Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 512 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As the purported definitive version of the game, The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is remastered and presented in 1080p graphics. Gamers can experience high-definition cell-shaded presentation on their TVs or entirely on the Wii U GamePad controller. The streamlined interface lets gamers easily manage your inventory—simply slide an item onto any button. Instantly view maps and zoom in on the GamePad controller's touch screen. Enjoy a breezy cruise with the original sail, or switch to the brand-new Swift Sail that lets you gather the wind and speed across the waves. With the new Tingle Bottle feature, you can connect with others over Miiverse. Comments or screenshots others have posted on Miiverse may wash up on the shore or appear in other locations, tucked into bottles. Whenever you want, move around the world in first-person mode, using the GamePad gyroscope to look around you and aim your bow, hookshot, Picto Box, or telescope. You can store more pictographs with your improved Picto Box—handy for creating figurines—and share them with other players on Miiverse. Your pictures, game tips, and messages may also appear in another player's game. Take the adventure to new levels with Hero Mode, available from the moment you start the game. In this mode, you only regain health when you earn a new heart piece or container, use a red potion, or visit a fairy fountain. Also, your enemies do double the damage. [Nintendo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 10, 2013
    100
    Wind Waker HD is a must play game not just for Zelda fans, but for every gamer.
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    100
    Although without presenting new content, Wind Waker HD comes to the Wii U after a restoration that puts it at the same level of productions of the current generation.
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    95
    This is one of the most memorable experiences in the history of gaming, and it is a shame if anyone misses out on it.
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    Despite the cel shading which might have mislead our judgment, we would like to state the following: from a technical point of view, The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is the best HD conversion ever made.
  5. Oct 3, 2013
    90
    The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is the definitive version of the GameCube classic.
  6. Sep 18, 2013
    88
    Beautiful, fluid, and tactfully modernized, The Wind Waker HD heavily preserves its base while adjusting the ingredients when absolutely necessary to correct the original’s most glaring imperfections.
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    78
    While the ideas for those dungeons eventually made their way into other games, it’s disappointing Nintendo didn’t re-work the Triforce quest into a new dungeon or two to greatly improve the experience. Or why they still left three charts in the game rather than making all of the items immediately obtainable once you reached the quest. As it stands, even with the refinements, this segment breaks the otherwise great pacing of the game and feels out of place.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 96
  2. Negative: 4 out of 96
  1. LBC
    Oct 31, 2013
    10
    All of the biggest flaws from the original game have been nicely ironed out. The best improvement in my opinion is the revamped aiming system. Now you can walk around in first person view while aiming and you can even use the gyroscope to fine-tune your shots; a welcome addition indeed! If you missed out on Wind Waker the first time around, now is your chance to experience a true masterpiece. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    The original was amazing and was filled with so much adventure. The same is true for The Wind Waker HD. Also, I love being able to play this on my Wii U as the HD remake looks spectacular. Expand
  3. PMG
    Jan 25, 2014
    10
    I love this game! The art style allows the characters to show off so much color, the swift sail is a must have and the use of the Game pad speeds up the pace of the game. Plus the shortening of the Triforce hunt saved us from some of the worst hours of the game. Dispite what people might say, i think this is one of the best games ever made. Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    LoZ WW is amazing!!The graphics are better then the gamecube.Gameplay is still great and the music is still awesome.Like I waited for awhile till this came out and its still as fun as I remember.The game is so colourful and bright....but it can be dark and kinda creepy.You have a huge sea to explore like get it.Its awesome. Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    I really enjoyed this game back when it came out on the GameCube. I completed it and it was an extremely fun game. But now that I have it for the Wii U, let me say "WOW". This is a lot better than I was expecting! The graphics are outstanding, the gameplay using the Wii U gamepad is perfect, and playing in hero mode is a wonderful challenge! Already I have hit the "GAME OVER" screen 3 times, and this is a very good thing because I don't think I ever did that with the easy GameCube version. Everything is polished to perfection if you are on the fence, get a Wii U just for this game and the many great games that are coming out soon. Long live the Legend! Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2014
    9
    A must play and for every Zelda fan, the over world is awesome, the story is great, and the dungeons are... my least favorite part of the game. Still it is a great game Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2014
    3
    This adventure is impossible without access to an online walkthru or strategy guide. I just lost 2 hours of my life on a dungeon that became impossible to beat because I did not do one obscure thing and had to restart at the beginning. This - coupled with the wonky camera and lack of direction to solve quests make this a curious artifact that doesn't belong in modern video gaming. Other than a fanciful graphical overhaul, it is still a game that belongs in 2002. Expand

See all 96 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.