• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2012
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 627 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    pues la verdad hasta ahora es el mejor survival horror que hay no puedo encontrar otro juego que trate de hacerlo como zombieu ya que muchos tratan de hacerlo mejor pero lamentablemente zombieu les gana es una lastima que ubisoft diga que no vendio bien cuando todos sabemos que si en fin si tienes wii u y aun no lo tienes ve a buscarlo creeme vale la pena jugarlo
  2. Sep 26, 2014
    9
    I'm wondering if people who play games on the Wii U actually play on an HDTV. The way Skyward Sword intentionally had that watermark look (which made the game look better imo) ZombiU had that "retro" survival look and it looked good on my tv. Sure at some points combat became stale or repetitive, but the real drawback to the game was the way the "quick select" buttons were laid out. ThisI'm wondering if people who play games on the Wii U actually play on an HDTV. The way Skyward Sword intentionally had that watermark look (which made the game look better imo) ZombiU had that "retro" survival look and it looked good on my tv. Sure at some points combat became stale or repetitive, but the real drawback to the game was the way the "quick select" buttons were laid out. This game does what a good Zombie survival game is supposed to do. Guess people were expecting CoD Nazi zombies. Glad I picked this game up. Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2014
    9
    Quality, quality, quality game. Truly unique and innovative. Genuinely scary. This is a must-have game on the Wii U. There are no other games like it on any platform.

    It's not a run-and-gun zombie shooting game, like basically every other zombie game, but a real survival game. You rarely use guns, ammo is severely limited. Your main weapon is a cricket bat. It's more about wondering if
    Quality, quality, quality game. Truly unique and innovative. Genuinely scary. This is a must-have game on the Wii U. There are no other games like it on any platform.

    It's not a run-and-gun zombie shooting game, like basically every other zombie game, but a real survival game. You rarely use guns, ammo is severely limited. Your main weapon is a cricket bat. It's more about wondering if there is a zombie around the corner... or worse, more than 1 (you rarely survive encounters with 3 or more zombies). The lighting is fantastic as you can see almost nothing, so have to use your gamepad (which acts as a scanner) to see some rooms. This all adds to the creepyness of the game.

    It can get incredibly creepy if you play in the dark, especially at the times when you have to look at the gamepad (e.g., for hunting around in the backpack or lockpicking) and then you look up to see a zombie staring at you in the face.

    And, just now, I had a situation where someone else playing their game affected mine - my character died, so my new character had to go and retrieve their backpack from the (now zombiefied old character).... Only thing is, by the time I got there, some other player killed them first and took everything! All my guns, medpacs, grenades, etc. These are NOT easy to find, and I had them for 10 hours of the game up until that point! That means I am now far in the game, but have almost no items, thus making it 10x harder. I've never seen this in a game before, and is very cool. It means you really do not want to die, as you could lose everything.

    The only issue I have had with this game are the loading screens (which aren't Lego City Undercover terrible).

    Honestly, though, this is a very underrated game. I don't even like zombie games, but this is great. You will not be disappointed. What a great game!
    Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2014
    10
    ZombiU is a very refreshing game, that deserves being praised a lot more than it was. Don't expect to be running around blasting zombies with a rocket launcher! No, you'll be slowly moving in dark corridors, checking every corner, and praying you won't run into a pack of zombies because you are almost out of ammo... There is a lot of tension, as the game is unforgiving and a small mistakeZombiU is a very refreshing game, that deserves being praised a lot more than it was. Don't expect to be running around blasting zombies with a rocket launcher! No, you'll be slowly moving in dark corridors, checking every corner, and praying you won't run into a pack of zombies because you are almost out of ammo... There is a lot of tension, as the game is unforgiving and a small mistake can get you killed (and the death mechanics are really cool, putting high pressure in the recovery of your former self's gear). A really great game if you're up to a (scary) challenge! Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2014
    9
    I can't remember playing a game that keeps you on edge more than this. It isn't perfect by any means but the experience of playing it is top notch. Using headphones amplifies that feeling of terror as you hear zombies lurking or coming for you. Ubisoft uses the gamepad as well as any game thus far. It could use more polish and refinement but graphically it was very good. They definitelyI can't remember playing a game that keeps you on edge more than this. It isn't perfect by any means but the experience of playing it is top notch. Using headphones amplifies that feeling of terror as you hear zombies lurking or coming for you. Ubisoft uses the gamepad as well as any game thus far. It could use more polish and refinement but graphically it was very good. They definitely took some shortcuts with the routes you needed to take to get to places looking too similar. It is a must own game for the Wii U though and really..only a couple stupid reviews (IGN) keep this score down. It's a solid 8 overall but a 9 for the Wii U. Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    No Other Game Like It On Consoles Or PC. Now I Find Every Other Game To Be Irrelevant To Me. Zombi U Has Extremely Fun Gameplay. Cricket Bat is utterly boring. But I manage to go through most of the game without it. BECAUSE I MANAGE. I PREPARE. AND THATS WHAT THIS GAME TEACHES YOU. PREPARATION. USE NEW METHODS. SURVIVE.

