Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    75
    Puddle is a mechanically sound game that's good for fans of physics puzzles. The presentation is solid, and even though the controls aren't the most optimal, they get the job done and provide enough options.
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    40
    It really seems like it would have worked better as a middleware physics engine, because it certainly doesn’t work as a game.
  3. Feb 22, 2013
    68
    In the burgeoning sub-genre of physics-based, liquid platformers, Puddle is a game that only hits a little more than it misses.
  4. Feb 12, 2013
    80
    The Wii U version has a couple advantages, letting you play with some novel motion controls, and of course enabling the entire game on the GamePad. For $7.99, it’s not a bad little entry in the Wii U’s burgeoning digital catalog.
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    67
    Puddle is both relaxing and frustrating, and it can be immensely satisfying to play. At times I was excited, and other times dreadfully nervous. If you are looking for a game to tide you over in between major Wii U releases, this one is a decent bet provided you have the patience.
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    76
    Puddle on the Wii U looks and plays great. It's too bad there is no new content here from previously released versions, but it's still a challenging and likeable physics puzzler.
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    80
    Puddle is relatively brief and can be tackled within a lazy afternoon or two. There’s not much to the game once you’ve gotten through it – other than going back through to unlock in-game achievements and trying to get gold on each of the levels – but it’s fun while it lasts. It won’t set the world on fire, and it can be crushingly difficult at times, but it’s got a ton of nifty ideas and wrings every single drop out of them – and in that, Puddle greatly succeeds.
  8. 70
    I was impressed with the sheer amount of variety in the game, but I can't help but wish it were utilized to a greater extent. Puddle looks and plays great, but the difficulty caused by its physics can hamper the experience.
  9. Jan 31, 2013
    65
    It's still a neat little puzzler for sure, but it needs a bit more tweaking for me to wholly recommend it. If you've always been on the edge in terms of buying this game, this release should tip you, as it's the definitive version.
  10. Jan 30, 2013
    60
    An immediate and extremely usable concept, attractive graphics and an intriguing challenges (albeit sometimes a little too excessive) aren't enough to promote Neko's newborn, still immature in its gameplay in this Wii U edition.
  11. Jan 14, 2013
    80
    Playing with water was never so fun in this original puzzle game. Frustration might scare off some players, but those who push through will find a collection of interesting with plenty of variation.
  12. The introduction outstays its welcome, but Puddle flows into a more interesting game than you might expect. [Jan 2013, p.111]
  13. Jan 7, 2013
    70
    Puddle is an interesting title for fans of the genre, thanks to the originality of the level design, constantly looking for never predictable ways.
  14. Dec 21, 2012
    65
    Puddle confirms the good and less good seen in recent months on Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, PC and PS Vita. Good ideas but the result is just decent.
  15. Dec 19, 2012
    80
    Puddle lacks a tiny bit of personality and features some initially annoying gameplay limitations but manages to hold its own in the long run, past the initial learning period.
  16. Dec 16, 2012
    65
    Puddle is a decent game with enough variation and challenge, but is too slow to ever really get exciting and uses too much trial and error. This makes the game more frustrating than fun.
  17. Dec 11, 2012
    74
    Puddle presents the fascinating journey of several types of fluids through original levels like a garden, laboratory or inside the human body. It's great, for moments, fascinating, but Puddle's difficulty is too unfairly hard and overcoming these difficulties requires trial and error mechanics.
  18. Dec 8, 2012
    78
    Even though the capabilities of the new system are underutilized, this is still a well executed physics puzzler that relies too often on trial & error.
  19. Dec 7, 2012
    70
    Puddle is another strong contender for your digital money in the beginning days of Wii U's eShop. It falters when it comes to explaining all of its elements, occasionally stumbles with difficulty spikes and its motion control scheme is best left ignored, but look past these flaws and you'll find a creative, smart puzzler that flows pretty well while offering a fair amount of variety and replay value.
  20. Dec 4, 2012
    60
    A great idea held by its issues. We really hoped there were some improvements on the Wii U version, but it fails to deliver an engaging experience.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jul 24, 2013
    9
    If you're looking for a physics-based puzzle game, you can trust Puddle to satisfy that incessant hankering. In my books, this game isIf you're looking for a physics-based puzzle game, you can trust Puddle to satisfy that incessant hankering. In my books, this game is near-perfect. It's very polished and realises concepts of such vivid imaginations. The physics is well utilised, involving situations you wouldn't normally expect, such as anti-gravity. Puddle is difficult, however. And while you may breeze past the first few stages with relative ease, it's the back-end which will make you squirm just a little bit. It's that feeling of being able to complete the course, despite failing over and over again. This is the sort of characteristic it boasts which gives it a sound level of replay-ability. The inclusion of gold, silver and copper (bronze) times to beat, as well as a leader board, adds even more replay-ability. Overall, this a fun little game to play and, if physics-based puzzle games are something you enjoy, your money will not be wasted on this game they call Puddle. Full Review »
  2. Feb 17, 2013
    8
    Basically, what I found Puddle to be was a somewhat puzzle/platforming game. The basic structure of the game is basic where you progressBasically, what I found Puddle to be was a somewhat puzzle/platforming game. The basic structure of the game is basic where you progress through levels that have different obstacles and most times different liquids (anything ranging from water to yellow cake uranium). The game is broken up into 8 different chapters with each chapter focusing on a liquid. When playing a level, you have to keep the amount of liquid you start out with to a specific threshold. So you start out with 100% liquid and if you lose 80%, you lost the level.
    Gameplay wise, Puddle is pretty fun and frustrating. Depending on what your liquid is in the level, you have to avoid its evaporator (waters is hot surfaces while lava is cool surfaces). The entire premise behind the game is to tilt the screen to get your liquid to go the speed you want, keep as much liquid as you can, and finish the level as fast as you can. You do have different control options such as using exclusively the ZL and ZR buttons to tilt, tilting the Gamepad, or using the left stick. I mainly used the ZL/ZR configuration and tilted the Gamepad when I felt that it would be more accurate.
    There isn't too much variation in the sound/music the game plays. It changes based on the chapter you play and I found the music to never be too advanced. It gave the game a lot of ambiance which doesn't take away from your enjoyment. I would have liked something that would play faster and add tension when you are going faster and something mellow when I was taking the level slow.
    The story isn't nothing to really brag about which can be expected. It follows around basically where you start out as cup of spilled coffee and seeing how far it goes from there. At least, thats what I gathered from it.
    The game took me around 5 hours to get to the end. However, I did not rank half of my levels as I was getting frustrated. The game can be punishing if you get too and at points I just wanted to get past the level. You get 4 "Whines" which you can use to skip a level, I just didn't elect to use them. A benefit of going back would be to look at the leaderboards and see how you stack up against people who beat the game also to see if you were quick and also beat all the challenges.
    Full Review »