Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Wii U Edition is a great fighting game. This version is as great as the others, and the nice extras are good enough to grant fun and laughters. If you're looking for a good fighting game for the new Nintendo console, this is your best choice.
  2. Dec 14, 2012
    90
    Unfortunately, neither Tekken Advance or Tekken 3D Prime Edition offered the true Tekken experience. But Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Wii U Edition does--and then some. [Dec 2012, p.78]
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2: Wii U Edition proves that when something isn't broke then there's no need to fix it -- just add a ton of worthwhile and engaging content on top. Persistent loading times may mar the experience for some, but for fighting game fans with a shiny new console to equip, this will be gaming nirvana.
  4. 90
    TTT2 Wii U edition is an excellent example of how to best use the Wii U. The technical side of things is top notch, and the features of the Wii U game pad are brilliantly utilized. The new game modes and mini games are highly entertaining, and the whole package just oozes quality and effort.
  5. Dec 3, 2012
    90
    In conclusion, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 for the Wii U is a fantastic fighting game, and a must buy for the new Nintendo system. This game has so much to offer, and it adds a hard-core competitive element to Nintendo gamers that have been lacking for a long time.
  6. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Wii U Edition is the version to get, if you have the luxury of choice and prefer inviting friends to your house to playing online. A few buddies on the same couch playing Tekken Ball and / or the in more than one way appropriately named mushroom mode, is a real winner.
  7. Nov 28, 2012
    90
    Tekken's first appearance on a Nintendo console is a complete and outstanding success.
  8. Jan 15, 2013
    88
    The best technical fighting game on a Ninty home console since the days of the SNES. [Feb 2013, p.76]
  9. This is the perfect example of what we expect from multi-format Wii U games, with everything seen in other versions and more Nintendo-only stuff on top.
  10. Nov 27, 2012
    88
    There is just tons to do in this game. The Wii U version's additional features aren't phenomenal, but they'll give you more to play around with.
  11. Nov 28, 2012
    87
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 for Wii U offers the same content found in the PS3 and Xbox 360 counterparts, but also includes new "nintendorized" options.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    The bonus features of the Wii U port is so much fun. The Mushroom mode is ok, and can get very confusing, but the inclusion of painting on characters and the Nintendo themed costumes make this port of the game superior by far. Tekken ball is ok, but the game itself is fun on all consoles. With a massive roster of characters, each character has their own entertaining ending. This game lasts a long time before it is complete. I have owned this game for around a year now, and still am not finished with it yet. Full Review »
  2. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    finally a Tekken game on a nintendo system..a lot of fun with tekken ball mode and versus mode..but this game doesnt use the gamepad with all its power like zombi u or nintendo land.. Full Review »
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    8
    Tekken finally on a Nintendo system? Sounds cool, and it is cool. I didn't get a Wii U until a little later into it's life, so I only ever played Tag 2 on the 360 or PS3. I always heard about these cool features the Wii U version had, and I didn't understand why the 360 or PS3 versions didn't have them. Then I realized, Nintendo probably ended up conducted a deal with the Tekken developers. This was just a little thought I always had.

    With that aside, as usual it's a Tekken game and is amazing. The extra content, like volleyball mode and mushrooms mode is fun. Mushrooms mode is a little glitch and volleyball mode can take some getting use to, but they're still something different and fun.

    The graphics are amazing, It's great seeing a Tekken game with upgraded graphics for the Wii U. It just shows what the Wii U will be capable of in the future.

    Now there is something I would like to mention, I'm a big online player and mostly only play this game online. What I found really cool, was something I found really stupid at the same time. you are able to place actions into the Wii U gamepad in practice mode, and they follow through into online mode. I don't mean just single moves, I mean fairly lengthy combos, you can also place in the power moves. Sure it doesn't allow the 10 hit combos, but you can place 5 combos into it, and it can basically act as a 10 hit combo, if not more, with the tap of the screen. You tap each combo, etc....On the gamepad, and it does it with a single finger tap. I did a little test online, and just spammed all 5 inputs. It was almost impossible for the other person to hit me. Now this may appear as "Awesome". Let me tell you, it was cool, but also very stupid. It was good to the point where you didn't need to get frustrated, for not being able to do a specific combo. It was extremely stupid to the point where it just takes no skill and my 3 year old nephew could beat a fairly skilled player.

    If you like an easy win, then do this. If you're more into skilled playing, then I would suggest staying away from this feature. It is fairly odd they would put in a feature like this. After all, Tekken is all about skill.

    Anyway, we all know the deal. It's Tekken, and it's fun. Sure it's not perfect, but no game is. I give it an 8.
    Full Review »