    The story builds up at a very good pace, but what lies under it is
    No Other Game Like It On Consoles Or PC. Now I Find Every Other Game To Be Irrelevant To Me. Zombi U Has Extremely Fun Gameplay. Cricket Bat is utterly boring. But I manage to go through most of the game without it. BECAUSE I MANAGE. I PREPARE. AND THATS WHAT THIS GAME TEACHES YOU. PREPARATION. USE NEW METHODS. SURVIVE.

    The story builds up at a very good pace, but what lies under it is a great amount of subtext.

    I'm just going to say... best game made by Ubisoft to date.
    Expand
  7. Jul 11, 2014
    9
    I would rate the scare factor up there with Fatal Frame. I would rate the zombie content next to Resident Evil. I felt that the game play was satisfactory and the graphics were good, not great, but definitely solid. The bugs have been fixed as far as I can tell. I have never encountered any except for when I phased through a gate getting an item. I didn't mind though because it saved meI would rate the scare factor up there with Fatal Frame. I would rate the zombie content next to Resident Evil. I felt that the game play was satisfactory and the graphics were good, not great, but definitely solid. The bugs have been fixed as far as I can tell. I have never encountered any except for when I phased through a gate getting an item. I didn't mind though because it saved me time walking the long way around to get it lol. The game is slow, that is until you learn how to play it. The slow pace builds suspense. It is an intense game and I love it. On my second play through I figured out how to use crawl points and bottle necks to kill zombies easier. I've also found explosives in the areas I can shoot to kill more zombies, learned how to use the flares, mines, and molotov cocktails. The thing is you need to learn how to survive and once you do this game becomes awesome and allows for multiple strategies. Most people I've seen play this hate it because they don't understand it and how to play it properly. It is not a FPS run and gun. You have to think about your next move if you want to survive. Expand
  8. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    One of the few modern day survival horror games. It is thrilling, intense and you will die.

    If you can look past the obvious flaws you will find a great and terrifying experience
  9. Jul 5, 2014
    9
    This is exactly what a wii u game should play like , it utilizes the gamepad perfectly and its an also very fun survivor horror first person shooter , lots of weapons to choose from , zombies to kill , and hidden paths everywhere , it was a great launch title , nowadays you can get it for 20$ and its worth every penny
  10. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    I bought this at launch along with New Super Mario and CoD Black Ops 2. I played this through over and over again. Whenever I tried the other games I got bored and went back to ZombiU. I have no idea how people can hate on this. I imagine they were brought up on modern games that are really just linear movie like experiences with save points every two minutes.

    My wife actually loves
    I bought this at launch along with New Super Mario and CoD Black Ops 2. I played this through over and over again. Whenever I tried the other games I got bored and went back to ZombiU. I have no idea how people can hate on this. I imagine they were brought up on modern games that are really just linear movie like experiences with save points every two minutes.

