• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Oct 29, 2013
  • Also On: 3DS
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 286 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 286

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    This is a great game! I have been playing for a week now and it is amazing.Of course it's not perfect but besides the boss fights this is a game that is worth your time and money if you are a sonic or platformer fan
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Don't care about these reviews, this game is great. SEGA has changed that annoying "boost to win" gameplay to a new kind of gameplay that tries to bring Sonic for a more balanced platformer style, but it's still possible to make speed runs if you want to. The plot is simple and fun, and thanks God doesn't have nothing "ultra-realistic". The controls have some minor issues and most of people that complains about it, does it because the game doesn't have any tutorial and makes you learn in your own. But when you get used to it, you're gonna like it.
    The art and graphics are awesome and full of Sonic Style, reminding us the great times from the 90's.
    I recommend for everyone and hope that SEGA follow this path for the future Sonic games
    Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    A fantastic game and one I can recommend to anyone. The controls are tight, the level design is fantastic, varied visually and structurally, and often there are many paths through zones. Some stages have different play styles to others, such as grinding or floating, but all come together nicely. The Wisps take some getting used to with the controls being somewhat of a learning curve, but not one you will feel punished for avoiding as some Wisps use the buttons on the Gamepad too.

    The soundtrack is top notch and is ever catchy to continue the series trend and the visuals run at a smooth 60FPS, which launch titles for the other two consoles wish they could manage let alone maintain.

    Overall, buy this game, it's fantastic.
    Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    A fantastic game. For longtime sonic fans, they know how rough its been for the guy for quite some time and how he had his comeback with sonic colors (sonic 4 was very underwhelming). with the third game after the fact sonic team really turned sonic mechanic on its head and it shows some creative work here. the game plays very differently then the usual. They obviously drew some inspiration from sonic extreme so this comparison to the galaxy series is quite stupid with that logic, Mario galaxy stole from extream. In short great game! very unique and i highly appreciate that,this only goes for the wiiu version as i have yet to play the 3ds ver. Its a buy forget the critiques. Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    Those who haven't played a Sonic game since the Genesis or Dreamcast might find this game a bit challenging at first. All Sonic games are supposed to be. It doesn't hold your hand like most modern platformers, but it makes it that much rewarding when you actually do figure it out. There is so much fun to be had in this game. It's the best platformer so far this year, even better than Rayman Legends (which I loved). Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    Never before in 15+ years I have been playing video games have I seen such a great game with such inaccurate reviews. Some professional reviews seem to have only played the first level. Other reviewers who posted videos I've seen clearly did not take the time to learn how to play the game (there is a learning curve), and have it a poor review simply because they found the first few hours to be harder than they anticipated. These reviews are what compelled me to write my first Metacritic review for any piece of entertainment. Before I begin, allow me to say I've played and completed a lot of both 2D and 3D Sonics (games include the original, Sonic and Knuckles, Sonic CD, Sonic Advance, Sonic 4 ep. 1 and 2, Sonic Adventure 1 and 2, Sonic and the Secret Rings, Sonic Colors, and Sonic Generations).

    Sonic: Lost World is a complete victory for the franchise and continues the upward swing in quality that has been happening since Sonic Colors. New gameplay elements like Sonic's new parkour abilities add a level of creativity to how you choose to progress though the well-designed, multi-path environments. If you love playing acrobatically, you may choose to wall run and jump through the same area that a speed runner would use Sonic's spin dash to get through. Other players may choose to destroy all Eggman mechs in an area using Sonic's homing, kick, and bounce attacks, and others still may use found power-ups (Wisps from Sonic Colors, for those who are familiar) to unlock all new paths altogether. I've personally played through some levels 6 to 7 times and have found that most levels have allowed me to play differently on each run through. To reiterate what I said earlier, there is a learning curve, but after about an hour I was playing with Lost World with fluidity.

    Sonic's new abilities and the level design have offered a gameplay experience unlike any I've had before. You may be able to draw comparisons in visual design to Super Mario Galaxy, which also used the idea of planetoids in level design, but the similarities stop there. The gameplay is as fresh as it can be, both for the franchise and platformers in general. It's no secret that Sonic has had trouble finding his footing in the 3D era, with the Adventure games offering fun but flawed experiences and Sonic 2006 becoming the poster child for a AAA game disaster. Sonic Colors and Generations seemed to perfect the 3D gameplay that the Adventure games wish they had, but Sonic: Lost World is the first real successful innovation in Sonic 3D gameplay in over a decade.

