Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    100
    Nintendo Land's strongest selling point, though, is just how easy it is to jump right into these games.
  2. Jan 13, 2013
    90
    The only way to not having fun is not having company.
  3. Jan 9, 2013
    90
    If it wasn't for a few duds, this game would be incredible, but even still, it's the best game to show off your WiiU and a great experience to play with some friends.
  4. Dec 18, 2012
    90
    Nintendo Land is indeed a pleasant surprise. Not only does it do a great job at demonstrating just about every one of the Wii U's features, but it also delivers on some incredibly fun experiences, particularly in multiplayer
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Nintendo Land is both a wonderful celebration of Nintendo's past and an exciting glimpse into its future, but more importantly it is incredibly, riotously fun. It's one of the best local multiplayer experiences ever crafted, and playing with friends is a guaranteed great time. There's also a surprising amount of depth to the single-player offerings, and Miiverse integration means you're never really on your own. It definitely taps into the nostalgia vein - and this is fan service par excellence - but it's also just pure entertainment.
  6. Matching experimentation with (almost) consistently brilliant gameplay, this is as much a marker for what's to come as it is a truly excellent launch game.
  7. Nov 15, 2012
    87
    A brilliant show of what Nintendo's new console and tablet controller are capable of, and has far more depth and content then you'd expect from a mini-game collection.
  8. Dec 10, 2012
    86
    Nintendo Land highlights the potential of the Wii U console, especially when it comes to the capabilities of the GamePad that is definitely a very impressive gaming controller. By combining elements of the 3DS and a Tablet with streamlined Nintendo controls, this game not only plays well but gives the player and players some great single and multiplayer excitement. Add in high scores, trophies and lots of unlockables and this may be the future of gaming! Brilliant!
  9. Nov 26, 2012
    86
    Nintendo builds a funny theme-park for Wii U, probably the best option to discover the GamePad and the asymmetric gameplay. Crazy when played with friends; still good when played alone. It's a must have.
  10. Nov 17, 2012
    86
    An essential purchase for party lovers that whets the Nintendo appetite. Bring friends. [Christmas 2012, p.84]
  11. Jan 23, 2013
    85
    An entertaining minigame collection. The games are quite well fleshed out. [Jan 2013]
  12. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    This may not be game of the year, but it doesn't try to be. What it does try to be is an ode to Nintendo's rich history and an introduction to the Wii U's capabilities and control potential. In those efforts, it succeeds greatly.
  13. 85
    Single-player attractions may have some flaws, but for now, Nintendo Land is the quintessential multiplayer game that everyone should at least check out.
  14. Nov 30, 2012
    82
    For all its similarities, Nintendo Land is a wholly different experience from the Wii and Wii Sports-and that isn't necessarily a bad thing. While the presentation and concepts still exude a casual shell, the real meat of the experience is deceptively deep and unmistakably challenging. It's no "killer app" launch title, but it's no slouch, either.
  15. 80
    Nice set of mini-games with a visible touch of the Nintendo spirit. Nothing good for lone-wolves to be found here but family sessions should be satisfied. [Christmas 2012]
  16. Dec 17, 2012
    80
    The most interesting is that the twelve attractions somehow spread through all functions of the GamePad, accommodating different rules in different games. Each game is thus a unique and challenging experience.
  17. Dec 13, 2012
    80
    Your level of enjoyment will hinge on how often you can play this game with friends. When there are plenty of people around this game is a blast. Playing it solo can still be a lot of fun, but it feels like some of the magic is lost.
  18. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    The clear purpose of Nintendo Land is to play with more people: it's a step forward in the party game genre and also a new (and great) way of having fun with some friends.
  19. 80
    Nintendo Land oozes with familiarity and might even alert some of the most ardent players to gems they may have missed. With that in mind I have a number of Pikmin games to acquire and devour.
  20. 80
    If this review hasn't spelled it out for you already, there is a lot of content and potential included in this package to make it more than worth your while and keep you coming back for more as Nintendo Land is a pretty darn good game.
  21. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    So no, it's not another Wii Sports. It isn't a game-changer, nor is it likely to be nearly as successful as a seller of hardware...But it might just be the better game of the two.
  22. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    Nintendo Land is a pretty cool Wii U feature-demo, which introduces the new gamepad with all it's innovations for the player. The games are pretty cool, but there are only 12 included, and only a few are damn fun. If there were more games and an easy-mode for untrained gamers, the game would be more entertaining.
  23. Nov 28, 2012
    80
    The Wii-controller was instantly understandable thanks to Wii Sports. Nintendo Land doesn't do exactly that for the GamePad, but it does show that it can be a great addition to games, especially with friends. Thanks to an original concept – a theme park based on 12 Nintendo games – which is well executed, this is more than a simple minigame collection.