    My wife actually loves watching me play ZombiU and will bribe me to play it just so she can watch.
    Expand
  11. May 4, 2014
    9
    ZombiU is an amazing Zombie Survival horror game. Call me a fanboy, but I love the survival element in the game. What people don't like in it is that it's actually challenging. Every corner, every street and every hallway can have a painful death. Its scary, quick paced and the local multiplayer is fun! The big problem I had was the lack of weapons. Really, all I need is a shotgun and aZombiU is an amazing Zombie Survival horror game. Call me a fanboy, but I love the survival element in the game. What people don't like in it is that it's actually challenging. Every corner, every street and every hallway can have a painful death. Its scary, quick paced and the local multiplayer is fun! The big problem I had was the lack of weapons. Really, all I need is a shotgun and a pistol, but you get the idea. It needed a lot more weapons. Not coming from a "fanboy" perspective...I just liked the challenge. ZombiU gets 9/10. Expand
  12. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    I don't understand how this game is so underrated. It's the return of the classic horror games. I haven't played something this scary since the first Silent Hill titles. It's a very good game considering that it is a launch title. The atmosphere is very well done, it has one of the best GamePad uses yet and even tough it doesn't have online multiplayer, you can find your friends in theI don't understand how this game is so underrated. It's the return of the classic horror games. I haven't played something this scary since the first Silent Hill titles. It's a very good game considering that it is a launch title. The atmosphere is very well done, it has one of the best GamePad uses yet and even tough it doesn't have online multiplayer, you can find your friends in the game if the have played it and interact with them in some way ;). It's a fantastical game. Short but from my point of view a very good experience. If you have a Wii U and you haven't played it yet, I don't know what are you waiting for. You can find it now anywhere for less than 10€. Expand
  13. Mar 14, 2014
    9
    I absolutely love Zombi U. Don't expect a game where you'll be immersed in some incredible storyline and lovable characters-this game isn't really about that. It's all about creating a terrifying atmosphere where you feel really alone and where you get legitimately scared and panicked when a group of zombies comes out of nowhere. Sometimes I find myself fumbling through my inventoryI absolutely love Zombi U. Don't expect a game where you'll be immersed in some incredible storyline and lovable characters-this game isn't really about that. It's all about creating a terrifying atmosphere where you feel really alone and where you get legitimately scared and panicked when a group of zombies comes out of nowhere. Sometimes I find myself fumbling through my inventory haphazardly when I'm caught off guard by zombies because I wasn't prepared for it. It's a rush! I even start shooting poorly because I'm so panicked. It's just plain creepy and unpredictable. Best part about it is that once you die, you start as a new survivor with hardly any supplies (I'm sure you knew that). But that makes me try SO HARD to stay alive, making any zombie encounter terrifyingly realistic. Most first person shooters can't create those types of emotions because you know you'll just respawn again in a location right near where you died and you don't have anything to lose. Not in Zombi U. Survival means everything. Highly recommended. Expand
  14. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    This game certainly deserved better reviews than what it got. The controls were frustrating at first, but then I actually grew to like the sense of limited movement. Its not like CoD at all. It feels like you are actually controlling a human body and all the physical limitations that entails. It contributes greatly to the frantic, scrambling, survival sense. The game has some genuineThis game certainly deserved better reviews than what it got. The controls were frustrating at first, but then I actually grew to like the sense of limited movement. Its not like CoD at all. It feels like you are actually controlling a human body and all the physical limitations that entails. It contributes greatly to the frantic, scrambling, survival sense. The game has some genuine fright to it and has a 2 player mode that is not only funny, but also creative and extremely entertaining. I wouldve liked to see more options with melee combat besides a single weapon (a cricket bat) since you are very limited on ammo, but I think Ubisoft did a great thing with this game, and I would love to see a sequel where they refine some of these issues. Expand
  15. Dec 24, 2013
    9
    (This is a very long review that goes in depth) I'm a bit late to the ZombiU launch date, this was supposed to be one of the Wii U's main launch title and was supposed to showcase how to the gamepad can be used in harmony with the TV.It does that exactly. ZombiU is Zombie thriller that focuses not on the shoot and hope you dont die gameplay but instead takes Zombie killing back to its(This is a very long review that goes in depth) I'm a bit late to the ZombiU launch date, this was supposed to be one of the Wii U's main launch title and was supposed to showcase how to the gamepad can be used in harmony with the TV.It does that exactly. ZombiU is Zombie thriller that focuses not on the shoot and hope you dont die gameplay but instead takes Zombie killing back to its roots.Focusing in on planning, conservation of ammo, if you try to run and shoot on this you are going to last 10 minutes.ZombiU reminds me of the days back when the N64 had resident evil. You were on edge, it was tough gameplay you had to be wise with the little ammo you had. ZombiU is probably one of the greatest Zombie games ever and one of the greatest FPS games ever. ZombiU in my opinion has achieved its goal of being realistic, tense but at the same time give a Zombie experience that is ultimately fun and memorable. The story line is a bit confusing at places especially at the start with Some "Prepper" telling what to do but does get interesting I wont spoil the fun though.I'll split the rest of the review into specific features of the game.

