User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 180 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 180

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    Shovel Knight captures the charm from the old fashion games of the NES, the game combines the adventurous dungeon exploring style of Castlevania with the challenging platforming of Megaman, however unlike most of the indies games who also take influence from older Shovel Knight doesn't feel like a direct ripoff of this but it holds up it's own personality. The characters are likable, theShovel Knight captures the charm from the old fashion games of the NES, the game combines the adventurous dungeon exploring style of Castlevania with the challenging platforming of Megaman, however unlike most of the indies games who also take influence from older Shovel Knight doesn't feel like a direct ripoff of this but it holds up it's own personality. The characters are likable, the retro 16-bit art-style is outstanding, the music is catchy and the level design is fluid as it demands the player to gather skill as the he goes through the game.

    Definitively a must buy.
    Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    Shovel Knight is the type of game that comes once every 20 years or so. The last time I played a game which was able to invoke such awestruck wonder and emotion from me was back in the early '90s when I played Mega Man 3 for the first time. This game is what we would call a masterpiece. A masterpiece that will certainly be talked about decades from now, as titles such as Mega Man 1-3,Shovel Knight is the type of game that comes once every 20 years or so. The last time I played a game which was able to invoke such awestruck wonder and emotion from me was back in the early '90s when I played Mega Man 3 for the first time. This game is what we would call a masterpiece. A masterpiece that will certainly be talked about decades from now, as titles such as Mega Man 1-3, Super Mario World and Zelda A Link to the Past are talked about today. Not only does Shovel Knight exceed all expectations, it actually manages to go toe to toe with the Capcom and Nintendo classics of old. Had this game released back in the late '80s or early '90s, it would most likely be regarded as one of the greatest video games of the retro era. What more can I say? Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    Yacht Club did such an amazing job with this game. It gives the nostalgia off the NES (if you had one back then) and it does it by it's classic-style game play. If you like Mega-Man, Link's Adventure, and other 8-bit adventures, then this is for you.
  4. Jun 30, 2014
    9
    The oldschool platformer I didn't know I was waiting for. I try the odd indie title and I'm usually not too impressed, however, Shovel Knight is a fantastic game with a genuine oldschool feel. It takes the best elements of the NES games I played growing up and combines them seemlessly into a very enjoyable game. Everything from the graphics, the soundtrack, and the overall feel of theThe oldschool platformer I didn't know I was waiting for. I try the odd indie title and I'm usually not too impressed, however, Shovel Knight is a fantastic game with a genuine oldschool feel. It takes the best elements of the NES games I played growing up and combines them seemlessly into a very enjoyable game. Everything from the graphics, the soundtrack, and the overall feel of the game is authentic to the retro genre. Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    This game is everything great about the 8bit era of platformers. It borrows from all the best games while retaining a style and humor all its own, making it one of the best 8bit revival games out there. The soundtrack kicks ass, and the design is top notch. This game as it stands is amazing, but there is so much down the pipeline for it in the form of free updates it is easily a must buy.This game is everything great about the 8bit era of platformers. It borrows from all the best games while retaining a style and humor all its own, making it one of the best 8bit revival games out there. The soundtrack kicks ass, and the design is top notch. This game as it stands is amazing, but there is so much down the pipeline for it in the form of free updates it is easily a must buy.

    The Miiverse integration that is unique to the Wii U is just amazing. Dubbed the "diggers Diary" the can be brought up on the gamepad at anytime during play and it will sort miiverse posts to show only posts that were made in the exact same room or section of the level that you are currently in. Its like being on the couch with the whole fanbase giving you tips and encouragement! This is all packaged in a nice 8-bit format that fits right in with the games style.

    The WiiU version of the game in my opinion is going to be the definitive version of the game, pick it up with the community is still hot!
    Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    Wow, totally worth the money, As a old gamer, this game rock. Everything from the old scholl game is there. Music, graphics, playabilities. Take a look if your a gamer from era 90
  7. Sep 17, 2014
    10
    Absolutely loved it! The controls are tight, the music awesome and the overall game amazing. It's like a combination between Megaman, Ducktales, Castlevania, and Mario 3. And really, there's nothing that I don't like about it! 10/10
  8. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    YES YES YES just YES this is indie gamming prime. thanks to all the backers who made this possible, even tough it got delayed it now delivers a full, rich experience with 8+ hours on the first playtrough.
  9. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    Abstract:
    This game is good and you should buy it.
    Actual Review: I feel like there may be some criticism of this game on the basis that the second play through does not offer much. However, I am still going to give this game a 10 for the 5 to 8 hours that it does provide. I felt thoroughly immersed in Shovel Knight's quirky world and I really felt like I was on an adventure; this is
    Abstract:
    This game is good and you should buy it.

