Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Sep 15, 2014
    100
    Even with that similarity, though, Teslagrad still has a look and a feel all its own — which, as I said up top, is what helps set it apart from all those other great puzzle-platformers. At the same time, though, as much as that sets it apart from the likes of Braid, Fez and more, it also places Teslagrad alongside them, as one of the really phenomenal examples of the genre.
  2. Oct 2, 2014
    93
    A true masterpiece of a game.
  3. Sep 11, 2014
    90
    Teslagrad is everything we love about download gaming on Wii U.
  4. Nov 9, 2014
    80
    Teslagrand won't define a genre but it's extremely well designed and will make any fan of the 16bit age happy with its colorful visuals and challenging bosses.
  5. Oct 28, 2014
    80
    Another well conceived and executed indie platform puzzler with improved controls on Wii U.
  6. Oct 8, 2014
    80
    Teslagrad is one of the most original and welcome titles to enter the Wii U's catalog. An awe-inspiring game with a plot that is certain to grab the players' attention due to its throwback storytelling techniques and its clear inspiration in the Metroidvania style will not disappoint those eager for a fresh and original title on Nintendo's system.
  7. Sep 29, 2014
    80
    While it starts slow and simple, Teslagrad grows into something worth mentioning and definitely worth playing.
  8. Sep 19, 2014
    80
    Those yet to try out the PC version should pick it up here, as it should be enjoyed by anyone with an affinity for logic puzzle-filled games, or platformers.
  9. Sep 12, 2014
    80
    There are not too many additions compared to the original version, but it still is a great game and plays great on Wii U.
  10. 80
    Teslagrad may have been a long time coming on Wii U, but it was worth the wait.
  11. Oct 18, 2014
    75
    The game by Rain Team stands out as one of the best indie games on the market and one of the signposting experiences of 2014, despite some flaws in the game design that should be corrected as soon as possible.
  12. Nov 14, 2014
    70
    Teslagrad is somewhat different from other proposals that rely on the gender "metroidvania" and these differences benefits all that come here.
  13. Thoughtful, pretty and just strange enough. [Christmas 2014, p.85]
  14. Sep 22, 2014
    70
    Rain Games have created something beautiful in Teslagrad. Its opening scene alone should win some kind of award. Its mix of mind bending puzzles and unforgiving boss battles, not to mention some pretty hit and miss platforming, make it a game that will really split opinions. Fans of the genre will find a new hero in Teslagrad – but casual gamers should be wary.
  15. Dec 9, 2014
    50
    It’s not a bad game, it’s just not really anything.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 12, 2014
    9
    First I feel I must set a underlying description of what mood I was in when I started to play this game. I was bored out of my mind afterFirst I feel I must set a underlying description of what mood I was in when I started to play this game. I was bored out of my mind after playing super castlevania and metro redux. What I usually do when I can't think of anything that will tickle my pickle, I resort to checking out what indies are out on the console I spend the least time with. The wiiU has giving my pleasant surprises before and snapped my boredom. It didn't let me down this time either.
    After seeing a post with the name TESLA-grad my ears turned up. I love Nicola Tesla and have been infatuated with his story both factual and unproven conspiratorial. I didn't even check a review seeing this was a brand new release.
    I was definitely not in a mood for platforming since I just finished getting through a chunk of super castlevania but that didn't even matter. This game is SO GOOD it sucked me right in. You can see I am not **** you by checking how many reviews I have written and how long they are. I am giving this the sweet time it deserves. No spoilers just a spit shine of your opinion towards this purchase.
    You know those games you put in and even when you die or get stuck your still completely in it. Your desire to succeed is never gone flaccid. The art is so cool I like taking my time section to section. I like noticing all the smaller details and the occasional artsy 'Easter egg'.
    The game play is do dope I will let u discover it without any type of description of what u do. The thing that had my loving this was the fact I had not idea how I was going to get through this game. The approach to this is best kept a surprise.
    I want to get back to it now. I wrote this while I was taking a **** YES THAT GOOD. I AM THINKING OF THE GAME WHILE I AM SQUATTING. Do yourself a favor and buy this. Puzzle platformer in a unique sexy adventure.
    Enjoy MEUS AMIGOS
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 4, 2015
    8
    السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته

    مقدمة بسيطة : لعبة بلاتفورمر معتمدة كثير على الألغاز المتعلقة بالجاذبية وبتصميم ميتروفينيا (ميترويد -
    السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته

    مقدمة بسيطة :
    لعبة بلاتفورمر معتمدة كثير على الألغاز المتعلقة بالجاذبية
    وبتصميم ميتروفينيا (ميترويد - كاسلفينيا ) إلي تكون المراحل فيها مفتوحة
    ومتصلة ، وفي أماكن ماتقدر تفتحها أو توصلها إلا بقدرة معينة
    وقصتها صامتة ( بدون أي حوارات أو سرد للأحداث كتابيا )

    الإيجابيات :
    +الأنيميشن باللعبة ممتاز والجرافيكس وتصميم المراحل "جيد".
    +الجيمبلاي ممتاز جدا وبسيط .
    +طريقة سرد القصة جديدة علي ، وهي عن طريق مسرحيات دمى تلقاها
    بطريقك و بعض التفاصيل بالمراحل راح توضح لك بعض الأحدات .
    +بعض الزعماء أقوياء وماراح تفوز بسهولة .
    +الألغاز فيها حلوة وفيها تحدي ومعتمدة على لعبك .
    +القدرات إلي تاخذها مفيدة جدا وراح تسهل عليك
    التنقل بالمناطق ، واللعبة معتمدة عليها كثير .

    السلبيات :
    -اللعبة قصيرة نوعا ما .
    -تموت من لمسة وحدة ، وهذا شي بيضايقك كثير عند الزعماء .
    -الاعداء نادرين باللعبة .
    -بعض الألغاز متشابهة .

    اللعبة عموما ممتازة وأنصح بها بالذات لعشاق الميتروفينيا وألعاب
    الـ 2D عموما ..وأشوفها من ألعاب الإندي إلي تعب عليها مطورها .

    التقييم النهائي : 8/10
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 30, 2014
    8
    Developer Rain Games' first title for the Wii U is a delightful mixture of open-world 2D exploration, brain-bending electricity-based puzzles,Developer Rain Games' first title for the Wii U is a delightful mixture of open-world 2D exploration, brain-bending electricity-based puzzles, and poignant storytelling.

    The first immediately striking feature about Teslagrad are the insanely beautiful graphics. Characters are stylish 2D sprites, while the environments are nothing short of 3D-rendered marvels. This is especially pleasant since screenshots of the game definitely don't do it justice; you have to experience it in motion to fully appreciate the art style.

    As far as the gameplay goes, you're tasked with the exploration of a massive tower, gathering new powers and solving puzzles along the way. The electricity and magnetism theme is at the game's heart, as the main character has to conquer each section by skillfully controlling the polarization of several different objects (represented by blue and red hues). If this sounds annoying, don't worry: it's generally a very well-implemented mechanic that eases you into the physics. Most puzzles, while hard, feature intuitive resolutions, although there are a few difficulty spikes here and there and two or three sections that can prove to be insane head-scratchers (Giant Bull room, I'm looking at you).

    True to the electricity theme, the game features an ominous steampunk atmosphere that works wonders. This is also the perfect setting for the surprisingly engrossing story, which is told entirely by images and brief "stage play" sections. To get the entire picture, however, you'll have to track down several scrolls along the tower, which are the game's main collectibles. Getting all of the scrolls to reach the beautiful "true" ending is going to be quite the challenge; one that can be at the same time exciting and intimidating. Finally tracking down a cleverly hidden scroll feels great, but there are a few problems as well: for starters, the game lacks any sort of indication as to how many scrolls are left in each section, resulting in more trial and error than necessary. Furthermore, there isn't an easy way to quickly transverse previously beaten areas, which sometimes results in having to go through an entire section all over again just to use a newly-acquired power to get a single pesky scroll.

    At around six hours to get everything, Teslagrad does feel a bit short, but the vast majority of the playtime is very rewarding. It's easy to see the amount of care put into every aspect of the game by the developers, which has resulted in another small classic for the Wii U e-Shop.

    Rating: 8.5
    Full Review »