    Setting/Location-
    The setting being London is an interesting choice to say the least as here in the UK you would have trouble finding any firearm unless its an air rifle. Also being set in London a city makes the chances of anyone owning an axe or chainsaw extremely unlikely but that all aside, I personally love the settings a trip to the The Tower Of London is something I will not likely forget. If have you played the demo you would have completed the nursery level, that nursery is one the most scariest Zombie experience I have ever had. 9/10

    Combat-
    A lot of people complain about the clunky combat in this game and the lack of extra melee weapons but this all adds to the realism of the game, as I said earlier its unlikely that you will find anything better. As for the clunky combat I dont think its that clunky but this also adds to the ever increasing difficulty of the game. A great way to get more used to the combat is to play the multiplayer which is excellent. The combat at times is very clunky but again gives you a challenge (And I play it on Chicken Level). There is quite a range of guns to find and use from the Desert Eagle (Known in the game as the magnum I think) to the silent deadly Crossbow which is a very fun weapon to use. 8/10

    Difficulty-
    I would like to think I'm quite the expert gamer choosing to play a lot of games on the hardest setting, but this was a challenge for me I chose to play on Chicken which was the only one other that normal. I assume it makes the zombies more docile and not quite as sharp but even with that 3 hours I had already died 5 times. Which sounds fine if I was playing a simple die and respawn from the last checkpoint game but alas this game decided to put an interesting spin in that, everytime you die in this game you respawn but at the safe house and as a different survivor, your previous survivor has now turned into a zombie and has all of its weapons with it and you have to go and find to get it all back. Making this a frustrating yet challenging way to die and respawn. 10/10

    Multiplayer-
    A small feature with huge potential. Multiplayer is a great way to showcase the gamepads features and makes me wish there was a RTS game for Wii U. Play as the King of Zombies who can spawn zombies to attack a survivor (Player 2 with a Wii Nunchuk Combo or Wii U Pro Controller) capture flags and try to stop the survivor capturing flags. I have had a lot of fun with multiplayer unfortunately limited by only playing with 2 players this shows what can be done in the future with FPS games imagine spawning MW3 juggernauts to try and kill the other players and this could be done online. There are 3 modes in ZombiU's multiplayer Assault basically CTF, Kill Box where the survivor just needs to kill as many zombies as they can, Survival where its time based as opposed to kill based (this is a Uplay reward)
    Overall Multiplayer has a lot of potential 9/10

    Graphics-
    This is a let-down unfortunately they're not great but they aren't necessarily bad, they could just be improved is all I will say. 7/10

    Gamepad Use-
    This is amazing giving a constant map, letting you scan rooms for items saves so much time but the gamepad use also adds another great amount of difficulty as the game does not pause for you while arranging your equipment or picking a lock so while your attention is fixed on the gamepad on the TV a zombie could be right behind you this adds more difficulty to the game. Overall this game gives us the reason why the Wii U has a gamepad 10/10