    Actual Review:
    I feel like there may be some criticism of this game on the basis that the second play through does not offer much. However, I am still going to give this game a 10 for the 5 to 8 hours that it does provide. I felt thoroughly immersed in Shovel Knight's quirky world and I really felt like I was on an adventure; this is a sensation I may have never before felt in a 2D platformer with the possible rose-tinted nostalgic exception of Super Mario World 2: Yoshi's Island.

    It is the little touches that does it: the themed level designs, the weird villagers, the goofy dialog before boss fights, certain playful enemy designs, and the little camping scenes after levels that give you a concept of the passing of time. It all serves to draw you into the world and gives the game a distinct tone and ethos.

    All that aside, the fundamental gameplay is rock-solid if perhaps a little on the easy side for a veteran. The new game plus ratchets up the difficulty a little bit, but I still could beat any section of a stage within 3 tries in general or 6 tries in the one or two most extreme cases (the boss rush and another section of the last few stages). I was still enjoying myself though, so I hesitate to even call this a drawback exactly.

    I just wish there were more game. I look forward to the Order of No Quarter play-throughs as Plague Knight, King Knight, and Specter Knight. I feel like that more or less addresses any problems I have with replay value. And frankly, I feel like the most negative reviews I have seen for this game, neglect considering the prospect of additional content when admonishing the game for lack of replay-ability (though I do recognize that it is their job to review the product at hand). Perhaps I am being overly optimistic, but it is hard not to be optimistic about those expansions having seen the quality of the content already present.

    So yeah: This game is awesome and I am excited for more shovel knight in the coming months.

