Animal Crossing: City Folk Wii

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 119
  2. Negative: 11 out of 119
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 6, 2016
    6
    This game was not special at all, it was just another Animal Crossing game and it's only feature was the "city" part of the game. Yes, "city" because it was just as big as the final house you can upgrade to in the game. It wasn't even handheld, and was boring as fk.
  2. Jul 3, 2016
    9
    This game is great and takes the old game and makes it great well it's not good as the original but still is great. There is some flaws like the motion controls and sometimes the game is a bit not creative. Overall this game is fun but not my favorite out of the animal crossing series.
  3. Apr 29, 2016
    8
    This is one of the most underrated games on the wii. A lot of people say that their was not enough changed in this game from Animal Crossing on the Gamecube, but I don't think thats necessarily a bad thing. All of the stuff that made the original Animal Crossing and Wild World good are here. The game still has an amazing soundtrack and the unique Animal Crossing visual style. While goingThis is one of the most underrated games on the wii. A lot of people say that their was not enough changed in this game from Animal Crossing on the Gamecube, but I don't think thats necessarily a bad thing. All of the stuff that made the original Animal Crossing and Wild World good are here. The game still has an amazing soundtrack and the unique Animal Crossing visual style. While going to the city isn't that exciting it was still a nice touch. Just because a game is previous to the one before it doesn't mean its a bad game. Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2015
    7
    City Folk's biggest drawback is that it is not different enough from Wild World, the DS portable entry that came less than two years before this Wii title. It's a fine game, but just light on content that makes it stand out... many musical cues and dialogue are the same, the items are the same, and the objectives are the same. You could say this about any Animal Crossing mainline game,City Folk's biggest drawback is that it is not different enough from Wild World, the DS portable entry that came less than two years before this Wii title. It's a fine game, but just light on content that makes it stand out... many musical cues and dialogue are the same, the items are the same, and the objectives are the same. You could say this about any Animal Crossing mainline game, but I expected more out of a home console title. On the upside, it still is Animal Crossing, and it also introduced the Wii Speak accessory, which allowed for online communication to be easier than typing one letter at a time. Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2015
    7
    Aside from the city, it's basically just Wild World on the Wii, and no HUGE changes. It's still a good title, though. You still get to befriend your animal neighbors and live a happy life in your town. Like I said, there aren't really any notable changes besides the (small) city. Overall, Animal Crossing: City Folk is a good game but it needs more noticeable changes.

    7/10
  6. Feb 12, 2015
    5
    As much as I love the Animal Crossing series, I didn't like this one very much. It's the same Wild World but with a city and updated stuff. This game wasn't that bad, but not great either.
  7. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    improvements of this is way more enjoyable then wild wold
    it one best animal crossing games that i played alot the title has quite alot things to do in the city
    one more step foward for city folk and it's fun won't stop here
  8. Dec 24, 2013
    6
    Mediocre at best.

    I bought this as launch with the microphone attachment that made the game cost way more than any launch game I've ever payed for. I have been playing the animal crossing series since the first gamecube one which is a port of the Japanese N64 version. I was disappointing beyond belief. The "City" as they call it is anything but, not only can you walk from one end to
    Mediocre at best.

    I bought this as launch with the microphone attachment that made the game cost way more than any launch game I've ever payed for. I have been playing the animal crossing series since the first gamecube one which is a port of the Japanese N64 version.

    I was disappointing beyond belief. The "City" as they call it is anything but, not only can you walk from one end to the other within 10 seconds, but the things you do are mostly trivial and there's no interaction besides small repetitive phrases of the people inside.

    There was so much wasted potential and they marketed it in such a way that it would be worth playing if you had the DS game, well guess what it isn't. All it is is better graphics and a boring city addition. If this isn't your first animal crossing game then it won't hold your interest for longer than a few weeks.
    Expand
  9. Jan 8, 2013
    8
    Sometimes, it's really nice to take a break from all of the action packed games that exist out there and focus on more simple aspects in games like Animal Crossing. It was always fun to go into my virtual town and waste the time away with some little event that was happening at the time or collecting all of the collectibles in the game.
  10. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    When I first played this game I was expecting to be bored out of my mind, but was surprised to find out that this is a very fun game for both casual and hardcore gamers alike. There's a surprising amount of freedom (I just wish I could decorate my bedroom) and content in this game, and it's got loads of charm. It will keep you coming back every day.
