User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 304 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 304

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Easily the most fun mini-game compilation game that I have ever played. Yes, not all of the games are fun, but most of them are fun. Definetly a nice addition with the deluxe model. I would even go to say that this game IS worth 59,99$.
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This is what I love about Nintendo. They're a huge company that aren't afraid of being the first to jump into uncharted territory. With the Wii U Tablet's original control scheme, and incredibly tight gyro setup, Nintendoland flourishes. This is the game I wanted bundled with my system. Throwing kudos to many of Nintendo's own franchises, Nintendoland provides justice to each and every minigame included in the package. I loved that I was able to use my own Mii that I originally created on my 3DS as my main character. I also enjoyed the free world they created where you can wander around with your character. The option of having up to 5 players is very intriguing as well. Nintendo in HD graphics is as stunning as I hoped it would be, and I have nothing but high hopes for future releases with the Wii U. Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Incredible addictive fun for 4-6 players! Best party game ever! Tons of laughs gaurenteed! The luigis mansion and animal crossing games are fun and so interesting the way the wiiu pad works! Mario chase is crazy funny when the tackle happens at 1 second remaining XD the zelda and metroid games are insanely cool and I cant wait to see the wiiu pad used in future great titles!
  4. Jan 2, 2013
    4
    Nintendo Land is the Wii U's equivalent to Wii Sports. A collection of mini games that can be played in single or multi-player; designed to demonstrate the key features of Nintendo's new console. There are two key differences with these games. 1. Wii Sports came bundled free with each console. Nintendo Land is being sold separately as a full priced retail release. 2. Wii Sports was actually quite fun. Nintendo Land isn't. There's twelve games in total, I'm not going to go into bloated detail but each one is based on a Nintendo franchise, i.e. Mario, Zelda etc. Instead of featuring the actual characters of those games, Mii's are used, which in my opinion slightly spoils the visual aesthetics. Just like Wii Sports all of the games lack depth which wouldn't be such a problem but for the awkward controls. Captain Falcon's Twister Race has you hold the tablet controller out in front of you and use it to steer which makes your arms ache within seconds and just isn't responsive enough. Balloon trip has you frantic-ly swiping at the touch screen as if it wouldn't be more fun and accurate to use the buttons. Donkey Kong's Crash Course was probably my favourite, but even then I had to give up due to the over fussy controls. And even then I wouldn't have enjoyed it half as much if it wasn't for the excellent retro visuals and music which is the one thing Nintendo has done well here. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Today I went to pickup my Wii-U and on a whim decided to buy 3 games including the Nintendo Land that it came packages with. Without going into a long story about what I did I'll tell you. I played Nintendo Land all day long with everyone coming over wanting to try out the Wii-U. The other 2 games barely got touched and its somewhat of a shame, but they did so well with this compilation of single player and multi-player mini-games that I look forward to the "Resorts" style sequel that will inevitably come from this. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    8
    This is about what you would expect from a launch pack in game. It showcases what the wii U can do. It is a collection of mini-games you will hate a few love a few and be lukewarm to the rest. I personally would not pick it up separatly if it hadn't already been packed in because I'm not that into casual games but I like having it because it has lots of games you can play solo or with others and it was a nice introduction to the wii. I think if you are buying for kids who don't already have it, it would be a solid pick up. My wife plays if more than I do which I love because it's great to see her getting into games. I will play this game until Christmas until I pick up the Mario for the wii U. Bottom line however you felt about wii sports is most likely how you will feel about this. Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    The game I wasn't really looking forward to has surprisingly taken up most of my play time on the Wii U! Once you play this game, it will be incredibly hard to stop. This is by far the best party game I have ever played. It's fun playing 1-player, but multiplayer is where it really shines. You can play up to 5 players, and trust me, the more players the better. You choose between several Nintendo-themed attractions, that all have unique uses of the gamepad. If you are unsure about how the gamepad can change the face of gaming, try out these games; almost every minigame has some outrageously fun new experience that you can't play anywhere else. Highly recommended. Just this game alone makes the Wii U deluxe bundle more worth it. Expand
  8. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    That's a little description of the game: Nintendo Land is a beautiful game made up of several minigames that are inspired from the Nintendo Franchise Like :Mario , Zelda, Metroid... . This game is one of the funniest videogames to play with friends and not ! Is simple and the graphics is clean, a 1 year baby can play it too. Every single minigame is perfectly done from the gameplay to the style to the function with the Wii u GamePad; the GamePad is an important part of the game and every single minigames need it for different action.The Game is perfect to play with friends or with other people of your family. The Final thing that i want to say is that the game is funny and beautiful. Surely a good Killer Application for the Wii u! Expand
  9. Dec 16, 2012
    6
    Very addictive Yoshi's Fruit Cart game, but further a bit disappointing for me as a RPG player, the single player games are okay and fun, but there is no objective to run around in the park. Because the next Zelda won't be out in quite a while I hope there was a mini quest in this game but is nothing more than swinging your remote around...

