Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 25, 2013
    91
    Even after completing Unmasked’s 12 levels, which took around 10 hours, I feel like I’ve only scratched the surface of the creative ways to unravel its enigmas - which makes me want to keep playing it even more.
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    70
    I enjoyed Scribblenauts Unmasked's encyclopedic exploration of DC's universe. I had a blast creating my own characters and fleshing out their powers. Many of the puzzle challenges are also quite clever in their design and solutions. I just wish the heroes and villains would put aside their differences. In most cases, when they come to blows, the experience turns into a bothersome mess.
  3. Oct 14, 2013
    80
    This is a really fun mash-up that leverages the DC Comics license quite well, and it's sure to make any comics fan happy. Your love for the game will likely hinge on whether you're a fan of the comic characters, but even without that license, this is another enjoyable Scribblenauts romp.
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    70
    So here we are then: yet another sequel with a case of the "could've beens." It's still amusing, but let's just be honest, the amount of interest in Scribblenauts is getting a bit smaller every time, no matter how much we might enjoy it.
  5. Oct 3, 2013
    65
    The encyclopedia of DC characters though is impressive, and clearly where they spent the bulk of their time in development. I almost could lose myself in that aspect, and never actually play the game itself. That speaks volumes about a $60 title. I just wish there was more focus on the unique boss battles and ideas that could have helped create a better experience.
  6. Oct 30, 2013
    67
    An idea that sounds better on paper, which isn't good for a comic book inspired game.
  7. Oct 5, 2013
    70
    Getting everyone or everything to behave how you want in a mission or a puzzle makes thing just extra aggravating.
  8. 55
    Following up on the success of Unlimited, Scribblenauts Unmasked is a huge disappointment. The use of the DC Comics license is novel, but it doesn’t add up to anything more than a curiosity in a game that already has enough curiosity to go around.
  9. Jan 15, 2014
    80
    It’s difficult to determine whether this game was made for superhero fans or to those who already enjoy the game series, but Scribblenauts Unmasked: A DC Comics Adventure finds a good balance that should appeal to both crowds.
  10. Oct 3, 2013
    74
    It is neat to experiment with language to summon your favorite heroes or see surprising effects on the world, and it's at its most fun with a friend brainstorming with you. Still with the awkward action and haphazardly placed puzzles, there's a lack of direction to unleash that potential, making it hard to stay interested for the long-run.
  11. 50
    Scribblenauts Unmasked feels less like a video game and more like a chore. That’s a phrase too often thrown around in video game reviews, but it’s about as apt as a comparison one could draw.
  12. Sep 30, 2013
    74
    As it stands, there's a bit much here that holds back a smooth, fun experience like you would get in previous Scribblenauts titles. It is both a blessing and a curse.
  13. Sep 27, 2013
    70
    As a game full of puzzles that just happen to star DC characters, Unmasked isn't as fun as last year's Unlimited, which I'd suggest over this release for those who want the best Scribblenauts experience.
  14. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    While certain elements will appeal to DC Comics fans, there simply isn’t enough substance here to make Scribblenauts Unmasked worth a purchase—the gimmick wears off way too quickly.
  15. 75
    While the subject matter didn’t totally resonate with me there is no denying the strength of the DC Comics brand.
  16. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    That freedom — and the majority of the puzzle design, which supports it — made Scribblenauts Unmasked a pleasure, even when it stumbled on the occasional cantankerous solution.
  17. Of course, the fun that players have with Scribblenauts Unmasked‘s activities will correspond directly to their creativity.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    it was ok i scribblenauts unlimited was better but still, this will probably will become a hit, that subject of super heroes is good but they should introduced marvel superheroes too. Full Review »
  2. Dec 7, 2013
    7
    Eh, it's Scribblenauts, that automatically makes it good! Unlimited it better, but this is also good! Enjoyable for DC lovers! Overall a good game, range of spawnable objects is amazing! Full Review »
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    6
    After enjoying Scribblenauts Unlimited, Unmasked was hugely disappointing. The game felt rushed, too short and not nearly as creative as Unlimited was. Full Review »