    If you like 2D platformers then this game is a must buy in my book.
    Expand
  10. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    Definitely my favorite game of 2014 so far. The 8-bit inspired graphics look amazing, they wouldn't be able to run this game on an original NES for sure. The gameplay is outstanding, it combines the aspects of great games into one, but creating something completely original. It is also very hard, but in a good way. No deaths because of unfair controls or something, it just take your skillDefinitely my favorite game of 2014 so far. The 8-bit inspired graphics look amazing, they wouldn't be able to run this game on an original NES for sure. The gameplay is outstanding, it combines the aspects of great games into one, but creating something completely original. It is also very hard, but in a good way. No deaths because of unfair controls or something, it just take your skill in account. The story and characters are also amazing, and in my opinion in the Wii U version is the best one since the nintendo d-pad is perfect for platformers and the dual-screen mecanic works really well. If you like old-school games,you'll love this game. If you're don't like old-school games, you'll still enjoy this a lot. Shovel Knight will definely be a candidate for game of the year. Expand
  11. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    Este juego debe ser considerado el heredero de toda una generación de videojugadores. Como nunca este juego es el más grande homenaje a la NES. Definitivamente se puede considerar como una legítima secuela de juegos tan clásicos como duck tales, megaman, castlevania e incluso zelda y mario bros 3, así de grande es este juego independiente, gracias Yacht Club. No sé si sea tan encantadorEste juego debe ser considerado el heredero de toda una generación de videojugadores. Como nunca este juego es el más grande homenaje a la NES. Definitivamente se puede considerar como una legítima secuela de juegos tan clásicos como duck tales, megaman, castlevania e incluso zelda y mario bros 3, así de grande es este juego independiente, gracias Yacht Club. No sé si sea tan encantador para aquellos que no nacieron en la gen de 8bits. Expand
  12. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    An absolutely incredible tribute to what made retro games so great. It does so many things well on top of that and I still find it hard to describe what exactly makes it so great. A lot of the mechanics are derived from classic NES titles- magic items are a play on castlevania's item system(a few are direct copies) the level design is certainly megaman inspired, down to the league of robotAn absolutely incredible tribute to what made retro games so great. It does so many things well on top of that and I still find it hard to describe what exactly makes it so great. A lot of the mechanics are derived from classic NES titles- magic items are a play on castlevania's item system(a few are direct copies) the level design is certainly megaman inspired, down to the league of robot bosses-er knights... the shovel bounce is the same as the ducktales cane bounce... I could go on, but the point is that the game is a masterful blend of the best retro games have to offer. The art I could talk about for days alone. It certainly is 8-bit, but has a wider color palette and just massages your eyeballs. Sound design is also fantastic. There are a whopping 48(!) tracks to make your adventure more diverse. Jake Kaufman's work is masterful and certainly left his mark on this brilliant game. As a masterful chip artist, Kaufman's work on the track is 100% playable on the NES, an amazing feat, I must say. Even the composer of the original Meg a Man, Manami Matsumae made a track for the game, which is just another fantastic fan service. The game itself didn't take me too long to complete, around 6 hours is all it took. I won't say this detracts from the game at all though, it felt like a complete experience to me and I couldn't be happier with my purchase. If you have the opportunity to pick this game up, do yourself a favor and relive the past! Expand
  13. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    If you are a fan of retro games like Mega Man or Duck Hunt and have yet to play Shovel Knight, I strongly suggest you play it now. This game is easily my favorite game I played this year, and I consider it the perfect platformer. The controls are simple, and are fine-tuned to perfection. The soundtrack is amazing and songs fit the levels perfectly. The 8-bit graphics are stunning andIf you are a fan of retro games like Mega Man or Duck Hunt and have yet to play Shovel Knight, I strongly suggest you play it now. This game is easily my favorite game I played this year, and I consider it the perfect platformer. The controls are simple, and are fine-tuned to perfection. The soundtrack is amazing and songs fit the levels perfectly. The 8-bit graphics are stunning and colorful while the level design is very enjoyable.
    Shovel Knight is an amazing throwback to games of the past. All in all, I really can't say a bad thing about Shovel Knight. It's a great game in every way.
    Expand
  14. Mar 30, 2015
    10
    It's no surprise to anybody that indie games are big these days; they represent the perfect antidote to the modern corporate state (some may say DECAY) of the industry. Due to budget and manpower constraints it's common for indie games to emulate the aesthetics and gameplay of classics from the halcyon days of 8 & 16-bit machines, yet I can confidently say that no game in recent memoryIt's no surprise to anybody that indie games are big these days; they represent the perfect antidote to the modern corporate state (some may say DECAY) of the industry. Due to budget and manpower constraints it's common for indie games to emulate the aesthetics and gameplay of classics from the halcyon days of 8 & 16-bit machines, yet I can confidently say that no game in recent memory captures that nostalgic magic quite like Shovel Knight.
    Objectively the game accomplishes EVERYTHING it sets out to do, from old-school challenge and level design to charming characters and GREAT music. What distinguishes Shovel Knight amongst the likes of Volgarr the Viking and Super Time Force is how authentically it recalls games of yesteryear; despite subtle flourishes of modern flair, it's almost as if Shovel Knight's presence has been erased from the collective consciousness of gaming history only for him to reappear now as a stalwart saviour of classic design.
    Shovel Knight is branching out to more platforms this year, which can only be a good thing. It's only fitting that his console debut was made with Nintendo though, as his exploits suit both the Wii U and 3DS systems perfectly. Here is a new hero with old morals, and his game can proudly stand shoulder-to-shoulder with the career highlights of Mario, Link and co.
    Expand
  15. Sep 18, 2014
    9
    I was waiting for the UK release of this on the WiiU, but couldn't wait so bought it on Steam instead. It is amazing. By a long shot the best indie game I have played (including Minecraft). It is simultaneously a homage to the 8 bit era of gaming, while somehow managing to seem fresh and new. I think most of all I love it because this level of attention to detail is not really present inI was waiting for the UK release of this on the WiiU, but couldn't wait so bought it on Steam instead. It is amazing. By a long shot the best indie game I have played (including Minecraft). It is simultaneously a homage to the 8 bit era of gaming, while somehow managing to seem fresh and new. I think most of all I love it because this level of attention to detail is not really present in many modern games (outside of Japan anyway). It is difficult without being too frustrating, gives you enough freedom of character skills without sacrificing level consistency and the controls are elegant and responsive. For the price it is a fair length too. Highly recommended. Expand
  16. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    GREAT GAME. Seriously. If you are a retro gaming fan and have any liking of Megaman at all, you owe it to yourself to get this. Just do it. Trust me on this one.
  17. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    Retro games nowadays are a dime a dozen, but I have never played a single one that managed to capture the magic as well as Shovel Knight. Breathtaking pixel art and epic chiptune music are ever-present, but the title's greatest victory is how it mixes great game design decisions of the past with those of modern times, throwing out the window pretty much all the chaff.

