Watch Dogs Wii U

Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Nov 27, 2014
    80
    While Watch Dogs is not as brilliant as it could have been, it's a good game for sandbox fans.
  2. Dec 16, 2014
    60
    With this porting from the PS3 and the Xbox 360, something has gone terribly wrong. Not only the Wii U hardware hasn’t been used in the right way, but in six months nothing interesting has been added to the game by the developers. I you only own a Wii U, and you’ve never played LEGO City Undercover, only than you could give this a try.
  3. Dec 11, 2014
    60
    Unfortunately, the extra time it took to get on the Wii U did not lead to improvements over the other versions and some technical issues remain unaddressed.
  4. Nov 28, 2014
    40
    Technically speaking, this Wii U version of Watch_Dogs is awful. Add to this the lack of control while moving the camera, targeting or driving, and we can say that the 6 months-delay wasn't worth the wait... Next!
  5. Dec 10, 2014
    75
    And if you were hoping that Watch Dogs on the Wii U had resolved the game's fundamental problems, again, you'll be disappointed. If, however, you haven't played it yet, and you want to experience the game without sky-high expectations and a ridiculous amount of ad-driven hype, then now might be the time to dip your toe in the water.
  6. Jan 23, 2015
    80
    Watch Dogs for Wii U is a solid sandbox, with good ideas and an original setting, but missions get boring and some game mechanics are not well implemented.
  7. Nov 30, 2014
    65
    How did Ubisoft manage to take 6 months to port the PS3/X360 versions of Watch Dogs onto the Wii U? A very long wait that's justified by nothing when we see the low quality of the graphics and the lack of improvements whatsoever. It might be worth a try to those who only own a Wii U and hence will never experience GTA 5.
  8. Nov 26, 2014
    78
    Watch Dogs has some smart gameplay mechanics. Hacking is a great experience full of possibilities, and the game perfectly combines stealth situations with good gunplay. However, Watch Dogs has two problems: driving isn't at all polished and has some graphical issues. The Wii U version doesn't justify the delay.
  9. Nov 30, 2014
    40
    Definitely not the worst multiformat port a Nintendo console has had to endure, but the low frame rate and lack of new features makes it almost entirely pointless.
  10. Jan 15, 2015
    68
    Watch Dogs comes on Wii U six months after the original release with no extra content, no DLCs and some framerate issues: definitely not a big deal for Nintendo users.
  11. Nov 28, 2014
    60
    If the Wii U is your only console, then Watch Dogs is certainly worth consideration to fill that sizeable open-world gap in your current gaming library. If you have other options, however, it's far tougher to recommend.
  12. 70
    The game isn't bad, far from it even, but the six month wait is a bitter pill to shallow. Not much has been added to make it truly different from other systems and the overall presentation could have been slightly better.
  13. Dec 17, 2014
    70
    There's no reason to buy this WiiU version over any other, especially because the framerate can be very choppy at times, but the game itself is still worthy if you didn't' have the chance to play it elsewhere.
  14. Dec 1, 2014
    75
    Watch Dogs is a good sandbox, but Ubisoft has delivered a version that doesn't take advantage of the unique features of the console.
  15. Dec 17, 2014
    60
    Watch Dogs for Wii U is still a fun game but it is just poorly made. There are a lot of technical problems and driving in particular is really bad. We had to wait six extra months for a mediocre game.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 38
  2. Negative: 17 out of 38
  1. Nov 19, 2014
    0
    So boring & so repetitive.
    Here are the missions :
    1 - Go to a random grey building 2 - Press or Hold "X" to hack 3 - Hurray! 4 - Repeat
    So boring & so repetitive.
    Here are the missions :
    1 - Go to a random grey building
    2 - Press or Hold "X" to hack
    3 - Hurray!
    4 - Repeat
    This game is absolutely boring garbage.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2014
    0
    1) Boring story.
    2) Boring gameplay.
    3) Boring and repetitive missions. 4) Boring hacking. ("Hold X to hack"? Seriously?) 5) Boring and
    1) Boring story.
    2) Boring gameplay.
    3) Boring and repetitive missions.
    4) Boring hacking. ("Hold X to hack"? Seriously?)
    5) Boring and clichéd protagonist.
    6) Banal and boring dialogues.
    7) Boring mini-games.
    8) Boring Chicago.
    The game is full of clichés and uninteresting characters. Are you serious Ubicrap? 0/10
    Full Review »
  3. xrr
    Nov 20, 2014
    0
    I don't want to spend a lot of time to write in details why this game is bad as I already wasted 70 EUR.

    - Graphics are a shame : Strong
    I don't want to spend a lot of time to write in details why this game is bad as I already wasted 70 EUR.

    - Graphics are a shame :
    Strong and permanent aliasing (welcome back to the PS2 era)
    Half of the world pops up (when driving above 20 MPH)

    - Gameplay is at an alpha stage :
    Driving a car makes me laugh
    Driving a bike makes me cry
    Can't jump (and this is annoying)

    This is a first time I write a review online because it is the first time I felt raped.
    Also, because I find it less painful than actually playing to the game.

    I am sure some part of you is still thinking that Watch Dogs could be a good deal if bought used against 20 bucks. It is NOT.

    This game is boring, totally (and will make you sick).
    Full Review »