• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: 3DS
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 367 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When the Deadly Six threaten to annihilate his world, Sonic's new moves and power-ups are the only way to defeat them before it is too late. In his latest plan to defeat Sonic and rule the world, Dr. Eggman has harnessed the power of 6 menacing creatures known as the Deadly Six. However,When the Deadly Six threaten to annihilate his world, Sonic's new moves and power-ups are the only way to defeat them before it is too late. In his latest plan to defeat Sonic and rule the world, Dr. Eggman has harnessed the power of 6 menacing creatures known as the Deadly Six. However, when the Deadly Six rise up against their new master, Sonic must unite with his arch nemesis Eggman and explore the mystical Lost Hex in order to take them on head-to-head. Use Sonic's unique new moves and incredible Color Powers to speed across a variety of unique terrains, racing inside, outside and upside down in every level. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 64
  2. Negative: 9 out of 64
  1. Oct 18, 2013
    90
    Sonic Lost World is a great platform game. SEGA did a great job creating a brilliant level design and mashing up the best elements from Colors and Generations. This is a solid Wii U exclusive which, along with Rayman Legends, can easily sell the Nintendo console to platformers lovers.
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    80
    Even though the hedgehog’s deceleration is a resounding success, that precision in gameplay is hindered by a temperamental homing attack and subsequent cheap deaths. That aside, though, Sonic Lost World is unquestionably a return to form and a reason to care again – thankfully without the rose-tinted specs.
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    80
    Sonic Lost World is the ideal title for those seeking an immediate and funny platform meanwhile waiting for a new Mario.
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    65
    Sonic: Lost world introduces a few very strong new elements, but clings to old formulas that can’t be combined with the new 3D-style. That makes Sonic: Lost World great from time to time, but an awkward failure at others.
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    60
    Lost World could have been a great Sonic game, but agitating cutscenes, an overly complicated control scheme and a really unclear general direction puts a stop to that. I have a hard time imagining this will satisfy anyone to a full extent.
  6. Oct 28, 2013
    50
    It's more clear than ever that Sega doesn't know where to go with Sonic. The game tries to do a lot of things and end up failing at most of them. Those of you who want a great platformer for the Wii U should just pick up Rayman Legends or wait for Super Mario 3D World.
  7. Oct 18, 2013
    20
    If you love him as I once did, you’ll agree that it’s time to take Sonic out back and put him out of everyone’s misery.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 116
  2. Negative: 17 out of 116
  1. Feb 19, 2015
    10
    Unlike the Critics like the biased IGN and unreliable Gamespot, I actually know how to play a Sonic game. And let me tell you, I knew how toUnlike the Critics like the biased IGN and unreliable Gamespot, I actually know how to play a Sonic game. And let me tell you, I knew how to play this Masterpiece. Many people think it's a copy off of Mario Galaxy, although the truth is Mario Galaxy is kinda a copy off of the space levels in Sonic Adventure 2, Sonic Adventure 2's levels are related to Yoshi's Island space-like levels, and Yoshi's Island's space levels are a copy off of many parts of Sonic 3 and Knuckles's Carnival Night Zone and Death Egg Zone, and Sonic X-treme (Which a lot of people seem to be in denial of, thinking it was a fish-eye view game only, but the truth is it was a combination of both gravity-based gameplay and the fish-eye view, yeah I've done my research.) But I digress. And while I admit Mario Galaxy was a magnificent game, it was not completely original, because Sega thought of the idea first, and while many fans of Mario Galaxy can deny it all they want, it's not going to change the facts, but again, I emphasize, Mario Galaxy was a god-like game, a great step away from the money-grabbing, repetitive, sexist, though sometimes creative, games Mario is usually in.