    Truth be told,
    Retro games nowadays are a dime a dozen, but I have never played a single one that managed to capture the magic as well as Shovel Knight. Breathtaking pixel art and epic chiptune music are ever-present, but the title's greatest victory is how it mixes great game design decisions of the past with those of modern times, throwing out the window pretty much all the chaff.

    Truth be told, Shovel Knight is way more than what good old NES could handle graphically, with beautiful parallax backgrounds, dozens of different colors on display at any given time, and no slowdown or flickering to be heard of. This is one of its triumphs: it doesn't try to emulate the old feeling of playing a great NES game by bombarding us with that console's shortcomings, just for the sake of nostalgia. Instead, it is an absolute greatest hits collection of features, and it's so expertly crafted that it ends up feeling like its own game.

    The game is a 2D adventure platformer, and one of the good ones. It doesn't spend too much time teaching you the basics, instead allowing you to discover them as you go. There is an overworld map where you can access main stages, villages, wandering foes, and bonus levels. There is a lot of treasure to dig up, which in turn allows you to purchase upgrades to your life, magic, weapon, and armor. There are collectible music sheets representing each of the game's beautiful tracks, hidden in every corner of the map, which should be taken to a bard in the first village (who will reward you for them and play them back whenever you like). And of course, there is the story, which is simple and yet effective, with humorous segments and poignant ones. Simply put, everything is in its right place and there's lots to do and see, even if the sheer quality of what's on display makes you wish the game was a tad bit longer (it took me a little under nine hours to get everything).

    The main progression sees you battling through stages with the objective of besting the eight member knights of the Order of No Quarter, before getting to access the Tower of Fate, where the game's main villain lies in waiting. The level design here is, in one word, astounding. Each stage has its own theme, being always challenging, yet fair, and finding a neat middle ground between the ruthlessness of old sidescrollers and the forgivingness of recent ones. Lives are unlimited, but dying will set you back to the latest checkpoint, causing you to lose a chunk of your precious treasure in the process (which you can get back if you reach the same point without dying again).

    Aside from treasure and music sheets, each main stage also holds a new weapon. Those aren't simply rehashes of Mega Man or Castlevania items, instead being an eclectic and creative mix of useful special abilities. There are some hits and some duds, but all of them feel fresh.

    Simply put, Shovel Knight doesn't feel like a homage; it feels like an actual lost NES game that has the advantage of being in touch with modern game design. It does what it sets out to do in almost flawless fashion, and manages to overcome barriers imposed by different gaming eras. Whether you experienced old NES games or not, this is a game that simply should not be missed.

    Rating: 9.5
    Expand
  18. Nov 26, 2014
    9
    Awesome game in the vein of Mega Man and Castlevania, with catchy music and just plain fun gameplay. One of the best indies in the last year hands down.
  19. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    This is an incredible game that respects and recreates the fundamentals of gaming's roots. It draws its aspirations from Zelda 2, Megaman, Mario 3, and Ducktales, but has so many creative concepts to form its own identity.

    The environments and characters have so much detail and personality to them, it's suprising and fresh to see that level of detail in an NES 8-bit styled game. Mostly
    This is an incredible game that respects and recreates the fundamentals of gaming's roots. It draws its aspirations from Zelda 2, Megaman, Mario 3, and Ducktales, but has so many creative concepts to form its own identity.

    The environments and characters have so much detail and personality to them, it's suprising and fresh to see that level of detail in an NES 8-bit styled game. Mostly because it treats its genre (8-bit retro game) with the utmost respect and seriousness. There's no stupid gimmicks or references or winks to remind the player they're playing an 8-bit NES style game: the style is used to deliver a genuine oldschool experience with a straight face and the best of intentions.

