Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    60
    There's still an intrinsic fun to being Spider-Man--but this is too close to what we've played before, only with less going for it than games like Web of Shadows or Ultimate Spider-Man. This does the trick if you’re dying for more action as Peter Parker or desperately need a new Wii U game, but a more fitting title for this would be "The Acceptable Spider-Man."
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    60
    The Amazing Spider-Man for Wii U is a true disappointment, coming out almost a year later with very few added features and diminished visuals.
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    88
    In the end, this game works on many levels. It plays well as a brawler, it attracts the superhero fans with fun powers and moves, and it gets kids giddy for Spider-Man. The Amazing Spider-Man: Ultimate Edition is a great addition for any Wii U owner.
  4. 80
    Overall, however, I love this game. It provides a fun Spider-Man story and my favorite aspects of Spider-Man 2, but with better graphics and more things to do. Yeah, the combat could be better, but all things considered, that’s a minor complaint. If you have any love for Spider-Man, you owe it to yourself to check this game out.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    60
    It does a great job of adapting Spider-Man's fluidity and agility to a simple control scheme begging for open areas, but then sticks him in dull, enclosed buildings and sewers for most of the campaign.
  6. You play as Spider-Man, but never feel like him. [May 2013, p.74]
  7. Apr 19, 2013
    75
    Overall, the Wii U version of The Amazing Spider-Man is a fun experience, but not the best Spider-Man game out there. It is, however, the best version of this particular game by a long shot, and, if you’re a Spider-Man fan, you should definitely check this one out.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    For starters, this game is average at best. The graphics are really really bad, jagged edges everywhere and low quality textures make this game look just awful. Luckily the gameplay makes up for the graphics making this a very fun spiderman game, one of the best. The Wii U edition comes with all the DLC making this game have hours of extra content. Overall, if you are like many Wii U owners and bored with the current lineup of games you have, this will keep you entertained for a bit. Full Review »
  2. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    I was actually pleasantly surprised by this game. As a super fan of the open world spiderman style since spiderman 2 for ps2 I have been hooked on that and it was put on the shelf since web of shadows. I wont go into too much specific detail about this game but i will say i enjoy two things which i rarely enjoy. one thing is the collectibles. Two is the level based gameplay which is awesome in my opinion especially since you get to choose when you want to do the levels as opposed to just roaming the city doing as you wish. I am not totally in love with the graphics and wish the fighting gameplay was more like web of shadows but thats why web of shadows got a ten and one of the best games i ever played and the amazing spiderman is only getting a nine. Full Review »
  3. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    What this game lacks in graphics it more than makes up for in mostly every other area (I'm no graphics-before-gameplay guy but the jaggies in this game are pretty bad). Swinging around NYC with or without HD is just exhilarating to say the least, and like any open world game, there's plenty to see and do. The gameplay feels like someone took Arkham City and slapped Spider-Man's face on it...which is actually a good thing in this case because beating up Oscorp grunts and hostile infected is extremely fun. Collecting the little pages scattered around the city actually unlocks full comics for you to read later on, and as any late version of a game should, all of the DLC from the 360/PS3 version is on-disc, including the Stan Lee Adventure Pack. Top it off with a solid story and great voicework and good God, the effect is intoxicating. It's not quite on the same level as Ultimate Spider-Man, but it gave me what I wanted: a great return to the open world of New York courtesy of our friendly neighbourhood Spider-Man. Full Review »