  11. Dec 24, 2012
    3
    Select Animal Crossing: Wild World for Nintendo DS
    Copy Animal Crossing: Wild World for Nintendo DS
    Paste Animal Crossing: Wild World for Nintendo DS on Wii
    Increase graphical quality by 12%
    Select title Animal Crossing: Wild World
    Change title to Animal Crossing: City Folk
    Insert small boring city with little to do
    Done
  12. Dec 7, 2012
    8
    I personally enjoy this game. if you don't like peaceful settings in video games, then this game is probably not for you, this game is not too difficult, but it will take a lot of time to beat this game, there is new things every season, even every day as well.
  13. Jul 23, 2012
    7
    Animal Crossing: City Folk is a good game. Despite the lack of improvement from Animal Crossing: Wild World, it is worth buying if you have played the previous game. The game is incredibly addictive and the wide variety of activities means it has plenty of replay value. Collecting all the fish and bugs is a task that would take plenty of time due, and seems very rewarding once finished.Animal Crossing: City Folk is a good game. Despite the lack of improvement from Animal Crossing: Wild World, it is worth buying if you have played the previous game. The game is incredibly addictive and the wide variety of activities means it has plenty of replay value. Collecting all the fish and bugs is a task that would take plenty of time due, and seems very rewarding once finished. Overall, City Folk is probably the best game in the series so far. The price is now little over £10 so unless you dislike the series it's hard not to recommend. The game in my opinion is only second best to Mario Kart at being the game with best online play on Wii. If you're new to the series buy it now or otherwise get it so you can hype up till the 3DS verion. Collapse
  14. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    This was the game I was hooked on for five months, wasting all my free-time on it. This and the original game boy are my favorite and I was happy when this came out because the DS version disappointed me greatly. This new one adds a lot more new events, a whole different area and more whacky characters to explore and discover. The game was exactly what you might think at looking at it,This was the game I was hooked on for five months, wasting all my free-time on it. This and the original game boy are my favorite and I was happy when this came out because the DS version disappointed me greatly. This new one adds a lot more new events, a whole different area and more whacky characters to explore and discover. The game was exactly what you might think at looking at it, "weird", but it's amazingly fun and addictive. Expand
  15. Dec 14, 2011
    7
    Better graphics, impressive improvement and added features. (such as going to the city) The charming characters become more aware of your presence, history and whatever you have done. It is definitely worth playing, easy to get the hang of it. However, I prefer the DS version. There is just something missing in this Animal Crossing that make me really really like it...
  16. May 20, 2011
    7
    It's disappointing to know that Animal Crossing's transfer to the Wii doesn't even try to take any risks. But in terms of gameplay, it's still a lot of fun. Pros: Addictive; colorful; variety of collectibles; the City; trading and visiting friends' online make for a lot of multiplayer value; voice chat. Cons: It doesn't offer anything new and acts more like a rehash of Wild World in steadIt's disappointing to know that Animal Crossing's transfer to the Wii doesn't even try to take any risks. But in terms of gameplay, it's still a lot of fun. Pros: Addictive; colorful; variety of collectibles; the City; trading and visiting friends' online make for a lot of multiplayer value; voice chat. Cons: It doesn't offer anything new and acts more like a rehash of Wild World in stead of a sequel. Expand
  17. Apr 27, 2011
    7
    Though Animal Crossing: City Folk refuses to add any kind of innovation -- or refined gameplay -- to the series, it's a fun life simulation for hardcore fans as well as newcomers. Pros: Multi-player is the funnest aspect of City Folk; voice chat; colorful visuals; charming characters; the City is a nice addition to gameplay. Cons: It doesn't even try to add any new flare to the gameplay,Though Animal Crossing: City Folk refuses to add any kind of innovation -- or refined gameplay -- to the series, it's a fun life simulation for hardcore fans as well as newcomers. Pros: Multi-player is the funnest aspect of City Folk; voice chat; colorful visuals; charming characters; the City is a nice addition to gameplay. Cons: It doesn't even try to add any new flare to the gameplay, making it less of a sequel, and more like a remake; no NES games. Expand
  18. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    This is a great game. It looks and feels great, much better then the previous installments. However there isn't much to keep vets coming back after some goals are accomplished. While annoying the grass growth problem is not impossible to overcome, and the smaller amount of villagers isn't an issue either. The wi-fi connectivity is great; visiting friends is now easy, and the DLC is a niceThis is a great game. It looks and feels great, much better then the previous installments. However there isn't much to keep vets coming back after some goals are accomplished. While annoying the grass growth problem is not impossible to overcome, and the smaller amount of villagers isn't an issue either. The wi-fi connectivity is great; visiting friends is now easy, and the DLC is a nice addition. Must buy for any Wii owner. Expand
