Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shovel Knight is a sweeping classic action adventure game with memorable characters and an 8-bit retro aesthetic created by Yacht Club Games. You play as the eponymous Shovel Knight, a small knight with a huge quest. Shovel Knight has come to this valley with two goals: to defeat the evilShovel Knight is a sweeping classic action adventure game with memorable characters and an 8-bit retro aesthetic created by Yacht Club Games. You play as the eponymous Shovel Knight, a small knight with a huge quest. Shovel Knight has come to this valley with two goals: to defeat the evil Enchantress and save his lost beloved. He wields a ShovelBlade; a multipurpose weapon whose techniques have now been lost to the ages. Always honest and helpful, Shovel Knight is a shining example of the code of Shovelry: Slash Mercilessly and Dig Tirelessly. However, between Shovel Knight and his beloved stands a cadre of villainous knights. These terrible foes, known as The Order of No Quarter, have been dispatched to prevent Shovel Knight from reaching the Enchantress at any cost. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Dec 9, 2014
    100
    One of those games that just blows your mind at how good it actually is.
  2. 100
    But more than anything else, Shovel Knight oozes personality and charm more than any game I’ve played in recent memory.
  3. Jun 26, 2014
    93
    Old school gamers will love Shovel Knight’s retro sensibilities, but they’ll also appreciate its modern touches.
  4. Jun 26, 2014
    90
    Shovel Knight isn't just inspired by 8-bit classics, it is inspired in and of itself.
  5. Nov 10, 2014
    85
    Shovel Knight is a well-made action platformer. Old school gamers will love it.
  6. Nov 20, 2014
    80
    Shovel Knight is a heartfelt homage to the NES days, with tight gameplay, simple but effective 8bit-ish graphics and a killer soundtrack. It could use a couple of levels more and additional game modes.
  7. Jun 26, 2014
    70
    Shovel Knight is a memorable re-imagining of what I grew up with, but doesn't have the longevity or inventiveness to be great in its own right.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    GREAT GAME. Seriously. If you are a retro gaming fan and have any liking of Megaman at all, you owe it to yourself to get this. Just do it.GREAT GAME. Seriously. If you are a retro gaming fan and have any liking of Megaman at all, you owe it to yourself to get this. Just do it. Trust me on this one. Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    YES YES YES just YES this is indie gamming prime. thanks to all the backers who made this possible, even tough it got delayed it now deliversYES YES YES just YES this is indie gamming prime. thanks to all the backers who made this possible, even tough it got delayed it now delivers a full, rich experience with 8+ hours on the first playtrough. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    This game is a platforming masterpiece of this generation. It perfectly throws back to our fond nostalgia for classic games such as megaman,This game is a platforming masterpiece of this generation. It perfectly throws back to our fond nostalgia for classic games such as megaman, duck tales, and the like, but then adds in its own flavor and sets itself apart from riding on nostalgia alone. It has a colorful interesting world, and each level and area has its own personality. It is challenging, but rewarding. Its controls are near perfection, and I won't be forgetting about this amazing game anytime soon. Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    This game is everything great about the 8bit era of platformers. It borrows from all the best games while retaining a style and humor all itsThis game is everything great about the 8bit era of platformers. It borrows from all the best games while retaining a style and humor all its own, making it one of the best 8bit revival games out there. The soundtrack kicks ass, and the design is top notch. This game as it stands is amazing, but there is so much down the pipeline for it in the form of free updates it is easily a must buy.

    The Miiverse integration that is unique to the Wii U is just amazing. Dubbed the "diggers Diary" the can be brought up on the gamepad at anytime during play and it will sort miiverse posts to show only posts that were made in the exact same room or section of the level that you are currently in. Its like being on the couch with the whole fanbase giving you tips and encouragement! This is all packaged in a nice 8-bit format that fits right in with the games style.

    The WiiU version of the game in my opinion is going to be the definitive version of the game, pick it up with the community is still hot!
    Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2014
    10
    Absolutely loved it! The controls are tight, the music awesome and the overall game amazing. It's like a combination between Megaman,Absolutely loved it! The controls are tight, the music awesome and the overall game amazing. It's like a combination between Megaman, Ducktales, Castlevania, and Mario 3. And really, there's nothing that I don't like about it! 10/10 Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2014
    9
    It's nostalgic, sure. The cheat codes make me feel like I'm going back to the NES days. I love that. However, the game is very slow, and IIt's nostalgic, sure. The cheat codes make me feel like I'm going back to the NES days. I love that. However, the game is very slow, and I didn't feel challenged. If that's your thing, then you'll love it. I don't. Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2014
    0
    While there is some value I'm certain many of those reading this can find I cannot this is due to a) me being a new gamer and not having anWhile there is some value I'm certain many of those reading this can find I cannot this is due to a) me being a new gamer and not having an idea of what this is based off if making it seem like either a total rip off to something heavily inspired I can't connect to b) graphics like these tend to make me nauseous this is something of an issue I have and can take me out of the game a lot c) this was overhyped and for reasons I've mentioned above did not deliver c) the difficulty is inconsistent making a lot of the already rather awkward controls and level design feel more well awkward I would go on but this short game isn't really worth my time and please note my actual score would be a 3 now please note I have played the 3ds and PC versions of the game (all PC but only tried 3ds) the reason I'm putting this on the wii u is because this game is extremely overhyped and needs to be taken back by quite a bit Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Trailers