    The game has a beautiful visual style that pays homage to Sonic games of old while taking full advantage of what the Wii U can deliver. I'd recommend looking at a screenshot or two for a better understanding of what I mean. The framerate stays consistently high even with high amounts of enemies and projectiles onscreen. The game's sound and music are phenomenal, something that has been generally true over Sonic's lifespan. The characters, so far (keep in mind I've only beaten half of the game), are very cartoon-like and never dull, with their in-game dialogue and design making me laugh on more than one occasion. Given the light and humorous of the game, the tone fits well with what I believe the overall tone of the Sonic franchise should be (ahem, Shadow the Hedgehog).

    Sonic: Lost World has made a case for best Sonic title in a decade as well as best Wii U title currently available. I fully recommend the game to anyone interested.
    Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    This game is probably good, I haven't played it but my mum said that I should give it a 10 because if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say it at all
  8. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Great game with tight controls. When you die it feels like it's your fault and not the games. Great sonic title and greatly under-rated. The story goes back to its roots with a simple and cheesy story. Sonics voice actor is great and the villains are very cool. The over-all story is a bit childish but is not that bad. The game is very fast but you can slow down for better control. The wall running is a little weird but once you get used to it, its very cool and useful. The game does not hold your hand with tutorials and expects you to learn the game through gameplay, which I love. Collapse
  9. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    I just don't understand the negative reviews this game has been receiving. I'm going to go ahead and say its the best Sonic game since Adventure 2 on the Dreamcast. The controls are spot on, and holding the Z button to instantly run is perfect. To me, this game more closely resembles the 16 Bit Sonic games than any of the other 3D attempts. People forget but Sonic games on the Genesis had plenty of sections where You had to slow down and be very precise to make it through the levels. Playing this game just makes me think Sonic games are going to get bashed no matter what. In the past reviewers complained that Sonic had too many scripted 'go fast' events, now they complain that its too slow and methodical. Personally I feel that this game has a refreshing mixture of both. Maybe its just me, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this game to Sonic fans or anyone looking for a quality platformer. Expand
  10. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Sonic Lost World is the greatest Sonic game I have ever played. The Controls are really great, the graphics are really beautiful, and level design is good. The bosses may be a disappointment but its still the greatest Sonic I've ever played. If reviewers are hating this they just don't know how they play it cause they're ignorant. this the Best Sonic game I've ever played, and one of the best Wii U Games I've Played so far. 10/10 Expand
  11. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    I think this is a game that shows that SEGA is always going forward with Sonic series, the new mechanics are very good and i really want to see the next step. Very fun and interesting. Graphics are great, sound is awesome as always in Sonic games and Super Sonic is a good reason to replay the game. Totally recommended!
  12. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    SCRUB YOU FANBOYS
    sonic lost world has speed
    it just you must find it
    the controls are awesome if you know how to play
    if you played generations or colors you will know what i mean
    its a good game. its not a mario galaxy!!!
    stop with the critics!!!!
  13. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    While it's not the best sonic game, it's the best 3D sonic game out there, It's a must have for a Wii U owner.
    The controls are not bad, but they need some time to get used to.
  14. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    This is how sonic is supposed to be, this game is great. Sonic is treated so unfairly I feel. You can't make him go super fast and be able to control him in 3D it just doesn't work. The logic of him going that fast doesn't work. So if the devs try to help us control him it isn't interactive enough. If they slow him down so he is able to be controlled he is too slow. I think this game is great and 9/10 easy. The story is cheesy and full of lame one liners but I find it charming. Is doesn't need to be some masterpiece of a story. That's not what sonic was supposed to be. This game is pick up and have a good time.

    This game is in the colorful fun and imaginative world sonic belongs in. Instead of the modern day world.

    He is fast, you can hold a button to run faster and even spin dash.

    There is some small bits that are stupid yeah, but that doesn't make the game bad at all. Its just the difficulties of a fast paced 3D game.

    This game likes to switch from 3D to 2D and it's a lot of fun. Honestly the tunnel like gameplay is pretty great and is exactly how the games should have turned 3D to begin with. They let you dodge run and go fast, but I especially like the 3D Sidescrolling sections those are a lot of fun.

