Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    87
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 for Wii U offers the same content found in the PS3 and Xbox 360 counterparts, but also includes new "nintendorized" options.
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    88
    There is just tons to do in this game. The Wii U version's additional features aren't phenomenal, but they'll give you more to play around with.
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2: Wii U Edition proves that when something isn't broke then there's no need to fix it -- just add a ton of worthwhile and engaging content on top. Persistent loading times may mar the experience for some, but for fighting game fans with a shiny new console to equip, this will be gaming nirvana.
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    90
    Tekken's first appearance on a Nintendo console is a complete and outstanding success.
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Wii U Edition is the version to get, if you have the luxury of choice and prefer inviting friends to your house to playing online. A few buddies on the same couch playing Tekken Ball and / or the in more than one way appropriately named mushroom mode, is a real winner.
  6. Jan 24, 2013
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Wii U Edition is a great fighting game. This version is as great as the others, and the nice extras are good enough to grant fun and laughters. If you're looking for a good fighting game for the new Nintendo console, this is your best choice.
  7. 90
    TTT2 Wii U edition is an excellent example of how to best use the Wii U. The technical side of things is top notch, and the features of the Wii U game pad are brilliantly utilized. The new game modes and mini games are highly entertaining, and the whole package just oozes quality and effort.
  8. Jan 15, 2013
    88
    The best technical fighting game on a Ninty home console since the days of the SNES. [Feb 2013, p.76]
  9. Dec 14, 2012
    90
    Unfortunately, neither Tekken Advance or Tekken 3D Prime Edition offered the true Tekken experience. But Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Wii U Edition does--and then some. [Dec 2012, p.78]
  10. This is the perfect example of what we expect from multi-format Wii U games, with everything seen in other versions and more Nintendo-only stuff on top.
  11. Dec 3, 2012
    90
    In conclusion, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 for the Wii U is a fantastic fighting game, and a must buy for the new Nintendo system. This game has so much to offer, and it adds a hard-core competitive element to Nintendo gamers that have been lacking for a long time.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    The bonus features of the Wii U port is so much fun. The Mushroom mode is ok, and can get very confusing, but the inclusion of painting onThe bonus features of the Wii U port is so much fun. The Mushroom mode is ok, and can get very confusing, but the inclusion of painting on characters and the Nintendo themed costumes make this port of the game superior by far. Tekken ball is ok, but the game itself is fun on all consoles. With a massive roster of characters, each character has their own entertaining ending. This game lasts a long time before it is complete. I have owned this game for around a year now, and still am not finished with it yet. Full Review »
  2. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    finally a Tekken game on a nintendo system..a lot of fun with tekken ball mode and versus mode..but this game doesnt use the gamepad with allfinally a Tekken game on a nintendo system..a lot of fun with tekken ball mode and versus mode..but this game doesnt use the gamepad with all its power like zombi u or nintendo land.. Full Review »
  3. Nov 27, 2014
    3
    I bought this game because I ADORED the original Tekken Tag Tournament, but I was soo disappointed when I picked it up. I realised what a badI bought this game because I ADORED the original Tekken Tag Tournament, but I was soo disappointed when I picked it up. I realised what a bad mistake I had purchasing this game. Terrible control in my opinion, lackluster features and no attention to detail led me to never play this since the day I picked it up. Full Review »