User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 96
  2. Negative: 8 out of 96

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 24, 2012
    3
    Select Animal Crossing: Wild World for Nintendo DS
    Copy Animal Crossing: Wild World for Nintendo DS
    Paste Animal Crossing: Wild World for Nintendo DS on Wii
    Increase graphical quality by 12%
    Select title Animal Crossing: Wild World
    Change title to Animal Crossing: City Folk
    Insert small boring city with little to do
    Done
  2. Apr 17, 2011
    7
    It's clear that with City Folk Nintendo has played it safe with what is pretty much a reboot of Wild World on the Wii. So as a standalone title it's an absolute blast. As a 'sequel' it's disappointing. It's certainly the best in the series, but doesn't come close to matching the amount of new content that wild world added from its prequel on the GameCube. The little that is new isn't thatIt's clear that with City Folk Nintendo has played it safe with what is pretty much a reboot of Wild World on the Wii. So as a standalone title it's an absolute blast. As a 'sequel' it's disappointing. It's certainly the best in the series, but doesn't come close to matching the amount of new content that wild world added from its prequel on the GameCube. The little that is new isn't that enthralling - the 'City' in fact hinders the experience as all the characters that randomly show up in your town are now recycled in a plain setup accessible whenever you desire! Seems like a good thing but kind of takes a lot of the surprise and wonder out of the game when they used to visit. And there's little more to talk about? It's wild world 1.5.And it's not as if Nintendo are out of ideas - you can visit thousands of pages across gaming forums with really cool and possible ways to innovate the series, instead we get a lazy effort. Then again a GOOD lazy effort, but still a lazy effort. Not picked up Wild World? Go have a read of a review on that, if it sounds like your kind of thing - buy City Folk. Otherwise save yourself for the 3DS version. Expand
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    This is a great game. It looks and feels great, much better then the previous installments. However there isn't much to keep vets coming back after some goals are accomplished. While annoying the grass growth problem is not impossible to overcome, and the smaller amount of villagers isn't an issue either. The wi-fi connectivity is great; visiting friends is now easy, and the DLC is a niceThis is a great game. It looks and feels great, much better then the previous installments. However there isn't much to keep vets coming back after some goals are accomplished. While annoying the grass growth problem is not impossible to overcome, and the smaller amount of villagers isn't an issue either. The wi-fi connectivity is great; visiting friends is now easy, and the DLC is a nice addition. Must buy for any Wii owner. Expand
  4. Apr 27, 2011
    7
    Though Animal Crossing: City Folk refuses to add any kind of innovation -- or refined gameplay -- to the series, it's a fun life simulation for hardcore fans as well as newcomers. Pros: Multi-player is the funnest aspect of City Folk; voice chat; colorful visuals; charming characters; the City is a nice addition to gameplay. Cons: It doesn't even try to add any new flare to the gameplay,Though Animal Crossing: City Folk refuses to add any kind of innovation -- or refined gameplay -- to the series, it's a fun life simulation for hardcore fans as well as newcomers. Pros: Multi-player is the funnest aspect of City Folk; voice chat; colorful visuals; charming characters; the City is a nice addition to gameplay. Cons: It doesn't even try to add any new flare to the gameplay, making it less of a sequel, and more like a remake; no NES games. Expand
  5. May 20, 2011
    7
    It's disappointing to know that Animal Crossing's transfer to the Wii doesn't even try to take any risks. But in terms of gameplay, it's still a lot of fun. Pros: Addictive; colorful; variety of collectibles; the City; trading and visiting friends' online make for a lot of multiplayer value; voice chat. Cons: It doesn't offer anything new and acts more like a rehash of Wild World in steadIt's disappointing to know that Animal Crossing's transfer to the Wii doesn't even try to take any risks. But in terms of gameplay, it's still a lot of fun. Pros: Addictive; colorful; variety of collectibles; the City; trading and visiting friends' online make for a lot of multiplayer value; voice chat. Cons: It doesn't offer anything new and acts more like a rehash of Wild World in stead of a sequel. Expand
  6. Dec 14, 2011
    7
    Better graphics, impressive improvement and added features. (such as going to the city) The charming characters become more aware of your presence, history and whatever you have done. It is definitely worth playing, easy to get the hang of it. However, I prefer the DS version. There is just something missing in this Animal Crossing that make me really really like it...
  7. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    This was the game I was hooked on for five months, wasting all my free-time on it. This and the original game boy are my favorite and I was happy when this came out because the DS version disappointed me greatly. This new one adds a lot more new events, a whole different area and more whacky characters to explore and discover. The game was exactly what you might think at looking at it,This was the game I was hooked on for five months, wasting all my free-time on it. This and the original game boy are my favorite and I was happy when this came out because the DS version disappointed me greatly. This new one adds a lot more new events, a whole different area and more whacky characters to explore and discover. The game was exactly what you might think at looking at it, "weird", but it's amazingly fun and addictive. Expand
  8. Jul 23, 2012
    7
    Animal Crossing: City Folk is a good game. Despite the lack of improvement from Animal Crossing: Wild World, it is worth buying if you have played the previous game. The game is incredibly addictive and the wide variety of activities means it has plenty of replay value. Collecting all the fish and bugs is a task that would take plenty of time due, and seems very rewarding once finished.Animal Crossing: City Folk is a good game. Despite the lack of improvement from Animal Crossing: Wild World, it is worth buying if you have played the previous game. The game is incredibly addictive and the wide variety of activities means it has plenty of replay value. Collecting all the fish and bugs is a task that would take plenty of time due, and seems very rewarding once finished. Overall, City Folk is probably the best game in the series so far. The price is now little over £10 so unless you dislike the series it's hard not to recommend. The game in my opinion is only second best to Mario Kart at being the game with best online play on Wii. If you're new to the series buy it now or otherwise get it so you can hype up till the 3DS verion. Expand
  9. Dec 7, 2012
    8
    I personally enjoy this game. if you don't like peaceful settings in video games, then this game is probably not for you, this game is not too difficult, but it will take a lot of time to beat this game, there is new things every season, even every day as well.
  10. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    When I first played this game I was expecting to be bored out of my mind, but was surprised to find out that this is a very fun game for both casual and hardcore gamers alike. There's a surprising amount of freedom (I just wish I could decorate my bedroom) and content in this game, and it's got loads of charm. It will keep you coming back every day.
  11. Jan 8, 2013
    8
    Sometimes, it's really nice to take a break from all of the action packed games that exist out there and focus on more simple aspects in games like Animal Crossing. It was always fun to go into my virtual town and waste the time away with some little event that was happening at the time or collecting all of the collectibles in the game.
  12. Dec 24, 2013
    6
    Mediocre at best.