    The multi player games are much more fun to
    play. Still Nintendo Land looks like just like a good demo from the possibilities from Wii U with some Arcade kind of "2012 games" Expand
  10. Dec 25, 2012
    7
    If I bought this game alone, would it be worth $59.99? Probably not. But it is a great deal when you buy the Wii U deluxe set. This game comes with it, and for a small amount of mini-games, it has quite a lot more content than the average collection. The mini-games are very amusing. This is a better game to come with a console at launch than Wii Sports.
  11. Dec 15, 2012
    8
    Great intro to the Wii U console. What looks like yet another mini game compilation after a couple of hours this opens up into so much more. Its got that Nintendo star quality all over it. An absolute blast on your own or with friends. Highly recommended.
  12. Jan 28, 2013
    8
    This is a must own if you plan on having a bunch och game sessions with friends and family. You will have most fun playing the competitive attractions which are: Mario Chase, Luigi's Ghost Mansion and Animal Crossing: Sweet Day. Also the Team attractions are really good aswell but not quite as entertaining as the competitive ones. When It comes to the singleplayer attractions there are some good and bad, no reasons to buy the game here, but nice to have If you want to pass some time on your own. I highly recommend that you are 5 people when playing this game. I've had some great moments playing this game with a bunch of friends and it's a blast. However, If you won't be able to play with that amount of people I can't really recommend this to you. It's meant to be played togheter with a group of 5 players. I give this game a solid 8/10! Expand
  13. Oct 22, 2013
    9
    This game is a a very good attempt at showing just what the Wii u is all about. With 6 different multiplayer modes and innovative use of the gamepad Nintendo has again proven that it is a champion if local multiplayer and entertainment. The gamepad is a big highlight showing how up to 5 players can seamlessly and comfortably compete. The gamepad also feels right at home along side Wii-motes in Nintendo land. The games are all unique and fun and perfext for party sittuations. All in all this is a rather brilliant example of what the wiiu is all about. Expand
  14. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    As with the original Wii, the Wii U (deluxe version) comes with a solid packaged games that showcases what the Wii U is all about. Granted it is just mini games with a little Nintendo touch, but that is all that is necessary.
  15. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Even as a stand-alone game, this would probable be one of the better titles, but as a game packaged with the console it absolutely dominates. The innovation with the Wii U GamePad is incredible, and the games are all really fun and simple to pick up. I strongly suggest that you get Nintendo Land with a Deluxe Console.
  16. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    At first, I was a little worried. I was concerned with how Nintendo Land would follow up Wii Sports and Wii Play - two exceptional games which showed us the ropes when it came to the use of the Wii Remote. But that concern melted away once I'd started playing the game for myself. Nintendo Land brings virtual funfairs to life in this exceptionally beautiful and charismatic atmosphere, packed to the brim with countless hours of fun and hilarity. The mini-games are all beautiful, though the Metroid and Yoshi mini-games are my favourites. The Metroid mini-game really lets you live the role of Samus whether you're in the sky or on land, and the detail is positively mesmerising. The Yoshi mini-game makes you think, like a good puzzle game should. It also helps you to coordinate yourself by getting used to there being two screens to look at. Plus, it's adorable!
    Overall, this game is quite deep - much deeper than Wii Sports and Wii Play (perhaps combined!). There is definitely something for everyone to enjoy in this marvelous game. Nintendo are truly the masters at what they do.
    Expand
  17. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    come on people who review it badly IT'S A PARTY GAME DIRECTED AT KIDS! ages 4-9. It is obviously innovative since it defines the console (along with ZombiU). And it is very fun. sure it lacks story and depth 2 things THAT IT DOESN'T NEED TO HAVE AT ALL. although i do think they could of done more with it and maybe make Donkey Kong's Crash Course not so Fricken BRUTAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Anyway it is a great game. lol :p Expand
  18. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    Seriously a fun game! All the minigames the game has to offer is creative, fun, and eccentric. Playing this game with two or more people is what REALLY makes this game fun! My personal favorite minigame (for the moment) is Luigi's Ghost Mansion! And let me tell you..THAT my friends, is awesome.
