Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 10, 2013
    100
    Wind Waker HD is a must play game not just for Zelda fans, but for every gamer.
  2. Oct 21, 2013
    100
    Anyone who’s been holding out on buying a Wii U really needs to reconsider following the release of Wind Waker HD. What was already a masterpiece has become better than ever.
  3. Oct 18, 2013
    100
    What impresses me more then the visual/gameplay updates is the fact that Wind Waker HD still can compete with any new game on the market today. The story is charming, the characters warm your heart, and the game remains as one of the best 3D adventure games to date. With the lack of killer software on the Wii U, The Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker HD is one of the only great games currently available to date.
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    100
    While lacking somewhat in the new features department, The Wind Waker HD is still a great remake of a already fantastic game. The result is nothing short of stunning and one of the best games ever made.
  5. Sep 19, 2013
    100
    Simply put, it's perfect.
  6. Sep 18, 2013
    100
    No game is perfect, but the HD redux inches Wind Waker ever closer to that ideal.
  7. 100
    Wind Waker HD is an excellent remake of an awesome game.
  8. Sep 18, 2013
    100
    While playing, I marveled at things I normally don't pay attention to in games, such as the way light and shadows played off of Link and his enemies in battles, or the way the wind made little things, such as flags or windmills, come to life.
  9. Sep 18, 2013
    100
    Although without presenting new content, Wind Waker HD comes to the Wii U after a restoration that puts it at the same level of productions of the current generation.
  10. Sep 17, 2013
    100
    Just like its young hero, The Wind Waker is crisp and energetic, spirited and soulful, just a little bit wayward - and it hasn't aged a day.
  11. Oct 20, 2013
    99
    The Legend of Zelda The Wind Waker HD once again proves that the HD remakes have a place in this modern world of gaming. They've tweaked the gameplay and graphics to create an almost new experience that Zeldaphites will enjoy and new comers will be captivated by the wonder and enjoyable stories and characters that they met.
  12. Sep 18, 2013
    98
    Holds up as a marvelous game full of unique and wonderful surprises that remind me why it’s the best of the 3D Zeldas.
  13. 96
    It is everything I could have hoped for in a remake as it has gameplay that doesn’t feel dated, it has spectacular HD graphics, it improves most of the problems from the original, and it incorporates fantastic use of the Wii U GamePad. Other than a few frame rate issues I find very little fault with this game as it feels almost perfect, which is why I highly recommend Wind Waker HD to any Wii U owner and Zelda fan alike.
  14. Oct 23, 2013
    95
    If you’ve played the original, let’s face it, Nintendo prices don’t drop very quickly. You may as well just go and pick this up because you know you want to play it. This is easily the definitive version of Wind Waker and the best you’ll ever play.
  15. Oct 3, 2013
    95
    The visual upgrades are superb and the gameplay hasn't really aged at all. This is not just a simple "HD update", it feels almost like a complete new Zelda game.
  16. Sep 30, 2013
    95
    The changes Nintendo has made have been little, but important enough to enhance a great experience. Wind Waker still is a wonderful game, and this is the best opportunity to enjoy once again one of the most original adventures of Link.
  17. Sep 25, 2013
    95
    This is one of the most memorable experiences in the history of gaming, and it is a shame if anyone misses out on it.
  18. Sep 18, 2013
    95
    This HD version not only makes everything look sharper than before, but the new additions and features make for an even more enjoyable experience without tarnishing the spirit the original. Simply put, The Wind Waker HD makes one of Nintendo’s greatest games even better.
  19. Sep 18, 2013
    95
    Although it maybe could have stood to add a little more content with some meat on its bones (maybe a new dungeon, or the areas that were cut from the original release), Wind Waker HD is one of the Wii U’s “must buy” titles without question.
  20. Oct 13, 2013
    94
    Thanks to the Swift Sail, the bar for water-based exploration has been raised so high that I'll never be able to play Suikoden IV again. Not that I was planning to, of course.
  21. Sep 27, 2013
    93
    The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is the definitive version of the classic GameCube title. With HD graphics, lighting effects, a new soundtrack and gameplay and technical enhancements, this remake brings a memorable and emotional experience to a new generation.
  22. Sep 18, 2013
    93
    Every change Nintendo has made to this game is smart and serves a purpose, and I envy anyone that gets to experience The Wind Waker for the first time via this remake. It takes everything that made the original a classic and greatly improves on its visuals and quality of play. If you’re a fan of classic remakes, you can’t ask for much more.
  23. Oct 19, 2013
    92
    Makes some of 2013's brand new games look amateur in comparison. [Dec 2013, p.68]
  24. We expected a voyage down memory lane, but were instead treated to an adventure that is as fresh as it was when it first appeared in 2002. Splendid stuff.
  25. Oct 5, 2013
    91
    A remaster of a classic adventure that has been done lovingly but perhaps a little too conservatively. Luckily, few games have stood the test of time like The Wind Waker. [Oct 2013]
  26. Jan 6, 2014
    90
    After ten years Wind Waker is still as magical as it was when it was first released. The Wii U is all of a sudden looking like a console worth considering.
  27. Oct 31, 2013
    90
    While the game occasionally shows its age in several departments, it more than makes up for it by crafting one of the finest Zelda adventures ever made and being irresistibly charming.
  28. Oct 25, 2013
    90
    As the most successful and dramatic HD upgrade ever, and of one of the better adventure games of all time, The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD seems like a no-brainer if you own a Wii U and have any love for Zelda games.
  29. Oct 15, 2013
    90
    It’s incredibly telling that all Wind Waker needs is an HD spit-shine to belong in 2013. No game is released in a vacuum, but the greatest games are fun no matter when you play them. This re-release puts Wind Waker in that column, right along classics like Super Mario Bros. and Pac-Man. It’s an incredible game.
  30. Oct 15, 2013
    90
    A brilliant remake of one of the best Zelda games ever made. The motion control is fun, but at the same time limited to the technology today. Although I miss the opportunity to make notes on the map, this is the same fantastic game you remember.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 446 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 88
  2. Negative: 3 out of 88
  1. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    The original was amazing and was filled with so much adventure. The same is true for The Wind Waker HD. Also, I love being able to play this on my Wii U as the HD remake looks spectacular. Full Review »
  2. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    A really beautiful work of art. Many people were wondering how you make cel animation compatible with HD. Well here you go. They also took all the flaws of the original Wind Waker and ACTUALLY addressed them. Superb. My favorite Zelda game in a VERY long time. Full Review »
  3. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    I am so glad Nintendo decided to remake this game. I love Hero mode enemies deal twice the damage and hearts do not appear during gameplay. The only way to replenish your health is through potions an excellent challenge! Now that it's in HD and everything is fixed near the end of the story, there is absolutely NO reason for any Wii U owner not to own this game! A masterpiece. 10/10 Full Review »