Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    90
    For those that already own this game on the 3DS, it's pretty tough whether or not to recommend the game to them. If they do want to play through a new challenge though, the Infernal difficulty offers a true hardcore experience. However, to those who don't own a 3DS, this is their chance to pick up the definitive version of the game.
  2. 90
    I’m not sure how much I can recommend this HD remake for people who already got their Revelations fill on the 3DS, but if you haven’t played it before, Wii U is the way to go.
  3. May 20, 2013
    88
    The Wii U version cleans up the HUD by putting menu and map information on the GamePad's screen. I like having constant access to a map without shuffling through menus.
  4. May 30, 2013
    85
    Revelations was great on the 3DS and it is still good on the Wii U.
  5. May 20, 2013
    85
    Moody, suspenseful and elegant, Revelations does away with the extraneous complexity of other recent Resident Evil games and gets back to the basics of survival horror.
  6. May 20, 2013
    85
    This is probably the most balanced experience between the old and the new Resident Evil in the last few years. Above all, it's full of content, so we've got a great game to spent some quality time with.
  7. Jun 17, 2013
    83
    Resident Evil: Revelations has a few flaws, but it really is the best game in the series since Resident Evil 4.
  8. May 20, 2013
    83
    The dead-zone issues on the Wii U version are unfortunate, but I find myself willing to trade that for the GamePad functionality alone. The MiiVerse features aren't exciting, but scrawling a Game Over message to taunt other players with isn't a bad addition either.
  9. May 20, 2013
    82
    A good HD conversion of one of the best games to date found in the Nintendo 3DS system. Highly recommended.
  10. May 24, 2013
    80
    I liked the 3DS-version and I thoroughly enjoyed the HD-reunion with Chris, Jill and their enemies – especially on Wii U, which benefits from some exclusive features.
  11. What had the potential to be the best Resi of recent years ends up being merely a solid port. The overall experience still plays best on 3DS.
  12. May 22, 2013
    80
    If you're a fan of the series who missed the 3DS game, this is must-play as it captures a lot of what's made RE so beloved over the years. If you have a 3DS available to you (an XL would be ideal), try to play it, even without a second Circle Pad. Something about having to stand still while you shoot still scares the crap out of me, and at least on 3DS there was an excuse to maintain that legacy of "bad" controls.
  13. May 21, 2013
    80
    For those that haven't experienced the 3DS game, or simply want to dive in again in HD on a big screen, Resident Evil Revelations on Wii U is a worthwhile investment.
  14. May 20, 2013
    80
    So much of what makes Resident Evil: Revelations work is how Capcom plays it safe with level designs and gameplay mechanics. That said, the new characters and the bio scanner help turn the game into something more than a well made by-the-numbers Resident Evil. While it's not an optimized HD port of the 3DS version (to be so would require enhanced textures across the board), it still looks great and controls even better.
  15. Jun 4, 2013
    70
    A solid port from the original 3DS game that works much better than expected.
  16. 70
    It’s the best game in the series after Resident Evil 4.
  17. May 30, 2013
    70
    If you played Resident Evil: Revelations on the 3DS these new features probably aren’t enough to make you want to pick it up again, and they shouldn’t be. This is a game meant for new players, especially those disillusioned with the series’ recent direction.
  18. May 20, 2013
    70
    It clearly wasn't designed for larger machines, and the somewhat clunky, rudimentary controls indicate that it would need to be rebuilt from the ground up to prove a superior alternative. However, it's still a fine game and still the best Resident Evil game available right now, and if you've not played it already, you truly ought to.
  19. Resident Evil: Revelations on living room consoles isn’t any better than it was on a Nintendo 3DS. It remains a reasonably fun retro-themed game that’s striving to be something more. But upgraded graphics and more robust controls aren’t moving it any close to that goal. Revelations is what it is, and that’s all it’ll ever be.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. May 22, 2013
    9
    A great port of a great game. A little rough around the edges (it's a mobile port after all) but looks great most of the time. The campaign in this game feels like a real RE campaign and this makes it the best entry in the RE series this generation imo. Sure, it doesn't have nearly as much content as RE6 but the fact that it is a real survival horror game makes it infinitely superior to that entry in the series. The $50 launch price makes this game well worth the purchase even if you have played the 3DS version already. Horror/RE fans should pick this up immediately. Full Review »
  2. Oct 30, 2013
    7
    I enjoyed this game for the most part. It is great to see the Wii U's system capabilities with controls, graphics, and extra features (gamepad). This would have won my No. 1 spot if it was local co-op. But the story line is great; cheesy charactors compared to Leon, Claire, Wesker, etc. Raid mode was good, only thing i had a problem with was if one player is stronger or has been playing a lot longer he ends up doing the whole mission and you end up just following. Raid mode could be, with the wrong partner, one sided. Other than that, i enjoyed the story mode and trying to get all the trophies.

    Instagram: Game_Row
    Full Review »
  3. May 30, 2013
    9
    This is what veteran resident evil fans have been waiting for....a return to true survival horror! after resident evil 5 and silent hill downpour(i love resident evil 6) i was sure that true survival horror games had died but capcom has answered the call(FINALLY) As a fan of R.E 0 up to code veronica this games will instantly hit home with fans of the series from the slow pacing story down to the few BUT tough enemy encounters...the queen zenobia is very reminiscent of R.E 1 mansion as you look for keys..maps and items to help you through each part of the ship. Just to some up all thats good in this DS port, if you love classic survival horror,then this game is directly aimed at you but if you prefer something more fast paced then you should skip this one but i assure you that your missing a classic. the wii u tablet works great but for all the people that says control takes getting used to..let me explain what that means..i have a ps3 and as such im used to it's controller so when i played R.E. R i wasn't used to the wii u tablet and it felt awkward but once i spent so time adjusting to the wii u tablet i was blasting away all enemies with prejudice with ease. This is my first wii u game and review and i assure gamers out there thats curious or doubtful about the wii u tablet..IT WORKS PERFECTLY. Now the bad: if you played the 3DS version there's no reason to pick this up unless you want to play it in HD, the dodge is kinda unpredictable but thats about the worst i can say about it so other than that do yourself a favor and pick this up today people. 9/10 Full Review »