Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22
  1. Jan 2, 2014
    40
    Pokemon Rumble U is a major setback for the spin-off series in many ways.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    30
    Cheap on every level. [Issue#139, p.116]
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    40
    You're better off resisting the urge to collect more toys.
  4. Aug 28, 2013
    40
    Pokémon Rumble U is a bad Pokémon game, although it can be pretty funny for a couple of hours. It seems to be nothing more then a entree for Pokémon X and Y.
  5. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Not just a terrible video game but one conceived purely out of greed and a contempt for its audience – not to mention the hapless parents guilted into furnishing Nintendo’s coffers.
  6. Aug 19, 2013
    35
    Pokémon Rumble U is a crushingly basic and boring game, even by Pokémon spin-off standards.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    Once you get your head around whats going on the busy screen its good fun. It's a little simple in terms of game play, but that's not always a bad thing. Maybe a little pricey in terms of value for money though. Full Review »
  2. Sep 8, 2013
    2
    Nobody played the original Pokemon Rumble games for the terrible arena fights, the trail levels were what kept the game interesting. By making a game comprised solely of boring and soulless arena fights I don't feel I can trust the Pokemon Rumble franchise anymore Full Review »
  3. Jul 29, 2014
    1
    Pokémon Rumble, for Wii, was a cheap, fun little diversion that I hoped to see more of.
    Pokémon Rumble Blast, for 3DS, took what made the
    first game enjoyable and expanded upon that gameplay, offering new features, battle modes, and interesting levels. It still might not have justified its price point, but I was alright with it. I knew about what I could expect for my money.

    Pokémon Rumble U is a complete disappointment. It seems the developers just got sick of level design and said "Screw it, let's just use the same arena for every level, putting some different thematic elements and decorations on it once in a while. The demographic we're targeting probably won't notice or care."

    Well, some of us do care. I was looking forward to being able to catch all 649 Pokémon in a single game like this, but the experience feels so stagnant, repetitive, and dull that I wouldn't bother completing this game unless I had exhausted literally thousands of other games, which I deem more worth my time than this pathetic cash grab.

    As a side note, I didn't buy the game for its NFC features, and had no intentions of buying any of the figurines. I look forward to Nintendo's Amiibo features in future games, where it will actually be worth buying complementary figures. I feel, however, that too many reviews of Pokémon Rumble U hone in on the figurine ploy, which, though I'll admit it wasn't the best move, isn't essential to the core gameplay, and certainly not necessary.

    Anyway, yeah. Don't buy this game. The first game was good, the second game was better, this third entry in the series should have Garbodor as its mascot.
    Full Review »