Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 412 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Earth is under attack from an invasion of enormous aliens, and the only thing that can protect the planet is a group of unlikely, yet mighty, heroes with special abilities. Unfortunately, the aliens are too powerful for the heroes to fight individually. They must join forces and workEarth is under attack from an invasion of enormous aliens, and the only thing that can protect the planet is a group of unlikely, yet mighty, heroes with special abilities. Unfortunately, the aliens are too powerful for the heroes to fight individually. They must join forces and work together to defeat their common enemy. These uniquely different heroes can morph into powerful weapons to crush the invaders or turn into objects like a giant fist or bridge to interact with and traverse the environments. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Sep 15, 2013
    100
    This is the very definition of a killer-app in regards to the Wii U library, and deserves every ounce of support the gaming community can muster up.
  2. 90
    Quite frankly, there’s nothing else quite like The Wonderful 101 on the market. It’s an incredibly polished game that’s few blemishes are easily overlooked. If you own a Wii U, you owe it to yourself to see how wonderful The Wonderful 101 truly is.
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    85
    It might not be the prettiest game, but once you get the idea of utilizing the weapon changing gestures, the Centinels will keep you in a firm grip with their positively hectic battles and challenging boss encounters.
  4. Aug 18, 2013
    80
    It can be confusing at first, but The Wonderful 101 has lots of potential to unleash. A great GamePad support, even if there's something more to do with this new controller, and graphics make it the best third-party exclusive for Wii U so far.
  5. Aug 22, 2013
    80
    It's not a game for everyone, but if you liked previous games by Hideki Kamiya, like Bayonetta, you'll fall in love with this one.
  6. Sep 23, 2013
    70
    The Wonderful 101 is a game that requires patience, skill, a willingness to learn and an almost Zen-like ability to overlook its shortcomings. But if you can get there - if you can make peace with this game, and enjoy it for what it does right instead of the things it does wrong - it really can be something wonderful.
  7. An inventive game with plenty of potential and some truly original concepts that somehow failed materialize into something that can be fairly described as entertaining.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 94
  2. Negative: 8 out of 94
  1. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    Wonderful 101 is a breath of fresh air for gamers everywhere. It's a fun new concept wrapped up in a beautiful high quality presentation.Wonderful 101 is a breath of fresh air for gamers everywhere. It's a fun new concept wrapped up in a beautiful high quality presentation.

    At its core, it's a beat 'em up adventure game. It boils down to learning enemy weaknesses and scoring high hitting combo attacks. You control a group of superheroes who must defend Earth from an outer-space invasion. The controls are innovative and take a little while to learn, and making that effort is rewarded. The controls are tight and become intuitive after investing a little time to learn and practice them. The Wonderful 101 also utilizes many features of Wii U's unique gamepad controller. The music and sound in Wonderful 101 are top notch. It has an over the top attitude and feels like a high quality animation is playing out before you because of the great sound and graphics. Everything about this game is polished and shines quality.

    All in all, this game breaks new ground and deserves a perfect score for taking gamers somewhere unexpected and WONDERFUL!!!
    Expand
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    This game is great, but you might not understand at the beginning, just like old games, but once you practice and learn how to use combos, yoThis game is great, but you might not understand at the beginning, just like old games, but once you practice and learn how to use combos, yo will not stop playing, sincerely, people claim it is a bad thing that a game is difficult from the beginning but that what makes some games great, such as complex fighting games where you initially do nothing, bt later yo can pull off amazing moves. Buy it, you will not regret it. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    What do you get when a well known game developer creates a parody of all super hero movies, Power Rangers, and the average over-the-top anime?What do you get when a well known game developer creates a parody of all super hero movies, Power Rangers, and the average over-the-top anime? The answer is the Wonderful 101.

    Quick Review
    *Gameplay is difficult and fun. Involves drawing lines with either the stylus or right analog stick, then turns into a strategic beat'em up. Contains sections that play almost exactly like Sin and Punishment, Punch-Out!!, and Gradius.
    *Graphics are visual appealing, and have a great cartoonish art style with a lot of variety.
    *Music is very good. Full soundtrack release worthy.
    *The story is surprisingly deep. Humorous with some serious moments with lots of character development. A lot of references to other games and anime.

    Full Review
    This game is a perfect storm of comedy, seriousness, difficulty, fun, and innovation. If I'm not fighting a giant robot that can destroy half of a major city with one blast from its wrist lasers, to fighting against a team member in a serious battle. This game is an over-the-top roller coaster that every heavy gamer should play.