  24. Nov 27, 2012
    80
    It´s a nice little time sink for a single player and a real blast in a group of friends or family. All of these games cater far more to the needs of the classic gamer than Wii Sports ever did and at the same time they manage to show of the capabilities of the new gamepad pretty well. It's not the revelation the Wii once was, on those first evenings after you brought it home. But its an endearingly crafted piece of quality software.
  25. Nov 23, 2012
    80
    A clever demonstration of all the Wii U's features and, more importantly, a mini-game collection that can keep any gamer – from casual to hardcore – equally entertained.
  26. Nov 23, 2012
    80
    Nintendo Land tries to evolve Wii Sports with a mini games compilation based on well-known franchises and using the Wii U GamePad in a creative way. It's not Mario Party, but it works as party game and a unique experience in the console line-up.
  27. Nov 21, 2012
    80
    Nintendo Land is a great game to understand what the new Wii U GamePad is capable of. The 12 attractions are very different from each others and guaranteed a unique gameplay experience. Every mini-game is inspired by Nintendo most famous characters, such as Mario, Metroid and Zelda. Perfect if played in multiplayer or co-op, it's a must own game for Wii U users and for party game lovers.
  28. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    Nintendo Land is something that goes beyond the simple teaching of the new features of the console and the controller. It makes you want to go on with the next attraction. It's a title that will give you much more than just one night with friends, in fact, you'll probably enjoy it better on your own. Too bad for some recycled mechanics and for some attractions less successful than others.
  29. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    Nintendo Land is available as a pack-in with the Wii U Deluxe Set, but it's a good enough game on its own to warrant a purchase for anyone buying the Wii U Basic Set. Plus, it's an effective tool for users as they learn the ins and outs of the Wii U GamePad. There's plenty of value in that alone and having an entire theme park of fun games based on Nintendo's best franchises makes the deal that much sweeter. Sweet enough to call Nintendo Land a must-own for new Wii U owners.
  30. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    Definitely has a more long-lasting appeal than Wii Sports, but also has a much higher learning curve.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 400 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 102
  2. Negative: 1 out of 102
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Easily the most fun mini-game compilation game that I have ever played. Yes, not all of the games are fun, but most of them are fun.Easily the most fun mini-game compilation game that I have ever played. Yes, not all of the games are fun, but most of them are fun. Definetly a nice addition with the deluxe model. I would even go to say that this game IS worth 59,99$. Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This is what I love about Nintendo. They're a huge company that aren't afraid of being the first to jump into uncharted territory. With theThis is what I love about Nintendo. They're a huge company that aren't afraid of being the first to jump into uncharted territory. With the Wii U Tablet's original control scheme, and incredibly tight gyro setup, Nintendoland flourishes. This is the game I wanted bundled with my system. Throwing kudos to many of Nintendo's own franchises, Nintendoland provides justice to each and every minigame included in the package. I loved that I was able to use my own Mii that I originally created on my 3DS as my main character. I also enjoyed the free world they created where you can wander around with your character. The option of having up to 5 players is very intriguing as well. Nintendo in HD graphics is as stunning as I hoped it would be, and I have nothing but high hopes for future releases with the Wii U. Full Review »
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    4
    Nintendo Land is the Wii U's equivalent to Wii Sports. A collection of mini games that can be played in single or multi-player; designed toNintendo Land is the Wii U's equivalent to Wii Sports. A collection of mini games that can be played in single or multi-player; designed to demonstrate the key features of Nintendo's new console. There are two key differences with these games. 1. Wii Sports came bundled free with each console. Nintendo Land is being sold separately as a full priced retail release. 2. Wii Sports was actually quite fun. Nintendo Land isn't. There's twelve games in total, I'm not going to go into bloated detail but each one is based on a Nintendo franchise, i.e. Mario, Zelda etc. Instead of featuring the actual characters of those games, Mii's are used, which in my opinion slightly spoils the visual aesthetics. Just like Wii Sports all of the games lack depth which wouldn't be such a problem but for the awkward controls. Captain Falcon's Twister Race has you hold the tablet controller out in front of you and use it to steer which makes your arms ache within seconds and just isn't responsive enough. Balloon trip has you frantic-ly swiping at the touch screen as if it wouldn't be more fun and accurate to use the buttons. Donkey Kong's Crash Course was probably my favourite, but even then I had to give up due to the over fussy controls. And even then I wouldn't have enjoyed it half as much if it wasn't for the excellent retro visuals and music which is the one thing Nintendo has done well here. Full Review »