    Also this game is pretty challenging at times and I usually feel like it's MY fault not the games.

    Sonic is a bit of a jerk though, I feel like Eggman was nicer in this game than Sonic was.
    Expand
  15. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    This is just hilarious. This is the best video game I have ever played. Than I see people who get paid to write reviews and don't know what they are talking about. Sonic Lost World to me is game of the year next to donkey kong tropical freeze.
  16. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Hands down the best Sonic game there's ever been made. Everything, including graphics, music, bosses, controls and general gameplay are top notch. Also one of the best Wii U games there are out there.
  17. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Do not listen to the reviewers. This game is amazing! I had a blast with this game since the day I got it until the game I beat it and I'm still playing it. Sonic Lost World lets you speed into amazing stages that let you run on or up walls and lets you use unique color powers. The story is really well done, at least better than Sonic Generations story. Sonic Lost World has an awesome 2 player vs. mode that is really fun and competitive when you have friend come over. This game is a big reason to own a Wii U, because your not gonna get this game on any other console that runs at 60 fps and is 1080p. The gameplay is fluid, the controls are tight, and the graphics are beautiful. The game gets some getting used to Sonic's new play style, but after a few levels or more you will start be coming a pro at it. I hope you can enjoy this game as much as I did. Expand
  18. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    I think this game is worthy of an 8, but gave it a 10 in my score because I think the current user aggregate of 7.5 is too low for the game.

    As a lifetime fan of Sonic, I've seen him at his best and worst. Sonic Lost World is definitely one of Sonic's better 3-D offerings. The plot and storytelling are enjoyable. The game is stupendous from a visual and audio standpoint. The soundtrack
    is wholly fantastic, ranging from super rad to breathtakingly beautiful. The gameplay in SLW feels more faithful to Sonic's Genesis classics, both in concept and execution, than any 3-D Sonic offering to date. Rather than being the ridiculously fast "boost to win" Sonic of recent years, Lost World focuses on acceleration and maintaining momentum through skillful platforming, just like the old days. The level design compliments the control mechanics really well, with a subtle brilliance even. The game isn't perfect. The Wii-U exclusive features like wisps feel totally shoehorned in an unnecessary. As Sonic Team is often wont to do, the focus on creativity over refinement can really be frustrating at times. Difficulty spikes toward the end are infuriating. Some ideas just don't work and can take away the grin the good 80% of the game gives you. Boss battles are terrible in this game. Overall though, I think Sonic Lost World deserves a much better reception than what it has received from the press. It's easily as good as Sonic Colors and should not be missed if you're a Sonic fan. Expand
  19. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Don't care about these reviews, this game is great. SEGA has changed that annoying "boost to win" gameplay to a new kind of gameplay that tries to bring Sonic for a more balanced platformer style, but it's still possible to make speed runs if you want to. The plot is simple and fun, and thanks God doesn't have nothing "ultra-realistic"
  20. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Fun game, simple level design. More of an 8/10 but choosing 10 because this site has too many trolls that give it a 0. Not even sonic 06 is a 0 and this game is by far and away one of the best sonic titles in years, far better than sonic 06
  21. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This is a return to classic Sonic the Hedgehog. This is the 3.D. experience that is required in order for Sonic to feel as he did back in the days of Genesis/Mega Drive. Brilliant soundtrack and voice acting make Sonic Lost World feel how Sonic should be. Remember the attitude and cheesiness that Sonic used to have? It's back, and it has been done very well.
  22. Jun 4, 2014
    9
    I'm very surprised to find that this game scored so low. In my opinion it is one of the best sonic games of all time. The controls are tight and visually it is great. The coop could be better though, but as far as playing through single player it is great, the switching between 3d and 2d modes is cool(kind of like Sonic Generations but better) If you own a Wii U and love that sonic speed, give this one a try, it's very good. On a side note get the Yoshi DLC, it's short but looks amazing. Expand
  23. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    I agree with the 80 and above because the fact that after wacthing gameplay its so realistic, but it goes with bad reviews. I don't get it why some games are so good but then you know what happens.
  24. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    Sonic Lost World is a very Different take on the Sonic games. I've 100% completed the game and I say its a great Sonic Game. Single-Player and Multiplayer are both a blast to play (with the exception of the RC Vehicles). Multiplayer was surprisingly fun to play, the two screen feature works perfect for the Multiplayer. However, this game is not perfect. In the last world, there is a huge difficulty spike and can really get annoying and frustrating. The Boss Battles are Jokes, with the new Homing Action it is pretty easy to defeat the bosses. The Pre-order bonus is alright, but could have been better. Gyroscope controls and the Wisp are poorly implemented into the game. Gyroscope controls are twitchy and are from the console instead of the senor bar and can be frustrating to control. Wisp are not even mentioned or put into in the game's story which is a complete let down to me. Other than those small problems, the game is great. Very underrated in my opinion. One of my Favorite Sonic Games. Expand
  25. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    First, for those saying it ripped off Mario Galaxy, actually, Sonic Adventure did the whole flying from area to area place first (Windy Valley for example)!