    Overall this is a must buy and with the talk of a 26th December eshop sale with ZombiU being reduced to 7.99 there is no reason not to buy this. This game has laid down the foundation for many more great Wii U games. I hope there is a sequel even if it has to be cross platform. 9/10 game
    Expand
  16. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    I have no clue why so many critics gave this game a bad review. Sure, there are some bugs, but none of them are game-breaking. It's a great game, and I would love for Ubisoft to make a sequel and fix some things and add a few things that are missing, but the game itself is pretty amazing, and one of the only games i have ever played, on any system, that has made me truly scared.
  17. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    I actually give it a 10 because it was a 3rd party game ready at launch that utilizes the WiiU gamepad tremendously. Feature after feauture consistantly very impressive. It is the game I still play the most often. Lots to do and discover. It is a true survival horror game that is fun to pick up and play and very intense with a sound system or even playing the game in the dark. It canI actually give it a 10 because it was a 3rd party game ready at launch that utilizes the WiiU gamepad tremendously. Feature after feauture consistantly very impressive. It is the game I still play the most often. Lots to do and discover. It is a true survival horror game that is fun to pick up and play and very intense with a sound system or even playing the game in the dark. It can be scary. Don't panic. Good luck! Expand
  18. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    Situative fear is just awesome in this game! You really fear for your life, not like in resident evils or whatever. Love it and the way you can explore and search for stuff, use it wise!
  19. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    If you plan on buying this game, know this: this is not a FPS, this is a first person survival horror game that has shooting in its gameplay.
    that being said, the game is just awesome. zombies are tough and you need some time to kill one. you are not supposed to run n' gun zombies like most fps games, and instead you have to be methodical, scanning your enviroments, finding supplies and
    If you plan on buying this game, know this: this is not a FPS, this is a first person survival horror game that has shooting in its gameplay.
    that being said, the game is just awesome. zombies are tough and you need some time to kill one. you are not supposed to run n' gun zombies like most fps games, and instead you have to be methodical, scanning your enviroments, finding supplies and advancing slowly.
    One mistake might cost you a survivor's life, and then you become a new survivor. You can even hunt down the old survivor (now a zombie) and kill him to get his items back. neat.
    one advice: don't listen to reviewers who say the game is too hard or boring. they are the ones playing this with the wrong expectations.
    and know this: if you get past the first confusing hour of the game, it becomes a unique experience, unlike any other in this generation.
    Expand
  20. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    This is the game that made me buy the Wii U. ZombiU is as survival as it can be. Every zombie is a threat, ammo is limited, and dying have consequences (in most cases you lose your stuff, and you have to go from your safe house to where you died to recover them). This game doesn't pause when you look at your inventory, read some document, or picklock a door (but there is a pause button, ifThis is the game that made me buy the Wii U. ZombiU is as survival as it can be. Every zombie is a threat, ammo is limited, and dying have consequences (in most cases you lose your stuff, and you have to go from your safe house to where you died to recover them). This game doesn't pause when you look at your inventory, read some document, or picklock a door (but there is a pause button, if you need a break and you haven't saved). The difficulty is medium to hard; but it can be increased with the option of 1 life game over.

    The graphics are average (for today standards); but if you are used to Wii games, you'll look at this as a huge improvement. The overall ambiance feels dark, deserted, and sometimes frightening. The horror factor comes from the sound department, the eerie locations, and occasionally sudden panic situations (like a horde coming to kill you).

    It lacks online multiplayer mode; but there is offline multiplayer, with one player controling the survivor with a Wiimote and nunchuck, or a Wii U Controller Pro, and the other deploys zombies in the map with the gamepad. Here the game is more action oriented. In single player mode, the game keeps a score that is published online, and appears in other people games if it's on the top ones.