    The music is amazing, catchy, and fits each theme very well. Jake Kaufman is a brilliant composer and his experience truly shines here, as it has when creating/remixing music for other games he's worked on (Contra 4, Ducktales Remastered, Shantae, etc).

    The challenge has the perfect gradual shift throughout the entire game. It starts off normal enough, then consistently increases in challenge until the very end. While you can improve Shovel Knight with new upgrades and abilities, as the player you will feel your own skill increase as you become familiar with how Shovel Knight handles ingame and learn to use him and his abilities much more efficiently. It's a magical learning curve that I haven't experienced since having played games from the golden age when I was a kid back in the 90's.

    Regardless of what console you purchase this on, it is a fantastic game in its own right, and provides an incredibly genuine experience and challenge that so many games are lacking nowadays. Perfect 10 out of 10.
    Expand
  20. Sep 9, 2014
    9
    very fun game, one of the best indie games of all time, this game remember the god times of metroid, ghost in globins, megaman and the epic games of my nintendo 8bits
    buy if you have wiiU
  21. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    Shovel Knight is not just homage to the 8-bit era to evoke feelings of nostalgia(although it certainly does that). It's an incredibly well crafted platformer on its own which borrows ideas from many other games of the era and mixes in some unique elements of its own making it a platformer that's just as outstanding now as it would of been on the NES.
  22. Apr 16, 2015
    10
    this is one of the best games retro inspired games I've played in a while, it really feels like it was a classic brought back from the 80's. Of course the things you could do in the game you could never do on the hardware limitations of the NES, but still. The game has great controls, a heart felt story told through well drawn pixel art cut scenes, and a huge over world with tons of levelsthis is one of the best games retro inspired games I've played in a while, it really feels like it was a classic brought back from the 80's. Of course the things you could do in the game you could never do on the hardware limitations of the NES, but still. The game has great controls, a heart felt story told through well drawn pixel art cut scenes, and a huge over world with tons of levels to explore and bosses to defeat. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  23. Sep 27, 2014
    10
    Look too many people have said what I want to say so I will say this.

    If you don't have a 3ds, WiiU or pc then you are missing out. Even if you don't know the nostalgic hits these reviewers are mentioning I can still guarantee you that you will love this game. Worth the price and the replay value is high. Story is great and soundtrack is 8 bit immersion at its best. I wont
    Look too many people have said what I want to say so I will say this.

    If you don't have a 3ds, WiiU or pc then you are missing out.

    Even if you don't know the nostalgic hits these reviewers are mentioning I can still guarantee you that you will love this game.

    Worth the price and the replay value is high.

    Story is great and soundtrack is 8 bit immersion at its best.

    I wont write long so I will say just give this game a try you wont be disappointed
    Expand
  24. Jul 10, 2014
    9
    Shovel Knight in my opinion was a absolute great game. I liked seeing the old 8-bit graphics and using actions in the game that reminded me of great classics like Megaman, Duck tales, super mario bros 3, and even kirby's dreamland. It was very fun and had a fair amount of content. I also liked the cheat codes when you start a new profile you can enter certain codes as your name to unlockShovel Knight in my opinion was a absolute great game. I liked seeing the old 8-bit graphics and using actions in the game that reminded me of great classics like Megaman, Duck tales, super mario bros 3, and even kirby's dreamland. It was very fun and had a fair amount of content. I also liked the cheat codes when you start a new profile you can enter certain codes as your name to unlock special ways of playing the game by the way there's 300! For $14.99 anyone who likes 8-bit classics,indie games, or someone who likes adventure games its a must have.
    cheat codes BBPOXDRR Fast Speed plus armor changes color whenever damaged
    TNFCGUGO Start with 99,999 gold, can pogo bounce off of ground, enemies do 4x damage
    Expand
  25. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    Solid, replay value is there, and it brings joy to me and my kids when we play it. We get in some tight spots when trying to do the feats, but frustration can be a very welcome part to a game. Where's the fun in finishing something straight away. Great game go buy it.
  26. Sep 4, 2014
    10
    9.2

