• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jul 24, 2007
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RC
    Oct 2, 2007
    9
    Liked it a lot, played for hours and hours and loved the building, and puzzle solving scenarios. For multiplayer, it provided a fun gaming experience.
  2. JohnB.
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    This is a game full of action and good gameplay. If you like dungeon crawlers i would highly recommend it.
  3. [Anonymous]
    Aug 3, 2007
    9
    The graphics are a bit dated, but the good camera and controls, along with plenty of upgrades and items to hunt make this very worthwhile for me.
  4. BarbaraB.
    Aug 8, 2007
    5
    Boooring. The entire game feels like the definition of grinding. Go around this section of maze, kill a bunch of identical enemies, go through the door. Repeat ad nauseum. It doesn't look bad, but it feels like a much less fun gauntlet.
  5. TimF.
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    I just got Alien Syndrome for my Wii and I have to say that I don't understand the "critic's" reviews. This game looks awesome. Maybe if they actually played the Wii version they'd see the difference between it and the PSP version. The special FX for the weapons so far have been awesome, especially the finishing move on the melee staff weapon. And the constant action and I just got Alien Syndrome for my Wii and I have to say that I don't understand the "critic's" reviews. This game looks awesome. Maybe if they actually played the Wii version they'd see the difference between it and the PSP version. The special FX for the weapons so far have been awesome, especially the finishing move on the melee staff weapon. And the constant action and all the cool pickups. This games keeps you going and keeps giving you better and better armor and weapons. Two thumbs up over here so far. Expand
  6. BenH.
    Jul 31, 2007
    3
    In this case, the critics were right. The game boasts generations-old production values, unpolished graphics, and monotonous gameplay that quickly gets stale. And for an action RPG, there's virtually no story worth noting and the options are weak. maybe it would have been a different story if this game wasn't full-priced, but as it stands, it's just trash with a pretty In this case, the critics were right. The game boasts generations-old production values, unpolished graphics, and monotonous gameplay that quickly gets stale. And for an action RPG, there's virtually no story worth noting and the options are weak. maybe it would have been a different story if this game wasn't full-priced, but as it stands, it's just trash with a pretty cover. Skip it. Expand
  7. Roland
    Jul 31, 2007
    9
    Agreed. The critics are stuck in a world of high resolution boring games that look nice but play like crap. Alien syndrome is non-stop action, constant upgrades and different enemies to deal with. The backdrops are some of the best 3d backdrops I have seen in a dungeon crawler. I think the critics need to get it straight that this is not a lifelike first person shooter... it's an Agreed. The critics are stuck in a world of high resolution boring games that look nice but play like crap. Alien syndrome is non-stop action, constant upgrades and different enemies to deal with. The backdrops are some of the best 3d backdrops I have seen in a dungeon crawler. I think the critics need to get it straight that this is not a lifelike first person shooter... it's an above average 3rd person hack n slash that comes through very nice in gameplay. For those that say it's not much of an RPG.... what more do you want? You can level up in 5 different fields of skill and choose between leveling up 30 or so proficencies. Geez... Get a friend and have some fun. That's what this game is all about! Expand
  8. KarenH.
    Aug 5, 2007
    2
    I can't believe I wasted my money on this. Unfortunately for me, it was an impulse buy at a store and I can't believe that I just spent $50 on it. All the reviews are right: this game COULD have been fun, but it's NOT. I don't care about pretty graphics or licenses (I just have a standard TV), but what graphics they had in the game were awful. The gameplay is also I can't believe I wasted my money on this. Unfortunately for me, it was an impulse buy at a store and I can't believe that I just spent $50 on it. All the reviews are right: this game COULD have been fun, but it's NOT. I don't care about pretty graphics or licenses (I just have a standard TV), but what graphics they had in the game were awful. The gameplay is also really bland. What's the point of the melee weapons AT ALL? it's better to be tank for the whole game. The leveling minigame is also really bad. If you lose, it takes away points from your stats! Horrible. Stay away. Expand
  9. AlexisR.
    Nov 3, 2007
    9
    Great game for co-op with non stop upgrades to keep it fun. Yes graphics are a bit dated but fun for the Wii to have a game like this on it;s roster. Its great to see less of the notorious minigame trend occurring in most Wii games but of the few offered here, they are easy to deny play, and continue which I recommend because they are hard and take upgrades away. Good game for non stop Great game for co-op with non stop upgrades to keep it fun. Yes graphics are a bit dated but fun for the Wii to have a game like this on it;s roster. Its great to see less of the notorious minigame trend occurring in most Wii games but of the few offered here, they are easy to deny play, and continue which I recommend because they are hard and take upgrades away. Good game for non stop fun for 2-4 players. Do recommend it. Expand
  10. rocko
    Aug 28, 2007
    8
    For co-op, it's fun! It's a dungeon crawler, this time with grenade launchers and flamethrowers. It's not as polished and balanced as the Baldur's Gate series, but it is FAR better than the recent X-Men games. I imagine that the single player campaign would get pretty boring. Get some friends!
  11. Jul 27, 2014
    8
    Well I cant understand the low score here. This is a really fun shoot em up overhead rpg. There's a ton of weapons and items to upgrade. Lots of aliens. And its a seriously long game as well. I'm hooked on this one.The users obviously disagree.
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 24
  2. Negative: 11 out of 24
  1. 55
    For fans of classic action-RPGs or multiplayer addicts Alien Syndrome would be a solid weekend rental or bargain bin purchase, but given the lack of polish throughout, the overall “PSP-ness” of the game’s graphical presentation, and the $50 price tag we’ve got to put SEGA’s latest Wii effort in the “just skip it” category.
  2. A sense of murky monotony sucks most of the life out of this action RPG remake of Sega's classic arcade shooter.
  3. Alien Syndrome has a lot of promise, but the lack of a decent story and the poorly implemented Wii controls hamper the experience. If you're a fan of the original, get this on the PSP instead.