  19. Apr 17, 2011
    7
    It's clear that with City Folk Nintendo has played it safe with what is pretty much a reboot of Wild World on the Wii. So as a standalone title it's an absolute blast. As a 'sequel' it's disappointing. It's certainly the best in the series, but doesn't come close to matching the amount of new content that wild world added from its prequel on the GameCube. The little that is new isn't thatIt's clear that with City Folk Nintendo has played it safe with what is pretty much a reboot of Wild World on the Wii. So as a standalone title it's an absolute blast. As a 'sequel' it's disappointing. It's certainly the best in the series, but doesn't come close to matching the amount of new content that wild world added from its prequel on the GameCube. The little that is new isn't that enthralling - the 'City' in fact hinders the experience as all the characters that randomly show up in your town are now recycled in a plain setup accessible whenever you desire! Seems like a good thing but kind of takes a lot of the surprise and wonder out of the game when they used to visit. And there's little more to talk about? It's wild world 1.5.And it's not as if Nintendo are out of ideas - you can visit thousands of pages across gaming forums with really cool and possible ways to innovate the series, instead we get a lazy effort. Then again a GOOD lazy effort, but still a lazy effort. Not picked up Wild World? Go have a read of a review on that, if it sounds like your kind of thing - buy City Folk. Otherwise save yourself for the 3DS version. Expand
  20. robertoh
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    i think that the people that voted under 5 badluck because you can do anything acsept kill yourself but its a shame you know when you get bigger houses well you never STOP!And is it hard to get the pond by the gate.
  21. JonathanC
    Aug 6, 2009
    7
    A great game...if you haven't played any of the others. If you haven't jump my score up 2 points if you haven't it's the same old stuff. The city scape and Wii speak give it a nice addition for both newcomers and animal crossing fans but there's very little added for fans but newcomers will love it.
  22. PaulinaH
    May 9, 2009
    3
    The game was really fun until all the grass suddenly disappeared, and the fact that it takes over 8 months to re-grow the grass and you not being able to walk on the "growing" grass took all of the fun out! It's not fun to live in a wasteland, i don't really recommend this game to animal crossing fans!
  23. Sean.F
    Jan 18, 2009
    8
    So. People have been saying bad things about this game. So.... its Animal Crossing: Wild World on wii. SO The hell what? The city may not add much but its better looking, bigger, and The Wii specific controls make it a hell of a lot easier to use. Ignore those congenital idiots who call themselves 'critics' and buy this game, before someone else does!
  24. WhyNot?
    Jan 16, 2009
    9
    Wake up, reviewers -- this is NOT a remake. No, this game, if anything, is an improvement. Between the original and Wild World, there were several big changes -- most of which were reacted to positively. So why do you shoot City Folk down because so much is the same? There are more new things than ever before! There's new furniture, new things to catch, and even new events. You can Wake up, reviewers -- this is NOT a remake. No, this game, if anything, is an improvement. Between the original and Wild World, there were several big changes -- most of which were reacted to positively. So why do you shoot City Folk down because so much is the same? There are more new things than ever before! There's new furniture, new things to catch, and even new events. You can even go to a brand new area! Sure, the Wi-Fi is nothing new, but now you can chat while you play, thanks to the new Wii Speak accessory. And one last thing: the music. This is a great soundtrack, especially for a game that doesn't focus on music. Let's face it -- some people just don't like the Animal Crossing series. But if you are an Animal Crossing fan, or even a newcomer to the series, I say give it a try. I give Animal Crossing: City Folk an 89/100. Expand
  25. Tjthegamer
    Dec 26, 2008
    7
    City folk isn't a bad game it's just that it seems like nothing is new. There are some new villigers and fish/bugs/fossils, but it won't be enough to satisfy as a sequel. The plots the same as Wild World and styled after it, however there are a few changes. The biggest is being able to go to the city. In the city, you can meet other animals who will move to your town City folk isn't a bad game it's just that it seems like nothing is new. There are some new villigers and fish/bugs/fossils, but it won't be enough to satisfy as a sequel. The plots the same as Wild World and styled after it, however there are a few changes. The biggest is being able to go to the city. In the city, you can meet other animals who will move to your town eventually, shop at Gracie's (an extremly expensive store), auction house (I was hoping there would be actual online auctions, but it's just between you and the A.I.), Shampoodles (Harriot's salon), Happy Room Acadamy, a theater (for learning emotions), and Redd's place. It's nice to see something other than your town for once, but the size of the city is a real let down. There are minute changes from Wild World as well. Tom Nook's store now closes at 10pm instead of 11pm, You can now design the back of your design shirts as well as the sleves. Neighbors now react to you differently, good relationships make them notice you faster, while bad relationships make them take forever to notice you. Overall the game isn't bad, many will just think it's reharshed. Expand
