music and the familiar level styles but overall, Nintendo creates a platformer that defines the genre and the series. Expand
  20. Jan 14, 2013
    8
    I like this game and the additional features such as the mini games. I am a little spent with the star coins I think they should change that up. Also how come there is no way to tell which flags you have not reached...? If you beat the game without going through every level...you get the point!! No online? Jeeze Wii U should allow players to play with others same with Nintendo Land not just Mii Verse. It's 2013 Nintendo get with the program everybody is playing multiplayer online! All and all a fun Mario game but no where near the calibur of Super Mario Galaxy 2. Sorry Nintendo try again and when you do, try some co-op online multiplayer! Expand
  21. Feb 18, 2013
    8
    2D mario in its absolute basic, fantastic form. not alot added, not alot taken away, just straight foward, bang on, 2d platforming. And i woulndt have it any other way. It does bother me a bit that all of the new super mario bros. games are so damn similair, but i would definitely say this game is the best in the series. some new locations, some old revisted locations, new powerups, and new multiplayer and challenge options. nintendo knew the simple phrase "if its not broken, dont fix it" and it applies so well to this game. It would have been nice to see somthing brand new with mario's launch on the wii u, but this game is just fine. I have alot of fond christmas day memories of playing this, and its by far one of my favorite Wii U games. This is 2d mario done best, good graphics, good music, memorable set pieces, lousy story (which doesnt really apply to this game, as mario isnt built around a story), but as the first and foremost, fun gameplay. and the gameplay is where it counts. i found the twist of being thrown away and needing to work your way back to the castle to be interesting. I would reccomend this to any mario fan, platforming fan, or wii u owner. A great representation of with whats to come with mario in the near future! Expand
  22. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    Great game that feels more like the old 16 bit counterparts then the less-than-great Wii & DS entries. The added Challenge mode and Boost Rush are SERIOUS FUN and push this game from a high low 9 to a 10. Seriously, finally adding some new, and not gimmicky modes to the Mario Bros formula is a step in the right direction, FINALLY! :)
  23. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    This was just a great fun little game to play. The art style and music is top notch. The only reason I didn't score this games higher was the total length and difficulty. This game will only take you about 5-6hrs. to beat and the level difficulty is so easy a 5 year old can play (they did that on purpose so they can). This is a great start to Mario in HD hopefully some tougher games come in the future.

    PS.
    The homage to old school Mario at the end was awesome
    Expand
  24. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    This game does not just remake new super mario bros it revamps it. Sure it may not be perfect but no game is and this game truily feels like the perfect 2d mario game with good challange, gameplay, diffrent modes, wii u multiplayer/touch control, online, and the hd with a classic mario feel.
  25. Jan 28, 2013
    9
    This Game may be another 2-D , but the game feels very fresh. Adding the challenge mode gives veterans a new interest and the visuals are just stunning. Overall this is a great game.
  26. Dec 8, 2012
    1
    It's wonderful to note that this is the same game with some extra gimmicks. Nothing is developed in this game, nothing feels new or refreshed, nothing introduced as a new concept. it has good feel and great graphics, but if the gameplay is redundant, the music is redundant, the game feels old, what's the damn point of even buying it. I don't recommend if you don't want more of the same from cash-cow mario team. Expand
  27. Nov 22, 2012
    8
    Its a good game that was very different from the one on 3ds. If it was my money i'd say it is the best of the New Super Mario series with its awesome level design, great world map, and the awesome addition of baby yoshies it is a great game.
  28. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. It takes the perfect platforming Mario formula, and adds new features that breathe new life in an already amazing game series. The controls are top-notch; they are tight and responsive, and just the perfect degree of control you would expect from a Mario game. The level design is the best yet in the series. The graphics are incredible. Mario in 1080p looks outstanding, and the amount of detail in every background is breathtaking. The game has a large world map, sort of like what is in Super Mario World. There are not a lot of new power-ups this time around, but it's definitely quality over quality. The new squirrel suit (I think that's what it is) is one of the best power-ups I've ever used in a Mario game. You can hold the jump button to glide in the air, and shake the wii remote to gain some extra height. The extra modes are incredible, and add a ton of replay value in this game. Finally, we have a challenge mode where Mario veterans are able do speed runs, coin-collecting runs, etc., and it's just a lot of fun. The game automatically saves your best run so you can watch your triumph at any time. All in all, this game is highly recommended, and one of the best games of the year. Expand
  29. Nov 18, 2012
    7
    There is really nothing to say here. If you like 2-D Mario you are gonna like this. It looks great in HD even though some of the backgrounds are a tad boring, the control is fine but it in a 2-D Mario game. The multiplyer which I have only played with one other person is decent but not a big game changer. Actually it feels like a cheat when someone puts up a pad for you. I like the mode where the screen goes faster to make the game harder although it picks up the pace after a few hours of play. The story sucks. The music is lame. It is just normal Mario. It feels like I have played this before and I have. On the DS and the Wii. It is a good game but I could live without it and since it is the only exclusive for the system I currently own that is a disappointment. It is a solid Mario game but it isn't as good as Donkey Kong Country Returns and is not even close to the brilliant and more beautiful Rayman Origins. But it is a 2-D Mario game and for most fans it will be enough. Good game. But nothing special or new. I really like the new blue cases. But I was told the Wii U would have a trophy system. Where is it? Expand
  30. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    Great game. Yes, it is an old formula, but still a amazing one. It looks beautiful in HD and the challenges make a great bonus. The multiplayer with gamepad feels a little like cheating, but even with that the game can be challenging sometimes.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    90
    Everyone gets a chance to play and interact and have fun. Really, that’s what Nintendo excels at, getting everyone involved and allowing childish enthusiasm to file down the sharp corners of the vexation of adulthood and life experience. New Super Mario Bros. U does that very thing.
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Yes, the new 2D adventure is not a demonstration of Wii U's potential, but it's extremely competent as a plataformer, adding some elements that probably will accompany the series in the future and making, though perhaps unconsciously with its final boss, the eyes of players sparkle and give us a taste of what to expect of Mario in its next tridimensional adventure.
  3. Feb 14, 2013
    77
    No matter how much content is recycled here, New Super Mario Bros. U is a gem in Wii U’s launch line-up. Problem is, there is nothing that sets it apart from a long line of its predecessors.