    I bought this as launch with the microphone attachment that made the game cost way more than any launch game I've ever payed for. I have been playing the animal crossing series since the first gamecube one which is a port of the Japanese N64 version. I was disappointing beyond belief. The "City" as they call it is anything but, not only can you walk from one end to
    Mediocre at best.

    I bought this as launch with the microphone attachment that made the game cost way more than any launch game I've ever payed for. I have been playing the animal crossing series since the first gamecube one which is a port of the Japanese N64 version.

    I was disappointing beyond belief. The "City" as they call it is anything but, not only can you walk from one end to the other within 10 seconds, but the things you do are mostly trivial and there's no interaction besides small repetitive phrases of the people inside.

    There was so much wasted potential and they marketed it in such a way that it would be worth playing if you had the DS game, well guess what it isn't. All it is is better graphics and a boring city addition. If this isn't your first animal crossing game then it won't hold your interest for longer than a few weeks.
    Expand
  13. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    improvements of this is way more enjoyable then wild wold
    it one best animal crossing games that i played alot the title has quite alot things to do in the city
    one more step foward for city folk and it's fun won't stop here
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Animal Crossing: City Folk is one of the most charming and entertaining life sims out there, with lots to explore and experience.
  2. 50
    City Folk just seems like a huge missed opportunity - either that, or a lazy cash-in on Nintendo's newfound casual audience. If it's the former, they ought to just call it Wii Mortgage Payments.
  3. 75
    After putting literally weeks and months into playing both the GameCube original and the Nintendo DS sequel, it was very disappointing to see that, after putting nearly two weeks into Animal Crossing: City Folk that very little effort went into the design beyond porting and enhancing the Nintendo DS game.