  26. DerpyDerp
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    I have to say, I am really mad at anyone who says this is a "lazy remake." They abviously don't know just how much work actually went into this game. I've noticed at least some changes in every aspect of the game: new villiagers, new bugs, new fish, new furniture, new events, new clothes, new dialogue, new hairstyles, new shops, new options, new shoes, new activities. Saying I have to say, I am really mad at anyone who says this is a "lazy remake." They abviously don't know just how much work actually went into this game. I've noticed at least some changes in every aspect of the game: new villiagers, new bugs, new fish, new furniture, new events, new clothes, new dialogue, new hairstyles, new shops, new options, new shoes, new activities. Saying this game is just like Wild World is like saying all the Guitar Hero games are alike, or all the Halo Games. The truth is, every one of these games uses the same basic formula; after all, it's not as if you're going to create a whole new series with it. But all of these also bring something new to the table with every incarnation. Those who don't like Animal Crossing games can find their entertainment elsewhere. I, for one, don't care for the Halo or Guitar Hero series, but I don't choose to bash on them for lack of something more productive to spend my time on. I think that Animal Crossing fans will love this game like I do, and newcomers may find something for them as well. This is worth, at the very least, a rental. If you don't like it, that's okay. Just don't bask on other people's opinions. Expand
  27. ElliottW
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    I hate the fact that this game is getting such low reviews just because it's simaler to previous games- I would ignore the score of 73 by the critics. If you're new to the series, You need to buy this game! Fun, addictive, it really does feel like your second life and it's heart breaking when your favourite animal moves out. The game is a life simultor, although I must I hate the fact that this game is getting such low reviews just because it's simaler to previous games- I would ignore the score of 73 by the critics. If you're new to the series, You need to buy this game! Fun, addictive, it really does feel like your second life and it's heart breaking when your favourite animal moves out. The game is a life simultor, although I must point out this is not like the sims- in this game you can do whatever you like, as there are no needs or hunger demands. Even though its open-ended, there are objectives you can set for yourself, like to save up for a bigger house, make your house look nice, care for the wildlife, collect all the bugs/fish/fossils etc. However, some people just don't like this game- like my brother, for example. I guess its a certain game for certain people, and if you didn't like the previous games there will be very little to change your mind here. And for veterans.... it's very Samey to the DS version... but this is actually a good thing! I mean, they could of took a huge risk and failed, but they played it safe and gave us the AC formula we all love. There are some nice subtle additions, such as more villagers, bugs and fish. Other touches include being able to look like your mii, a more advanced clothes- designing tool, being able to cycle through tools with the d-pad and even the tiniest point of being able to see your foot-prints in the ground. The city is a bit of a letdown (it's tiny), and something new would of been nice. And anyway, does anyone know how hard it is to develop and de-bug an animal crossing game? People say it's a safe, lazy update; maybe so, but this game is definitely worth buying. Overview: Gameplay: Simply stunning and addictive, will have you playing for months, even years if you're the type of person who is willing to play every day and put in effort. The more effort you put in = the more enjoyment comes out. The controls ain't bad either. Presentation: Sure, the graphics arent amazing, but theyre not supposed to. Most Nintendo games are about the 'fun factor', not flashy graphics. But still, most people will fall in love with the cartoony style. Note- Don't be put off by the childish visuals! Music: Catchy, retro... just great music for your everyday life in the game. K.K slider's tunes (a singing dog who sings in the cafe on saturday nights) are awesome and very catchy. Overall: A brilliant game. Newcomers: A must have. Veterans: Most of you should still find enjoyment here. Expand
  28. ShiftBox
    Nov 23, 2008
    8
    Do you like Animal Crossing? Do you have a WiFi connection for your Wii? If you said yes to both of those questions than this game is definitely worth it for you. The addition of online makes it worth your time to get the sweet items so you can show them off. Wii Speak can be pretty awkward when talking to strangers so it may not be worth it for you if you don't have any friends withDo you like Animal Crossing? Do you have a WiFi connection for your Wii? If you said yes to both of those questions than this game is definitely worth it for you. The addition of online makes it worth your time to get the sweet items so you can show them off. Wii Speak can be pretty awkward when talking to strangers so it may not be worth it for you if you don't have any friends with the game. Overall I enjoy it. Expand
  29. ????????