    The game play of this game from the outside looks like a clone of Pimkin, but that cannot be more incorrect. Players collect heroes and the can "draw" a line with the Wonder Liner. Drawing a circle creates "Wonder Hand", a line makes "Wonder Sword", etc. Drawing the circle can either be drawn on the GamePad screen itself, or can be done by moving the right analog stick. This overall is a neat way of switching attacks and the different options to draw allows most players to find what is good for them and be happy with it.
    Once the player forms that attack he/she wants, the game plays like a beat'em up. Some attacks have power over others, there is dodging, countering, and many other aspects that play a role. It is an action game that requires strategy and using the tools available to the players advantage.
    Some Areas have the asynchronous game play come into play. This will require both screens unless one is only using the gamepad, then all they need to do is press minus, either switching screens or having both on one screen.
    For any fans of Sin and Punishment, Punch-Out!!, or Gradius, you'll be happy to hear that this game has many different game styles in various levels based off these games and more! The Punch-Out!! levels play exactly like Punch-Out!!, except with giant robots.

    The graphics of the game are very crisp and shiny. It's not the most realistic, but the art style is very eye pleasing and goes along with the mood of the game very well. The locations are absolutely jaw dropping as well. If I am not fighting a three headed robotic dragon while falling from the top of a tall skyscraper, I'm fighting in a underwater base deep beneath the ocean's surface.

    The music, how's the best way to put this? Let's just say, I shoved money at my TV immediately after hearing the music hoping I would get a soundtrack. The best music from a game I have heard in a while. It has the feeling of a super hero movie, but it has that cartoonish feel. My absolute favorite has to be the Wonderful 101 theme itself.

    The story of this game is definitely over-the-top, but actually is more than decent. Essentially, Earth was attacked by aliens that formed an alliance called GETHJERK (actually a clever acronym for "Guild of Evil Aliens Terrorizing Humans with Jiggawatt bombs, Energy beams, Ray guns, and Killer lasers"). There is a pretty good amount of character development, with serious moments to add a break from the humor. This story hits a lot of classic tropes but more too parody them, especially long winded intros to equipment, attacks, enemies, and allies. I mean, even the name of the ultimate move includes twenty five words and final three times!, There are many references in the game to other games such as Viewtiful Joe, Sonic the Headhog, Lollipop Chainsaw; as well as from anime such as Gurren Lagan, and Evangelion.

    Overall this game is definitely an early gem for the WiiU. If you like action games with comedic stories, this is the game for you!
    Definitely a 10/10
    Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2015
    9
    This game is flipping awesome!! This is basically a fantastic combination of Pikmin and Power Rangers. It looks really nice and colorful andThis game is flipping awesome!! This is basically a fantastic combination of Pikmin and Power Rangers. It looks really nice and colorful and makes me feel like I'm watching a saturday morning cartoon! The controls could be pretty confusing at times but with patience, it will make gameplay feel really solid. My favorite part of this game has got to be the bosses because they are so gosh darn memorizing! And it was always so satisfying to deal the epic finishing blow! My only complaint about this game, however, is that it can be really hard at times, but it you're up for it, it will be a blast. This game is great for fans of non-stop action and the Bayonetta series. But seriously, MORE PEOPLE NEED TO PLAY THIS GAME! Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    Wonderful 101 is my personal game of the year 2013.

    What a game, was playing it again last night! Gonna go for full completion. It may
    Wonderful 101 is my personal game of the year 2013.

    What a game, was playing it again last night!

    Gonna go for full completion. It may take me quite some time.

    Starting to master the juggling now, even though I finished it in normal and had felt that I had the combat mastered, I was so wrong. The learning curve seems infinite.

    WHAT A GAME. GOTY for me too.

    I thought Pikmin 3 would be hard to top!!
    Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    One of the games that will be remembered by who play it and who have heared of it. Another awesome game by platinum and nintendo but it doesOne of the games that will be remembered by who play it and who have heared of it. Another awesome game by platinum and nintendo but it does have its negatives. But the positives outway them Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2015
    0
    Terrible games! Just that! TERRIBLE! Weird controls, drawing weapons on the gamepad is mess up. The game doesnt worth a rental and EVEN a buy.Terrible games! Just that! TERRIBLE! Weird controls, drawing weapons on the gamepad is mess up. The game doesnt worth a rental and EVEN a buy. I dont recomend it Expand

See all 94 User Reviews