    Great game. One of the best Sonic games. I really enjoyed all of it, the 2D and 3D levels and found the new gamepad color controls innovative and wonderful. I loved the way one could run onto another side in the 3D worlds for
    different play and paths. And most of the levels were just beautiful! Expand
  26. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    This game is truly amazing in every way Its so fun to play and so many different ways to play through each level it never gets boring. I love how the story is on this game and it has superb graphics and music in this game. I'm going to admit it the last sonic game I enjoyed was sonic adventure on the dreamcast but this one is my new favourite with adventure a very close 2nd. I recommend this game to everyone and yeah as you get through the game it can get hard and frustrating at times I've lost count how many continues I have used but I get there in the end. Sonic lost world really should of had better reviews overall and this is a fantastic wii u exclusive game to own. if you haven't got this game yet then you are missing out big time! Expand
  27. Dec 12, 2013
    9
    I honestly don't understand why this game would get poor reviews. Sure, the controls take time to get used too, especially if you're used to the Unleashed/Colors/Generations controls, but that doesn't make it a bad game, does it? I personally think Sonic Lost world is a worthy successor to Sonic Colors. It isn't perfect though, the Whisps in this game are useless, and i would of liked some online multi-player like on the 3DS Version, but aside from that, this game is worth buying! Expand
  28. Dec 16, 2013
    9
    Sonic Lost World is so far, and by far, my favorite platforming and Sonic game.

    The controls are tight, but take some time getting used to, as the controls ARE explained fine, but no one usually ever feels like touching the tutorial button as it pauses the game and I don't feel like stopping.

    Also I feel like critics like IGN or gamespot tried a little bit too hard to make the game
    look bad, and the only reason this annoys me is because they give some players who want the game the wrong idea, because the game in my opinion, is just aced perfectly. The parkour (which may seem like a "overly hyped idea to some) is possibly my favorite part about the game because of the satisfaction from running up a wall away from what could possibly be a cheap death and again, the parkour takes a little bit of time getting used to, making the game start a little slow, but it only gets better and better the more you get used to the game.

    Honestly, there were two flaws in the game that occurred to me, and those were the way the controls were to be explained and surprisingly, the wisps. The wisps didn't really need to be in the game in most parts and only added a small gimmick to do in the game.

    Now, to all the people that say that this game "shamelessly rips off super mario galaxy", SONIC LOST WORLD IS NOTHING AT ALL LIKE SUPER MARIO GALAXY. The level design is to the game, but sonic actually started the planetoids and gravity trick idea, especially from a canceled sonic game for SEGA Saturn named Sonic X-treme which looks VERY similar to Sonic Lost World, and a Sonic Adventure 2 stage called "Mad Space". In nutshell, sonic lost world plays nothing at all like mario galaxy, such as some, actually most critics, just slam the game saying that it rips off another game.

    As the for the graphics, "non-offensive visuals" (seriously?) doesn't quite describe it's graphics. It's more like "downright sexy" because sonic lost world has 1080p resolution with silky smooth 60 FPS without a single frame drop. Sonic lost world has to be the most beautiful looking games for the Wii U as of now.

    The gameplay, as described and hyped about during the making of this game, SONIC IS NOT SUPPOSED TO BE THE FASTEST IN THIS GAME PEOPLE. You can make sonic go fast using the infinite spin dash (which admittedly, is pretty freaking sweet and the best spin dash of all time in a sonic game) to make sonic go very fast and if you've figured out the controls, you can just blaze through the level. The plat forming for me was at its best in sonic lost world as sonic can actually climb up platforms along with the help of the parkour system and the double-jump returning from sonic colors. Yes the game is challenging, all sonic plat forming based games are, and for some reason that's randomly a problem now which really confuses. You will die a lot, but it never came to a point where I found it ridiculous and made me want to stop playing, it actually made me want to keep trying and trying and even if you die too much, you are given a capsule that will transport you to the next checkpoint. But after I got the hang of the game and completed it, I loved this game even more and did not encounter infuriating deaths afterwards.