    This game not only pays respect to its obvious influences it also does them better. It will put a smile on your face the whole time, even during the difficult sections. After beating it I was so bummed that it wasn't longer which leads to the issue of a game like this. Developers don't want it to be too long/overwhelming to the player, but once they have them hooked it is
    9.2

    This game not only pays respect to its obvious influences it also does them better. It will put a smile on your face the whole time, even during the difficult sections. After beating it I was so bummed that it wasn't longer which leads to the issue of a game like this. Developers don't want it to be too long/overwhelming to the player, but once they have them hooked it is disappointing when its over. Hopefully the next one will be longer, but this first iteration deserves all the hype behind it. Its a shame that people won't give it a chance because its not shiny with guns. But of course if your reading this then you are probably smarter than the average "gamer".
    Expand
  27. Nov 12, 2014
    9
    This game is amazing! If your a fan of megaman,ducktales or mario then you will love this game! Its very well rounded and offers great challenge! Highly recommended! My only complaint is that its a little too short.
  28. Dec 17, 2014
    10
    Absolutely perfect. I have never seen such an indie game that captures a rose-tinted view of the NES like this one. The music, god **** amazing. This game is a masterpiece of awesomeness.
  29. Apr 30, 2015
    10
    Shovel Knight
    A must Play For all
    Shovel Knight is a beautifully charming action platforming game. Shovel Knights art style screams nostalgia sale, but I was happy to find that this game isn’t just here to pull money out of your pockets with heart strings, Shovel Knight is it’s own game, an instant classic. Shovel knight consists of 12 main levels all with their own boss battles, each
    Shovel Knight
    A must Play For all
    Shovel Knight is a beautifully charming action platforming game.
    Shovel Knights art style screams nostalgia sale, but I was happy to find that this game isn’t just here to pull money out of your pockets with heart strings, Shovel Knight is it’s own game, an instant classic.
    Shovel knight consists of 12 main levels all with their own boss battles, each level and stage getting progressively more challenging.
    The pacing is really some of the best ive ever seen in gaming.
    Every level has checkpoints, this may annoy the hardcore gamers at first, but you really come to appreciate them, platforming can get really trick for those of us that are impatient.
    These type of gamers are who the checkpoints are for, they are essentially training wheels.
    Shovel Knight is really more than just a flat forming game, it truly is an experience, and im happy these checkpoints exist so all can experience and guess what… checkpoints are COMPLETELY optional.
    Don’t like them?
    Break them, they drop cash so now you have nothing to complain about.
    I wouldn’t recommend doing such a thing your first time through as again, shovel knight gets increasingly challenging.
    Enemies will start throwing projectiles, youll have to dodge lava and spikes and look out for enemies while you seek out secrets.
    There are tons of secrets to be found in shovel knight that I wont spoil, but they add such a great deal of wonder to the game, you never know what youre going to find in a room you just uncovered from an exploding rat.
    It could be a music page for you to sell in the villiage, or a new relic waiting for you to grab to help you out through the rest of the game.
    I wasn’t expecting relics, but im so happy they exist, these relics all cost magic to use so cant really be spammed, but they are all varied and make you look at levels for better, more efficient ways to traverse them.
    You can also save your gold for armour and shovel upgrades, maybe increased magic or meal tickets to increase your health, the choice is yours, but unless youre completely confident in your skills walking into an unknown area you better make that choice before going back out, because every time you die you drop 3 pouches of gold much like in the souls series.
    If you want that gold back youre going to have to go grab it, if you die on your way back then its gone forever..
    The risk reward makes traversing these gorgeous levels even more enjoyable.
    Not only did this development team due a great job with level design and enemies, but also with bosses.
    Each boss has its own attack style, so no 2 relics will be equally handy in these encounters, gratefully though, they all die the same way, hit them an x amount of times.
    Games can get in the habit of making bosses a little too unique, what shovel knight does so great is make the encounters similar enough to give you a sense of pride and feeling like you used skill to defeat a new enemy rather than you just got completely lucky.
    It isn’t common to die during your first encounter with a new boss and that is so refreshing.
    I wont get into story all too much, but I will say that it is there, there is reason to the madness and it, at least to me is beautiful.