    ZombiU had the potential of being the best horror game in this generation; but it fell short in the graphic aspect, and it didn't went as deep into twisted situations that games like Silent Hill and Amnesia did. However it's still a great game, and I highly recommend it.
    Expand
  21. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    What can videogames produce? What is their goal? I do believe VG are art, so they want to communicate, create experiences. ZombiU is one of the freshest experiences out there. You'll see people speaking about graphics and bla bla bla, this game is a MUST HAVE, an unique experience. Do you want to play generic games or have unique experiences? Your call
  22. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    Que jogão! Obrigatório pra quem fã de games de terror (não tão assustador assim, mas te deixa muito apreensivo e te da VÁRIOS sustos). Foi o primeiro jogo que joguei no Wii U então ele que me apresentou e me apaixonou pelo Wii U. Não compre o jogo achando que vai jogar um "Left 4 Dead", pq não Você vai ter que economizar munição sempre que possível, você vai morrer muito, muitas vezesQue jogão! Obrigatório pra quem fã de games de terror (não tão assustador assim, mas te deixa muito apreensivo e te da VÁRIOS sustos). Foi o primeiro jogo que joguei no Wii U então ele que me apresentou e me apaixonou pelo Wii U. Não compre o jogo achando que vai jogar um "Left 4 Dead", pq não Você vai ter que economizar munição sempre que possível, você vai morrer muito, muitas vezes você tem que evitar os Zumbis e SEMPRE vai ter que pensar no que vai fazer. Expand
  23. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    After reading reviews that were either great or quite bad, I was still intrigued by this game. after passing it this is a great ride and is definitely worth a visit. the atmosphere and tension in this game is terrific I could feel my heart pumping sometimes as you never know what to expect around the corner. This is survival horror and you will die many times but this is part of the fun.After reading reviews that were either great or quite bad, I was still intrigued by this game. after passing it this is a great ride and is definitely worth a visit. the atmosphere and tension in this game is terrific I could feel my heart pumping sometimes as you never know what to expect around the corner. This is survival horror and you will die many times but this is part of the fun. There are some issues I had loading times were sometimes all over the place when just opening a door and it would be great if you could mark things on your map so you know where you need to trace back to if necessary.

    You aren't given an unlimited supply of ammo or health recovery but this is part of the fun you really need to plan and strategise how you will survive for the next mission and I really liked this. The Wii U game pad is also used well serving as a map, inventory holder and also a cool feature where you can use it to scan your surroundings in the game for hidden secrets or messages. I was quite impressed and had a great time with it.

    This game may not be for everyone but if you want a suspenseful, scary yet fun game this is for you. Patience is key to this game if you don't have it, then you won't survive very long.
    Expand
  24. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    Now, this is what I'd call a Survival-Horror game! It has a high difficulty level and a great, tense atmosphere.

    Loved it al the way though, the 13 hours it lasted, feeling the thrills every second. Cons are graphics look a little outdated and the story is somewhat shallow, but the Gamepad adds a lot to the game play (radar and Backpack checking. You don't know how tense the game can
    Now, this is what I'd call a Survival-Horror game! It has a high difficulty level and a great, tense atmosphere.

    Loved it al the way though, the 13 hours it lasted, feeling the thrills every second.

    Cons are graphics look a little outdated and the story is somewhat shallow, but the Gamepad adds a lot to the game play (radar and Backpack checking. You don't know how tense the game can get with just those two features)

    It has nice reply value, too. Try playing in cooperating with others via Miiverse and the game renders an awesome online-multiplayer-like experience!!