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    Why do people always say: "There's not enough improvement, and it's just like the prequel!" I mean that's what I like in a series! I hate it when game's get too much *Improvement* because some times it makes a once good series into a bad one people liked previous AC games so Nintendo probably just didn't want to rock the boat! And NO the graphics don't lookWhy do people always say: "There's not enough improvement, and it's just like the prequel!" I mean that's what I like in a series! I hate it when game's get too much *Improvement* because some times it makes a once good series into a bad one people liked previous AC games so Nintendo probably just didn't want to rock the boat! And NO the graphics don't look like crap I personally think they look GREAT! It may be like other AC titles but that doesn't change the fact that it's a great game! Expand
  30. eey777
    Nov 17, 2008
    5
    I was *so* excited about this game, but I am really disappointed by it. I moved my character over from the DS (it was extremely easy to do this, and it seemed like a good idea, but I'm not sure it was). The main game area is the same as Animal Crossing: Wild World - you can go to the city, but you're living in an AC:WW town. I feel like I've been there and done that. Also, I was *so* excited about this game, but I am really disappointed by it. I moved my character over from the DS (it was extremely easy to do this, and it seemed like a good idea, but I'm not sure it was). The main game area is the same as Animal Crossing: Wild World - you can go to the city, but you're living in an AC:WW town. I feel like I've been there and done that. Also, the graphics look really bad - just like a blown up view of what is on the DS. I don't think I'll play this more than a few times. :-( boo hoo. Expand
  31. RedG.
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    Yes, its an improvement on the first 2 Animal Crossing games. Yes, it's fun. But Nintendo could have added more to make this game a lot better. This version is good, but I don't think I'll be giving up Wild World just yet.
  32. RyanF.
    Nov 16, 2008
    6
    Just please don't buy these Wii-makes, if you do you're part of the problem. I was a huge fan of the first two, but I'm just done with Nintendo after Mario Kart.
  33. cheesewizz
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    'Tis a good game, really good. The graphics are really enhanced and gamplay is SWEET! With the touch of "The City", the game brings most fun and enjoyability. High Five Nintendo!
  34. JamesL.
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    Nothing much has changed in the last six years but its still very fun and has a big replay value. Graphics are the same and the village is pretty much the same but this game is so fun and addictive that it completely makes up for it. The city is overrated because theres nothing to do for long periods of time however I have had no problems with the voice chat functioning although so far Nothing much has changed in the last six years but its still very fun and has a big replay value. Graphics are the same and the village is pretty much the same but this game is so fun and addictive that it completely makes up for it. The city is overrated because theres nothing to do for long periods of time however I have had no problems with the voice chat functioning although so far Ive only used it once. Customizing houses, furniture, and clothes has improved due to more emphasis on depth. Must-Buy for those who don't mind kicking back an hour or two a day. Expand
  35. Jul 23, 2012
    0
    Animal Crossing: City Folk is a good game. Despite the lack of improvement from Animal Crossing: Wild World, it is worth buying if you have played the previous game. The game is incredibly addictive and the wide variety of activities means it has plenty of replay value. Collecting all the fish and bugs is a task that would take plenty of time due, and seems very rewarding once finished.Animal Crossing: City Folk is a good game. Despite the lack of improvement from Animal Crossing: Wild World, it is worth buying if you have played the previous game. The game is incredibly addictive and the wide variety of activities means it has plenty of replay value. Collecting all the fish and bugs is a task that would take plenty of time due, and seems very rewarding once finished. Overall, City Folk is probably the best game in the series so far. The price is now little over £10 so unless you dislike the series it's hard not to recommend. The game in my opinion is only second best to Mario Kart at being the game with best online play on Wii. If you're new to the series buy it now or otherwise get it so you can hype up till the 3DS verion. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#10 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
#9 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Animal Crossing: City Folk is one of the most charming and entertaining life sims out there, with lots to explore and experience.
  2. 50
    City Folk just seems like a huge missed opportunity - either that, or a lazy cash-in on Nintendo's newfound casual audience. If it's the former, they ought to just call it Wii Mortgage Payments.
  3. 75
    After putting literally weeks and months into playing both the GameCube original and the Nintendo DS sequel, it was very disappointing to see that, after putting nearly two weeks into Animal Crossing: City Folk that very little effort went into the design beyond porting and enhancing the Nintendo DS game.