User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 10 out of 46

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    Wii Fit U is a game that does exactly what it sets out to do; it battles the bulge and tones those glutes! In all seriousness, Wii Fit U is largely similar to the two previous instalments on Wii. The differences, however, are significant enough to keep the game fresh namely the mini-games that involve the use of the GamePad and the inclusion of the Fit Meter as an additional peripheral. The Fit Meter works like a dream, and shows up many other pedometers on the market in doing so. Steps, calories burned, an altitude graph and a METs graph are all able to be viewed on the Fit Meter, with temperature and time also viewable. Not to mention a picture of your Mii's face with a few little animations! Sync the Fit Meter with the GamePad to view a full-colour bar graph of your energy output and altitude on the Wii U. If a calorie goal has been set for the day, and you haven't met your quota, Wii Fit U will recommend exercises you can do in-game so that your quota is met. Fit Meter Challenges allow for long-term goals by translating distances and altitudes onto famous areas and landmarks, complete with some trivia from the talking Balance Board. Wii Fit U isn't the most revolutionary fitness game, and a lot of it is rehashed from the past instalments. But that doesn't take away from the fact that this is a great game to consult about getting fit, and does little to suggest otherwise. Expand
  2. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    I can't say I love Wii Fit U to bits, because it really hasn't changed that much, but it's still a welcomed iteration into the series. The game pad makes it a lot easier and viable to do some quick strength workouts and body tests since it isn't based off of the Wiimote's point and click interface that had many in conniptions. True, the social gym feature didn't have me on the edge of my seat, but it's a nice higher quality step up from Wii Fit Plus. Expand
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    This is a great fitness game. I have two 13 year old boys and a 17 year old daughter. I tried the game first and liked it, even though my balance is terrible and it rated me older than my physical age. Once my kids tried the game, and saw how cute and fun it is, it's been in daily use. All my kids and my daughter's boyfriend have accounts on it and play it together (one at a time), laughing and joking all the way.

    I recommend this as a mild to moderate fitness game that's a lot of fun, gives you a wide range of fitness activities, and tracks your progress to help you meet your fitness goals. I just got the Wii U Fit Meter and it works. I can't say how well yet, but the meter is $20 and is small and discreet enough to wear at work, so I'm looking forward to carrying it all day. The price is so low, I'm not stressed about breaking or losing it.
    Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2013
    8
    Despite not adding that many new exercises, and getting rid of some of my favorites, this is still my favorite Wii Fit game out of all 3. Some of the new aerobic exercises and balancing games make great use of the gamepad, and while some of the controls are hard, they get easier to use if you play the game long enough. Another thing I like is the fitness meter, it's surprisingly fun to try to complete the challenges in the game. Basically if you want a game that is both fun and one that will give you a nice workout, then I suggest giving this game a try. Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2014
    8
    A fun game that can be enjoyed by gamers, casual gamers, people who like exercise or just normal people. The only people who wouldn't like this game are lazy people :P. This would be a 9/10, however there are a few broken controls in the game. I could not get Rock Climbing to work, so that was a dissapointment, in all of the dancing minigames, you have to strongly move your arms for the sensor to detect the movement and the altitude on the wii fit meter is sometimes faulty. However, everything else in the game is fun due to having all the minigames from Wii Fit, plus new minigames added in Wii Fit U including a whole new dancing mode, where you can select different styles of dancing and inclusion of the Wii Fit Meter, which you can use to track your steps and altitude. You can use your steps and altitude from the Wii Fit Meter to take part in Walking and Altitude challenges, where you have to walk the distance or go in the altitude of somewhere (for example, a tour round New York, a tour round Italy, the statue of liberty and the pyramids). This game rewards you in many ways. As most games do, you are rewarded with a high score you can show off with. You are also given unlockable costumes for your Mii Character to wear, which you unlock for completing challenges. And the most obvious reward is burning off calories, which I, as a gamer do not do often, so to be able to have fun while excersising is a very good thing for me. Expand
  6. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    Wii Fit U is similar to the Wii version but adds some exercises, dance routines, and games among other features such as gym communities. The coolest new feature is the pedometer that tracks steps and calories burned. If you enjoyed the original then you will enjoy the Wii U version especially if you take advantage of the promotion that gives the game free with a $20 pedometer purchase. My score is only hindered because I expected more updates than what was included in the game (yoga and exercises in particular), otherwise it is a "game" worth owning. Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    4
    Since downloading this software a month ago I have been calling it Wii Fit because essentially it is Wii Fit Plus and a few new games and features. I had hoped for a complete remodeling of the Wii Fit concept, so what I got was disappointing. I would have preferred Nintendo take another year and then release something a lot more innovative. The good thing about Wii Fit U is the price. Since I already had a balance board all I had to pay for was the Fit Meter(a pedometer which tracks altitude as well as movement). So the new software and the meter only cost me about $25.

    Others have criticized Wii Fit for not offering enough challenge. This is still true. Wii Fit U doesn't offer much to challenge you, or to help burn calories quickly. I am using it as a hub to upload and track my calorie totals using the Fit meter. I can see how many calories I have burned over the past few days, and track my BMI for the purpose of hitting goals. That is about the extent of my use of the new stuff. The new features aside from the new games Wii Fit U offers are not much of a draw for me. I'm not using the gym feature. I am using the Fit meter goals, but they are quite lame, and I think I probably won't make use of those in the future.

    This software is very disappointing to me even with the price offered to owners of a balance board.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. May 11, 2014
    83
    Wii Fit U is the second updated edition of Wii Fit. More of the same, then. Which is mainly a good thing. [Feb 2014]
  2. Mar 23, 2014
    80
    Although it doesn't serve as a replacement for regular exercise, Wii Fit U is probably the best game in its genre, and with the existence of the Fit Meter, is a great way to keep track of and accompany daily activities.
  3. Jan 24, 2014
    50
    If your goal is simply to be more active, of if you're just starting to dabble in dedicated personal fitness, Wii Fit U will probably fit the bill. If you're willing to put in the legwork to create a regular regimen and stick with it, you can definitely get a good workout. Anyone seeking detailed fitness guidance and structure should look elsewhere.