Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    75
    Some of the options seem superfluous, and the gym functionality is totally ignorable, but it’s still a fun, effective way to get your sweat on.
  2. Dec 16, 2013
    70
    If you're interested in losing weight, Wii Fit U is definitely worth your time. Fans of the original Wii Fit will definitely notice some overlapping content, but it brings enough new to the table to, if nothing else, get you active and moving in your living room.
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    75
    Wii Fit U is an improvement over the original formula, with some nice new modes and the interesting Fit Meter that gives the chance to get the game at a discounted price.
  4. Dec 31, 2013
    85
    The formula keeps evolving, and Wii Fit U offers another fun step to help us get in shape.
  5. Jan 23, 2014
    70
    An admirable attempt at melding physical activity with light-hearted play. [Issue#143, p.115]
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    70
    Meanwhile Wii Fit U's mini-games are fun, but still suffer from being single-player/non-simultaneous multiplayer and there just isn't that much new stuff.
  7. Dec 6, 2013
    80
    There’s no more need to go to the gym, when you have a Wii U. With Wii Fit U you can practice, even when not looking at your TV-screen. However, you’ll need to pay a lot of money for all the attributes you need.
  8. 90
    While it would be nice if more difficult exercises were readily available from that start and if routines didn’t feature a jerky start-stop-start progression, Wii Fit U remains the best exercise game I’ve ever played.
  9. Dec 11, 2013
    70
    There’s not a lot that the Wii U can really do to improve the Wii Fit experience but this is still a useful entry point for the exercise averse.
  10. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    While the exercises it offers still aren't intensive enough to replace traditional exercise, it’s nevertheless an entertaining way for players of all fitness levels and ages to be more active and conscious of the importance of keeping fit.
  11. A classy, thoughtful update that packages the best of the previous Wii Fit games with some ace new mini-games. A genuinely fun flab-shifter. [Jan 2014, p.84]
  12. 60
    The same bunch of exercises spiced up with a few new features, like the ability to use gamepad as a display. The game is a proven recipe and it’ll keep you occupied for a while. [Issue#238]
  13. Mar 23, 2014
    80
    Although it doesn't serve as a replacement for regular exercise, Wii Fit U is probably the best game in its genre, and with the existence of the Fit Meter, is a great way to keep track of and accompany daily activities.
  14. Jan 24, 2014
    50
    If your goal is simply to be more active, of if you're just starting to dabble in dedicated personal fitness, Wii Fit U will probably fit the bill. If you're willing to put in the legwork to create a regular regimen and stick with it, you can definitely get a good workout. Anyone seeking detailed fitness guidance and structure should look elsewhere.
  15. Dec 26, 2013
    80
    Wii Fit U really does take advantage of the software and hardware available, even if there are a lot of individual devices to keep track of.
  16. Dec 20, 2013
    45
    Wii Fit U isn't a meaningful solution to getting active and in shape; it's a half-assed stepping stone at best.
  17. Nov 14, 2013
    80
    Bringing forward all of what made Wii Fit so great in the first place, then adding new features and the Wii Fit Meter means that Wii Fit U is an excellent package designed to get friends and family playing games while getting fitter.
  18. Jan 2, 2014
    90
    While the majority of Wii Fit U isn't as "hardcore" as some fitness buffs may like, it does provide an enormously friendly, approachable entry point into the world of exercise for those who may have struggled with motivation in the past. Featuring a swathe of enjoyable games and a wealth of helpful advice, it's a great starting point on a journey towards a leaner, meaner you.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Apr 12, 2014
    8
    A fun game that can be enjoyed by gamers, casual gamers, people who like exercise or just normal people. The only people who wouldn't like this game are lazy people :P. This would be a 9/10, however there are a few broken controls in the game. I could not get Rock Climbing to work, so that was a dissapointment, in all of the dancing minigames, you have to strongly move your arms for the sensor to detect the movement and the altitude on the wii fit meter is sometimes faulty. However, everything else in the game is fun due to having all the minigames from Wii Fit, plus new minigames added in Wii Fit U including a whole new dancing mode, where you can select different styles of dancing and inclusion of the Wii Fit Meter, which you can use to track your steps and altitude. You can use your steps and altitude from the Wii Fit Meter to take part in Walking and Altitude challenges, where you have to walk the distance or go in the altitude of somewhere (for example, a tour round New York, a tour round Italy, the statue of liberty and the pyramids). This game rewards you in many ways. As most games do, you are rewarded with a high score you can show off with. You are also given unlockable costumes for your Mii Character to wear, which you unlock for completing challenges. And the most obvious reward is burning off calories, which I, as a gamer do not do often, so to be able to have fun while excersising is a very good thing for me. Full Review »
  2. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    This is a great fitness game. I have two 13 year old boys and a 17 year old daughter. I tried the game first and liked it, even though my balance is terrible and it rated me older than my physical age. Once my kids tried the game, and saw how cute and fun it is, it's been in daily use. All my kids and my daughter's boyfriend have accounts on it and play it together (one at a time), laughing and joking all the way.

    I recommend this as a mild to moderate fitness game that's a lot of fun, gives you a wide range of fitness activities, and tracks your progress to help you meet your fitness goals. I just got the Wii U Fit Meter and it works. I can't say how well yet, but the meter is $20 and is small and discreet enough to wear at work, so I'm looking forward to carrying it all day. The price is so low, I'm not stressed about breaking or losing it.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    Wii Fit U is similar to the Wii version but adds some exercises, dance routines, and games among other features such as gym communities. The coolest new feature is the pedometer that tracks steps and calories burned. If you enjoyed the original then you will enjoy the Wii U version especially if you take advantage of the promotion that gives the game free with a $20 pedometer purchase. My score is only hindered because I expected more updates than what was included in the game (yoga and exercises in particular), otherwise it is a "game" worth owning. Full Review »