    Sonic Lost World is a really great plat forming game with some minor flaws (to me at least). The parkour was a great and life saving addition to the game that added tons of satisfaction and once you get the hang of the controls and the levels and how sonic works, Sonic lost world has become an addiction.
    Expand
  29. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sonic Lost World is all about one thing: variety. Whether or not you like the game, you cannot deny that there is a multitude of different activities in each world. In the first world alone, you're in a Mario Galaxy-esque stage, to be followed by a classic 2D Sonic the Hedgehog. Following this, you're in a circular mind-shaft - and then there's a boss - and that's just World 1! There is a lot you can do in this game, but this also means that there's a huge variety in scores offered.
    I liked everything the levels offered, and was willing to play them again just so I could get the red rings. However, I know many that weren't keen on some of the different level designs and this put them off the game. For them it was almost bipolar - one minute they were playing their new favorite level, only to be followed by their worst.

    In short, if you want an original Sonic experience - where you get to do a lot of different stuff- then this is the game for you. If you want a classic Sonic experience - running around at the speed of sound in 2D or 3D environments then you should avoid the game.

    Personally, I loved the game but I feel that there could have been more, and I'm still confused at why, after spending so much time perfecting the 3D stages in Sonic Generations (and the critical acclaim the Daytime stages in Sonic Unleashed obtained), they would completely revamp the 3D sections of the game to something completely different. This didn't change my opinion on the game, as I still loved it - but I can understand why people wouldn't.
    Expand
  30. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    che cosa solo un voto nella media a questa sonic che devasta letteralmente gli altri prequel in 3d che era tra l'anonimi ( sonic adventure dx , sonic unleashed) oppure giochi buoni ( sonic heroes , sonic colors) questo titolo stramerita i vostri soldi
  31. May 31, 2014
    9
    When i look at the other reiews, I feel like people are underating this game. But it's actually a pretty good game. yeah i know it has weird controlls but i got used to it. and it has a weird 3-D crap. but it has a good storyline, new characters, and some pretty neat stuff such as some awesome kick-ass moves and colors. but i can't beileve the score on this game i feel like it's so underated. but it's still a pretty good game which takes advantage of the Wii U Expand
  32. May 20, 2014
    10
    First of all, nice gameplay! You did a great Job innovating this idea of gameplay into the gaming world. The whole point and basic Idea was good, and the storyline was just as good! It was a great game with some innovative gameplay and great music and character description! I'll give a 10/10 for the innovation and gameplay as well as music and scenery! But there was one problem however, this was not a game for such a poor system as the Wii U! It would make more sense on next-gen consoles and PC than such a mess of a system! SEGA seems to be saving the WII U somewhat by giving it a chance to perform mediocre gameplay. The game, was amazing and well deserved a 10/10. The console the game was exclusive to, a mess. Good job on making a decent game on a crap system SEGA. I never thought anyone could pull that one off! I'll be relieved when Sonic moves over to the PS4 and XB1 as well as PC! That, will make him successful once more. Expand
  33. Oct 29, 2013
    0
    Great game with tight controls. When you die it feels like it's your fault and not the games. Great sonic title and greatly under-rated. The story goes back to its roots with a simple and cheesy story. Sonics voice actor is great and the villains are very cool. The over-all story is a bit childish but is not that bad. The game is very fast but you can slow down for better control. The wall running is a little weird but once you get used to it, its very cool and useful. The game does not hold your hand with tutorials and expects you to learn the game through gameplay, which I love. Collapse
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 64
  2. Negative: 9 out of 64
  1. Dec 11, 2013
    70
    Sonic Lost World has its problems. The controls are imprecise and the difficulty somewhat uneven. But it is still one of the better Sonic games in later years with some great level design. It is not the best platform game out there but well worth a closer look.
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    87
    The best true Sonic in years. [Christmas 2013, p.83]
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    35
    Sonic is no longer a good or even passable video game character.