    So the claims that Sonic Lost World is a rip-off of Mario Galaxy is distorted. I honestly like to think Sonic Lost World is just Sonic X-treme being finished off because of the similarities that one of the original ideas for the storyline Sonic X-treme was going to have was implemented in Sonic Lost World, The six Zeti being the original 'six chaos monsters' that were going to be under forced to do Eggman's biding after he stole and released them from the Master Emerald, (Half of that idea was put to use on Chaos in Sonic Adventure.) Although while I admit Sonic Lost World is nearly original, I do admit I've found out a few of the developers of the game where inspired by parts of Mario Galaxy, but that's parts, not all of it. Many creators have been inspired by others ideas, but have managed to make it original. Just like my father always says, "Good people are great creators, great people are inspired by the ideas of others, with so many ideas in the world, arguably nothing is truly original."
    Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Hands down the best Sonic game there's ever been made. Everything, including graphics, music, bosses, controls and general gameplay are topHands down the best Sonic game there's ever been made. Everything, including graphics, music, bosses, controls and general gameplay are top notch. Also one of the best Wii U games there are out there. Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    This is a great game! I have been playing for a week now and it is amazing.Of course it's not perfect but besides the boss fights this is aThis is a great game! I have been playing for a week now and it is amazing.Of course it's not perfect but besides the boss fights this is a game that is worth your time and money if you are a sonic or platformer fan Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    I wonder why people hate this game. I mean it's not perfect but it's not bad but I do happen to know who this game is for: If you like theI wonder why people hate this game. I mean it's not perfect but it's not bad but I do happen to know who this game is for: If you like the classic sonic games where you earn your speed (like remembering the level design like how the genesis games worked), you want a little difficulty in your sonic game (this game is harder than most but now that a patch has released you should be showered with lives), If you have the patience to read the instruction manual (this game has a slight learning curve when it comes to getting used to the controls but trust me when you get used to them the controls are really good), and the final and most important thing you've got to remember this game is nothing like generations but more like the genesis games. Also you got to give it a chance if it frustrates you try again later because there is a lot of good in this game but you have got to understand some of these things. Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So after playing Sonic Lost World, I can say that this game is very solid, but needs several improvements to the formula and some polish in all areas. To start off, Sonic feels very slow. I know this was to make sonic platform better, but even then, it fells like a snails pace. And running is good for speeding in straight lines, but try to turn and Sonic's speed will plummet. Then there is the new parkour system, which is a good concept, but can get complicated at times, and cause deaths when you need to navigate over bottomless pits. Despite these complications, Sonic manages to control well enough to make platforming manageable. Most frustrations arise from some levels with poor design. And when stages bite, they REALLY bite.
    The story is alright for a kids game, but contains two problems I felt hurt the story overall. The first problem is the zeti who, despite containing charm and humorous lines, are only really there as a Big Bad for Sonic to pulverize (and it doesn't help that there boss fights are pathetically easy). The second is that it Eggman was put in as a Big Bad at the last second after "dying", but the way they did it seems like it was a last second decision just to have Eggman as the final boss.While an ok story, with much character building between our heroes, it kinda felt flat at certain points.
    The music and art is as good as usual for Sonic. Not only is the music a great listen, but it is also used at the right points during the levels. The visuals are also bright and cheery or dark and ominous to fit the situation.
    Overall, the game has some problems, but it didn't stop it from being a good experience. The music and visual are nice, the gameplay is very good (when it isn't very bad), and story is generally ok. I can definitely recommend this to anyone who has a Wii U and looking to add something to their much needed library of Wii U games, they just need to do it better next time.
    Expand
  6. May 13, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While it's not the game I expected to be, Sonic Lost World is a decent entry to the Sonic series. Yeah, the parkour system are pretty bad, the controls are floaty at times, the boss battles are just embarassing, the special stages are awfully hard, difficulty spikes are infuriating, story mode are short, and uninspired level themes and designs.

    Besides all of that, you all need to give this game a chance. It's a fun game and worth the buy
    Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2014
    0
    So this usless peice of **** video game i dont know where to get started. Matter of fact ill only say one thing. If you want to be sent to aSo this usless peice of **** video game i dont know where to get started. Matter of fact ill only say one thing. If you want to be sent to a mental hospital this game is for you. Just in case you was wondering what that would be like play outlast in real life Expand

See all 116 User Reviews