Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Jul 1, 2014
    91
    I particularly enjoyed the unique Mysterious Pushmo puzzles, but the overall package is really top notch work out of Intelligent Systems and Nintendo.
  2. 90
    For puzzle lovers, you can't do much better than Pushmo World.
  3. 90
    While it's a bummer that the quirks of Crashmo didn't make a return, no one really loses when Pushmo World is so wonderfully crafted, with awesome puzzles and excellent new twists.
  4. Jun 5, 2014
    90
    Pushmo’s Wii U debut maintains the franchise’s exceptional standard of fun, deep puzzles, but don’t be surprised if you find yourself occasionally missing the portability and 3D functionality of the first two games.
  5. Jun 5, 2014
    90
    I was new to the franchise when I began playing Pushmo World, but it didn't take long to convert me into a fan. I discovered a constant trickle of "A-ha!" moments that made me feel like I was never far from progress, even when things got tough. That's exactly how I want to feel playing a puzzle game.
  6. Jun 5, 2014
    90
    Even if this sort of short-burst action feels more at home on a portable system, there's no denying Pushmo World is one of the best games you can download for the Wii U — and we all know that console is in desperate need of your downloads.
  7. 87
    If I had to find something to complain about, it would be that it felt too short. I blew through all of the premade puzzles in little time, but this did give me more time to work on my own creations, as well as play the Pushmos of others.
  8. Though it re-treads some of the same ground as the original, Pullblox World is more of what we loved on 3DS: challenging yet simple and a joy to play.
  9. Jun 5, 2014
    85
    With hundreds of puzzles to keep you occupied for hours, Pushmo World is a wonderful experience, if only a bit familiar.
  10. Jun 5, 2014
    85
    Pushmo Worlds makes a solid if subtle landing on the WiiU platform, and offers a ton of fun in a small little package.
  11. Jul 2, 2014
    82
    Pullblox World confirms on Wii U the qualities that have made it one of the best puzzle game in recent years. It will probably not be the game that makes better use of the features of Nintendo's home console, but for this price it's totally ok.
  12. Aug 20, 2014
    80
    There's a whiff of trial and error at times, but no puzzle's Eureka moment comes by accident. [Sept 2014, p.114]
  13. Jul 19, 2014
    80
    Newcomers are in for a real treat. [Issue#150, p.124]
  14. Jul 18, 2014
    80
    Pullblox World is an ingenious puzzle game no matter the host platform, but the 3D effect makes the 3DS version the better. Nonetheless, Miiverse integration and the launch discount make even this WiiU outing appealing.
  15. Jul 15, 2014
    80
    With a gameplay that is as easy to learn as it is addictive and an immense variety of puzzles, made even bigger by the puzzle editor, Pullblox World has all the conditions to become a very welcome member of any Wii U family.
  16. Jun 28, 2014
    80
    In its third game, Pullblox remains as a special title and as a puzzles game it keeps untouched its particular design but also the peculiarity of its mechanics.
  17. Jun 28, 2014
    80
    Even on WiiU, Pullblox is an entertaining and fun experience.
  18. Like other great puzzles franchises – Tetris, Bejeweled, and Picross leap to mind – Pushmo doesn’t seem to be changing much between releases. Intelligent Systems has stumbled onto a winning design and they’re sticking with it.
  19. Jun 23, 2014
    80
    Pullblox World is a fresh and entertaining puzzle game, but it lacks the inventive 3D effect of the original game. Fortunately, the brand new editor and sharing options should fill the void.
  20. Jun 20, 2014
    80
    Even without the creation and sharing tools here, Intelligent Systems' little series continues to tickle the brain just right. Mallo may trick you into thinking a relaxing, smooth time awaits therein, but even when the game gets rough, Pushmo World is well worth visiting.
  21. Jun 19, 2014
    80
    For now, enjoy what is still one of the best and most undervalued puzzle games around.
  22. Jun 16, 2014
    80
    If you’re in the market for a little puzzler for your Wii U, Pullblox is for you. The amount of content straight out of the box, as well as the potential for thousands of player made levels, means you’ll get value for money. The simplicity of the concept also means that anyone can pick it up and play, although later levels may get a bit too much for younger children.
  23. Jun 5, 2014
    80
    Anyone who fancies a good puzzle will enjoy Pushmo World immensely.
  24. Jun 5, 2014
    80
    So long as you haven't tired from the core formula yet you won't be disappointed, and genre-fans who haven't played the series in general should pick it up.
  25. Jul 29, 2014
    78
    The problem is that for those same fans that have been shouting about Pullblox since day one, there's painfully little to get excited about. [Sept 2014, p.80]
  26. Jun 20, 2014
    78
    Overall, if you’ve never touched a Pushmo in your life and don’t have a 3DS, this is a good place to jump in. Unfortunately, by reverting to older mechanics, Nintendo offers little for longtime fans to get excited about.
  27. Jun 21, 2014
    76
    Picking up Pushmo World isn't the most exciting prospect up front. It takes far too long to really get going, and we wish there were additional challenges and incentives to retry old puzzles. That said, it really does get more interesting as you dig deeper in, and there are more than enough individual puzzles to keep you busy for quite some time.
  28. Jul 18, 2014
    75
    With great puzzles, a fun cast and story, and excellent puzzle building tools for aspiring designers, Pushmo World deserves a spot in your download cue.
  29. Jun 8, 2014
    75
    While the few new mechanics that Pushmo World introduces are never fully utilized and a number of its puzzles feel a bit too familiar, the streamlined ability to create and share custom puzzles promises a virtually never-ending stream of new content to conquer.
  30. Jun 5, 2014
    75
    Pushmo World is a fun puzzle game, even if its presentation will make you feel like a preschooler. Still, the easy-to-use level editor really helps make it an easier recommendation to anyone looking for an interesting little addition to their Wii U library.
  31. Jun 13, 2014
    74
    Pushmo World is a nice addition to the Wii U eShop content and should be played by any puzzle fan who hasn't yet experienced Pushmo and doesn't own a 3DS. However, if you're in either of the previous two categories, you would probably be better served to pick up the original Pushmo and/or Crashmo for an equally enjoyable experience at a discounted price with the freedom of portable gaming.
  32. Jun 16, 2014
    71
    Pushmo World is more of a great thing, and that’s hard to complain about. But as the Wii U increasingly looks like a poor child captured in some mysterious restraints, I fear shiny versions from the past won’t unlock these unfair shackles.
  33. Jun 25, 2014
    70
    Where Fallblox was a step forward, Pullblox World takes one to the side, once again tipping its hat to a simple but entertaining core mechanic.
  34. Jun 17, 2014
    70
    With Pullblox, Intelligent Systems definitely found a clever way to create puzzles with moving blocks, and it's a joy to share these angular riddles more easily through the Miiverse on Wii U, even if there are few new ideas.
  35. Jun 5, 2014
    70
    Pushmo World is an eShop gem that might wind up with the same fate as other missed jewels like The Cave or Kung-Fu Rabbit, but for those that spend the coin on it, it's a title that revels in its challenge without shame, and will not hesitate to push others away.
  36. Jun 5, 2014
    70
    Pushmo World isn't quite the revelation on Wii U that Pushmo was on the 3DS. But the logic of these colorful puzzles is still as satisfying as ever.
  37. Jun 20, 2014
    60
    An enjoyable and laid back puzzle game that's easy to grasp but tricky to master. It's a little on the plain side and lacking in variety, but the addition of new puzzle types combined with the promise of user-generated content, should pull players back for more.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    Seriously, Do NOT trust IGN, they didn't even complete the Park. I've played 30+ hrs of Pushmo World. It's really much better than the original 3DS one, if you kinda love the 3DS Pushmo, in my opinion $10 for Pushmo World is a steal, just grab it and enjoy.

