Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 669 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As the purported definitive version of the game, The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is remastered and presented in 1080p graphics. Gamers can experience high-definition cell-shaded presentation on their TVs or entirely on the Wii U GamePad controller. The streamlined interface letsAs the purported definitive version of the game, The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is remastered and presented in 1080p graphics. Gamers can experience high-definition cell-shaded presentation on their TVs or entirely on the Wii U GamePad controller. The streamlined interface lets gamers easily manage your inventory—simply slide an item onto any button. Instantly view maps and zoom in on the GamePad controller's touch screen. Enjoy a breezy cruise with the original sail, or switch to the brand-new Swift Sail that lets you gather the wind and speed across the waves. With the new Tingle Bottle feature, you can connect with others over Miiverse. Comments or screenshots others have posted on Miiverse may wash up on the shore or appear in other locations, tucked into bottles. Whenever you want, move around the world in first-person mode, using the GamePad gyroscope to look around you and aim your bow, hookshot, Picto Box, or telescope. You can store more pictographs with your improved Picto Box—handy for creating figurines—and share them with other players on Miiverse. Your pictures, game tips, and messages may also appear in another player's game. Take the adventure to new levels with Hero Mode, available from the moment you start the game. In this mode, you only regain health when you earn a new heart piece or container, use a red potion, or visit a fairy fountain. Also, your enemies do double the damage. [Nintendo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 10, 2013
    100
    Wind Waker HD is a must play game not just for Zelda fans, but for every gamer.
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    100
    Although without presenting new content, Wind Waker HD comes to the Wii U after a restoration that puts it at the same level of productions of the current generation.
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    95
    This is one of the most memorable experiences in the history of gaming, and it is a shame if anyone misses out on it.
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    Despite the cel shading which might have mislead our judgment, we would like to state the following: from a technical point of view, The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is the best HD conversion ever made.
  5. Oct 3, 2013
    90
    The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is the definitive version of the GameCube classic.
  6. Sep 18, 2013
    88
    Beautiful, fluid, and tactfully modernized, The Wind Waker HD heavily preserves its base while adjusting the ingredients when absolutely necessary to correct the original’s most glaring imperfections.
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    78
    While the ideas for those dungeons eventually made their way into other games, it’s disappointing Nintendo didn’t re-work the Triforce quest into a new dungeon or two to greatly improve the experience. Or why they still left three charts in the game rather than making all of the items immediately obtainable once you reached the quest. As it stands, even with the refinements, this segment breaks the otherwise great pacing of the game and feels out of place.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 116
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    When I got to play this again, it brought back warm memories. This game is almost as good as OOT in my opinion. It is even better withWhen I got to play this again, it brought back warm memories. This game is almost as good as OOT in my opinion. It is even better with graphics, but it does not really matter because I am so happy to see these characters again. For gamers new to Zelda, you should get this game as soon as possible. I love how the games were always tough to beat, and the game is long yet entertaining. Also, as you go along, you improve your skill in accuracy and awareness.F.F.O.Z, Forever Fan of Zelda. Welcome to the club. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    The original was amazing and was filled with so much adventure. The same is true for The Wind Waker HD. Also, I love being able to play thisThe original was amazing and was filled with so much adventure. The same is true for The Wind Waker HD. Also, I love being able to play this on my Wii U as the HD remake looks spectacular. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    As I was playing through The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD, I thought that it was all a bit too easy. Like it was just me just goingAs I was playing through The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD, I thought that it was all a bit too easy. Like it was just me just going through the motions. Which was fine, but I felt like it was lacking that something special. But the further I got through the game, the more I realised I couldn't have been more wrong. The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is a phenomenal game with its classic Zelda patterns involving a tonne of puzzles and loads of combat. It's that gentle mix of linear and open, making it alluring for those who love a good story as well as those who love to roam around. Although there is a little bit of hand-holding at times, it is generally only in times when the next step isn't so clear. As such, this did not detract from the quality of the adventure in the least. The Wind Waker HD offers many different objectives and side quests, from gathering pigs to taming seagulls to winning auctions. And every character is just bursting with flavour and personality, courtesy of the cel-shaded art style. I have played only two Zelda games prior to this one: Ocarina of Time and Skyward Sword. These two and The Wind Waker HD have that elaborate adventure that binds the player to the environments with its great authenticity and depth. And its my personal opinion that The Wind Waker HD does this the best of the three. Nothing really compares to venturing on the sea like a pirate, searching for loot and invaluable objects. If a single fibre of your being is even curious about what The Wind Waker HD has to offer, buy a copy of it immediately. There is seriously no adventure like a Zelda adventure, and you will not regret getting it. Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    What I don't get is why this will score lower than the original ethane though it is improved on a lot of graphics to make it seem moreWhat I don't get is why this will score lower than the original ethane though it is improved on a lot of graphics to make it seem more immersive and captivating still they are both on of the best games... period. Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    I really enjoyed this game back when it came out on the GameCube. I completed it and it was an extremely fun game. But now that I have itI really enjoyed this game back when it came out on the GameCube. I completed it and it was an extremely fun game. But now that I have it for the Wii U, let me say "WOW". This is a lot better than I was expecting! The graphics are outstanding, the gameplay using the Wii U gamepad is perfect, and playing in hero mode is a wonderful challenge! Already I have hit the "GAME OVER" screen 3 times, and this is a very good thing because I don't think I ever did that with the easy GameCube version. Everything is polished to perfection if you are on the fence, get a Wii U just for this game and the many great games that are coming out soon. Long live the Legend! Expand
  6. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    If you like the original game, you are going to love this, is HOW REMAKES SHOULD BE MADE, as easy as that, if we could play classic games inIf you like the original game, you are going to love this, is HOW REMAKES SHOULD BE MADE, as easy as that, if we could play classic games in HD 1080 we will be happy forever. Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2014
    3
    This adventure is impossible without access to an online walkthru or strategy guide. I just lost 2 hours of my life on a dungeon that becameThis adventure is impossible without access to an online walkthru or strategy guide. I just lost 2 hours of my life on a dungeon that became impossible to beat because I did not do one obscure thing and had to restart at the beginning. This - coupled with the wonky camera and lack of direction to solve quests make this a curious artifact that doesn't belong in modern video gaming. Other than a fanciful graphical overhaul, it is still a game that belongs in 2002. Expand

See all 116 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.