User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 26, 2014
    9
    While I admit ARF has its problems (mostly with the easy level-hard boss setup) this is still one of my favorite games ever. The bosses are challenging but extremely rewarding, the story is contrived but interesting, the characters are written well, and the battle system is absorbing. Depending on how you play, the boss battles can and will last up to an hour, but you'll never be bored in your attempt to survive and win. The bosses don't have a set pattern that gets boring after two rounds, but keep you on your toes as they will continually shave off your remaining health. If you love JRPGs, can tolerate some of the smaller things, and have a Wii, this game is a MUST! Collapse
  2. Sep 5, 2013
    6
    The skilled artwork, great presentation, charming characters and interesting combat really rose my hopes up for this game. Unfortunately, the sometimes awkward voice acting, the unforgivably unpolished cutscenes and the blandness of the setting have quickly crushed most expectations. Granted, it is not hard to play through this RPG and get away some entertainment from it, Arc Rise Fantasia will hardly provide starved RPG fans with the depth and memorable moments they are looking for. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    This game is fantastic!, the battle system is innovative and charming, good for strategy plans and more powerfull attacks.
    the charaters had their good moments,i liked the voice action at least they gave the game more emotion,the final was pretty cool too.
    the difficulty wasn´t very bad, you just had to plan more and level up a little bit before the bosses.

    i would recomend to everyone.
  4. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    Graphics are just beautiful as well as the story. The characters are fully developed, despite the awful voice acting. In my opinion, the game would've been perfect if it weren't for the terrible voice acting. After you finish the story there are many reasons to keep playing, though I'm not gonna spoil it. There are a variety of detailed weapons. Customizing armforce adds to the strategy. The game encourages you to level up and unlock armforce, though it can be very time consuming. I cried so much on a few parts.. especially the ending. The OST is amazing and flawless!! Currently in my music lists. I recommend this game to all rpg players out there. This game needs more credit and should have a sequel!! Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2013
    5
    When I first bought this game, I was really hoping for a great RPG experience like the one I got from Tales of Symphonia. Sadly, that's not what happened. Granted, I had a little fun with strategic combat that the game provided and the graphics are quite nice (for the Wii, anyway), but as I played the game longer, the faults began to surface. While I did enjoy the combat system, it seems that console-based RPGs are more suited to real-time. Second is that while standard enemies are no problem, the bosses are unforgivable and force you to grind levels to even stand a chance agianst them. The last two things, however, are what really killed it for me. The story (for the most part) is very shallow and too similar to Tales of Symphonia to be bragged about, and I couldn't find one character in this game who wasn't either irrelevant to what was going on or just cliche as all hell, especially Adele and Ryfia. And of course there's what everybody else has touched on: the English voice acting is absolutely horrendous (not helped by the fact you can't change it to Japanese). The bottom line is that if you're looking for a good RPG on the Wii, Arc Rise Fantasia isn't the last game to look for, but it's certainly not the first. Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2012
    8
    this is a good game with a great storyline but the problem for me was the strategy based fighting other than that it was a good game .i would recommend playing it
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    Better story, battle system and item management than 95% RPGs out there, ignore the bad voice acting and have fun! The game is quite lenghty and challanging, you'll sure die a lot on boss fights! =)
  8. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    classic japanese style rpg with a few nice innovations (weapon upgrade and magic orb system) nice story, stylish graphic (although the lack of antialias really hurts) and challengin boss battles make this the best FF style rpg ive played since dq VIII...............great PD: terrible voice acting is not enough argument to put this game down
  9. Aug 29, 2011
    8
    Un JRPG clásico en el sentido más estricto de la palabra. Combates por turnos, personajes pintorescos y una buena historia apocaliptica. No innova pero precisamente eso le hace especial. Recupera todo lo bueno de los antiguos juegos de rol e introduce un poco de estrategia a los combates y armas. Un imprescindible para los amantes del jrpg.
  10. Apr 29, 2011
    9
    this is a great turn base RPG with a story that has a good amount of twists, it has color full graphics and flashy attacks but the game suffers from bad voice acting
  11. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    For those looking for an RPG with a battle system (turn based) with a choice of strategy, evolved system of spells and weapons customization, will have great fun.

    The story is original and interesting, involving a bit of politics and religion.

    Misses RPG on the Wii? Give him a chance.
  12. Apr 26, 2014
    0
    While I admit ARF has its problems (mostly with the easy level-hard boss setup) this is still one of my favorite games ever. The bosses are challenging but extremely rewarding, the story is contrived but interesting, the characters are written well, and the battle system is absorbing. Depending on how you play, the boss battles can and will last up to an hour, but you'll never be bored in your attempt to survive and win. The bosses don't have a set pattern that gets boring after two rounds, but keep you on your toes as they will continually shave off your remaining health. If you love JRPGs, can tolerate some of the smaller things, and have a Wii, this game is a MUST! Collapse
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Feb 26, 2011
    70
    Minor technical issues, wasted opportunities and dreadful voice acting bring Arc Rise Fantasia down, but there's still plenty of enjoyment to be found as long as you know what to expect.
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    67
    Even with those drawbacks, though, Imageepoch gets serious props for doing what no developer has yet seen fit to do; namely, give Wii owners a party-based RPG free of gimmicks.
  3. Arc Rise Fantasia is the perfect RPG to play "between" RPGs. Something to pick up before the next big AAA experience hits and scratch an itch that one gets during the genre's common dry periods.