  19. Aug 15, 2013
    8
    This game is amazing and fun for a party or an occasion. Bring your friends when playing this game as the multiplayer attractions and modes really gives you a good feel of these franchises. A negative point of this game is that i think that the solo attractions are actually bringing the game down a tiny bit as the game really gives a good feeling of a party. Other than that the game will last very long for a party game than others. Expand
  20. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    nintendo land really shocked me. for a pack in game for the wii u people are probably gonna compare this game to wii sports but i think that might be a little unfair since unlike sports i'll probably be playing nintendo land with friends for years to come. for a mini game compilation a lot of mini games have quite a bit of content. for example the metroid game has 3 modes and a lot of levels to play. some mini games are quick, crappy and forgettable (ex. the f-zero game) but i think the other great mini games make up for it. also some mini games use the game pad in interesting ways and i really like the graphics of the zelda mini game. Expand
  21. LBC
    Oct 31, 2013
    6
    Nintendo Land accomplishes all of its goals. It's a fun pack-in game that will introduce you to the Wii U system and the tablet controller. There's just not a whole lot of replay value once you've seen everything.
  22. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    This game, and the Wii U in general, represent nothing less than Nintendo execs sitting in their offices laughing histerically at so easily ripping off the uninformed videogame customer. This is another stupid mini-game collection. Yet this time we're supposed to be excited because it uses a cheap, boring, pointless second screen controller. Give me a break. The Wii U in general has the soon to be obsolete power of the current (much better) systems and it comes with a pathetic amount of hard drive (you, know, because Nintendo would actually have to spend money to give us a good amount of hard drive), yet somehow Nintendo is gonna make money because the controller contains a (cheaply made) screen? And a thrown-together game like Nintendo Land is the perfect example of what this system is gonna become. Another gimmic that uneducated gamers will fall for. Nintendo is a con artist. Con artist will go away if people stop falling for their tricks. Expand
  23. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    Nintendo, in my opinion, has always been good at pack in games. Nintendo Land comes packed in with the deluxe edition of the Wii U, or can be purchased separately for $59.99. Either way I do recommend this game, it's an absolute blast and perfect for families. Nintendo Land does for the Wii U what Wii Sports did for the Wii in that it's a mini-game collection that shows off what the Wii U can do. Whether your playing solo, cooperatively, or competitive the game is a blast to play. When playing with others one uses the Wii U game pad while everyone else uses the Wii motion controllers so be sure to stock up on those if you want to play with the max number of players (up to 5), and also heads up you also may want the Wii motion plus controllers because certain games require them for multiplayer. Like I said before Nintendo Land is a blast and a fantastic launch title for the Wii U. I highly recommend. Expand
  24. Nov 20, 2012
    7
    Nintendo Land shines as a multiplayer game. Most attractions are fun, and some are even shockingly innovative. Single-player falls short because the best of the attractions need other players to get involved. The GamePad works really, really well and the graphics surprised us. If this is any indication of what we'll see from future Wii U games, we're in for a real treat.

    We highly
    recommend Nintendo Land -ONLY- if you can experience it multiplayer. For that reason, along with some of the attractions being mediocre, we give Nintendo Land a 7/10. Expand
  25. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    This game is just brilliant. Stand out for me is Donkey Kong Crash Course, but all games have great gameplay. Graphics also look amazing in HD, with everything having a very hand made and tactile feel.
  26. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I was not expecting Nintendo Land to be good. Long story short, Nintendo Land attempts to be for the Wii U what Wii Sports was for the Wii. Unlike Wii Sports, there are more than 10 different kinds of games available (these games are "attractions" in Nintendo Land and there are 12 total, and yes, there is a hub world that you can traverse that's like a theme park), and these games mostly have a surprisingly fair amount of substance. Many of these games have different modes of play and plenty have more than several levels to go through (e.g. Pikmin, Zelda, etc.). You play these games for fun, and nearly all are designed to show how the Wii U GamePad (the tablet) can be used in different ways. There's something oddly cool and neat of seeing yourself going through a training area in Metroid Blast on your tablet and getting hints specific to your role, while others are training in a completely different place with their own hints, and knowing it's all coming from the same console and you're all still in the same world. This is the supposed definition of "asymmetric gameplay": not everyone is experiencing the same thing in even the same play style. The person with the GamePad has a markedly different experience than the people on the Wii Remotes. You need to play it to understand, and you should certainly play it with another friend or more to get the most fun out of it (though half the games are solo attractions and they're mostly great).

    Each of the attractions have their own "achievements" or in-game special challenges. There's five in each game. Many are fun challenges, some are just insignificant fluff that striving for doesn't necessarily add to the fun (good thing fun is what this game has in spades). You get coins for completing challenges, among other things, and you can use these coins to work towards getting special bonuses that will either decorate your Nintendo Land theme park, add music to a jukebox that you'll eventually be rewarded to, or buttons on the ground that will do all sorts of surprising things. The reward/coin mechanic is a great incentive to keep playing the attractions, especially for the collectors who want to see their entire Nintendo Land be vibrant and filled with cool decor. Each attraction also has one specific goal that will signify you've "mastered" the game. I won't tell you what happens when you master all twelve ;)... because I haven't done that yet.