    And that's enough for me to give it a 9.
    Expand
  25. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    I couldn’t help feeling sad after finishing this game. This is one of those games you don’t want to finish in a good way). I choose to play this game at night with no one around to bother me, It was an amazing experience. The way the gamepad works is such an awesome addition, you don’t feel save going through your inventory, i kept watching every 2 seconds at the TV if i was not beingI couldn’t help feeling sad after finishing this game. This is one of those games you don’t want to finish in a good way). I choose to play this game at night with no one around to bother me, It was an amazing experience. The way the gamepad works is such an awesome addition, you don’t feel save going through your inventory, i kept watching every 2 seconds at the TV if i was not being attack from behind.
    Even though you find some powerful weapons you never feel save wandering around London, you have to make strategy’s to make it out alive in the best way possible since you don’t want to spoil all your ammo at once. There have been times my hart of was pounding so fast and so hard i had to just stop playing this game. But there is a catch.. you can’t just save on the spot. You will have to find your save zone and save over there. ZombiU is a true survival and those who gave this a low rating are either not very good at it or don’t want to take their time to play through this game.
    Expand
  26. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    These days it's hard to find a survival horror games. Sure there's still resident evil and stuff like that but they aren't really "scary" then came e3 2012 where ubisoft showed off their ambitious exclusive for wiiu. So how was the game? Amazing. It is survival horror at its finest. I'm willing to put this up with games like re4. Actually scratch that this is BETTER than re4. No AshleyThese days it's hard to find a survival horror games. Sure there's still resident evil and stuff like that but they aren't really "scary" then came e3 2012 where ubisoft showed off their ambitious exclusive for wiiu. So how was the game? Amazing. It is survival horror at its finest. I'm willing to put this up with games like re4. Actually scratch that this is BETTER than re4. No Ashley Graham's whining no qte's just killing zombies. While this isn't the graphical showcase for the u since you can't see anything in the dark the presentation is this games strongpoint. Ubisoft paid tons of attention to detail and it shows. Zombies growl unsettlingly making you tap your radar which also picks up rats and crows so you may see a ton of rats on your radar and become pale. Your character makes whimper noises while using the backpack where there are zombies it's great. The gameplay is ok but nothing to special. It makes good use of the gameplay but the cb combat is clunky and unsatisfying although I don't imagine it being to satisfying during the apocalypse so ill let this one slide. Zombiu is a great action packed adventure that every wiiu owner should experience. Don't let this one pass you by. It rocks. Expand
  27. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    This game, for me, is one of the few actual survival-horror titles to come out in the last few years. Not only did it instill a true sense of dread and tension but it made me cautious of my every move and think about every situation. One of my favourite games of 2012 and a game I still enjoy playing now. A real slice of terror instead of the copy and paste spam fests of other 'tripple A' games.
  28. Mar 31, 2013
    9
    ZombiU is a great game. While it misses on a few elements such as how many times it takes to kill a zombie with the melee weapon and maybe not having the most coherent story, what the game does well makes these flaws an afterthought. I don't think I've ever played a game that had me on my toes as much as this one. When a zombie pops up behind you or around a corner it's legitimatelyZombiU is a great game. While it misses on a few elements such as how many times it takes to kill a zombie with the melee weapon and maybe not having the most coherent story, what the game does well makes these flaws an afterthought. I don't think I've ever played a game that had me on my toes as much as this one. When a zombie pops up behind you or around a corner it's legitimately frightening. It's hard to understand the ign and gamestop reviews, I would of thought this game would be hailed as innovative and taking risks, unlike many of the FPS type games out today. The atmosphere of this game is really something special. Expand
  29. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    So far, the best Wii U game to date. It has completely changed the survivor/zombie game dynamic since Left 4 Dead. L4D was all about pure survival against the herd. ZombiU is the Splinter Cell of zombie games. You need to sneak around, listen to the radio voice and avoid surprises. ZombiU utilizes the game pad extraordinarily, even incorporated it into the game itself with having theSo far, the best Wii U game to date. It has completely changed the survivor/zombie game dynamic since Left 4 Dead. L4D was all about pure survival against the herd. ZombiU is the Splinter Cell of zombie games. You need to sneak around, listen to the radio voice and avoid surprises. ZombiU utilizes the game pad extraordinarily, even incorporated it into the game itself with having the character holding one. My one and only complaint is that there are portions that seem repetitive, but Ubi managed to fix it in some areas by having different looking zombies.

    Are you wondering about playing it? Oh definitely. Buy it? Oh I highly recommend it.
    Expand
  30. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    ZombiU is one of the greater zombie games developed. It has a more haunting and creepy atmosphere than most zombie games. I feel that Nintendo achieved this with the lack of zombies you encounter. Sure, there isn't one around every corner, but that sense of surprise when you do come across one of the undead only adds to the intensity of the game.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 70
  2. Negative: 1 out of 70
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    51
    It takes a couple of hours to fully realize that ZombiU – not an eerie game, but a rather eerily boring one – is a goner. I hope that Ubisoft will hack the head off this franchise before it turns into ZombiU 2 and starts biting people’s wallets.
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    86
    An intense experience. ZombiU delivers one of the most intense experiences in recent history. Moody, violent and suitably tough, it managed to keep me playing long into the night. [Jan 2013]
  3. Jan 16, 2013
    90
    For fans of the survival horror genre, ZombiU is filled to the brink with challenges and many hours of gameplay.