Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge Wii U

Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NINJA GAIDEN 3: Razor's Edge promises to be a leaner, tighter experience than the original game. Significantly reduced scripted sequences, streamlined game flow, and improved A.I. complement an array of new features exclusive to the Wii U console.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Jan 9, 2014
    80
    Fans of frantic action and beat 'em up style fighting will be overawed by how intense Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge is.
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    80
    A standout effort as Wii U launch titles go, but it's also a welcome improvement to a game that sorely needed a kick. Team Ninja heard the complaints about Ninja Gaiden 3 and came back with an exceptional revision in Razor's Edge, one that lives up to the high standards set by other games in the series, reinvigorating its combat with fresh variety and a real challenge.
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    76
    It's far from perfect and best viewed with "launch goggles" on, but Razor's Edge's unflinching action and unabashed violence is a great sign for the Wii U as a core gamer's platform.
  4. Nintendo Power
    Dec 14, 2012
    70
    The updated Wii U version improves on many issues that irked fans when Ninja Gaiden 3 originally launched, but repetitious battles and a hokey story knock the experience down a few notches. [Dec 2012, p.86]
  5. Jan 13, 2013
    70
    Razor's Edge is a better game than the original Ninja Gaiden 3 and a worthy option for Wii U users.
  6. Feb 9, 2013
    60
    Razor’s Edge delivers more content and more gore compared to the original, but nonetheless the fearless Ryu Hayabusa is still miles away from his former self.
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    50
    Ninja Gaiden: Razor's Edge still remains the weakest title in the Ninja Gaiden trilogy, but additions like the Ayane missions and balancing tweaks make the game a decent, gloriously gory action title...The weak story, repeat enemies, and frame-rate issues still hold the bloody title back from the greatness of its prestigious pedigree.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    This version is so much better than the Xbox & PS3 version. I'm now able to cut up my enemies and have lots of blood splattered across theThis version is so much better than the Xbox & PS3 version. I'm now able to cut up my enemies and have lots of blood splattered across the screen. Too bad there're more jaggies and low-res background textures, due to the weak Wii U processor. There''s also slowdown when lots of enemies appear on-screen. Hope this version will make it to the PC or PS4 because it's not worth buying the weak Wii U system. I was so disappointed that it was not more powerful and the PS3. I'm waiting for PS4. Currently, I'm on PC now. Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    When I first played this game on Xbox 360, I really didn't like it. It had a lot of problems and it was overall very disappointing. Well allWhen I first played this game on Xbox 360, I really didn't like it. It had a lot of problems and it was overall very disappointing. Well all those problems are now fixed, there's a few extra features, and this game is incredible. The Wii U version is the only version you should play of this game. Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    Awesome entry into the Ninja Gaiden Series, if you want a hard game that will really make you angry enough to want to keep dealing with theAwesome entry into the Ninja Gaiden Series, if you want a hard game that will really make you angry enough to want to keep dealing with the stress then this game/ series is for you, the online multiplayer feature is also fun as well, very rarely do i lag although it is kind of hard to find people to play with. All the problems from the 360 version of it have been adressed and fixed as well, decent assortment of weapons to pick from. I would say if your into the hack n slash genre or never played a game like this before start with NG3: Razors Edge Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    its a shame that these new features aren't in the other consoles, then it would have a low score back then, but this game fix all the annoyingits a shame that these new features aren't in the other consoles, then it would have a low score back then, but this game fix all the annoying things about Ninja gaiden 3 & added new features that fans always loved about the series. Features like boss battles from the past, gore, co-op, other playable characters, more weapons & attack. If you haven't gotten NG3 on ps3 or 360 yet & love blood & violence, i suggest you picked it up, for those who have played it already & won't get the game, they'll miss out.

    BTW even though the gamepad doesn't add anything new, the fact that you can play IN the gamepad instead of the tv is enough
    Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2012
    8
    Ninja Gaiden 3 fell short at trying to make the series more open to non-fans, by removing much of what made the series so great. Now, 7 monthNinja Gaiden 3 fell short at trying to make the series more open to non-fans, by removing much of what made the series so great. Now, 7 month later, the game has been remade as a launch title for Nintendo Collapse
  6. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    Finally! If Ninja Gaiden Sigma Plus is not enough, I recommend Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge for the Wii U. Now I don't like the original NinjaFinally! If Ninja Gaiden Sigma Plus is not enough, I recommend Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge for the Wii U. Now I don't like the original Ninja Gaiden 3. Ya know, the same mistakes the PS3 and XBOX 360 have including the messy gameplay, sloppy storyline, and no upgradable weapons that might've taken a bit too far for fans to enjoy. I agree with the critics and I was really angry on the video game, it was Tecmo to blame for the departure of Itagaki. I was a little nervous on the Wii U and when I start playing Razor's Edge, it was amazing and since it was similar to the fresh and styles of the Sigma series, they fixed the game and they done it. Thank goodness they added new weapons (and exclusives), the AI is beautiful, the boss battles is tough to beat, but hey I could take a swing out of it. I saw the trailer for the WII U version with Ayane as a playable character. And she can still kick some ninja ass. I love Ayane. Best of all, the holiday season is just around the corner. So as soon as they get a lower price, I'll finally get my hands on the Wii U. I think this is one of the better Ninja Gaiden games you never played before. But great game, I was hoping for Nina Gaiden Sigma 3 for the PS4 and the new XBOX 720 soon. Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2015
    3
    Worst camera of all time. You can't turn off cam auto move. The cam always does whatever it wants to, just rip out the right stick from yourWorst camera of all time. You can't turn off cam auto move. The cam always does whatever it wants to, just rip out the right stick from your controller to never ever get tempted to use it while fighting.

    The character moves around like I don't know, anything but a ninja. This guy just feels slow and not responsive. Juliet from Lolipop Chansaw feels more like a ninja because the controlls feel more fluent.

    In NG3 it feels like all movement is kind of in some sort of a fixed grid, you need to wait for all animations to end and they feel long. Sometimes after attacking and then running away a little bit you can't attack right away. You have to actively stop and turn around to attack in the direction that you want, it's not enough to quick press the direction followed by the attack button.

    Graphics are ok. Sound and music: Ok. The game has slowdowns which explains why they had to lower the enemy count and are selling it as something good because the enemies are now harder in this version ... what ever, it still has slow downs that are painful.

    The first stage is ok until you reach the part with all the smoke or fog and you don't know where to go, enemies come out of nowhere and with the controlls feeling stif as I said ... I just stopped playing. I still have to beat Bayonetta 2. I've beaten Bayoneta 1 some time ago and I think I'll just do that now before I destroy my controller. I have no patience for NG3. It's the first and last Ninja Gaiden game that I bought.
    Expand

See all 20 User Reviews