    You'll also see people in the Miiverse occasionally popping up in your Nintendo Land. It's interesting to see so many people bustling around your theme park, posting comments and whatnot. You'll see people from different countries moving around your park with large comment boxes popping over their heads saying whatever it is they feel. You can touch these people on the tablet and see information about how far along Nintendo Land they are, along with options to comment on their comments, send a friend request, and other things. It's a nice in-game mechanic that helps make the gaming community feel more interconnected.

    Overall, I can't say yet whether the game is worth $60 regardless of circumstance, but it's a great game altogether. Anyone who gets the Wii U Deluxe will not be disappointed with this pack-in. With no hyperbole, it's truly one of the best party games I've ever played in my life. It does an excellent job of showcasing the Wii U's concept of "asymmetric gameplay", and is still fun to play by yourself (I must have played Donkey Kong's Crash Course for over an hour trying to get a gold trophy!). If you're thinking about getting a Wii U, get a Deluxe. If you can only get a Basic, and are considering this game, get it if you have friends and Wiimotes and Wiimote Plusses with which to play. If you're all by your lonesome, then I'd venture to say that $60 is too much (especially since 3 of the games are only available as multi-player). So the long and short of it is: this is a surprisingly great game with plenty to do, especially if you have friends.
    Expand
  27. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Nintendo Land shines most when you have 3-5 players involved. Some of the single player attractions (notably the DK attraction) are pretty fun, but the most fun I had was playing the multiplayer games with a group of friends. The visuals are very creative and humorous. The music is a very nice mashup of retro sounds and modern game music. Overall I'm happy that I purchased the deluxe wii u that came with this because it is a nice game to have. Expand
  28. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    If there are two things Nintendo can do right on a regular basis its making good local multiplayer games (something that I wish other developers would do better). The other thing is they know how to make fun and interesting mini-games that are also worthwhile. Nintendo Land is by no means perfect, but it is a fun introduction to the WiiU that is worth a look. Especially because it showcases some of the most unique aspects of the WiiU that no other game has done yet, and I fear no other game will be able to do quite as well.
    The game features a variety of fun mini games all based around Nintendo's existing properties with Pokemon and StarFox being noticeably absent from the games included. What's up Nintendo, didn't feel like giving us another ride in the Arwings? What about a return to the rad mini games of Pokemon Stadium fame? The games included are still fun and interesting. You have a mini racing game from F-Zero. A fun co-op game from Zelda as well as one from Pikmin. Mario, Luigi, and Animal Crossing all have competitive modes that are a riot to play. Meanwhile, Yoshi's and the Game & Watch's mini games don't quite measure up to the rest of the roster.
    You'll quickly find games you like more than others and probably brush the ones you don't care for under the rug. I know the most played at our home is Zelda because we had one friend obsessing over beating the game. A good time, but it did get frustratingly difficult at times where even good teamwork felt like it didn't help.
    That said, all the games feature the WiiU pad in a different way, each showing just how unique this device is and giving us some ideas what we COULD expect from the WiiU if developers where complete that were too afraid to make a game for such a small install base. The idea of having a full map for one player while the rest have none and have to look for him/her is actually a cool idea and very well implemented.
    All-in-all, it's a short game you probably won't play without your friends to have some fun. The games aren't mindblowing, but they are all interesting in one way or another. It's certainly a game I'd recommend for the WiiU, if, for any reason, to have SOMETHING to play on it. But if you can't shell out the $60 for it, I wouldn't. But, nonetheless, fun and unique, which is certainly something I don't see much of in most other games.
    Expand
  29. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    Nintendo Land is a fun 'first game' for the Wii U, that show case its abilities quite well to Wii U owners. However, despite the fun I had with this game, it does not have that immediate 'pull' that Wii Sports had many years ago for the Wii. Hence, many casual fans may dismiss this game. Even Nintendo admitted that this game, fun and polished as it is, is not a a system seller.
  30. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    Although this game only gets an 8, it's pretty much an essential Wii U purchase. Other than Donkey Kong game, the single player is very very rubbish, however, if you ever have 2 or more friends around then this game is one of the most fun games you can play. Great for partier, great for famalies, however, for 2 or less people it's a bit of a dud.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    70
    There are a few dud mini-games, but Nintendo Land does a good job at highlighting the strengths of the new system and the potential of asymmetric multiplayer. [Feb 2013, p.64]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    85
    An entertaining minigame collection. The games are quite well fleshed out. [Jan 2013]
  3. Jan 13, 2013
    90
    The only way to not having fun is not having company.