    After you’ve completed the game and have picked every level apart for its secrets and treasures, you have the option to start a new game +.
    New game plus lets you start from the beginning with everything you collected in your previous play through, but this time levels are a little tougher as youll notice some checkpoints are missing, enemies do double damage, and there are no health pick ups.
    There are tons of challenging feats to accomplish in shovel knight.
    Totally worth the playthrough just to experience, a highly recommended game title to both casual and hardcore gamers alike.
    I truly believe that everyone can find something to love about shovel knight.
    For what it is
    Action platformer 10/10
    and as an overall game my first ever 10/10
    Expand
  30. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    This game is a platforming masterpiece of this generation. It perfectly throws back to our fond nostalgia for classic games such as megaman, duck tales, and the like, but then adds in its own flavor and sets itself apart from riding on nostalgia alone. It has a colorful interesting world, and each level and area has its own personality. It is challenging, but rewarding. Its controls areThis game is a platforming masterpiece of this generation. It perfectly throws back to our fond nostalgia for classic games such as megaman, duck tales, and the like, but then adds in its own flavor and sets itself apart from riding on nostalgia alone. It has a colorful interesting world, and each level and area has its own personality. It is challenging, but rewarding. Its controls are near perfection, and I won't be forgetting about this amazing game anytime soon. Expand
  31. Nov 28, 2014
    9
    It's nostalgic, sure. The cheat codes make me feel like I'm going back to the NES days. I love that. However, the game is very slow, and I didn't feel challenged. If that's your thing, then you'll love it. I don't.
  32. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Are you waiting for a new mega man game? Well, you should probably stop waiting because it is most likely not happening. Instead, play Shovel Knight! Do you want tight controls? Challenging gameplay that's fair? Lot's of content? New game +? Shovel Knight has all of that! It also has achievments, upgrades, and so much more! Plus, Shovel Knight also takes elements from Ducktales, Castlevania, and Mario 3! All that for just 14.99$! So what are you waiting for? A new mega man game? No! Your waiting for a paycheque so you can buy an eshop card so you can get Shovel Knight! Available now! Expand
  33. Dec 29, 2014
    10
    Shovel Knight just says SHUT UP to the people that asociates that INDIE and RETRO with bad games. If you are one of the "Gamers" that judges the book by his cover, eat your pride and give it a chance, you're not going to regret it.
  34. Feb 26, 2015
    10
    I would gladly say that this is a NES gamer's dream! Starting off with the story, it's simple but really touching if you think about it. The controls are very smooth and I would basically blame myself for my numerous deaths. Speaking of those deaths, this game is pretty hard but very fair. With the NES look and style, it just looks beautiful. My favorite parts of this game are the bosses.I would gladly say that this is a NES gamer's dream! Starting off with the story, it's simple but really touching if you think about it. The controls are very smooth and I would basically blame myself for my numerous deaths. Speaking of those deaths, this game is pretty hard but very fair. With the NES look and style, it just looks beautiful. My favorite parts of this game are the bosses. They are challenging and always fun to play against. If you loved the NES gems like Megaman, Castlevainia, and Zelda II, this game is perfect for you. And do you know what's crazy? This was the company's first game!! Expand
  35. Feb 28, 2015
    10
    At first I was skeptic, it seemed like a really over hyped game. But then I decided I should have a gander at it, so I did. And god it's amazing, it's easily on my top 10 list! The graphics aren't a huge problem it reminds me of the NES (which I think it wants to) The graphics are awkward at first but You can get the hang of it really quickly.And god the music is beautiful.And I'm reallyAt first I was skeptic, it seemed like a really over hyped game. But then I decided I should have a gander at it, so I did. And god it's amazing, it's easily on my top 10 list! The graphics aren't a huge problem it reminds me of the NES (which I think it wants to) The graphics are awkward at first but You can get the hang of it really quickly.And god the music is beautiful.And I'm really digging the shovel. I rate it 10/10. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Dec 15, 2014
    90
    This is one of the best games of 2014.
  2. Dec 9, 2014
    100
    One of those games that just blows your mind at how good it actually is.
  3. Dec 8, 2014
    90
    Bringing back all that made older classics into unforgettable games and pushing aside all their technology constraints using modern methods of game design, Shovel Knight is the perfect flagship of a piece of retrgaming made in the 21st century.