Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 176 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shovel Knight is a sweeping classic action adventure game with memorable characters and an 8-bit retro aesthetic created by Yacht Club Games. You play as the eponymous Shovel Knight, a small knight with a huge quest. Shovel Knight has come to this valley with two goals: to defeat the evilShovel Knight is a sweeping classic action adventure game with memorable characters and an 8-bit retro aesthetic created by Yacht Club Games. You play as the eponymous Shovel Knight, a small knight with a huge quest. Shovel Knight has come to this valley with two goals: to defeat the evil Enchantress and save his lost beloved. He wields a ShovelBlade; a multipurpose weapon whose techniques have now been lost to the ages. Always honest and helpful, Shovel Knight is a shining example of the code of Shovelry: Slash Mercilessly and Dig Tirelessly. However, between Shovel Knight and his beloved stands a cadre of villainous knights. These terrible foes, known as The Order of No Quarter, have been dispatched to prevent Shovel Knight from reaching the Enchantress at any cost. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Dec 9, 2014
    100
    One of those games that just blows your mind at how good it actually is.
  2. 100
    But more than anything else, Shovel Knight oozes personality and charm more than any game I’ve played in recent memory.
  3. Jun 26, 2014
    93
    Old school gamers will love Shovel Knight’s retro sensibilities, but they’ll also appreciate its modern touches.
  4. Jun 26, 2014
    90
    Shovel Knight isn't just inspired by 8-bit classics, it is inspired in and of itself.
  5. Nov 10, 2014
    85
    Shovel Knight is a well-made action platformer. Old school gamers will love it.
  6. Nov 20, 2014
    80
    Shovel Knight is a heartfelt homage to the NES days, with tight gameplay, simple but effective 8bit-ish graphics and a killer soundtrack. It could use a couple of levels more and additional game modes.
  7. Jun 26, 2014
    70
    Shovel Knight is a memorable re-imagining of what I grew up with, but doesn't have the longevity or inventiveness to be great in its own right.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    GREAT GAME. Seriously. If you are a retro gaming fan and have any liking of Megaman at all, you owe it to yourself to get this. Just do it.GREAT GAME. Seriously. If you are a retro gaming fan and have any liking of Megaman at all, you owe it to yourself to get this. Just do it. Trust me on this one. Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    YES YES YES just YES this is indie gamming prime. thanks to all the backers who made this possible, even tough it got delayed it now deliversYES YES YES just YES this is indie gamming prime. thanks to all the backers who made this possible, even tough it got delayed it now delivers a full, rich experience with 8+ hours on the first playtrough. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    This game is a platforming masterpiece of this generation. It perfectly throws back to our fond nostalgia for classic games such as megaman,This game is a platforming masterpiece of this generation. It perfectly throws back to our fond nostalgia for classic games such as megaman, duck tales, and the like, but then adds in its own flavor and sets itself apart from riding on nostalgia alone. It has a colorful interesting world, and each level and area has its own personality. It is challenging, but rewarding. Its controls are near perfection, and I won't be forgetting about this amazing game anytime soon. Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    Wow, totally worth the money, As a old gamer, this game rock. Everything from the old scholl game is there. Music, graphics, playabilities.Wow, totally worth the money, As a old gamer, this game rock. Everything from the old scholl game is there. Music, graphics, playabilities. Take a look if your a gamer from era 90 Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    Abstract:
    This game is good and you should buy it.
    Actual Review: I feel like there may be some criticism of this game on the basis that
    Abstract:
    This game is good and you should buy it.

    Actual Review:
    I feel like there may be some criticism of this game on the basis that the second play through does not offer much. However, I am still going to give this game a 10 for the 5 to 8 hours that it does provide. I felt thoroughly immersed in Shovel Knight's quirky world and I really felt like I was on an adventure; this is a sensation I may have never before felt in a 2D platformer with the possible rose-tinted nostalgic exception of Super Mario World 2: Yoshi's Island.

    It is the little touches that does it: the themed level designs, the weird villagers, the goofy dialog before boss fights, certain playful enemy designs, and the little camping scenes after levels that give you a concept of the passing of time. It all serves to draw you into the world and gives the game a distinct tone and ethos.

    All that aside, the fundamental gameplay is rock-solid if perhaps a little on the easy side for a veteran. The new game plus ratchets up the difficulty a little bit, but I still could beat any section of a stage within 3 tries in general or 6 tries in the one or two most extreme cases (the boss rush and another section of the last few stages). I was still enjoying myself though, so I hesitate to even call this a drawback exactly.

    I just wish there were more game. I look forward to the Order of No Quarter play-throughs as Plague Knight, King Knight, and Specter Knight. I feel like that more or less addresses any problems I have with replay value. And frankly, I feel like the most negative reviews I have seen for this game, neglect considering the prospect of additional content when admonishing the game for lack of replay-ability (though I do recognize that it is their job to review the product at hand). Perhaps I am being overly optimistic, but it is hard not to be optimistic about those expansions having seen the quality of the content already present.

    So yeah: This game is awesome and I am excited for more shovel knight in the coming months.

    If you like 2D platformers then this game is a must buy in my book.
    Collapse
  6. Nov 28, 2014
    9
    It's nostalgic, sure. The cheat codes make me feel like I'm going back to the NES days. I love that. However, the game is very slow, and IIt's nostalgic, sure. The cheat codes make me feel like I'm going back to the NES days. I love that. However, the game is very slow, and I didn't feel challenged. If that's your thing, then you'll love it. I don't. Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2014
    0
    While there is some value I'm certain many of those reading this can find I cannot this is due to a) me being a new gamer and not having anWhile there is some value I'm certain many of those reading this can find I cannot this is due to a) me being a new gamer and not having an idea of what this is based off if making it seem like either a total rip off to something heavily inspired I can't connect to b) graphics like these tend to make me nauseous this is something of an issue I have and can take me out of the game a lot c) this was overhyped and for reasons I've mentioned above did not deliver c) the difficulty is inconsistent making a lot of the already rather awkward controls and level design feel more well awkward I would go on but this short game isn't really worth my time and please note my actual score would be a 3 now please note I have played the 3ds and PC versions of the game (all PC but only tried 3ds) the reason I'm putting this on the wii u is because this game is extremely overhyped and needs to be taken back by quite a bit Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Trailers