    New mechanics, better level design, much better graphics and new music including Remix of origin Super Mario Bros. Melody. Whether or not IGN thinking it's just the original 3DS one, they just didn't play the game, i mean seriously.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 30, 2014
    8
    I downloaded Pushmo World from the E shop on my Wii U never having played the original on the 3DS and I have to say this is a gem. If you have a Wii U and like puzzle/ quirky japanese games. I come highly recommending Pushmo.

    I will tell you the truth. I was not expecting a lot from this game but it has took me from surprise. I have done about 10 levels so far and each one gets a little bit harder. The game looks to be pretty long as well and has a lot of replay value as once you have completed all of the levels which will be tough. There is a level editor which you can mess around with.

    Go buy Pushmo and support Nintendo's new ips and don't say Nintendo do not make anything new.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 29, 2014
    10
    Yet ANOTHER must-have masterpiece on Wii U. What can I say? The gameplay premise of Pushmo World is so natural it wouldn't feel out of place next to classics such as Tetris. In fact, the Pushmo gameplay premise very well might be the best puzzle concept I've ever seen in a video game, EVER. And this game is all the better on Wii U. With hundreds of puzzles to solve, user created content, sharing and Miiverse integration, Pushmo World solidifies itself as one of the best downloadable games on Wii U.

    Very rarely would I consider a downloadable game a reason to buy a console, but Pushmo World fits the bill. This is a true must-have, and should be regarded as an equal among recent greats such as Mario Kart 8, Shovel Knight and Wii Sports Club. Pushmo World is indeed the best and by far the most addictive puzzle game I've ever played. Buy this game!
    Full Review »